Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭freebritney

Mod - warned for ignoring threadban

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭rgossip30

Minnesota it's 90% we seem to have been spared that problem .

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭AyeGer

Good to see a bit more balance enter the debate. Had he said the same thing 5 years ago there would have been stronger backlash. The EU risks losing more member states if there isn’t agreement on more sensible migration policies. Eastern European nations like Hungry, Poland, Czech Republic and Slovakia strongly oppose mandatory migration quotas. There were multiple reasons the UK left the EU, migration was certainly a significant factor.

We don’t want to see the EU fracture further and lose more members in a world where powers like America aren’t as friendly as they once where and China is growing in strength. Not forgetting Russia either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭MONarmy

This man has spent the past 3 or 4 years gaslighting the entire country regards immigration numbers, asking interviewers where's their humanity?!

Then you get this interview, years and years too late. The damage done in the intervening time has been huge and is irreversible. The population numbers have exploded in recent years and it was obvious we we were in big trouble regarding every essential services available to the population already here - housing, health, transport etc all at breaking point for years.

This was always a simple numbers game. It's been clear for a long long time that we could not sustain the population we had already regards essential services, yet government policy (or more aptly a complete lack of any government policy) has allowed the population to explode in a really short timeframe. Now you have Martin coming out with interviews like this long after the horse has bolted. It is disgusting behaviour out of Martin and our government over recent years. They always knew the truth about the damage being done by this huge population increase, and they have allowed it to happen and even positively encouraged it in some instances.

The 2016 census had our population at 4.76 million. We have an estimated 5.46 million here now. That is an incredibly big population increase for a country our size in a relatively short period of time. These are the numbers that should have spoken about again and again and again over the past few years, but the waters just kept getting muddied to shut down proper discussion (where's your humanity?!).

It's absolutely galling to hear so many still hold the belief that we can just adequately home any amount of people in Ireland. No population increase is too big for them. The article only touches on the homeless figures which are rising rapidly - Martin finally acknowledges this is being caused in a big part by the numbers leaving asylum and direct provision with nowhere to go, so they go on the housing lists. That notion was being shouted down as racist and far right up to now when it was very obvious this is exactly what has been happening for years. Our politicians should be absolutely ashamed of their behaviour in this regard, the lack of honesty around such important issues is disgusting.

The fact that this article came out a couple of days before Christmas is more politicking. Martin is now publicly on record about what is causing these huge homeless figures, but there's no blowback from the likes of Labour/Soc Dems as they're off for their Christmas snooze (we'll have to start a whole new long conversation about Labour/Soc Dems insane takes on immigration numbers).

Martin is coward of a politician. Every single utterance he made in the past few years insinuating anyone questioning the explosion in population numbers was racist or far right should be thrown at him over and over. All of these utterances were outright lies at the time and Martin well knew it. Now we have Fianna Fail and Fine Gael changing course years too late after the damage is done. These political liars and cowards should never be allowed to forget all of these lies that have lead to a completely unsustainable future for a huge portion of the population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Never had much faith in this government or the previous one tackling irregular migration into this country but it doesn't really matter now that we have signed up the EU migration pact.

Its going to be interesting to see how this pans out over the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

What you’re saying is exactly right but if you think it was only MM that was responsible for the population explosion problem and the resulting system failures, think again. 99%of our politicians (excluding C.Nolan, M.McGrath and recently JO’C) are constantly pontificating about our international obligations, the Irish went everywhere, EU rules, we’re a wealthy country, full employment, diversity is enrichment, our health service would collapse, we need more immigrants etc. It’s tedious and worn thin at this stage.

They hand out Irish passports like snuff at a wake instead of residence permits like other sensible countries. They fund and support every bad-actor with a sob story at a cost of billions because they are very magnanimous and flaithiúlach with the Irish peoples’ money. They spend billions on citizens of other countries from every part of the globe instead of getting our own house in order. They think it’s a great policy to add thousands of extra people every month into an already overflowing system but can’t provide enough housing or proper services for our own and then they stand idly by and witness the exodus of thousands of our own young people who feel they have no future in the country of their ancestors. It is an absolute scandalous situation and all the brain dead TDs should be thoroughly ashamed of their part in the fiasco.

Also, if our national broadcaster or any MSM outfit had any backbone they should have been exposing the myriad of scams years ago - the sham work and study visas, non-EU immigrants overstaying visas, sham marriages, no implementation of EU regulations on free movement, and the endless asylum scams that everyone now knows exist although we were told it was imaginary and no IPA destroyed documents before arriving 🙄.

