No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭dmakc

I must have misunderstood you when you said again "one of the most protected and subsidised groups". Care to clarify how protected we are in the EU this week? Or where Ursela dropped the anchor on the pricing safeguards? No one is taking shots at your living here. But don't come out with that BS this week of all weeks, and don't conflate farming payments with asylum seeker benefits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,531 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

That was directed at Big Farmer. Read it as it’s written.

As I said I’m done with this… when it comes to snobbery "townie culchie" stuff I'm out. He’s already admitted he’s given up on forums and retreated to Facebook and other echo chambers, where his anger, intolerance and misinformation go unchallenged.

Aren't you doing the same? I've just challenged you to back up your statements, and it's "I'm out"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,531 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I stand by my statement. Farmers are indeed one of the most protected and subsidised groups in the country. There's no denying that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭lmk123

IMG_9292.png

people like you are the very reason that articles like this shouldn’t be written. Jesus Christ 🤦‍♂️

I’ve never seen the article and if you think transparency is wrong that's on you.

Look, it’s a fact that farming is the most subsidised industry in the country. My friends that are farmers will tell you that themselves. One of them is the highest subsidy earner in his county.

It’s no secret and it’s impossible to farm without subsidies. I agree with them. They are the reason I can eat affordable Irish food. There’s really no need to get upset about stating that reality. Now, unless the subsidies have stopped, or you can name another industry beside Energy & Environmental Industries that receives more my honest point still remains. It's not an attack or criticism.

If a measure were introduced that directly affected your business income, and the only protection offered was a promise to investigate the impact after your income had already fallen by 10% within a year, with the baseline resetting to the new, lower spot price at the start of year 2, 3, 4 and so on, you would have to wonder whether there's any legitimate protection against said measure, no?

As for subsidies, are you aware of the subsidies paid to energy companies, for example, in the CRM only to see no actual benefit to household bills? At least the food is cheap.

I’m well aware that energy companies receive massive subsidies too. And I’m sure on the energy forum there’s an energy business owner raging about refugees, wokism, the far left and trans people, convinced they’re the reason for high bills, all according to their social media feed.

If you're going to continue to deflect and not actually back up your statements, then we'll just leave it there.

Farmers are one of the most protected and subsidised groups in the country. I stand by that. You can give me analogies and measures but the fact remains. I'm sorry if your specific subsidies are waining or changing, genuinely. But the fact still remains.

And it's got nothing to do with refugees, trans people or woke people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,014 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Grand stretch in the evening..…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭lmk123

Protected Groups Under LawIrish law protects against discrimination based on nine grounds in employment and the provision of goods and services. These protected grounds are: 

• Family status
    • Sexual orientation
    • Race
    • Disability
    • Membership of the Traveller community 

Most Subsidised Groups (by Social Expenditure) Based on social protection expenditure, the largest areas of spending and their primary beneficiary groups are: 

• Sickness/Healthcare: The largest proportion of social benefits expenditure, mainly through the Public Health scheme, benefiting those needing health services.
    • Old Age (Pensions): The second largest category, mainly pension payments supporting retired and older people.
    • Family and Children: The third largest function, mainly through Child Benefit payments supporting families.
    • Disability: A significant portion of expenditure, primarily through Disability Allowance and Invalidity Pension, supporting people with disabilities and their dependants. 

Over two million people in Ireland receive some form of social welfare payment. 

I can see from your previous posts that you’re a good man to twist words when it suits you so a google search of the most protected and subsidised groups in Ireland brings up the above, not sure what group farmers fall into to become protected, don’t see farmers mentioned in the subsidised section either. Reply with whatever sh*t stirring woke BS you want I’m out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭148multi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

You’ve answered the question right here. When you look at this debate from perspective of culmination it’s in fact you the consumer who is in the main the true beneficiary of these subsidies and not the farmer.

