Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,032 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

I think he’s a very decent player, just not nearly as good as our best ever 10.

I don’t think he’s as good as our best ever 10 either. But that’s not what people are suggesting.

They’re suggesting he could have been better than our best ever 10, at 38, in his last ever game, who was completely out on his feet after about 65 mins.

Yeah I generally do align with Farrell because I think he’s doing a good job and I’m an Ireland fan first and foremost.

This is rubbish. Posters can be Irish fans and still disagree with Farrell….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,887 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Did Crowley not get clutch dropgoals and win the league just before the World Cup? He was relatively new on the scene but it's not as if he hadn't delivered the goods just before the WC. He showed plenty of cojones to warrant replacing a geriatrically paced outhalf at that stage of the game.

And then went on to be part of a Six Nations winning team.

But he's "not test level". Ah c'mon now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,118 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Clutch drop goals, cojones, won the league, part of a 6N winning team - all this could apply to Ciaran Frawley. Is he a test level OH too?

If people want to paint this as me having a go at Crowley, grand, but I'm not. I think and have repeatedly said on here that I think he's a very decent player but he's not at the level that a top-4 team needs their 10 to be at, and neither is Prendergast. We really need one or both to get better or we need someone else, and a drop-goal three years ago doesn't change that.

If people want to blame Farrell for Crowley not being as good as we'd hoped or developing as quickly as he should, that's also OK. Maybe if JVG hadn't fixated on Ben Healy for so long, things might have turned out differently, seems odd to me that he gets a pass and the guy who actually gave Crowley a chance gets hammered, but here we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,125 ✭✭✭50HX

Frawley....Ben Healy...Prendergast...blaming Farrell for not developing Crowley fast enough....what are you on about?

Last few posts have been about an ageing 10 in the RWC quarter final being out on his feet.

Some (inc yourself) believe he was still the better option at that point in the match than Crowley.

Another believes a present day Sexton would still be better than Crowley in 2026.

Others have a view that it would have been worth taking off Sexton at that time.

Its ok if we have a difference of opinion but at least stick to the point

Crowley played every minute at 10 of a 6 Nations win.

Frawley played 126 minutes of a 6 Nations win, none of which was at 10.

They’re not remotely the same thing, and seems kinda important in terms of judging them as a test level OH.

If people want to paint this as me having a go at Crowley, grand, but I'm not.

If you want to paint other posters as having a go at Farrell, grand, but they’re not. They’re just disagreeing with some of his decisions.

Indeed, you seem to want to paint other posters as not Irish fans just because they disagree with Farrell.

And therein lies the issue with the discussion on here. Your perception is that Farrell is frequently hammered on here.

But a lot of the pushback on here often isn’t because posters who are critical of some of Farrell’s decisions think he’s a bad coach. It’s because of the dismissiveness that any criticism of Farrell is often met with on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,887 ✭✭✭leakyboots

I didn't mention Farrell at all, I don't have it in for him at all other than hoping he shakes up the squad a bit.

Honestly - a young 10, who just won the URC in a series of games away from home including Glasgow, South Africa and kicking the winning drop goal against Leinster, comes in to a Six Nations after Sexton retires, helps guide the team to the title… and he's not test level, that's quite the take. Hard to know what else he could have done other than win the Heineken.

I mean, you can argue the toss about form at any stage (and I dare say there'll be plenty of that before the first Six Nations game and I'm not setting out a stall for Crowley here at all, I'm looking back to the period we're talking about) but I don't think Crowley's body of work at 10 is comparable with Frawley at all who has 19 starts in his career at 10. He's patently not a 10, he's started at fullback and centre more than he's started at 10. You're comparing an apple and a potato there.

My take is Farrell decided to blood Prendergast. In a way I agreed, we needed more depth at 10, I just wouldn't have done it the way Farrell did with pretty much making SP #1 from the off after something like 4 Heineken starts. I thought Crowley had credit in the bank from the previous season to keep the jersey, needed more exposure himself, and let Sam get his gametime bit by bit. Instead I think both players suffered a bit. SP in the deep end a bit too soon and Crowley gets sidelined and development stifled a bit. Maybe the approach will work out in the end for both, we'll see.

Given the way France and England are going I feel like it's going to be hard for either of them to stand out, Crowley does better behind a pack not on top for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,128 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Ban billionaires

blaming Farrell for not developing Crowley fast enough....what are you on about?

That was quite literally the assertion that kicked all this off.

