8 months into year 1

• 07-01-2026 12:53AM
    Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,814 Mod ✭✭✭✭

About this time last year, my brother set out to train for a marathon, and asked was I interested. I was, but I'm a bit of a yes man, not always great on the follow-through aspect of things. The date was set for September in Kilkenny, he was training away, I was you know, not quite training. I didn't have zero base, playing football a couple of times a week, but also carrying a bit of weight, 38, and always having convinced myself that I needed team sport for motivation. It wasn't until the last week in April that I actually started to run.

The ramp up on mileage was slow only doing around 60-70kms a month in May and June, and I knew August wasn't going to be ideal with travel, so at least in July I began to take it seriously and average around 45km a week. As expected, couldn't really get any running done in the first two weeks of August but finished the month with decent adherence to the initial training plan. Taper then at the start of September for the Medieval Marathon on the 13th. Funny first marathon, around 300 runners, but still felt a big deal to me, and was a hugely positive experience and couldn't fault the setup. Hilly auld route, and given my lack of overall mileage the legs were probably more than a little undercooked, last 12km or so was a fairly painful - but got around 04:23:41, crossed the line together, but in all truth there could have been 30 minutes or more between us if we got seperated at any earlier point, he'd have finished it 15 minutes quicker and me 15 minutes slower - great though, and on to the next, again the brother pushed it further - set his sights on Florence in Late November.

Second block, quick turnaround, 11 weeks. Went into this with a fair bit more belief, and sort of, just general enjoyment of running at this point. October was the first month of around 200km, which is small change to seasoned runners around these parts, but lofty figures for myself. I'm also one of the people who tracks it all, and I could see run by run, the average of every single kilometre coming down, intended slow runs were now at my old 5km pace - the progress was such a major motivator. I didn't mention it but joint pain, particularly my hip on the right side had been a reasonable issue in the first block, and was the first to go on the KK marathon, particularly on the hilly course - but as I upped the mileage, it just subsided altogether, lucky. Got around to race day, the brother sets a goal of sub-4, and to be honest I thought that seemed fair, I knew he had trained for it, my feeling was I had too.

The trip to Florence comes around, the usual ungodly travel for anyone living outside of Dublin getting an early flight. Something sort of weird goes on though, on the Saturday I sort of drink less and maybe eat about the same or less than I would a normal day, let alone the day before a marathon, a little bit of foreshadowing. The expo is cool, my first of those, don't spend a huge amount of time there all the same. Marathon morning, and I get up early enough to drink my 500ml bottle of water and eat a banana, plenty I says. Couple of hours later we meet at our starting pen, it's cold at this hour of the morning close on zero but it will get up to around 10 degrees by mid morning. Race starts perfectly, crowds are amazing, other runners are amazing, certainly delivered more than I could have hoped for by a massive margin. First 20 flys by, bang on pace for sneaking in sub-4, and we're together both feeling good. I will say it was always made very clear by me that he would not slow for me, we would only run together as long as I wasn't holding him back from his time that he absolutely had trained for. Anyway, quickly after 20/25 my race takes a sort of nosedive, and thankfully he continues to execute his run, best for everyone. It's the hang on for dear life portion of the run, and I really did try. I know heart rate zones fed to us by coros/strava need to be taken with a pinch of salt but for what it's worth mine have always seemed close enough if not exact. I spend maybe, km 20 up until km 25 in Z4, and then 25 until 34 in Z5, not sustainable. I end up with a mix of walk/jog through the next 2 hydration zones, where the penny drops that I've took on **** all water, I've been taking my gels, I've been sucking on lemons, but I've had about 4 mouthfuls of water until this point, hands tingly, vision getting a bit funky - but whether it's coping or the truth I get the water into me, call my wife, tell her I'll be a while but I'm grand. The crowd are the only thing keeping me going, I've stopped looking at the watch altogether, and I'm just soaking it in, and what a spectacle it is to soak in. The water does its job and I'm able to run the last few kms, slowly, but I'm basically just elated to be back running after the dark times. Get home in a comedic 04:23:07, missing my target by 23 minutes but beating my try in KK by 34 seconds - I was fairly happy that I hung onto the target pace for 30km considering the balls I had made of it. The brother hit the target 03:57ish, amazing effort, I could live vicariously through his victory.

