Calving 2026

• 03-01-2026 07:29AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,987 ✭✭✭✭

New year , new thread. Best of luck all. First calf born here yesterday. Bull broke into milkers on march 29th and served 3. First born yesterday. None then for a few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Dunedin

they’re often the lucky ones. Best of luck for the season ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Arm Wax

heifer calved here 2 weeks ahead of time but she had twin red heifers all ok so not a bad little start 😚

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

How do you manage a single cow/heifer that calves first on her own? Do you milk her out every day or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,987 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

We're Autumn calving too, so milking all year round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Arm Wax

and we are off 4 fr heifers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭limo_100

IMG_3606.jpeg IMG_3596.jpeg

Shannon Stan from a blue second calver. Side door job. Handy enough done so no issues. Il be just interested when the dna comes back to confirm it was a Stan calf, or a straw mix up with an nt bull. Has happened before to me straw mix I always assumed a honest mistake by technician. Although I had one in sept was supposed to be a Rembrandt calf but was a Ruben and she was ai in a handling unit that gets no use I couldn’t find the straw only the glove so I could not solve the mystery this time 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,436 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Hate calveing off blue dams, that tight hole gives me nightmares, never had luck.

Had 3 others blues calf with no issues one even had a Rolex calf. I know blues are dodgy but in fairness they can breed a top class calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Austinbrick

True.

Around 3 yrs, We got a call from a butcher to take back a heifer that had turned up in calf

We did and called the calf after the butcher's first name. She was nothing special but later turned into a fine scopy heifer . Angus cow. Fr bull.Sold her in Nov for 2200.

Pb angus cow had twins during the night 2 bulls,she's from scotland. All good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,773 ✭✭✭High bike

Not intentionally, she was having difficulty getting up in the cubicle shed we had her in. We took her out and put her in a little paddock we have in yard at outfarm. Planned to bring her home tomorrow. She had no springing. They were grand there this morning. A good bit of shelter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,773 ✭✭✭High bike

Ah right i was wondering,good result to get the 2 bulls hope they're lucky for u.Will u bring them in now or leave them out?

Brought them in. One of them isn't great on his front legs. Other lad is flying it. Cow is quiet which is a help. Cow has a good bit of milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭visatorro

Fooking dead calf on the slats there now. I fed at 4 and never coped anything. Worse thing is by looking at the pen I can't even tell who calved. A couple with a little springing but no obvious signs of calving.

We've had 4 calvings so far and every single one has been drama. We had a horrible day on Saturday- was also oh birthday- i said we'd have a lie on Sunday morning and we got up at 7.30. Heifer flat out calving against the wall. Calf dead. She couldn't stand. My digger was broken so we couldn't lift her. Was so annoyed as I'm always up at 5.30. Oh used to check on calving shed during the night as he'd be up to go to the toilet. Will have to get a camera. Heifer stood up herself but her leg isn't great. Have 2 calves on her and I've to get my dad to stand with her each day as she kicks the **** out of them. He says he's doing the job he used to get his dad to do 60 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Who2

I’m having one of those weeks too. Two calf beds out, one of the cows lay on her calf and killed it ( I think)A section on a sheep.a calf with meningitis and two calves with pneumonia. I’m at the stage now it better start to turn. I’d actually a couple of lads on about how everything seemed to be going well last week. I think they jinxed me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭Bazzer007

I feel all your pain. I had a second calver due to calf in a week dead in front of the feed barrier yesterday morning. I don't know what happened. She was in great order. Had a couple of heifers throw calves recently too. Farming is not for the faint hearted.

The cost of the cameras will pay for themselves in no time Whelan and bring you peace of mind when not on the farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Especially when you can check things without getting out of bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Jesus folks that's a bad bit of luck some of you are having. Hope it all turns upwards for you soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭tellmeabit

Served 305 days ago to AA red pepper, looks like a limo to me, so recon she repeated and the weanling nabbed her. Calved herself. Small little heifer. Might turn out a nice calf

have a cow due to calf in the next two weeks. A ch cow off fsz she’s either in calf to Rory or Rolex used two straws but i noticed today that the body is hanging off her she was fairly well fed before this and has only happened in the last few days. Is this a sign of a very big calf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭Omallep2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

What's the odds on one from Rolex and one from Rory?

I had her scanned there was no mention of twins but they have missed things before. She’s 276days today. Twins would normally calf around 280-285 would that be correct?

wouldn’t that be something twin heifers be better again 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,436 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Can go as low as 278 days in my experience.

Keep regular checks from now on

Twins can be a curse or can be a gift.

think il put the moocall call on her. Just to be save. Shes lying alot i noticed but no issues getting up i might get her off the slats after the weekend. She has some appearance around the pins but she has not started packing the elder yet.

100% would suit be better to have one good calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Dunedin

may simply be a big calf lying awkwardly in the cow - wouldn’t think it would automatically be twins.

Not uncommon for twins not to show up or be missed in the scanning depending on the stage she was scanned