"Farrell made a mistake not getting Crowley to where he needed to be"

I made the point that another perspective would be that Crowley only got where he was in October 2023 through the interventions of Farrell. Maybe JVG would have seen the light eventually, maybe not, but I think we can all agree it should have happened sooner. As someone who spends a lot of time watching and cheering for Munster, I certainly wish it had.

All this is reminding me that some posters, active in the current discussion, were calling for Healy to be capped in the 2023 6N. Funny how things look with the benefit of hindsight.

Its ok if we have a difference of opinion but at least stick to the point

Isn't that the whole point of a discussion, that it can go in different directions?

I mean, we can go back to infinite rounds of "Farrell is conservative", "No he's not", "Yes he is", but isn't the current discussion a bit more interesting?

Sexton shouldn't have started that game, never mind played all 80 minutes

He was injured as well as fully washed before the tournament started. (physically and mentally given how he was invading pitches and getting himself banned when he wasn't even a player)

Crowley was raw, but he was well able to be part of a team to get us through the group stages, by which time, he would have built up the cohesion required to lead us into the knockouts

Sticking with Sexton got us nothing but the usual failure at the QF stage. A massive massive flaw in Farrells tenure that many people called out well in advance of the RWC and were proven correct with hindsight

(Crowley immediately led Ireland to a 6 Nations win in the difficult away year, months after the RWC ended, completely dispelling any idea that he was not ready for the RWC)

Ban billionaires

Exactly, We're repeating the same bullshit in the next RWC. No squad building, just patching up holes, Focus purely on 'cohesion' (the guys he trusts, and their training partners) no big squads with training camps to upskill players, just nonsense 'emerging ireland' of 'A' tours but the same predictable aging team played for all meaningful games.

This could all have been written 4 years ago

Its so bad
    Like, even amateur sports like GAA have county level training squads sessions with dozens of players in them, to give the coaches a chance to see players, and the players a chance to impress the coaches and assess them in person.

Farrell famously rarely attends any regular season matches. and selects the smallest coaching camps he can get away with

Ban billionaires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭HanShotFirst

The staunch and oddly repetitive defence of Farrell 2 years later is just weird stuff at this stage.

Crowley came on for the end game v SA

Maybe Crowley should have come on for the end game v NZ………….

Maybe he shouldn’t…..
    Realise this. A 38 year old Irish 10 will not be playing 80min in a RWC QF in 2027.

Thank Goodness

However, Ireland and Farrell must ensure the COMPLETE reliance on 1 Player in 1 of the most important positions in rugby doesn’t happen yet again for 80mins in a RWC QF.

Imagine Ireland won that game!! Would the 38 year old be even able to walk in the SF? Let alone a Final!!!!!

Crowley only came on for the end game v SA because Sexton was broke up…….

Here’s looking at you JGP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭ersatz

None of this is remotely relevant. Crowley was his sub ten, that’s the situation the coach was in, end of story. He proceeds with those facts. Assuming Sexton can play 80 and back to back games for 4 or 5 weeks isn’t realistic, inevitably he’ll have to use Crowley. Anyway, all of this has been rehearsed over and over, no one is changing their minds. If Casey is JGPs backup the situation is similar, old incumbent who may not be able for the requirements of the tournament, no matter how good his backup is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 43,023 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Any half decent 10 would have been better than Sexton for the last 10 minutes against New Zealand. Anyone who thinks leaving Sexton on when he was out as the best thing to do is crazy imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭sleepyman

Couldn't agree more.Same crap been repeated.Farrell will probably go after the WC and whoever replaces him will have a big rebuilding job.Pisses me off no one in the media criticises him.Almost cultish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,584 ✭✭✭✭phog

Farrell famously rarely attends any regular season matches. and selects the smallest coaching camps he can get away with

We often hear about how small our playing pool is and that we only have 4 teams but then you rarely, if ever, see Farrell attend a provincial game outside of Dublin. Even if he didn't want to be away every weekend he could easily attend some of the InterPros in Belfast, Dublin, Galway and Limerick.

Maybe JVG would have seen the light eventually, maybe not, but I think we can all agree it should have happened sooner. As someone who spends a lot of time watching and cheering for Munster, I certainly wish it had.

Except that's not at all what you were saying at the time. For example, when replacing Carbery was mentioned a number of years ago, here's what you said:

FFF: Healy had the exact same opportunity when Carbery was injured for so long, and he didn't remotely take it. (Crowley had the same chance btw and was even worse off).

