Connacht Team Talk Thread VI - Some like it TOH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭dockysher

Exactly. There are no positives in consitantly losing and blowing big leads. In last 10 games we beat a poor sharks team at home and we beat black lion at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭KBurke85

Bit of perspective needed people. We had two academy props in the 23. Finished with 3 debutants and others with less than 10 caps.
    Most people thought they were going to get hammered and would have been delighted with two points before the game.

The way the game panned out is disappointing but I’m a lot more optimistic after that performance than some of the performances recently.

The problem is we should not be losing from these positions. We dont want the younger players getting used to this. Happens too often. Yes we would have bren happy with result beforehand but your 17 points up with 20mins left. Look at the sports headlines, connacht let big lead slip again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

Totally agree…

They gave there all to get a 17 point lead… We could see that the players were exhausted playing a pretty physical outfit… Our bench had three debuts on it..

We have to look to the performance rather than the result… We were expecting a good beating from a top French side in their backyard… These guys are ahead of La Rochelle in the French league, look what Leinster had to go through to get a home win…

This is an improvement… This is better… We are an improving side and looking miles ahead of last year considering injuries and our expanding playing pool… If we had a stronger bench we might have been our day…

Treacy's Try being brought back that much on a small technicality which I never seen pulled on teams inside the 22 on this… A little bit much..

We are at a stage where we are meeting opposition like Leinster and Montpellier who play in a different league, different budgets, large squads with huge quality depth… We are nuturing 19 yr olds and trying to find diamonds…

Harry West was very good today… Josh open running is a joy to watch, leave the kicking to Sam or Sean… Cathal is looking better and better, he is our No. 1 inside Center IMHO… Pack were great in first half, I know those defensive sets is why ye gassed a little at the end…

We got 2 pts where I thought 1 would have been a bit of a bonus… We again put valuable minutes into young lads… Lancaster isn't Jesus, he needs time…

So basically we should get used to losing and thats it.

Whats point in playing game if your happy with losing before it starts. Bad mentality for all young players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭KBurke85

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭AccidentallyOnside

No one is happy with it but it is where we are; we are a team in transition, we've have major coaching changes in recent years and we have a squad full of young lads with promise but also a raft of stalwarts that have seen a lot more yesterdays than tomorrow. We know we're going to see big transitions over the next year. Should we be happy losing? No, but we're a small team looking to get better and there was enough out there to think that things can get better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,225 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Dockysher, would you rather Connaught never even built the lead in the first place? Rugby isn't binary "you win or you lose". Two points taken from the road without our Ireland big hitters Aki, Hansen and Bealham is a consolation. You make it sound like we were beaten 33-0 and never showed up. It's disappointing, but there's still something to hope for. You learn from your losses to prepare for the next time.

This too shall pass.

Look at the sports headlines, all same another connacht collapse. Its not right. You can dress it up as you like. Happens too many times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

If the game played out different with teams trading scores evenly the narrative will be much different.

In a way, it's good long term as it gives Lancaster a clear picture of what he has available to work with.

I do feel Lancaster has been given some direction from IRFU about bringing connacht forward and Frawley is the first of a significant number of signings heading Connachts way and Lancasters agenda this season is to give players an opportunity so he can determine wherever they are kept or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭The Subliminal Verses

Rolling over and getting our belly's tickled on a regular basis....... yeah, sure that's grand, sing the fields of Athenry and everything will be ok 🤬

• Moderators Posts: 5,617 ✭✭✭Azza

These collapses seem as much psychological as much as anything else. As tough as losing like this is, I do believe we need to give Lancaster time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Strand1970

If you been connacht fan for more than a while, losing is very common apart from 2016. I can see development in the team and young players getting exposure. Stuart is not a magician, he has to deal with the current squad, culture and existing coaching staff. It will be maybe 2 seasons before we are consistent and holes have been filled within the squad. I don't get the negativaty on here, yes some terrible results recently but that's a result of mismanagement over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭ElisaAtWar

That's exactly my sentiment also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Trey13

Some bizarre commentary on the game here I think.

Before the game you would have said 2 points is a good result. Yes of course it is a huge disappointment to blow a 17 point lead but it was still a very young side out there. Look at the age profile of the team that finished the game. They will take serious learnings from the game.

I was impressed with the three debutants, Victory seems like a very physical player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭ElisaAtWar

The collapse was based on introduction of first timers. What was encouraging was how a young team really did incredibly well for 60 minutes.