Out For our tea for daughter's 22nd birthday. They gave her the kid's menu.....she looks about 12. She asked for a pint of bulmers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,578 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Was the bulmers for her mother or herself 😊

It was for herself, I'm on the Heineken. Nice star glass. Only having 1 or 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,754 ✭✭✭enricoh

Now, now folks there are no refugees on your farm n yer being fed rage.

There's nowhere for yer kids to rent when in college, nowhere after it and many see no future here. Let's hope some come back to pay for the refugee and homeless industry when the corporation tax heads back to Donald!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Parent teacher meeting this afternoon for my eldest in secondary, some parents would want a fine toe up the hole, great they know the teacher but that's no reason to stay chatting for 20mins while a queue builds up especially as its only for 90mins for the whole year..rant over.

Thank feck this is my last year of parent teacher meetings. I dont know who some people think they are holding up the whole show. If there's a problem with your dearly beloved make an appointment to talk to the teacher. I did at my last one let out a quite loud ffs whilst waiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Please God everything will go well for you. I will be thinking about you on Monday and I know there are others on F&F who will be as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭Base price

There is but ain't many feeling the joy of it.

Unfortunately IMO this chitchat thread is going downhill fast. We used to be able to have political, social/society etc debates without getting nasty or personal. Myself and Wrangler had a good few heavy debates over the years without insulting each other. Maybe as I get older I'm becoming less tolerant or maybe some people fail to respect the fact that others have different opinions to theirs and just want to shout them down. Anyway, if it keeps going like it has been over the past few months I reckon I will bow out and leave it off.

OK, last post on this. Social expenditure protects people from life risks like illness, unemployment and old age. It is needs based and exists to prevent poverty and social collapse. Farming subsidies protect a sector, not people. They stabilise farm incomes, food supply and land use. Unfortunately some people get personal and nasty (not you) That's not my style. We can agree to disagree.

Absolutely, and you’re right to point it out. I’ve been clear all along that it’s the consumer, including me, who ultimately benefits from farm subsidies. Those payments are a big part of what makes good Irish produce affordable, and that’s something I fully support. My point remains a simple one. Farmers are among the most protected and subsidised groups in the country, and rightly so given the role they play in food security and rural life. That support isn’t a criticism, it’s an acknowledgment of how the system works and who it benefits. I'm sorry it triggers, but I don't think simple points or opinions should provoke insults or snobbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Just back to farming topics travelling around the countryside in the last week couldn’t believe how green land is at the moment and how winter crops are doing at the moment. Hopefully the lambing and calving season goes well for everyone. Try to avoid the political stuff myself. Whelan 2 you have gave me an idea to attack a box of bulmers bottles in the house now with a bit of a longing for one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Tileman

I know it’s a constant barrage of new posters from other forums. Some pretending they are farmers to try align and persuade some here we are in wrong.

don’t mind others having a different view but they want to shove it down your throat.
    when you don’t agree they have duplicate accounts to come and shout you down.
    when you bow out they start to DM you with message with more abuse and asking you to give your phone number so they can have a debate with you.

pure bully boy tactics.
    I know Brian also had a few ganging up on him a few weeks ago
    anyway put them on ignore and don’t feed their ego and tripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,578 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Must be the stretch in the evenings has the longing for drink on us, I came in at 8 after an exercise class and opened one of the bottle's of red wine that's been there since Christmas, something I'd never do usually 😊

I know if there's 10 or more new replies on this thread it's stuff I won't read. Enjoy the wine, beers everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Austinbrick

I hope all goes well and the tremors cease. I think we all pick up something as we move along, myself included. Late 40s here.God Bless.

I just opened a bottle of red wine that was given to us over Christmas and it's really nice and we don't normally drink red wine. It's called Pablo organic mountain garnacha from Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

That is a cracker of a wine. Been trying to get into going for different wines. Unfortunately have a list of ones that are rotten more than good. Had a Moldovan Pinot Grigio two weeks ago that was shocking poor haha