Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,988 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

the Trivago add with Jurgen Klopp…

That man fair play for what he’s achieved in football but he has weirdly the most creepy and at the same time mega insincere smile, kinda makes my skin crawl anyway… 😖

image.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

The ad with the three aul lads in the pub talking about their dead buddy’s lifelong stinginess. Tasteless ad. Whatever agency made that obviously never heard of ‘don’t speak ill of the dead’.

Edit: yeah, it was some pompous London agency🙄. Suppose they thought it was ‘typical’ Irish slagging - a bit like those cringey beer ads with the knitted dolls 🤮

Post edited by mrslancaster on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Famous Seamus

All I can see when I look at that ad are Klopp's ridiculous teeth, there was another ad in the last few years with Peter Crouch. Do people honestly thing doing that to their teeth is a good look?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

These toothpaste ads where people are brushing their teeth with a massive grin on their face!

Also grinning inanely into the mirror while licking their teeth. Who does that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭deezell

'WE'RE SWITCHERS!!' is back. 💩 💩

Thank Heavens they never brought back 'I buy some picky bits and we have a picky dinner...picky, picky, picky!!!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭blackvalley

I think that the Laya MRI health add really scrapes the bottom of the barrel. I absolutely detest it .

Yer man , heart pounding and palpitating while he waits for results of a scan ! . On his poxy ankle.
    Generally I don’t wish bad luck on anyone but in this case I really hope that himself and his daughter trip up during their wedding dance and break both their ankles.

As one of the thousands of people who have sat across from a consultant waiting in dread for a scan result that could be life changing or even life threatening I can definitely say that this excuse for an advertisement totally trivialises the emotional trauma of the situation.

Hopefully the advertising executives who dreamed up the “ concept “ of this advert will find themselves some day sitting across from a consultant waiting for results and really understand how it feels.
    Thankfully in my case the results of a very serious initial test came back all clear but I still recall the feelings of trepidation.
    Happy new year to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,903 ✭✭✭Comhrá

This radio advert for Newstalk; Who dreams up this absolute rubbish?

"Who'll call you out on your nonsense and give it to you brutally straight……. yeah, we're that friend"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭pnott

Ugh the dreadful pineapple pizza Tesco ad with the screaming child is back 😡

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

The girl that was in the ad with the vegetable going 'Ehhhhhhh' on the couch in the Sky ad in early 2024 is back in a Re-turn ad, she's dumped that lad anyway.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I did a double take the first time I seen that ad, thinking surely he's not just in there for his ankle. 🙈

The face fart woman. It seems like it has been on heavy rotation for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,327 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

yah , noticed her - she's let her hair grow a bit longer

Daddy Cool advert is back . I'm sick of it already. sick of the ad, sick of the song . as an add-on they have put him on a plane paying for something with his cherries at the end

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

There's one on YouTube with an AI generated Chinese man talking about Tai Chi.

Really strange.

One? There's a million if them. Going on about 'Tai Chi Walking'. How does walking give you a ripped body like AI man? Do you, like, ordinary walk while pulling Jackie Chan moves at the same time? Grunting 'Hi-Yah' ? Like teenagers exiting a Bruce Lee cinema movie in the 70s. Sounds like a John Cleese thing, the 'Ministry of Silly Walks' from his Monty Python days. Ads on YouTube are definitely aimed at people with some kind of degenerative brain disorder, who exist in an alternative mental state, like some kind of Tik tok land. If you reinforce unreality often enough, you'll eventually live there. Then you can sign up to an AI therapist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭ollaetta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭Radio5

The DID wedding ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,916 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Yep. I thought it was a road safety ad and they were going to crash on the way to the ceremony.

I've said it before, DID, LAYA and Toyota harnessing some kind of wedding anxiety to hook their products to, resulting in three advertising turds 💩 💩 💩.

The ad with the drummer. You think he would want to pull out all the stops and showcase his best drum solo but he spends the whole (long) ad just keeping the beat. 🤷‍♂️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭RoTelly

I still want to know how much of it actually filmed in Ireland it all looks like Green Screen for the parts that might be recognizably Ireland e.g. Dublin Zoo.

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

As with all Tesco ads, there's zero information presented that might persuade you to shop there. Just nonsense, squirting cream or your phone, or publicly shouting about pineapples, or roaring 'I've got the power' when you're obviously pathetic. Maybe if he squirts the cream on his mot, that might trigger people's imaginations in a positive way. Cue queue at the aerosol cream aisle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,437 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Yeah, soo incongruous. The research marketeers obviously questioned a panel of mostly female thirty somethings about the happiest/most important day of their lives..... hey presto adverts with Weddings!!!

If the panels were more diverse..... we could have adverts with lads getting their end away for the first time in the back of a Toyota.... or watching a classic bluey on a tv/video combo from DID 😂

That annoying ad with the 16 year old gas man is back.

Or a lad still in his football kit getting his ankle scanned and being told he's good to go for Saturday's cup match.

The back of a Cortina was far superior to a Toyota btw. Nowadays they just book an AirBnB.

is that squirty cream on the phone the type you squirt on your black forest gateau or the type you put on your tache before shaving? - curious now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

The magic sponge is better😉, just run it off there chap, if it's really sore you might get some of the miracle spray.