MSM job is to hold politicians to account but they failed miserably and joined in the pile-on with the many TDs, NGOs and other do-gooders who champion unlimited immigration that can cost taxpayers billions. In tandem with politicians, MSM did a fantastic job at shutting down anyone who questioned the crazy system by perpetuating the story that people were racist, facist, nazi, right-wing, hate filled or nationalist (nothing shameful in loving or protecting your country and culture). MSM need to step up and start playing their part in exposing politicians and NGOs who are publicly funded but only interested in self-promotion and their own pet projects. We badly need a MSM organisation that doesn’t toe the party line to manipulate and bamboozle people into doubting and disbelieving the evidence of their own eyes.

MM and some other TDs are changing tack recently only because the mood music coming from the EU is evolving. Too many of our politicians do not act in the best interests of the citizens who elected them, they continue to raid the public purse for the benefit of other nations and have failed utterly to make the Irish people their priority. Any politician who places a greater importance on other countries problems instead of sorting out our own issues doesn’t deserve a place in the Oireachtas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭MONarmy

Not for a second do I believe that Martin is the only one responsible for the immigration fiasco in Ireland. I was just referencing Martin as he had the neck to give that galling interview a few days ago.

There's a huge amount of blame to go around. Fine Gael obviously being the party in power the past decade. They have been nothing short of disastrous in dealing with immigration, watching the likes of McEntee as Minister for Justice was downright embarrassing. Nobody will ever forget O'Gorman stint as Minister for Integration dealing with asylum seekers, absolutely shameful. You are absolutely spot on about the media as well, they are either utterly incompetent en masse or they are complicit and happy to be essentially PR folk for government, being spoon fed outright lies and propaganda, spreading it to the masses as facts and never challenging a thing. Gutter journalism in the likes of rte, Irish Times, Irish Independent etc.

We could go on for a long time blaming folk, so many of them have screwed the country so badly. I'll never ever get over the likes of Labour and the Soc Dems though. Their stance on immigration has been bewildering and allowed government a complete free pass for their policies or lack of over the past few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Also, question to ask you all who are crying and up in arms over the population increase.

Which do we stop first - work permits or student visas?

EDIT: Oh, or Irish people returning home.

Mod Edit: Warned for breaching threadban

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,056 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Here is a list of the types of migration to encourage and discourage:

(1) Irish returning, especially builders = strongly encourage. Give builders ten years of no income tax if they build new houses

(2) EU migration - we are part of EU, so these inflows are not controlled, but please see (3)

(3) EU migrants who don't work, e.g. the Puskas and thousands more: no housing, no welfare and eventually removed

(4) student visas, English language courses = stop this, reduce inflow to zero

(5) student visas, third level, paying non-EU fees = a limited amount, but maybe reduce inflows to zero until rents fall to reasonable rates

(6) AS: aim for zero AS, process within a week, like the Swiss, remove by end of week

(7) work visas: continue with these, but only for specific occupations, not for any job like now

Therefore, immigrants who cycle bikes delivering food = NO

Immigrants working in healthcare or ICT = YES

(8) Refugees: UKR people under BOTP: remove half now and half when the war is over, except for:

10,000 UKR allowed to stay if they work in the construction of new houses, and can never claim social assistance

(9) Refugees: max 100 programme refugees per year (e.g. the likes of Yousef Palani and his family)

The overall aim should be to cut the population by at least 100,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,063 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

I'm a firm believer in the old saying "when in Rome, do as the Romans do".

If someone is coming here, they should do so in a spirit of gratitude for being allowed in.

If they are coming here to complain about Ireland, I don't think we should grant them work permits. We were never a colonial power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Who said stop visas? Lower numbers of visas would decrease pressure on housing and other services, as would strict family reunification and controls on non-eu visitors who overstay visas, or eu members who are a burden on the state. Apply the rules. As for Irish people returning home - why would we stop Irish citizens returning to their own country - they have an automatic and legal right to enter the state.

If the government sticks to their plan to increase the population to 6.3m by 2040, why not create better systems so our young people stay, or offer incentives to the ones who’ve left so it makes financial sense for them to return. Opening our doors to the world has consequences and might not be the solution our politicians think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭briangriffin

