Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 12.02.26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭Caustic

Like we just don't know what city do behind the scenes, how much they pay for players, hoe much they pay clubs, how much they play owners.

We have all the charges, the leaks, and them refusing to cooperate with the people who are investigating.

The club is insanely rich and the owners don't care about it making money or being profitable unlike 99% of clubs, it's very easy to run a club that way if you have all the money to spend, players wants to leave on high wages pay him off or take back whatever payments he is getting elsewhere.

Obviously not all of this is proven yet, may well never be, but I'm not sure why a club who gives no reason to trust what it is doing financially can be applause for how it's run. The saying their is no smoke with out fire doesn't apply to city it's more there is no fire without fire.

Recently Nick Harris a journo said city were putting pressure on his bosses to intimidate him or get him fired over what he wrote so God only knows how much of this is going on behind the scenes as well we don't hear about.

The club is absolutely rotten to the core and it's absolutely wild to me it's not talked about more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,144 ✭✭✭✭JRant

The very rich bit is the key part. They can just buy a player every 6 months for the same position until someone sticks. They are in a unique position that very few other clubs can match. They've cooked the books for so long now that the damage is irreparable, bar expulsion. That said, they keep winning, so the media turn a blind eye to some of their poor recruitment and shenanigans. I mean, there's a very good chance they get one or both of Anderson/Wharton this year to further boost them.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭Acosta

I still don't think that means Yoro was a bad signing, but it's fair enough to think the money should have been spent strengthening other positions. I think Cunha and Mbeumo were good signings, but the club would have been better off buying just one, and instead using the money to buy a CMF.

City have apparently hired the best UK corporate law legal minds that money can buy. It's nearly 3 years since they were charged. I don't have good feeling we'll get the outcome were looking for. And what would that mean for the credibility of the league? We'll just have to wait and see..

What isn't in doubt is that they're nothing but a financially doped up club, who's entire success is built on middle east oil money.

No I don't have a good feeling either but you never know I guess,.but **** knows what kind of pressure then can put on behind the scenes.

Would absolutely love to see them relegated to the back of beyond.

Not sure if it will do much to the credibility of the league beyond a small percentage, I'm sure it'll just get brushed under the carpet, none of the broadcasters will touch it, maybe that changes if they are found guilty but I wouldn't be holding my breath I guess

Depends on the outcome to what extent the leagues credibility is effected. If they get a slap on the wrist it accelerates other teams going to a super league and will kill the PL. If they are thrown out of the PL it'll be a minor blip and just confirm what everyone and their dog already knows. Let's not forget, they won a treble and nobody cared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,577 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I've been very impressed with Yoro, even despite his recent poor run of form. He's been great considering his age.

But I completely agree, and said it from the moment we signed him, he was a terrible signing. An egotistical signing by the new "football guys", spunking 60m on a teenage CB with a year left on his contract just so we got in ahead of Madrid. We needed that money spent on other areas of more priority as you've pointed out.

In today's polarized world, a lot of people don't really get how you can be impressed with a signing and still think that the signing was a really poor one.

Sesko was a really poor signing as well. He's a player who I think will become a very good CF in time, but we just went and repeated the Hojlund mistake. I think the football guys have a lot to answer for with that one, we needed a proven PL striker.

They have made a fair few good signings, Cunha and Mbeumo are great signings imo, I'm just not sure how they placed so much emphasis on the PL Proven aspect when signing those and disregarded it when signing Sesko.

If they do throw the book at City, no doubt Pep will be out the gap, for a nice extended break. Until taking his next piss easy gig. He might be leaving soon either way. It's been reported that Maresca already spoke to city a couple of months ago, about the possibility of taking over at some point in the future, if Pep leaves.

Hojund had one half decent season before we signed him, first season he was really a first team starter, he still only scored 9 goals and we spent a fortune on him.

Sesko has been a first team striker now for 3 seasons scoring double figures in those 3 season (13,14, 16).

We had to sign a striker this summer because hojund was so bad last season in all parts of his game, but we were well down the pecking order, Liverpool signed isak and Etikhie, arsenal signed Gyokeres, Newcastle signed Woltermade and Wissa, Chelsea signed Pedro and delap.

