Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

there is no farmers union in ireland we have lobbying associations

is confed rural the second biggest farmers union in france? there not a small group by any means, does the other union just wear suits i didnt see any of them on the media coverage?

not naive, i know its going through, some of BIL family are from s.america they are rubbing there hands all ready, at least they waited till beef prices rose to pull trigger it only took 25yrs….

as other half says once it in supermarket it must have complied with all standards

certificate/photo whatever they call it is just how france plays trade deals due to protectionism…..the only real issue is price and cost….the result will be cheaper meat/grain/dairy for eu for consumers….once no one stops a boat crossing the water!!

for those car companies you mentioned as far as im aware most use ford parts to comply with emissions, usa certifications

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Apologies, I use the terminology Unions to describe any organization that lobbies or organises on behalf of farmers or/and agricultural producers. Eg, CR are known as a confederation, not as a union..but they’re a Union.

Confederation Rural are the joint biggest lobbying association in France, if not the biggest. They started out fairly recently on the platform of imposing EU regulations on all imports of agricultural products imported into Europe…along with abolishing the CAP. I even gave them financial support without becoming a member.
    The traditional largest farmers union were/are the FNSEA. They, cleverly, have refrained from planting their flag on the hill about a trade agreement already in place. Fairly basic thinking?

Again, you’ve got it arseways about phytosanitary regulations. They’re not French!! They’re international regulations/standards ensuring the quality and standards of exported products. They are there to ENSURE that what is exported is exactly as it says. They ensure that your avacado isn’t full of fruit fly larvae etc, or that my class1 non gmo maize is exactly that. If all countries had to conform to international phytosanitary regs, you wouldn’t get Jex masquerading as angus, or so-called whole milk powder with the butterfat removed and replaced with palm oil.
    I have pages of certification with every load of maize that leaves here so that exporters can prove that it is exactly what it says on the tin.

I suppose the jolly in Athlone got farmers to wash the auld tractor…and more importantly, that a few gombeen politicians get elected again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Dunedin

I can confirm I met @daiymann 5 today in Athlone and took photography evidence as proof.

I can confirm he’s 8 foot tall and speaks 15 languages. He showed me a video of his 750 cow herd and you could clearly see him putting on the clusters in pit. Whilst running out to do a section on a cow in between clusters

also showed me one his bucket fed calves

all photography evidence attached

The man is the real deal and thus puts the doubters in their place

Delighted also to attach photos of the Fendt too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

I got the impression from reading his many posts that he would be…ahem…somewhat bigger !
    Your photo is a serious let down .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Dunedin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭ftm2023

Hope you guys don’t mind me posting this here—I know a lot of you probably own a decent amount of Kerry shares after the spin-out this time last year. 

The long and the short of it is, the company is stuck in the mud. An overpaid underperforming CEO. Lack of volume growth speaks volumes. The shares where they are now are a classic example of a “value trap”. 

Below, I’ve shared screenshots of an article from The Business Post regarding Kerry’s share price and the state of play for the company moving forward.

There is one key metric mentioned in the article that everyone needs to pay attention to: “Volume Growth.”

Put simply, volume growth is the measure of how much more product they are actually selling this year compared to last year. It’s the clearest sign of whether a company is truly expanding or just standing still.

Kerry Group CEO Edmond Scanlon has repeatedly claimed that Kerry would achieve 4-6% volume growth and promised the company would reach 2 billion customers by 2030. All that talk is what originally drove the share price up to those highs of €130.

Long story short: Edmond talked the talk, but he has failed to walk the walk. Since he made that 4-6% promise, actual volume growth has languished between 0.9% and 3.3% every single year. To make matters worse, the article below shows they’ve now cut the volume growth guidance for next year as well.

The reality is they aren't selling enough new produce on a yearly basis. There is only so much juice you can squeeze in terms of hiking prices to grow your profits before you hit a wall. 

I won’t even go into the disastrous attempt Edmond made to buy a hugely overvalued DuPont, or the historic fine Kerry received for food safety issues in America.

It’s also worth noting that under his watch, the market cap of the company has halved in six years, while the ISEQ index has doubled in the same period. 

We won’t even go there regarding his 32% wage increase last year, which made him the best-paid CEO of any ISEQ-listed company. He took that raise while overseeing one of the worst share price performances on the entire index for that year.

And let’s not forget 2021, when they tried to sell the dairy business to the co-op for €800m—a massively overvalued deal in the middle of Covid. Our co-op board at the time actually voted that there was no need for a shareholder vote to approve it.

Kerry Group and Edmond Scanlon were perfectly happy to go along with that, and the deal was only scuppered because farmers refused to take it lying down. We eventually got the deal almost four years later, but for close to half the original price tag.

IMG_1581.png IMG_1582.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Screenshot_20260112-095416_Ecosia.jpg

This is the inspirational programme for the PFC this year 😬

I didn't scroll very far but it doesn't look like a two day event. That cow is drying up I think.

Moo Moo Teamoo, all of my dreams come true…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

Just seen lamnesd longevity both which ebi are poor on bring back british friesian i guess

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Second calver had calved when I went to the yard this morning. Dead calf. About a week earlier than expected. Nothing else calving for at least 10-14 days.

Any option other than milk her away and wait for others to calf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,862 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

yes milk her. She will dry up if you don’t

Can you batch up the ones to calve in the next 2 weeks and keep an eye on them. That’s what I do here. Every few days cows that are due within 14 days are added into a springing group to get some meal prep calving and keep a closer on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭Jb1989

You always need to be watching in plenty of time, gestation is anywhere from 278 day to over 290. That's almost a fortnight that they can come early.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Thanks lads.

I had her picked out alright but just didn't think she'd go so fast. Not the end of the world and lesson learnt. Another one!

She was a poor performer last year and I'm not expecting a big improvement this year. If I had enough of them, I'd nearly chance her up the ramp in the next day or two.

First one of the year is usually just luck, till you get into a rythm

Here we go then

IMG_1590.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,779 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭cjpm

Were they the crowd that were pushing property in Bulgaria at the height of the Celtic Tiger??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,993 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Nice bit of a bag on her, best of luck with it all this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Ah now, she was well ready, looking good 👍.

Moo Moo Teamoo, all of my dreams come true…

don’t right her off yet. The best cows can often be the worst heifers. They had a good long dry period so should be ready to thrive this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

fine bag on her…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭tractorporn

give the springing ones a shake of meal for a week before calving. A kg of a beef nut would be plenty. The bacteria in there rumen will be adjusted to meal and they’ll hit the ground running when they calve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,184 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

careful with beef nut I was always told as calcium in it which can lead to milk fever ….2 kg oats and 0.5 kg soya to anything / weeks out here ,works well

Grand. She had 7-ish litres of beesons. I'll milk her OAD til a few more calf and take it from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭tractorporn

A couple of litres for the freezer and I'm sure you'd find suckler lads for the last few litres, we would always keep 5/6 litres of beastings in the freezer. It's a hassle for the start but you'll have 3/4 more to go with her before you know it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭davidk1394

who is logging into zoom to look at the Tirlan webinar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭ginger22

Heifer 3rd generation out from Oman calved this evening. Mad b,,,h and has the white Oman head on her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭green daries

I never liked Oman but he had some fantastic sons what's she out of herself