So, now what? We booked Barcelona in March, and my home marathon in Waterford for June, I've also separately decided to sneak in Prague in the middle of those two. Caught the bug, but delighted, I'm sure I'll rein in the expensive destination marathons, but for now they've been a brilliant source of drive - I wasn't too disappointed to miss the mark in Florence, I will be in Barcelona, sub-4 is required and no good reason that I won't manage it, haven't though about goals past that yet. So far, so good.

A few tweaks and you'll be fine. Don't worry about speeding up the slow runs, if your looking at sub 4(9.08/mile) then your easy long runs should be at least 9.45/mile or even slower. Make sure you do one real good session a week, include hill repeats, fartleks, progressive runs and strides to add some grit.

*Maybe knock that Prague race on the head, there's a good chance you will get injured racing 3 marathons in 3 months in the early part of your running journey. Personally I would drop one of the others as well and plan for an autumn race but that's just me.

Pre marathon carb loading is very helpful to get you through the last half(mile 20 to 26 :-) ) of the race, start a couple of days before, I'm about 80Kg and took in 700g of carbs day before my last race. Drink **** loads of water, take salts and above all rest.

If you do the training and prep right there is no reason why you cant go sub 4.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,814 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Thank you, really appreciate the advice - will certainly look into adding variance and difficulty to the sessions, I've been pretty loose around that side of things.

About maybe not doing as many races - I know for a fact you are correct, as of now I'm planning to take it 1 at a time, I could come undone, but I'll stick with it as long as the body isn't suffering unduly.

I got both the food and hydration deeply wrong in Florence, I'd consider myself lucky considering how wrong I got it. A lesson I hopefully only need to learn once.

Thanks again!

So, Barcelona was, unsurprisingly, a great event. I have come back to Ireland fairly sick, maybe also unsurprising.

Weird block, that went very very well for about about 8 weeks, then got fairly heavily derailed by something called epiploic appendagitis, basically a minor but painful abdominal issue, and it can vary from person to person but I got it right where you would expect appendix issues, anyway it didn't completely arse things up, but it wasn't far off.

Got the pre-race side of things fairly right, lots of carbs for 48 hours, probably not major extra calories but just swapped the composition over towards carbs and just hydrating as much as I could. All in, felt fresh as a daisy on the Sunday morning. Got up nice and early, more carbs, more hydration - couldn't really have asked for more preparation wise.

Unlike a lot of the people in here, I haven't been to an event anywhere near this size, so was a bit surprised to see such large gaps between that different corrals' starting times - that's probably on me - but I though after each corral had escaped the next one would just sort of lineup and go, but there was a solid 10-20 minutes between, so what was an 8.30 start was actually 9.20 for myself, and as late as 9.50 for some of our group. Not a huge deal, and again maybe par for the course, just wasn't prepped for it.

I ran with my brother for the first few km which for me was good for the mind, this entire thing has been something I've done alongside him, so even though he had a much stronger time goal, I just went out with for a few kms and once he was ready to pick it up I left him off. I settled into splits of around 5:20-5:30/km, and for the first half that was very comfortable, it was a sunny day, not a cloud in the sky, but the first half of the route you are protected by the buildings and you are running the right way through the city grid to have very little time out of shade. That changes quite a bit in the second half, where you are essentially in the sun the entire time, and while the heat wasn't staggering it was enough to shave a few seconds off I imagine. Second half was about 6 minutes slower than the first, got home with an official time of 3.57 - plenty room for improvement but I'm equally happy with how it went.

