Winter 2025/26 - General Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭esposito

Roads white with frost everywhere I looked on my drive to the NCT centre in Deansgrange. A lovely sight in the heart of winter.

Now can we get the roads white with snow in Dublin in the next month or so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,232 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Went for a walk at 8ish last night and it was an exceptional starry night with no moon. I noticed some small patches of the road were starting to ice up even though it felt well above freezing. At 8am this morning they were lethal. Everyone has improved their ice driving skills over the past couple of weeks!

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,176 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

Black ice everywhere around Athenry this morning, I came across 2 crashes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,925 ✭✭✭Calibos

Ah thanks!☺️ I fear my TLDR waffle posts often bore people. Like for instance, I mentioned my 'infamous' Cross Climate Tyres in quotes because after my longish post in the event thread a few users there who thought there was no need for Kermits thread scoffed at my even mentioning Snow rated tyres. ie. they reckoned this spell would amount to nothing for most people in terms of snow and here was this eejit talking about the need for All Season Snow Rated Tyres. Whereas if my post hadn't triggered a TLDR response, they might have read it properly and not have misinterpretted it and realised I was actually kind of agreeing with them that this spell would likely amount to nothing for most and that I bought the tyres last year to feel safer driving up the Wicklow Mountains right on my doorstep to get my Snow Fix rather than relying on the rare Snow falls on Bray Seafront.

I've a Hive System like Citizenpain that I self installed back in 2018 thanks to guidance from the Boards Heating and Plumbing forum. Before that I just had a Timer Controller controlling the Downstairs, Upstairs and Hot Water Zones and Thermopstatic Radiator Valves set to 21c. Hive is programmed to turn on the boiler to heat hot water for the Hot Water Zone for a couple of hours in the morning and then again in the evening. Hot Water Cylinder Thermostat will knock it off if or when the Cylinder temp gets up to at least 62c IIRC (ensures Legionella is killed). Those couple of hours twice a day seems to be enough for our household. We've an electric and a pump shower and I only recall once ever running out of hot water for the pump shower when we had visitors with queues for both LOL. For the Heating Zones I've set both a time schedule and target Temperature on the Hive. The system is totally off from 10pm till 7am regardless of temperature in the house. Between 7am and 10pm its now targetting 19c for the downstairs zone and 17c for the upstairs one. The upstairs zone barely comes on at all anymore at that target temp. We're all 'Cold Sleepers' and prefer a cooler Bedroom but to be wrapped up snug under a duvet, some with an electric Blanket. Not me though, I run so hot that I run a small fan aimed at my head most nights even in the Winter! LOL. Looking at the Hive Graphs I can see the temperature usually only drops 1-1.5c overnight which I was surprised about when I first started monitoring the graphs a few years ago. Thats BER A rated Heatloss numbers and yet this is a leaky Victorian house with 3 open Chimney Flues still remaining and Badly fitted leaky Double Glazed Sash Windows. We did insulate the Attic well and the Floor Slab was insulated when we renovated in 2010 though. Still, if we got a BER done it deffo wouldn't get an A Rating but it does actually perform like one it seems. My theory that I've seen confirmed elsewhere is that the 2ft thick external walls and redbrick internal walls have huge thermal mass and act as a thermal battery. Absorbing the Suns heat outside and Central Heating heat inside during the day and slowly release it overnight back into the house interior keeping the temp from dropping fast overnight when the heating is off. Like a giant Electric Storage Heater in reverse when you think about it. (Those things are just a Casing with a load of bricks inside and an electric heating element that heat up the bricks at cheaper night rate electricity and during the day blow a fan across the bricks to push the stored heat in the bricks out into the room) Further confirmed this year actually. Like I mentioned in the last post, it wasn't till Mid November that we turned back on the Heating Zone Schedules and target Temps but I found that even set to only 19c the Heating stayed on for literally the entire 7am till 10pm schedule, so nearly the full 15 hours!! I couldn't understand WTF was going on!! LOL After a few days the numbers came back in line with expectations even though the external temperatures where the same. Basically what was happening was that the Wall Thermal Batteries hadn't been charged up yet. By November the Sun wasn't contributing much. Once the walls soaked up Central heating heat and reached equilibrium they stopped sucking all the heat out of the room air quickly, letting the room air temp remain/hold more stable at 19c and thus letting the boiler shut off. So after a week of the same external temps, the boiler went from running 15 hours a day to 2-3 hours. (thats at 8-10c external temp. During this spell with temps 2-5c its been running 5-6 hours)

So to conclude the Spoiler tagged 'waffle' above that most wont want to read and otherwise have to scroll past, The Hive was a great investment as it allowed me to see how the house was performing, allowed me to tweak Schedules and temps and then see the results of my tweaks, to the point where we found a great compromise between comfort and gas consumption. It was shocking to realise how much consumption dropped by dropping the Thermostats down one degree and then another without overly affecting comfort. At worst it just meant people kept there jumpers on at 19c instead of stripping down to t-shirts when they started to sweat a bit at 21c.

Similar setup here.