Me: Really harsh reading of Healy and Crowley during Carbery’s injury period, imo. They were both, what, 19 or 20 during the majority of that period?

FFF: Is it harsh?

Healy has just turned 23. Crowley is only five months younger.

Murray was 22 when he became first choice for Ireland. Carbery was 21 in Chicago. Jackson was starting a European final at 20.

Whatever is holding these lads back, it's not youth.

Me: If we're talking specifically about Carbery's injury period (which is what you mentioned), then yes it is harsh imo. It effectively started in Jan 2019 when:

Healy was 19 in year 1 academy

Crowley had only just turned 19 and wasn't even in year 1 academy for another year and a half.

If Carbery were to get injured for an extended period now, I'd be very hopeful one or other would take the opportunity and make it very difficult for Joey to get back in on his return.

The following season, when Rowntree was in charge, a number of Munster fans suggested Crowley should be ahead of Carbery. Here's what you responded with:

• I don't think the Munster management are quite as ready to ditch Carbery as the fans are, or they don't share the unshakeable conviction that Crowley is the better OH.
    • I just find it hard to square "Carbery is shyte, time to give the jersey to Crowley" with "Crowley has two starts at 10 all season". It would be a big move to give him the start this week or next.

Yet you're now also trying to claim you wish it had happened sooner, when at the time you were saying things like "Whatever is holding these lads back, it's not youth."?

Instead of saying "ya I agree lads, Crowley should be in" - which you're now claiming you wanted - you decided to take subtle little pops at the player and the fans for suggesting as much.

You defaulted - as you often do - to defending the manager and, by proxy, the incumbent. But Carbery was actually dropped, literally the next game. The point being, even if posters here do disagree with JVG, Rowntree, Farrell, maybe there is something to what they're saying. It's entirely possible for fans to have an informed opinion on selections without having seen the players in training, say.

And - as I'm sure you're aware - stuff like this has happened a number of times on here.

But the main point here is, there's no evidence at all that, at the time, you thought it should have happened sooner and certainly wish it had. In fact, quite the opposite.

You're confusing two separate issues.

The initial complaint was that Farrell didn't get Crowley to where he needed to be. It seems to me that the only reason Crowley was at the RWC at all was because Farrell reached down the Munster depth chart a year earlier and brought him into the Ireland set-up. I don't expect people to actually give Farrell credit for this, but hammering him for it seems harsh tbh.

Now, it's a separate issue as to whether, having brought Crowley to the point where he was named on the bench for a RWC QF, he should have brought him on in the last few minutes. That's a lot more subjective and we can only speculate how it might have gone had Crowley come on. Maybe it was a mistake, maybe it would have made no odds, either is entirely possible, and again, your position on this probably depends on your broader opinion of Farrell.

Assuming Sexton can play 80 and back to back games for 4 or 5 weeks isn’t realistic

He didn't. Sexton only played 45 minutes the week prior to the NZ game, Crowley got 35. Funny how that's forgotten. And there was no game the week prior to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

This is the point that's never addressed. Crowley, at 24, led us to our largest ever victory in France, a graveyard for Irish teams, just 3 months after the quarter final. If that's not evidence that management erred in their judgment then I don't know what is.

When Sexton was 24 he was still struggling to break into the national side. Everything from Crowley's performance and the context surrounding it in the 2024 6 Nations suggested that he was an international standard fly half and worth persisting with. How the situation has been managed subsequently and how it was managed at the RWC reflects poorly on Farrell and the rest of the coaching staff.

Jesus, if you had told us 15 years ago that a young lad was going to come along and lead us to our biggest ever win in France we'd have taken your hand and all. The amount of revisionism and scutter posted on here in defence of what was a bad decision is indicative of how tribal the supporter base has become.

Post edited by TomsOnTheRoof on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭MangleBadger

Crowley did not lead us to our biggest win in France. He was part of the team that won. If you read some of the player ratings he didn't play a particularly good part compared to most of the rest of the team. And we then went on to lose against England.

Jack Crowley - 6

Early kick behind was charged down for a cheap turnover. Too much on a grubber, soon after. Not a great start. Missed a simple penalty that would have made it 13-0. Nailed his toughest conversion, from the touchline, after Nash’s try. Unlucky to be penalised when fairly contesting a high ball.

Jack Crowley – 7

The novice out-half carried and passed well but too many kicks out of hand were misjudged or poorly executed. But he never let it bother him. Kicked 13 points including three conversions from the sideline.

