2025 Boardsie's Gigs of the Year Awards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,147 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

1. Gwenno (Unitarian church, lovely, just lovely)
    2. La Femme (just all round fun)
    3. Patti (point)
    4. sparks (joyous)
    5. These Charming Men (forest fest, great set from them and the crowd loved them)
    6. Manics (forest fest, best they’ve been in years and sounded vital again, long may they reign)
    7. Michael Shannon and Jason Narducy, shouldn’t be as good as they are but they are and I’m going again next year!

Honourable mentions, Robert Finley (forest fest) & Three Dog Night (whelans), there’s nothing better than music played effortlessly and beautifully by aul fellas on the verge of popping their clogs. King of this genre was the magnificent Leonard Cohen.

Had tix for a bunch of gigs I had to flog due to herself doing a mischief (bc camplight, tune yards and a few others), list could have been very different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭Still Ill

• 1. Oasis: Promised my son I'd bring him to see them if they ever reunited after taking him to see the Liam Definitely Maybe gig. Didn't think it'd be so soon. Had seen them back in the day five or so times and if I'm gonna be honest, they were always a bit rubbish. The atmosphere around the city was just magical. Perfect gig. Don't think it can be replicated ever. Greatest hits set, but I don't think any band that's not The Beatles has greater hit than Oasis

2. I'm gonna go for Neil Young at Glastonbury. Felt beautiful. The heavy songs may have gone on a bit, but the serenity of the slow songs will stay with me for a long time.

3. Baxter Dury is just a phenomenal live act. Don't know if he's taking himself 100% seriously. Don't really care either. I just love it either way.

Special mentions to Gurriers last week, Caribou the week before and David Celia who I saw at Glastonbury in a tiny tent and seemed amazing, but listening to him in the cold light of day seems not great. Felt prefect at the time though!

The formatting of this post is really annoying me, but don't know how to fix it.

Forgot to add In the Meadows and particularly Slowdive. Let's hope they do it again next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,327 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

1. Death in Vegas - Beyond the Pale 2025
    2. Fontaines DC / Leftfield - ATN 2025
    3. Dandy Warhols - Forest Fest 2025
    4. Jah Wobble - Roisin Dubh, Galway 2025.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,156 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Cant think of a top 5 but I'll try sum it all up

What a year for gigs & events, a lot of bands from my teenage Kerrang years with a bucket list happily emptied. Finally got to the US for WrestleMania 41 in Vegas which the card was 'average' but it was **** Wrestlemania so can't complain , London for the Darts in Ally Pally, Newcastle for New Found Glory and Oasis in Manchester

In Ireland a lot of 3Arena visits for a wide array of Artists from Darts, Snow Patrol, Limpbizit to wishing i had somebody to love with Lewis Capaldi, getting down with sickness to the been pretty fly for a White guy. Great nights in 2025. First time in The National Stadium and St Anne's Park, was great to visit the Olympia and Vicar Street again. In the Meadows in Kilmainham was great and was amazing seen the legendary Iggy Pop. Croker for Oasis was special from start to finish

A great 2025

1000374238.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Duffy98

Very fortunate to go to many gigs domestic and abroad this year, very hard to make a top 5-10 they're all different and stand out in their own way..

1. Back to the begining - Black Sabbath

This show for me will just never be topped full stop, it had absolutely everything, it was an absolute privilege to be able to witness music history especially with family, when he sang mama I'm coming home for the final time there wasn't a dry eye in the place, it'll be up there with live aid and Freddie Mercury...