We were 21-0 up against a poor ospreys side a few weeks ago and lost. Whats excuse there? Lessons not been learned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭lavrenti

I think he hasn't done that bad so far…

He still has defensive issues but it not from hard work… They really throw their bodies on the line for this team… They just seem have lapses or mistakes…

In fairness today, they gave a herculean effort in the first half and the first 15 min of the second… We know that there was a lot of tanks empty and we were bringing on little experience to finish off the game…

Simple…

We played against the wind… We got 21 points with the wind…

Two of our tight heads got injured and they swapped there loosehead for Welsh International Loose head…

Connacht then went to 13 players for ten min…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭ShineyShiney

I'd have taken 2 points this morning.

Winning is a habit and so is losing, we need a bit of luck.

Seems most are happy with how things are going this season, I disagree but hope for a big result against leinster on 24th and good end to season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Joma4good

With that amount of negativity in all your post game comments I’d imagine you can see where we went wrong in the last 15mins?
    What I saw was a very impressive and gutsy performance that went bad due to a bit of fatigue and Montpellier having the quality to hang in and expose our lack of depth, a correct but v.pinickety overruling on our try and a charge down of a fatigued player led to two of their try’s, there was no collapse today even if the raw stats make it look like that. I thought it was one of our best performances of the season so far. So many players stood up to be counted especially some of the younger guys, I’m much happier that the direction of travel is in the right direction than I was last week.

I think we can all accept losses. Losses happen. But it is the late collapses from very strong leads which are a worry. I personally think they are a mental thing and perhaps sometimes, a problem with our on field leadership. I won’t blame the academy lads in any way. They did grand. Front rows were quite impressive really.

Lancaster suggested it was poor execution under pressure. Montpellier smelt blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Zeugnis

I wouldn't say that people are happy with how things are going, but they're realistic. Lancaster didn't get to select a squad, he inherited one. Same goes for the coaching staff. Stuart can't just sprinkle pixie dust and make everything right.

Others have made the comparison with Ulster's performance after Richie Murphy took over, and although the circumstances of the two provinces are very different, the lesson is that the path of improvement goes through the vale of suffering ;)

Connacht are playing in an extremely competitive environment where if a team stands still they'll be passed out. Look at the progress of Zebre and the Welsh teams. We have never had the money to buy transformational talent which means that our improvement can only be incremental.

I'm pretty sure that Lancaster has already fielded more players than Connacht ever did under Wilkins. We're getting a good look at the quality that's available and an insight into the gaps that can't be filled from the squad as is (hooker, lock). Around two thirds of the current player contracts are up at the end of the season, so the squad is going to be rebuilt.

Barrett and Bohan look like real prospects in the front row. illo was excellent and brings real physicality. Harry West was very good. Jennings had his best game in a long time and showed that he has a very high ceiling. Naughton was good until his injury before Christmas and showed that he solve the place kicking problem that has plagued us in recent years. Add these guys to the known talent - Treacy, Gavin, Mattie Devine etc - and we are teeming with potential, and that's with the likes of Sean Walsh and John Devine still needing more exposure.

With Frawley's arrival next season, we'll have better options at outhalf and the luxury of potentially deploying Ioane in another capacity. I honestly think that with the additions of a trucking TH lock and a big physical hooker, we'll be good to go. Hopefully Temi Lasisi will be a further reinforcement at prop when he recovers from his injury.

Lastly, we lost today because of an unlucky ref call and a couple of errors. It was a long way from the type of capitulations that we have witnessed in previous seasons. Our attack looked sharp, and our defense was improved with a notably higher level of physicality. In sum, we look like we're getting better.

For these reasons, many of us remain upbeat despite the disappointment of another narrow defeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

There is rumours doing the rounds that John hodnett is a target for Connacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

I'll believe that when I see it, seems like a lot of nonsense rumours are floating about this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Zeugnis

There are a lot of players being linked with moves to and from Connacht. Many of them don't make sense from either province's perspective. I would put speculation about Hodnett in that category, it would also cause a mini uprising among Munster supporters, some of who are already embittered.

My suspicion is that the transfer speculation is being promoted by podcasters who inventing 'content' to make money off it, possibly assisted by agents who hope to use such public discussion to their advantage in contract negotiations.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,413 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

I'm not sure hodnett is any significant improvement over your current back row options.