Orange is the new Burke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭DmanDmythDledge

Cregan also said yesterday that he was surprised by the decision and will consider if he will ask another judge to make the application.

I've no idea how all this works btw, just going on what I read yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

Cregan seems to want to cost the taxpayer a fortune, to the benefit his legal associates. I can only imagine circus evolved with trying to convict the Burkes of Castlebar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,318 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

No more than any other criminal prosecution. Criminal courts give defendants a lot less leeway than civil courts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,343 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

There was another of the "fly by night" short stay posts [gone now] on F/B apparently backing up the Burkes, with a few photos of what seem to be people supporting the Burke family efforts. The middle [Irish Independent] photo was cropped by me to exclude an advert image of a US passport and flag about US visas. The top of the wall in the photos seems identical to the top of WHS wall seen in EB's promotional shots of him outside WHS grounds. The question now is will they be there on the morning of the 25th Dec…

600511404_122118453705001917_6545475225878084979_n.jpg 601844471_122118453657001917_8794037018360822411_n.jpg 603889631_122118453813001917_7125886694701841965_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,708 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭BK5

"Drop charges against Enoch" - what charges?

"Christian Values" - these two words are losing all meaning with people like these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

I wonder how long it would take them to notice if someone snuck in a yellow sign somewhere there saying "Enoch should cop the f*ck on!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,871 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭sundodger5

What i find odd, with a lot of the current discourse both here and overseas is that whatever holy book you want to follow the first rule of them all is don't be a d*ick. They always seem to miss that bit…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,530 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

"SovereignPeople.ie"

Yep, not too hard to figure out what they're about. Sounds like they'd be at home in the Freeman thread over in Legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,282 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Noticed that.

Also this placard was hilarious - "Enoch should not be in prison" - Yeah, he shouldn't, but all he has to do is stay away from the school he doesn't work in.

Bunch of dunces

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭BK5

Or as the atheist comedian Jim Jeffries says- "I only have one commandment, try not to be a c**t".

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

You only have to look at their people to know that even the Burkes wouldn't want them behind Enoch!

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

High Court President Judge Barniville publishes warning to "disruptive" influences on the Irish Court Services website. Warning, the judge was making his position clear on disruption of in-court proceedings and discourteous behaviour towards the bench there-in as well. Excerpt in news item:

Judge David Barniville took the unprecedented step of issuing a notice on the Courts Service website yesterday, saying it was ‘by way of warning to those who engage in such conduct that it will not be tolerated’.

He wrote: ‘Following consultation with the President of the Court of Appeal [Caroline Costello], I have decided that in light of the increasing number of incidents of extremely disruptive and, on occasions, violent conduct in court by some litigants in person and their supporters, it is necessary that I issue this notice.’

Judge Barniville said disruptive conduct would be addressed by the courts in several different ways and that such conduct could also expose those involved to the risk of civil or criminal contempt-of-court proceedings, or other criminal charges.

https://www.msn.com/en-ie/news/world/high-court-president-delivers-zero-tolerance-warning/ar-AA1SEGev?ocid=msedgntp&pc=U531&cvid=6944fb59f621491b83bafbd0935aba3a&ei=54

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,389 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Mr_A

The issue being that the AG's decision implies that disruption will in fact be tolerated

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,416 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Indeed, the entire philosophy of all religions can basically be stated as -

"Don't be an Arsehole and remember, what goes around comes around"

We'll have to wait and see if the AG thinks the judges are revolting… pun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,788 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I think it’s more the case of the AG feeling that judges have plenty of existing powers to deal with such incidents and WTF didn’t they use their powers before now, no less come crying to him with such trivia when they could have adequately dealt with it themselves with the help of Gardai

EB will be back before the High Court on 14th Jan next according to RTE TV news. What the appearance is about, I haven't got a clue as the report covered the whole affair from the row at the school and his first appearance before the the courts in mid-2022, all in the space of about two minutes. It did include a legal person I haven't seen before talking about the upcoming decision of the panel and a meeting of the school board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,417 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I assume there'll have been a decision on his employment status/appeal by that stage, so the High Court appearance will likely determine if he's to remain in prison considering he's no longer employed at the school (presuming that will have been the decision).

The legal guy on RTE News was Terry Gorry, a solicitor who talks about legal things and answers some legal hypotheticals on tiktok and has made a lot of videos regarding Burke, basically explaining why the courts are making the decisions they are (and also responding to a lot of eejits on tiktok who maintain Burke was jailed because of his opinion on transgenderism).

Didn't get to hear what he said on RTE News as it was just on in the background, but have seen a few videos of him on tiktok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,340 ✭✭✭✭elperello

The news report including contributions from Bernard Dunleavy SC and Terry Gorry is in this Orla O'Donnell article.

Enoch Burke's legal saga and what might happen next https://share.google/C0KiuvbzztHUpQ8Rk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,627 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

What's for Christmas dinner in the nick?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Honestly, who cares? If he doesnt want to be there then he can be out in a jiffy!

(I've a feeling that the Burkes don't celebrate Christmas anyhow)

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,488 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Institutional Christmas dinners are usually top notch, the kitchen staff put huge effort in to it and usually budgets go out the window too.

I will point out that Burke may call this Xmas not Christmas - Xmas used to be the preferred term for this time of year with hardline Prods; cause you aren't meant to ever reference jaysus in non-holy circumstances.

Not celebrating Christmas is very rare for Christians, even in obscure sects. But they exist. Actually MFM are fairly big in Ireland, mixed congregation of African and US immigrants plus some local convets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,282 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I do find that funny as part of the supposed "War on Christmas" - those who decry the use of "Xmas" forget or don't know that the X literally stands for Christ. It's actually the Greek letter chi (upper case Χ, lower case χ) which is one half of the Christian symbol chi-rho. Chi and rho are (in capitals) the first two letters of the Greek word for Christ, ΧΡΙΣΤΟΣ - Christos

image.png

@L1011 the JWs don't do Christmas either. Or birthdays… sounds like a lot of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,192 ✭✭✭afatbollix

I’d say he had a better dinner than back in Castlebar.

I wonder who his phone call was to?

Naw we all know it was mammy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,327 ✭✭✭Dazler97

no he’s not , he’s harassed his old school staff and all , it’s got nothing to do with his beliefs

He can believe whatever he want to, it's his actions which have landed him into trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Also, this 'treated like a criminal because of his beliefs' is total horseshit.

It's thrown out there when it's something bigoted that people agree with.