General Irish politics discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,498 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

If it was FG or FF the ditch would have had a weeks worth of coverage on a story like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Quitelife

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/courtandcrime/arid-41757884.html

Another Fine Gael Councillor Liam Galvin in limerick asking gardai to sort out his speeding tickets and making fun of moving speed vans … Fine Gael s bunch of crooks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,515 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

All getting very tetchy in FF,
    I was surprised 3 senior members ratchetting up the pressure. Martin is firing out scolding press releases.

michae'.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭deirdremf

The insistance that the report hasn't been finalised yet, and that Martin hasn't received the report yet feels a little bit funny.

It's almost as though someone was given the order not to finalise the report yet, and then to wait a good while before handing the report over.

The whole thing looks very like someone is playing for time - and is in no rush to receive the report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭midlander12

Indeed. Anyway I'm sure Harris will be reading it into the Dail record whenever he has his next joust with 'Angry Pearse'.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I was listening to Radio 1 today as I was driving for work. Dear lord, there are some in FF who truly want to see the party destroyed by setting fire to themselves. The councillor claiming that FF going to 20% during the austerity cuts was all the fault of Martin, and that was the only reason people left the party was phenomenal. Only for I presume RTE vetted the speakers I would have guessed it was a sketch.

The presenter had to quite comically say, I wish you weren't putting me in the position of defending Michael but the reason they left was the FF brand was toxic, and the councillor doubled down, saying FF was never toxic. This man remembers the recession very differently from, checks notes, everyone else in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭BQQ

That said, he is the last major remnant of the government that crashed the country

If they ever want to move past the toxic label, he has to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,889 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

They don't have a toxic label.

They are the largest party in the Oireachtas, the largest party in local government, and the joint largest Irish party in Europe.

You might want them to still have a toxic label, there may be good grounds for them to still have a toxic label, but the people have said otherwise, and thats the only metric that matters.

The leadership of MM guided them back from the brink, and despite the presidential clusterf---, he won't be taken out on any timetable other than his own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,042 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

In the 2011 election they were down to just 20 seats, it's been a slow recovery but a very big one that nobody could see coming in fairness so I agree. He will go when he is ready and deservedly so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,282 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Because he was the last major remnant, he had no credible rivals either. That's changed but only recently.

I still think he'll see out his term as Taoiseach then step down as leader, retire from politics entirely at the next election. O'Callaghan next leader.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

O'Callaghan would have to f*** up badly now not to be.

Chambers is mortally wounded. He doesn't have the credit in the bank to get away from his part in selection-gate as easily as MM. And he's not half the operator either Martin or O'Callaghan are.

And O'Callaghan is already proving to be one of the more impactful cabinet members, in only his first year in a senior portfolio.

He is calm, learned, interrogative, and he understands the boundaries of his role, but how to make himself most effective in cabinet and with his senior civil servants and agency chiefs.

His podcast interview with the Irish Times earlier in the week is a good listen, he comes across impressively. He accepts what he doesn't know, and cannot do, but he has good arguments for what he wants to achieve. In other words he doesn't come across as a spoofer. His deep experience as a senior counsel definitely comes across in his style. And I say so as a Fine Gael member.

But the most demonstrative thing about him is that he understands absolutely that now is not the time to challenge MM, and that he must be patient and build trust and profile for the next 18 months or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,177 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

He hasn't set the world on fire but in addition to the above he has shown up the utter incompetence (that is being very kind) of Helen McEntee when she was in Justice.

She was absolutely useless. The FF parliamentary party will no doubt enjoy that.

Had a toxic label, as in back then. I realise you were replying to someone else, I was just shocked a FFer could think they had anything close to a non toxic label back then, and then even worse to truly believe it was all Martins fault. It was Trumpian levels of blindness to the facts.

My money is on the end of the EU presidency, I would say that will wrap up and then he will retire from politics altogether. Possibly learning from the Jim Gavin debacle, arrange a spectacle of the grassroots members being the drivers of the new leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,401 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

If he learns from the Jim Gavin debacle, the arrangement will be that the parliamentary party will determine the new leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,282 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Having a leader backed by the membership but not the parliamentary party is a recipe for disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,575 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

If you target your party member's wishes only you'll only ever be a small party.