1000020608.jpg

2. Oasis Wembley - Night 2

Like Ozzy, never thought we would see the day, unlucky to not get tickets when they released, managed to get tickets 3 weeks before the gig, flew at 6am to London from Cork and made the bee-line to Wembley, met lots of people form around the world and we all got to sing those absolute anthems, witnessing them and Ashcroft in England was special

1000007380.jpg

3. Radiohead - O2 Night 4

Final gig of the year for myself and I genuinely couldn't believe I finally got to witness Radiohead live, myself and a group of friends from work managed to get lucky with tickets and it was absolute magic, finally getting to hear those songs and that magic live was truly special

1000019089.jpg

4. Jack White - Troxy London

Very fortunate to grab a ticket for this, always wanted to see him but always skipped us, took the plunge and grabbed the only ticket I could, the guy is an absolutely unbelievable musician

1000020611.jpg

5. Marilyn manson

Again, thought after all the allegations and things against him his touring days were behind him, when he announced a tour out of the blue I had to go see him and he was absolutely unbelievable, for a man hitting 60 he's probably in the form of his life.

1000017067.jpg

6. Chappell Roan - EP

Never been to an music festival in my life and gave EP a try with family, heard from friends I had to see Chappell Roan and how she's amazing live, not my type of music at all from above, but I was so surprised with how good she was, a real performer and definitely lucky to see her as I can imagine tickets will be like gold dust when she hits our shores again

1000010456.jpg

7. QOTSA - Kilmainham

1000008792.jpg

8. Linkin Park - Wembley

1000003670.jpg

Honourable mentions, NiN in the 3arena, turnstile, Kneecap at EP, Limp Bizkit, GnR Wembley the list goes on, here's to another year of gigs!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭DarMul17

20250707_212039.jpg

1 - Nine Inch Nails in Paris. Saw them on the first date of the tour in Dublin. Crowd in Paris was eclectic, and overall atmosphere was one of passionate reverence which was on display at the gig. Felt it was an audience who had that extra bit when compared to Dublin.

20251124_205246.jpg

2 - Radiohead in London. Very fortunate that I got standing tickets. Definitely worth the wait and flight over to see them. Setlist was great, atmosphere was great from beginning to end.

20251122_210652.jpg

3 - Lorde in Dublin. Stunning, beginning to end was a perfect show. Would be gig of the year if it wasn't for the two above it.

20250627_220329.jpg

4 - Dua Lipa in Dublin. As perfect a stadium show I've seen. Seeing someone performing at the peak of their powers was memorable.

20250607_222452.jpg

5 - Chappell Roan in Barcelona. Crowd was loud, respectful and just wanted to have a good time. Chappell was stunning, her voice soared and was great to see her as her star continues you to rise.

20250803_205614.jpg

Honorable mention is Oasis. Any other year they would have got it. Seeing them in Wembley, crowd were loud, having fun, and wanted to be there. Overall nice year of gigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,253 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

1. Oasis at Croke Park. It has to be. I'm a 90's teenager and they were the sound of my youth. Absolutely blown away by the whole thing.

2. Getdown Services at the Workman's. Maddest pair of feckers and really catchy, disco dancy tunes mixed with humour.

3. Pulp at the 3 Arena. From the opening song to the very end, they were brilliant. Went with my wife and we had a ball.

4. 4 Owls at the Sugar Club. Didn't know what to expect and was surprised at how much I enjoyed it.

5. Getdown Services at The Button Factory. As above. Just brilliant live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭JimBurnley

Great to see Getdown Services review so well. Don't know them well but I'll be seeing them 4 or 5 times next year when they support SFA as I stalk the Furries around Ireland and the UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭grudgehugger

Great year for gigs. For Those I Love the highlight with honorable mentions to Sofia Kourtesis and And So I Watch You From Afar @ BTP, Fontaines @ ATN and Black Country New Road @ Olympia.

Post edited by grudgehugger on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭circular flexing

Saw a few good ones (most of them not in Ireland)

Deafheaven - their album "Lonely People with Power" is one of my favourites of the year and they blew me away when I saw them this year. So much better than when I saw them previously, which were both great gigs, but this was just on another level.

Grandaddy - I never thought I would see them again but they were great. Played "Sophtware Slump" in full which is one of my favourite albums from the early 2000s and then played some greatest hits from their other albums. I wasn't sure how they would sound (especially Jason Lytle) but they were in fine form.