I beleive there are a small cohort of people with a self loathing for the Irish nation, who see the structure of Irish society with all its traditions and values and want to deconstruct it in the name of progressisvism, who only see the world through the lens of oppression and beleive that they are truly virtuous and that virtue must be extolled at all times. On immigration they beleive we should not apply rules and anyone who breaks the rules must be fleeing war or conflict, so we have a moral obligation to house them. It never crosses their mind that there might be bad faith actors (economic migrants) scamming the system because their narccisitic mindset won't allow that nuance to exist, weak politicians create weak policies, Elon Musk describes the "woke mind virus" it was never more apt than it has been when it comes to discussing immigration in ireland. Its all the more appaling because there are plenty of examples of social cohesion being affected significantly by large demographic change in other European countries Sweden and Germany are 2 good examples. Angela Merkel the instigator of a policy that allowed mass immigration to Germany is on record as far back as 2010 saying "multiculturalism has failed utterly failed" and that integration was a huge problem for recent migrants. We are a generous people but the cost to the taxpayer to fund a system that creates multi millionares out of a landlord class to house 80% economic migrants is one of the biggest scandals in recent political history. That no investigation into the real cost of this to the tax payer has ever been done is testament to the grip the Governement and NGO class have on the media here or perhaps its the influence of progressivism on the media class.

Imagine editing a post and questioning whether "irish people" should be allowed to return to Ireland to live and comparing those Irish people to all the other immigrants coming into the country, how very noble and virtuous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The Brits are saying they will refuse work visas to countries who refuse to take back illegal migrants from the UK.

Would that be something the government might consider introducing over here I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

Very well described, and in particular:

That no investigation into the real cost of this to the tax payer has ever been done is testament to the grip the Governement and NGO class have on the media here or perhaps its the influence of progressivism on the media class.

Up there along with creating millionaires from housing economic migrants is probably the biggest scandal itself. The media here appear to be captured and/or controlled - and perhaps this merits another discussion thread entirely. However when discussing migration, the media are clearly biased and leave no doubt whatsoever as to their position on the issue. They, in my opinion, cross the line from just being biased to being activists on this issue - a stance they hold on many social issues overall.

This raises some questions - what is going on with the NUJ and also the journalism colleges? How come there is such a hive mind on commentary around the immigration issue? Is there a feedback loop where the companies profiting handsomely from immigration are donating and/or taking out advertisements with these media outlets, to they sing the tune to keep the money coming in. Is it a combination of all of the above?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

Ian O'Doherty was on a Podcast recently talking about this. The Head of the Department of Comms/Journalism in DCU is allegedly a failed journalist, who is a Postmodern Marxist in Ideology. THAT is the lens through which the subject is being taught in DCU.

Now imagine TCD, Ground Zero for Woke Nonsense in Irish Universities…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,267 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I had to take a year off work after an accident. Now work is tough going, I therefore conclude ipas residents and long term social welfare recipients will never work as doing feck all is easier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,118 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Are there still random garda checks on NI border for resident status? or was it a publicity stunt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,461 ✭✭✭Floppybits

If the media were doing their jobs properly Martin, Harris. MacDonald, Bacik, Kearns and few others who called anyone who spoke out against what was going on with immigration far right or racist in an attempt to shut down discussion should be getting torn to shreds in the media.

It is disgusting what the politicians have been getting away with and the media turning a blind eye to it as they reporters/journalists all eye up a government advisor role. Time they were all held to account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭briangriffin

It's possible that mainstream media are towing the government line, the amount of journalists who came from media outlets and then moved onto roles as special advisors to government would suggest that career progression for some lies away from critically analysing government policy and instead of agreeing with the government narrative.

There are other reasons for not critically analysing immigration policy too, as questioning policy can be seen as an affront to social cohesion. That was Dara O Briens reply to Carol Nolan in the Dail when asked how many Ukrainian refugees we can take in at the start of the Russian war. MM will question your "humanity" our international obligations will be referenced then our moral obligations. Questioning the policy of mass immigration will have you automatically labeled a far right racist, I watched many of the debates pre general election the narrative was tightly controlled by political parties in governemnt but also by the Soc dems PBP Labour etc. Remember St Patrick's day we were told St Patrick was an immigrant all the Irish fled the Famine all of this is parroted to control the narrative that all immigration is inevitable and inevitably always good. The examples of communities having to house huge numbers of asylum seekers in hotels and the changing demographic of their communities the unknowns for those communities who is moving in where are they from and what are their values? Legitimate concerns and questions that should be asked. Social stigma is the only way you can control people today, imagine a tax payer who has contributed all their lives to this country and objects to an asylum centre being opened in their town with legitimate concerns about facilities and yes the people coming in because we can't know what their values are or if their are compatible with ours. They are paying the politicians salary to make the unilateral decision to house them in their communites, paying for the hotels for 70% economic migrants and then paying for the rte journalists to infer they and their communities are far right racists because of the presence of a handful of bad faith actors.