Parliamentary party members have been elected by the public and represent the public. Their views should be massively more important than a person in a small cumann somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pureza

The PA Daly SF and Paul Murphy case against super juniors at cabinet has failed at the high court

SF have plenty money of course to bring it to the Supreme Court,they’ve probably a discount at this stage with all their Slapp cases,have any of those even seen a courtroom yet btw?

https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2025/1219/1549748-super-junior-court/

Edit: link now working

Post edited by Seth Brundle on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,923 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Hopefully we’ll see a media outlet put in an FOI request to reveal how much this stunt has cost the taxpayer.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I don't have a major issue with it. Good to get clarity on the situation.

The best course of action would, of course, be to remove that silly restriction from the Constitution. But I imagine it would have a hard time passing annoyingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,515 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

While the ‘how dare you question us’ crew will be getting their jollies you either take the constitution seriously or you don’t.

Definitely should have been challenged and in the Supreme Court if deemed necessary.

Mod: warned for trolling

Performative nonsense from a couple of negative and massive waster politicians, representing deeply, deeply unserious parties.

The state should go after them for every cent of costs, based on vexatious action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

I see the yanks are coming to a polling station near you.

Former White House strategist Steve Bannon has been helping to form an Irish “national party” as he works “behind the scenes” on what he described as “the Irish situation”, he said in an interview.

He said the Maga movement was being mirrored by groups in Ireland, Britain, France and Italy.

“They’re going to have an Irish Maga, and we’re going to have an Irish Trump. That’s all going to come together, no doubt. That country is right on the edge thanks to mass migration,”

Steve Bannon promises ‘Irish Trump’ and says he is working to form ‘national party’ in Ireland – The Irish Times

Any one have any suggestions as to who this 'Irish Trump' might be?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

If Bannon has been helping to form an Irish “national party", does that mean Justin Barrett hasn't been asked to buy a pallet load of Ambre Solaire?

Clearly Bannon does not understand the Irish political landscape or Irish political habits and his project will presumably be a dismal failure.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,177 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The Irish Times took that quote from an interview for Politico. Bannon randomly threw that in. Of course he is not serious but they took the bait. It's a cheap destabilisation play he is involved in in European countries for some reason.

It should be ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

No it shouldn't be ignored it fits with other utterances from the POTUS and vice-P as well as the recent U.S. National Security document. It should be reported on and put in the context of U.S. interference in European domestic politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,639 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Even if some populist crank was to emerge, they would never be able to get into power in Ireland. None of the other Dáil parties would co-operate with them and certainly no party would be interested in bringing them into government.

People might point to the example of Farage in the UK, but they have a dysfunctional political system and a right wing press. Even the BBC were and heavily involved in platforming him for many years (and still are) and making him seem 'credible'.

Speaking of Eddie Hobbs, he was hosting a little shindig this weekend with all the usual right wing types.

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2026/01/10/those-seeking-new-irish-government-should-look-to-maga-eddie-hobbs-tells-conference/

The audience for the weekend-long IRL Forum in Ashbourne, Co Meath, who had paid €90 each for a two-day pass or €50 a day, numbered 300 to 400 on Saturday morning and included US ambassador to Ireland, Edward Walsh.

Participants in the sessions, which were all moderated by Mr Hobbs, a financial adviser-turned podcaster and campaigner, included Independent Dublin councillor Malachy Steenson, entrepreneur Declan Ganley and Independent senator Sharon Keogan.

The sessions heard frequent denunciations of immigration, “globalist” influence on government, the mainstream media, non-governmental organisations (NGOs) and the political establishment.

“We need a new government of patriots, not a government of globalists,” barrister Una McGurk told the meeting.

Ms McGurk predicted Irish people “will be a minority in our own country” due to the replacement of the native population by immigrants, a popular conspiracy theory among the far-right internationally.

How predictable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,575 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

It's mad that the US ambassador to Ireland was at that...