DVS1/Wall of Sound - Wall of Sound is this concept from DVS1 where emphasis is put on enjoying the music in the present and not being distracted by phones or other things. What this means is a lot of thought put into the experience including the sound system and lighting. This was one of the most immersive shows I've been to. The sound was loud but incredibly clear and the lighting was intense. The room was completely dark and there would be sporadic lights through the whole room but they were not patterned at all and seemed to be completely random. The alternation between completely dark and then bright lights was really trippy. This clip sort of captures some of the experience https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_e-HmJxbAEI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,671 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

2025 was a good year for gigs .( But so was 2024 and 2026 shaping up nicely too ) I keep promising myself I will make more of an effort to see new up and coming bands but mostly end up seeing my favourites. Will try/ am trying to mix it up a bit next year .

So no surprises here for my top picks ...

1. Neil Young and The Chrome Hearts at Malahide Castle .
    2. The Human League , Collins Barracks .
    3. Patti Smith , 3 Arena .
    4. Primal Scream , The Olympia
    5. Simple Minds , Trinity .

Shout out to The Skids who gave us a great night in Whelan's and Big Country , same .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,105 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

1. My Bloody Valentine in the 3arena. Without question my gig of the year and possibly my favourite gig of all time, certainly in the top 3. A band I love and presumed I'd never get to see and, despite the year long lead in, it absolutely lived up to the billing. One for the ages.

2. CMAT in the 3arena. I've been a fan since day 1 and seen her loads over the past 5 years and she just keeps getting better. A brilliant songwriter and performer, it feels like she's on the verge of superstardom.

3. Black Country, New Road in the Olympia Theatre. Six incredible musicians playing great songs, what's not to love. Loved Forever Howlong and excited to see what they come up with next.

4. Gilla Band in Connollys of Leap. Always brilliant and to see them in such a small venue was very special.

Honourable mentions to Chapel Roan, Model/Actriz, Mac Demarco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭cannco253

NIN 3arena

Iggy in the meadows (the whole day out was great)

Father John Misty Leisureland Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭krusty411

1. Oasis - Croke Park
    2. Turnstile - 3 Arena
    3. Nine Inch Nails
    4. Kneecap - 3 Arena
    5. Gurriers - Toales Bar, Dundalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭davywalsh7

honourable mentions also for:

Qotsa kilmainham

OCS Olympia

Weezer trinity

bicep ATN

Damien Dempsey vicar at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,882 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Since honourable mentions seem to be a feature, here’s a list of Irish bands I’ve seen live in the last six months who I’d definitely recommend if you like your music noisey….

Stratford Rise

Anemoia

DigDeep

BBFT

Divides Unfold

MotionSickness

Glasseyed

Dirty Marmalade

Silverglass

Uragh

Pôt-pot

Makeshift Art Bar

Bedhead

The Deadlians

Just Mustard

Listowel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

1. Neil Young - Malahide (4th time seeing him and possibly one of my favourite ever gigs I've been to. Not only were the band fantastic but there was a great crowd too which really added to the whole experience. I'm not the biggest fan of Van Morrison but he would on a great performance as one of the support acts)

2. My Bloody Valentine - 3Arena (Possibly the one band that would have been on the top of my bucket list of acts to see live. They more than lived up to my expectations and I hope one day I get the chance to see them again.

3. Wolf Alice - 3Arena

4. Nine Inch Nails - 3Arena

5. The Flaming Lips - Olympia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,233 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

All five were gigs I thought about going to but didn't 🙈

Was away for a couple, but prices put me off the others 😕

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,671 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

It was remarkable for the good form both Neil and Van were in !