That's the striker market right there maybe throw in Watkins if we stumped up the cash and going off the season the only player who you'd really want is probably etithke.

When you look at the market and where we are in it sesko was about our best bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,918 ✭✭✭DataDude

Hindsight is 20/20 but if we aggressively went after Mateta I’m sure we could have gotten him and suspect we’d be comfortably top 4 at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,998 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

roma have moved on from zirkzee it seems.

AS Roma have improved their bid to sign Giacomo Raspadori with final agreement now close with Atlético Madrid.

Initial loan with buy option clause included.

Deal now depends on personal terms being discussed with Raspadori.
    @MatteMoretto
    🇮🇹

Definitely would hold the ball up better and link better but outside of one very good season he has been an average to a below average finisher also at 28 you would say That's his kinda ceiling.

I've no idea if sesko will work out there are some bits about his game i like others he needs to work on, I do hope he can get a run a games going soon, the two injures should be something to give him a bit of leeway but also could be a something to worry about too

Aware of the differences in experience between the two. However, that doesn't change the fact that both Hojlund and Sesko were too young and too inexperienced to be thrown into the pressure pot that is being United's only striker.

If Sesko was a 'best bet', then maybe it was worth not betting and waiting until you're not gambling (as much).

Amorim, and even Sesko himself, were telling us that he wasn't PL ready as soon as he was signed… not sure how it's even much of a debate. He was a poor signing in the context that we needed someone who was ready.

There'll always be "well, we couldn't get x,y,z stories", however there's always other ways to do business. Watkins was the signing for us imo, it made too much sense.

Yeah he’s certainly not elite and would have been concerned dropping £50m on a stop gap player. But he is a far far more impactful player than Sesko right now. He has 7 goals (10xg) and gets nearly double the amount of shots off as Sesko in a team that doesn’t create anywhere near as much as we do.

Who knows 5 years from now. Sesko may turn out to have been the right option - here’s hoping . But he has been really poor thus far. An impactful no9 would transform this team almost as much as a mobile CDM or quality CB imo.

Ultimately depends what the aim for this year was. I suspect they didn’t really have any hope for top4 before it started, in which case a long term play like Sesko makes sense. But with how the league is panning out now it’s feeling like a missed opportunity - Mateta woulda paid for himself twice over in one year.

EDIT: I see sky are reporting we are looking at Mateta now as his contract runs down. Makes a lot of sense.

Sesko didn't start the season due to him not having a pre season, he got shite for not taking a peno against grimbsy but he was suffering from cramp it turned out which shows he wasn't up to full fitness.

If you want to base him being a poor signing based off that go right ahead.

I would have liked Watkins for sure and if it could have been done for a reasonable fee then it would have been great, but maybe we have learned our lessons over spending huge money on 29 + year olds

Ya palaces attack seems to be built around getting him chances, I suppose That's the bit that hards to tell with these things would he be getting more xg/chances then sesko at united (probably due to minutes on the pitch but per minute say)

Sesko has only managed to complete 5 games over 80 mins this season which isn't really his fault but also makes it much harder to judge him so far, last 2 games he has hit the post and bar and had the deflected chance that just took it wide against wolves with a bit more luck he has a couple of goals there.

Then there is the big chances he got one against wolves and one against villa and with better finishing he scores at least one, he should be doing better with then so we can take that as a negative.

You never know but it certainly feels like the goals could start coming for him.

Is mateta out of contract in the summer ?if we get 30-40 mil for zirzkee and get in mateta for 50 sure would be good business.

Yep I will say I’ve seen a couple of small things from Sesko in the last few games which gives me a glimmer of hope, so fingers crossed.
    There is something about him I’m just not sure about. He makes the game look hard when he has the ball. He’s clearly athletic but doesn’t seem to use it very well most of the time. Just looking at Ekitike tonight - not that he was fantastic, but just the intensity of everything he does. The aggression, the quickness, the directness. It’s like a different sport to watching Sesko at times.

At this juncture, I’m not hopeful but will give it until end of season.

One year left in summer. Palace will likely still hold pretty firm but he’s exactly the type of player we need to rotate with Sesko rather than lumping the full burden on a kid again.