10. Jack Crowley – 6

Crowley seemed lost at times at the Stade Velodrome, with poor kicking choices costing Ireland on occasion. Was a spectator for Damian Penaud’s try just before halftime, although it was as much a system failure as poor positioning on his behalf.  Against that, he showed he can mix it will ball in hand, a short pass to Beirne putting the big lock away for Ireland’s second try. His decent kicking form off the tee in the second half saved him from a 5.

The deciding factor in that match was France played the majority with 14 men.

If you read some of the player ratings he didn't play a particularly good part compared to most of the rest of the team.

That is absolutely the case. If you cherry-pick your player ratings. How about these other ratings from the same game:

Jack Crowley – 9

Johnny who?… We joke, but what a performance from the Munster flyhalf, who is clearly built for the big stage and has added an extra dimension to the Irish attack with his step and pace. Not everything came off, but he was never deterred whilst his goal-kicking was sublime outside of one miss.

Jack Crowley - 8
    With plenty of focus on the man who was replacing Johnny Sexton, the Munsterman made a few mistakes but deserves real credit for still sticking to his style.

Crowley 8.5

Jack Crowley – 8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,125 ✭✭✭50HX

I always thought twas the 10 that "leads" a team as they are the ones that make the calls on what play to execute.

There is a very interesting line in that match report that states he can mix it with ball in hand. That coupled with starting at 10 in France 3 months after the NZ defeat would suggest to me that he was surely worth a punt for the last 15mins in the quarter final instead of persisting with an ageing Sexton who was out of gas in what was a very physical energy sapping game.

Surely its not tin foil hat stuff to conclude that.

Yes he absolutely has faults, nobody is suggesting otherwise

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,466 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lost Ormond

MOD: We are not bringing up multiple quotes from several years ago

It's more the fact that is used as if he is undroppable because he lead Ireland to the 6 nations win that year. We had the same win/loss ratio the following year with Sam at 10.

What Sexton brought to the table is his ability to run the team and drive them around the pitch ensuring all the other players are doing their job. Even if he is gassed I would rather have him on the pitch doing that than Crowley where I feel game management is one of the weaker aspects of his game.

I get that a lot of people will disagree with me and that is fine. They are allowed to be wrong.

Literally nobody has said he is undroppable because he lead Ireland to the 6 Nations win that year.

So I guess you're allowed be wrong too.

There have been plenty of people lamenting the fact that SP was picked ahead of Jack after he "lead" Ireland to a 6 nations win. Don't try pretend there wasn't.

Indeed there have. That doesn't mean people have been saying Crowley is "undroppable".

So I guess you're allowed be wrong too. Again.

We literally won the 6 nations a few months later with Crowley playing every minute

Lol, kicking contestables is literally the current 'meta' that is winning games in rugby. These journalists marked him down for being ahead of his time in a game that we absolutely blew france away

Ban billionaires

The funniest post from this thread is

image.png

Lol, Prendergast was being hyped into the stratosphere and anyone who dared to call him flawed was shouted down in this forum. Every podcast and newspaper article hyped him and said he had a massive ceiling and is the next coming of Dan Carter/Johnny Sexton

The fact that Prendergast was chosen ahead of Crowley is proof that Farrell is a bad selector, not that Crowley is worse than Prendergast

Ban billionaires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

Oh player ratings, the most objective and fool proof way of analysing player performance. Why go by stats or the evidence of my own eyes when I can defer all judgement to individuals who peddle clichés for a living.

Crowley scored more than a third of our points that day. If that's not stepping up and leading then what is? There's also the fact that you don't put 38 points on a team, especially France at home, with a misfiring fly half.

Yes we lost to England but we also won the tournament with Crowley as our starting fly half. Sexton was 26 before he was our starting 10 and Ireland finished third in the table (2011 6 Nations). This was after 18 months of fighting it out with O'Gara for the jersey. I suppose we should have just dumped Sexton there and then.

It's laughable the standards which crowley is being held to. Even when he is a key part in us winning a 6 Nations people still find fault, despite our trophy cabinet being pretty bare historically speaking.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 34,089 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Lol, Prendergast was being hyped into the stratosphere and anyone who dared to call him flawed was shouted down in this forum

This is an utterly bizarre recollection of the discussion. The two sides of the discussion essentially boiled down to "they are two flawed players but Prendergast's positives are higher" vs "Crowley is clearly the much better player and only a fool wouldn't start him". You have it basically backwards.