Given that they can often be quite curmudgeonly 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,210 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I dont get to many gigs these days, think was only 4 or 5 this year. 2 I really loved for different reasons

Zeal & Ardor - not a type of gig id normally go too but got big into them end 2024 so picked up a ticket. Really enjoyable onslaught of metal with some great grooves throughout. Crowd well up for it and it was acknowledged by the band, lapping up the deserved appreciation but having to halt the start of songs in doing so.

QotSA - the kings didn't miss. Yeah they're my favourite band, but they rolled into town and put on a stomping show of rock n roll that others just cant do. Setlist to die for (personally), great showmanship. Being with some of your best mates and having pints while listening to your favourite band on a sunny evening is hard to beat. I stayed towards back of the pit, I danced, sang and then even went into some pits for the end songs....what a day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,319 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

1. Sabaton at Co-Op Live, Manchester
    2. Iron Maiden at Malahide Castle
    3. Saxon at 3Olympia
    4. Prague Philharmonic Orchestra at Tyn Church, Prague
    5. Hans Zimmer at 3Arena

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,941 ✭✭✭Jaffa3000

Suppose coming up with a top 2 is easy, Oasis at Heston Park and Radiohead at the O2 ( in no particular order)

Lots of other great gigs but no idea what I’d have to round out the top 3. Olivia Rodrigo at Marley Lark was fantastic, Queens of the Stone Age blew me away and Wet Leg also worth a mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 409 ✭✭Beagslife

A bit of a slow down for me in 2025, but still a busy year with some fantastic gigs attended. Another year with a steep rise in prices, particularly at the upper end of the market. Will 2026 bring anything different on that front?

Last year´s best gigs for me were:

Lyle Lovett | NCH | January

The Oysterband | Zeche - Bochum, Germany | March

Neil Young / Van Morrison | Malahide Castle | June

Billie Eilish | 3 Arena | July (worth it alone, to see the 3 Arena in a completely different light!)

Mick Flannery & Susan O'Neill | Sligo Live | October

Other gigs of note:

Don Baker | Mermaid Arts Centre, Bray | June

Luka Bloom | Abbey Centre, Ballyshannon | August

Rhiannon Giddens | NCH / Sugar Club | September / December

Jack Lukeman | Olympia Theatre | October

Bob Dylan | 3 Arena | November

Other event highlights:

Lisdoon Nirvana | Balor Theatre, Ballybofey | July

The Weir | Olympia Theatre | August

An evening (or part of) with Cristiano Ronaldo | Aviva Stadium | November ⚽️

I have a nice selection of gigs/theatre booked for 2026 but with more of an emphasis on the Northwest region, to try and make it more manageable! I hope to limit the additions going forward, but know from experience that won't be easy 🚘️🚍️✈️

Happy New Year to all my fellow Gig goers out there 😎 Stay safe 🎸

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,832 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

1. Oasis @ Croke

This could not possibly have been better - band absolutely perfect, crowd ecstatic. They soundtracked my teenage years in the 90s and pushed all my buttons.

2. In the Meadows @ Kilmainham

What a perfect festival! Weather was great, beer was tasty, venue lovely and bands all brilliant. Finished off with Iggy who absolutely rocked despite being close to 80 years old.

3. CMAT @ 3Arena

Saw her in 2024 too, absolute star and such natural talent. She had everyone doing her dance moves in synch. Very funny too.

4. Wolf Alice @ 3Arena

Only got into them recently, surely they must be on the verge of superstardom, they can fill an arena with their sound and light show (though it was a pity the place was only 2/3 full).

5. Paul Heaton @ 3Arena

He still sings just as well as he did in the 1980s and the whole set was wonderful - solo stuff, Housemartins stuff and Beautiful South stuff all note perfect.

Special mentions:

Pantera @ 3Arena (Phil Anselmo can still growl them out and there was a poignant tribute to Dimebag during Floods)
    The Chats @ Academy (fast, edgy and tight as f*ck)
    Protomartyr @ Whelans (heavy AF, played the whole Agent Intellect album)

I did not know the Human League played, it never came up on my radar, also I didn't know Radiohead were touring abroad.