Most of my rads have manual (As oppsed to WIFI) Thermostatic valves set to 21c in lived in rooms where the rad in that room shuts off if the room gets above 21c no matter what temp the Hive Thermostats are set to. Un-used rooms have the door closed and the Rad Thermostatic valve set to * Frost Protection. My Hive controls 3 Zones with electronic Zone Valves. Downstairs, Upstairs and hot Water. The hot Water cylinder thermostat is set to 62c and the Hive is set to turn boiler on for 2 hours in the morning and 2 in the evening if the Cylinder is below 62c. We've family members in the house all day. At no point is the house ever empty with everyone in work etc, so we have the heating zones set to be active from 7am till 10pm with a target temp of 19c Downstairs and 17c upstairs. During that 15 hour window the boiler is only firing as long as it needs to maintain the temp of those zones close to 19c/17c. During this spell with outside temps of 2-5c that meant 5 or 6 hours, however when the external temps are in the 8-10c range it was only firing for 2-3 hours during that 15 hour schedule window. When I had the Target temp set at 21c (which meant T-shirts tbh) the boiler was firing for 13 or 14 of that 15 hour schedule Window. So effectively, dropping the Target temp from 21-20c cut consumption in half and from 20-19c cut it nearly in half again…and all it meant was we had to keep our jumpers on.

Same in Bray near the Seafront. Hardest Frost of this entire spell here this morning. I presume that was down to higher humidity levels rather than lower temps. Even at 9:30am the cars outside were white on the sides nevermind the roof, windscreen and bonnets and the astroturf lawn bowling green was completely white like as if it had a few cm of snow on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Kutebride

As parkrun cancelled enjoyed a 2hr walk on the ramparts. Good grip down there ....… when made it there 😀

The sun appeared around 1130. Its gone again now.

4⁰ Meath

Are we for rain all day in East in the morning or is there any reprieve between 9-12? Seemed so on BBC forecast. My phone app says rain all day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,232 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Normal winter weather is back. This is the most rain I have seen in a long time. I hope we don't get punished for all the dry weather. I was walking along a riverbank this morning and it was at mid summer levels.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,193 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Yes. I have to get some sort of control system . It's either too hot or too cold at the moment .

Everybody in my house is male and run hot but I am putting blankets and extra clothes on.

House is relatively well insulated mostly but the dang downstairs zone is heated from a thermostat in an open kitchen diner which is colder than the rest of the house . So it heats up too much . Turn the thing down and that room is freezing .

Upstairs is grand and hot water is on for 2 sessions morning and evening unless someone needs an extra boost.

rads on manual trvs as well

We need to sort that open plan room downstairs . When cooking it is toasty so it's really just earlier in the day these times . West facing so lovely when the sun shines

As you can see I am not very techy . Tried to spoiler that so not to irritate those looking for weather discussion and it worked eventually !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,457 ✭✭✭✭sryanbruen

Beautiful morning in the Phoenix Park before the weather went to pot.

2026-01-10 Phoenix Park tree sunrise colour.jpg

Photography site - https://sryanbruenphoto.com/

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,336 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

a dirty wet soggy night here in Meath and feeling mild, yep the conveyer belt is back in business and for how long, could be a week, could be 2 weeks, could be for the rest of the winter, who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,772 ✭✭✭pauldry

Still no Saturday parkruns in Sligo town in 2026 due to ice both times. Polar maritime at end of next week looks possible too. Surely not 3 cancellations in a row. In fact today Sligo County Council closed some back roads due to the ice until 1130am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,434 ✭✭✭OldRio

9C. Drizzle and rain. What a difference 24 hours make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,090 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

8C here in north Longford. Cloudy, but dry and clear. Heading off to watch my granddaughter play football, bringing a brolly just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,090 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

I was right, just started to rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,767 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

Cloudy misty with rain and drizzle here in Castlebar. 11 degrees. Miserable sort of day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭tradfan1

Miserable in Arklow too - wind and rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,146 ✭✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Back to old muck weather. I'd forgotten all about that over the last few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭Billcarson

11c here , first day since Dec 22nd I've seen double digits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭midlander12

It was lovely, mild, fresh morning here in Longford, able to go for my walk without having to cover everything except my nose and eyes. 10C. A bit of drizzle now.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 13,398 Mod ✭✭✭✭Meteorite58

13.2C here near Tralee, moderate rain with heavy pulses, 6.2mm and getting windy from the SSW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,903 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Similar in Limk City. 12.5c with a blustery south wind and just light spits of rain so far. Barometer 985.9 and falling steadily.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,336 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

a filthy, wet, damp, dark day of pigmuck, but at least it's mild….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭appledrop

Ah lads its not that bad out! It's very mild and just drizzly rain really in Dublin.

Now it was absoutlely lashing this morning but we have been out and about since no problem.

My 3 year old had sore hands from the cold this week( even though he had gloves on) so I can see the positive in milder weather even if wet!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,592 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

It’s a harmless enough day here in north Clare at the moment. Just a run of the mill wet, breezy day. Honestly I was expecting worse. There is heavy rain in doors for sure but the wind is nothing crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,196 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Well you were looking for the Atlantic weather to return over a week ago.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Kutebride

That is one uafasach day. Bloody Atlantic.

Indeed probably even worse where I am in the Wicklow Hills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

BE0021E8-4C11-4296-A6BF-4ED44FD2EF09.jpeg

it’s game over now, Atlantic unstoppable and the block pushed away. No way back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,327 ✭✭✭Dazler97

It feels so warm out compared to the last 10 days , 11ºc currently

Blocking over North America and Asia, deep cold lows spilling out of North America and joining the conveyer belt with our name on it, this could well be curtains and the New Year cold spell was the best chance we had since 2018 and sadly it didn't work out for us. Clutching straws here hanging onto a final bit of hope for February but we're going to need alot of 'hope' and 'luck'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,327 ✭✭✭Dazler97

Absolutely 💯 I couldn't agree more with you gonzo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,434 ✭✭✭OldRio

Warm 9C. but heavy rain at the moment. Windy. Leitrim