Ya sesko does kinda look like an old school big player at times, especially when he is dribbling with the ball and some of the close control bits in the box, players seem to be able to nick the ball off him.

I know haaland is a freak of nature but he is also a bit awkward in the way he goes about things but he makes it work so well, uses his stride length and size to his advantage.

Ekitike looks a different kind of freak has great footwork for a lad as big as him I get annoyed looking at him too as he looks an absolute gem of a footballer can only hope his goal scoring rate is an anomaly atm but even looking at some of his finishing I'm not confident about that.

Ya I certainly wouldn't be opposed to it especially if we are moving on zirzkee for him but just can't see them doing it glasner would quit id say

Yep, 100% agree. Stylistically the successful version of Sesko looks very like (a less freakish) Halaand. I’m confident in his finishing. That will come. The main part that concerns me is - that thing that Haaland does with remarkable frequency where he pulls onto the shoulder. Accelerates just as the ball is played, intentionally gets his body onto the defender early and bursts by them, often totally destabilising them in the process. I’ve not seen at all from Sesko.

Given his clear size, speed (although this doesn’t appear as elite as I thought) and strength I expected to see lots of those movements, but he just doesn’t seem to use his physical tools very effectively. Not sure I can remember him bullying a defender in behind even once. That’s quite a natural/intuitive thing that’s hard to develop in your 20s.

Not sure why you're trying to put words into my mouth, I didn't mention his lack of pre season or penalty... Bizarre that you'd bring any of that up.

I'll try to make this very clear. Sesko, as well as his manager, both came out and said that he would need time to adapt to the PL.

Whatever about our lessons signing older players, we certainly didn't learn from our Hojlund lesson about signing young PL unproven strikers for massive money.

As I said earlier, I think he'll turn out to be a very good player BUT signing a young guy who isn't ready to play as our only striker, given the huge pressure that comes with, is setting the guy up for failure / a very hard time at the minimum.

I wasn't trying to put words in your mouth I thought That's what you were talking about I don't really see where sesko is saying he isn't ready in that statement though. And I'm not watching the whole video to see what the manger may or may not have said.

IMG_20260101_204835.jpg

I'll leave it there as this doesn't seem like a productive conversation for either of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 922 ✭✭✭ngunners

Lots of dropped points from rivals this week. Makes the draw with Wolves even more frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭talla10

Decent results tonight from our perspective Liverpool, Palace, Sunderland all dropping points same as Brentford and Spurs to maintain a bit of a distance.

Halfway point 3 points off 4th level points with 5th. If we can stay in contention by time our first team players return we have given ourselves a decent chance of CL football or Europa at the least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,625 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Shows the inconsistency that affects most of the teams in the top 6 really.

Half way through the season, level on points with 5th, 3 points off 4th which should be a satisfactory first half of the season, if you'd offered it to United fans pre season I'm sure most would have said they would take that, but the frustration is real when you think of the points dropped from winning positions alright.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

I dont see the club getting in a player in Jan to fill in until they'll be going for their no 1 targets in the summer. I'd like to think those days of having a player on the bench on big wages is probably over forcthe foreseeable future. As much as a Neves/Gallagher type signing would fill the gaps in the middle i just think the club have moved on from that thinking. I think the gaps in the middle will likely remain there until the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,079 ✭✭✭Robson99

Wouldn't touch Neves…slow as a boat and prob a mile off the pace of the Premier League. Would much rather see Collyer and Mainoo given game time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,384 ✭✭✭cosatron

you would love if the board sat RA down and say play the young lads and a back four and if you do well we will renew your contract in the summer. I thought fletcher was alright when he went in center mid. looked lively. The game passed metato by unfortunately. The team's reluctance to ball a trough ball into Sesko was embarrassing, casemiro getting the ball taken off him from behind and dalot not following the ball into the net were in my view salable offences and hopefully both are gone in the summer.

Would you be happy with relegation? Because if you just play the academy players we would almost certainly go down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭howdydoo83

This is some joke. Taking photos with the players on the pitch before kick off.…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,457 ✭✭✭✭Nalz