This podcast has an interview with Jim O Callaghan, from 23 mins in he talks about immigration. https://open.spotify.com/episode/57AKPSx201gzvIuvXZtJyI?si=nafqJbj7Rgu-cY_KbSAucw&t=1382&ct=1338

Compare the sensible and legitimate concerns he raises as he says it would be great if we had the resources to house the world but unfortunately we dont. It impacts social cohesion and services.

This interview is from Mick Clifford

https://open.spotify.com/episode/1htpxntARPIpU1VbbL7Jxx?si=Ue2hfqSxRHqH0HwZ1y2l6Q&t=32&ct=32

who introduces the debate by asking what influence has the far right had on the new direction taken by government, he is speaking to Professor Ciara Smyth an expert in immigration law. It is mind boggling that at the end of the interview he thanks her for her facts and expertise as she contradicts many of the facts put forward by the actual minister for justice. Her narrative is because of colonisation and climate change, caused by the north extreme poverty exists in the global south and we are obligated to take asylum seekers because of this. The patriarchy also gets a mention. Not a mention of 87% coming from the UK. Virtuousness I still believe is the driver of all of this, we must do the morally progressive thing because there are no bad faith actors in the world.… it is suicidal empathy to accept all people at their word when as JOC says 70% of asylum seekers are rejected overall. At how many billions of euros annually to the tax payer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭enricoh

Good to see the indo still shilling away for the refugee industry. It's a fantastic experience for tourist towns to lose their hotel accommodation apparently!

Tourism down 40% this year is a small price to pay for this enrichment. Hell, even the president will pop over for a photo op n tell the locals how wonderful its gonna be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭aero2k

I don't contribute much here as I don't like how polarised it tends to be - I see a lot of name-calling or othering instead of engaging with the content of posts. As on other threads (Donald Trump, various trans-related threads), I'm fascinated by the intellectual gymnastics on display. With that thought in mind, an essay by Frederick Alexander on Substack articulates many of the relevant arguments. He points out how, if you support Malala Yousafzai who was shot by the Taliban (they were only enforcing their culture after all) then you must accept the idea that some cultures are better than others. I found it thought provoking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,152 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

1234.jpg

Of course this Kinvara for all group just sprung up organically,there's money ie funding involved I'd wager ..couple of the ladies involved here ,same oul craic in every town…white privilege indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/social-affairs/2025/12/29/ireland-must-encourage-larger-families-and-higher-migration-as-birth-rates-fall-report-warns/

One of the largest foreign-born populations in the EU and a crippling housing shortage, but they want more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

…and also an organisation that "models" for the "carbon free economy" yet has no problem with people taking planes, trains and automobiles (in their thousands) to come to this windswept rock where we have not got the infrastructure to deal with it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭AyeGer

We are too fixated on population growth and the Economy. There are 7 million on the island now. Try and make the place work for those 7 million rather than aiming for population growth by reckless immigration policies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,418 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I was shocked this morning reading a post on Facebook from a young Ukrainian looking for a room under ARP scheme

She is working in a shop and earning a wage and looking for a room with Government subsidy of €600 .
    So I thought about it and lets say she works in retail full time , she works alongside side a young Irish girl earning exactly the same . They both have to rent , eat , travel etc yet the Ukrainian girl is €600 better off as that much of her rent is covered .
    So we now have a massive inequality in our land and being Ukrainian in this situation is €600 better off than an Irish or EU or UK worker .
    I am shocked to know that ARP still exists for Ukrainian working and earning a living

Surely it should be stopped and used only for those in real need or elderly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

There is a ~500k increase in population since 2020, nearly all adults.

Roads are jammed beyond capacity as a result. Govt had a chance to make hybrid working the norm in 2020 to some degree. Even if it was 1-2 days a week at home the impact would be enormous. But they bended to big business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,345 ✭✭✭prunudo

That will be interesting, hey Keir here's a thousand bogus refugees that came in over the NI border, take them back or we'll make it harder for English people work here. Let the games begin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

The ARP needs to be scrapped. They would have to give sufficient notice of this so people can start arranging alternative accommodation or sorting something with their landlord l/host, so the Government really need to start making noise about this now and officially announcing the ARP is to cease.

It’s coming up to 4 years how that the Russian invasion started. It really is time to start weaning Ukrainians off their supports.

I also only read yesterday that Ireland are the only EU country to have given the full state pension to Ukrainian pensioners. Aren’t we a great country altogether. The talk at the moment is about the ticking time bomb that is the pension in Ireland and how it’s model is unsustainable, but sure we’ll just encourage a load more OAPS from another country to add to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭creedp

In Ireland of today positive discrimination against the Irish is not only acceptable but cheerleaded by the so called progressives. Utter joke