GP appointment in 20 minutes, get this chest infection under wraps, and get back out, Prague in 6 weeks.

Obviously Berlin is a major so a lot of people were talking last September when it was unseasonably hot. Prague on May 3rd gave it a run for it's money all the same, such tough conditions.

Had a cold in the week running up, and given the heat I was just happy to go any enjoy the run, had a pal looking to sneak in under 4 hours, so ran with him, tried to manage our hydration, salts and fuel, tried to temper his many attempts to push the pace a little too hard.

I didn't blow up, which I'm taking as a win, was about 35km in when I really started to suffer the heat was definitely around 24/25 for the last hour, felt like the landmarks that I had in my mind were never going to come in the back half, the cobbles were a bit of a balls too. Crowds were unsurprisingly superb, the city is a gorgeous place to run, and the day was stunning just not helpful for the auld heart rate, event was well run throughout I thought, I kinda feel like the Czechs are often informal with a lot of stuff, and that's how the start and finish sort of felt.

All in all we missed 4 hours by 20 seconds, neither of us particularly fussed, there was definitely a few points where one or the other of us was close to give up the ghost, we're both doing Waterford in June, will probably just run my own race on that day, conditions permitting I'll try to push my time up a little. Plan after that will be to start into a new longer block, and see if I can pick up a DCM bib for late October, no more of these 6 week turnarounds for this year anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 liamooooo

FaIr play you are doing a punishing run of marathons

A week and change out from the Viking marathon, not the most exciting race in the country but I imagine a few on here will be down for it? As a selfish bollocks, I'm just so happy to be walking down to marathon on the morning from my own home, no international travel, no messing, no eating sporadically the day before, no forgetting to grab a drink etc. I haven't settled on a goal exactly, edging towards 3:40 at the moment.

Training has gone fairly well considering the run of marathons, and the various illnesses I've picked up on the back of the marathons and travel. Particularly this last little block, basically no interruptions. I'm lucky in that I don't seem to pick up a whole bunch of real muscle injuries, touch wood, I've always been like that - I haven't any great pace to me, so I imagine that helps. Weekly mileage has been steady, started out last May, with the first marathon in Kilkenny last September. Weekly KMs then was pretty low but hidden in the averages were peaks and troughs - it was just about sufficient to get around, but not a whole lot more than that. Little jump then October and November for Florence last November, but the main difference was just consistency, less trips and such so just could actually get all my goal runs in. January then it felt ok to make what looked like a fairly big jump in mileage but it was fine, the consistency had been there. March had Barcelona in the middle of it which knocked me back for about a week, but the same didn't happen with Prague at the start of May - luck I guess.

Weekly KMs per month

May 2025

June 2025

July 2025

August 2025

September 2025

October 2025

November 2025

December 2025

January 2026

February 2026

March 2026

April 2026

May 2026

So, in the 5 weeks Prague I was able to get back to 60kms+ per week straight away, I think I had been cheating myself on long runs all along, just a little bit. I would tend to do 21-25km runs every weekend, but rarely go above that, this time in the weeks since the Prague I've been over 30km 3 times, and in that 20ish range another 2 or 3 times - the distance is no longer intimidating me which is huge, that was a problem for certain. Equally, it's rare I have any gut issues now, which wasn't always the case.

There's definitely gains to be made from brute forcing more mileage but I'm probably looking more at a mixture of structured plans from Hal Higdon and Pfitzinger, and actually doing the various workouts. Until now speed sessions were basically ad-hoc or if I went to a parkrun or something similar, I'd just go out and hold on for dear life - so hill repeats, 6x800s, tempo, marathon pace runs I reckon is the way forward, at least experience a sufficiently long block (18 weeks bang on between Viking and Dublin, don't have a bib yet cough cough) see if the improvement is generally felt, even if not realised through a race.

Hope anyone running Waterford has a great one, will check back in after I blow up.