Yeah it didn't come up on the usual run of adverts Larger Than Pictures at Collins Barracks ? I got them presale from Gigantic as signed up for their notifications as well .

They are playing St John's Castle in Limerick on May 2nd next with Cry Before Dawn as support if you are interested . Again Gigantic will have them .

Well worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,984 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

I think the Human League in Collins Barracks was the epitome of quality over quantity. Essentially a Greatest Hits setlist, they were done and dusted after about 75 minutes, yet I don't think anyone felt short changed. Thoroughly enjoyable.

2026 Gigs and Events: An Evening with The Fast Show, Prima Facie, Stereolab (NCH), Foo Fighters, David Byrne (3Arena), Belle and Sebastian (x2), Kraftwerk, Paul Simon, David Byrne (St. Anne's Park), Keb' Mo', Metallica (x2), Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, Embrace, Sigur Rós with the Ulster Orchestra, Crash Test Dummies, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Ben Folds, Jeff Tweedy, Nicko McBrain, Anna Lapwood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,644 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Serious year, Decided to select 10 of the best overall.

Irish shores

Wolf Alice - 3Arena: Might be recency bias but this one stood with me, looked like the show was in jeopardy it thankfully was made go ahead and they made it much more when they took to the stage.

Iron Maiden - Halestorm - Malahide : Possibly Maidens most triumphant show here? Sure they were in the RDS before but it hadn't sold out. Halestorm were great in the main support slot showcasing songs from their album that wasn't even released at the time. Maiden even now minus Nicko played a blinder showcasing the bands beginnings to the early 90's with now video screen stylised back drops, a great day out.

Biohazard - Life of Agony, Academy: Tore up a sold out Academy. LOA diving into mostly River Runs Red material which was great as I saw them later in the year in Munich doing the much underrated 'Ugly' in full. Biohazard even had Onyx who were playing elsewhere in the city join them on stage, madness.

Tremonti w/ Florence Black, Academy: Even though Mark Tremonti had been troubled with some sort of bug it didn't stop them from delivering. Florence black I was impressed by I went back for second helpings for their headline show.

Abroad

Gojira - Dynamo Metal Fest: Belter of a way to see out a successful weekend as they closed this festival with some power. Looked like they were playing on the edge of a world too.

Ghost - MEO arena, Lisbon: A 2 hour Spooktacular enhanced due to the nature of no phones, fans living in the moment the way to go.

Trivium - BFMV - Poisoned Ascendancy tour w/ Orbit Culture - Mitsubishi Halle, Dusseldorf: Two bands playing their breakthrough albums in full 20 years later. Seems a flicker now that these will even pair up in the future. Trivium may have bettered that record over again since but for Bullet I think it's unanimous that one appears to be as good as it gets.

NIN - Graspop, Dessel: Was also at the Dublin show first and was brilliant but my preference was this full throttle set with no real let up.

Opeth - Barba Negra, Budapest: Having already witnessed them on this run, I had to go with the one they played 'The Night and Silent Water'

Parkway Drive - Birmingham: 20 year anniversary show. A top grade arena show with so many bells and whistles. Cracking set.

H. Mentions: LANDMRKS, Mastodon, Soen, Qotsa, Within Temptation, Blood Incantation, House of Protection.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,832 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

No idea why but last year was a real 1990s British Rock/Britpop year. I saw all these:

Snow Patrol, Paul Heaton, Stereophonics, Pulp, Supergrass, Oasis, Kaiser Chiefs, My bloody valentine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Did Biohazard and Onyx play the tune from the Judgement Night soundtrack?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar, The Scratch

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Stereolab, KNEECAP, Sugar, Clutch, Big Thief, Jon Spencer, The Cure, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, IDLES, Electric Picnic, Public Service Broadcasting, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Korn, Fat Dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,644 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

No it was the just rework version of Onyx 'Slam' they did.