2025 Boardsie's Gigs of the Year Awards

• 23-12-2025 07:17PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,225 ✭✭✭✭

As the year draws to a close, I thought we should have another Gigs of the Year thread!

Give us your top three (ish, I mean it's just for fun) and tell us why

I'll start us off...

1 For Those I Love, Olympia

I read back over what I wrote that night, here's some snippets... "Just incredible... cathartic... communal. Every word was heartfelt and heart-wrenching... devastating but also uplifting... raw and poetic... full of vitriol but full of love... I wouldn't say I loved every moment, but I felt every moment"

Still stand by all of that, it really was amazing

2 The Scratch, The Soundhouse
    "Yep! That was absolutely awesome! Band in flying form, great venue, great sound, awesome sweaty moshing sing-every-word crowd, it was basically perfect 🙂"
    Am absolute joy, especially in such a tiny venue

3 In The Meadows
    Is it cheating to include a one day festival? Such a great event, lovely setup in Kilmainham, easy to move between the three stages, but no sound bleed or anything. Saw so many great bands, known and new, can't wait to hear what's happening with it this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,173 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Fair play EN. Has to be done. Let me have a think.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

6. Neil Young - Malahide

Great Show, really good setlist. shame about the venue. I've seen him probably a half dozen times, he's always great and this was no exception.

5. Bob Dylan - 3 Arena

6 times seeing he rough and Rowdy ways tour (3 x 2022, 2 x 2024, plus this one) and I have to see his voice is incredible. The performances across the night were first class, particularly Baby Blue and Desolation Row. But everything really. Finishing the night and the tour with a cover of a rainy night in Soho was such a great moment.

4. Flaming Lips - Olympia

Played the full album Yoshimi Battles the Space Robots, complete nostalgia but really good performance, and the usual extravagance with giant balloons etc.

3. Mogwai - Vicar Street

Brilliant show and first time seeing them indoors, very impressive.

2. Wolf Alice - 3 Arena

I missed out on the small shows earlier in the year but this one was a real highlight of the year. Epic Setlist and performance was top class. Fairly sparse attendance, would have been even better in a smaller venue

1. My Bloody Valentine

First time seeing them and was blown away. Just class from start to finish, also went into the national stadium rehearsal thing, but this show was just on another level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,864 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Good one EN!

Still a week or so to go but after chalking up 119 gigs so far in 2025 I think my mind’s made up……

International band

Mono in The Button Factory. First time seeing them live, it really was an extraordinary experience. That encore!

Irish Gig

The Scratch in The Soundhouse. Supported by Hero in Error, it was so good to have my bones shaken to the core after a fairly quiet summer.

Irish Band

Bad Mothers Union in International Bar. Just such an unexpected noise delight.

Irish Band I’d like to manage….

Answerer. After seeing them twice, they really have no idea of their potential. I’d change their name, get the singer a good voice coach and get them into some decent city centre venues as opposed to shithole dives in the suburbs. Great quote from Fintan O’Toole in today’s Irish Times……

For all the nonsense we have to put up with in Ireland, we are a nation blessed in its artists. The church betrayed us. Governments sold us out for a handful of dig-outs. Our banks became casinos. Much of the media became cynical and self-serving. But through it all there have been brilliant creative people holding fast to the hard core of art: integrity in action.

I can't remember the rules lads. Only Irish gigs? Only stand alone or do festival sets count?

I'll do 2. Stand alone Irish gigs....

1. La Femme, Academy, February.

I've been waiting for them to return since EP 2016 or whatever and they didn't disappoint. Super cool, inventive, intelligent, mad catchy gallic bangers start to finish. Deadly.

2. Gillian Welch and David Rawlings, Vicar Street, October.

You hope for something special when you see a legend and Gillian didn't disappoint. Majestic stuff from both of them and such warm, funny people.

3. Warmduscher, Whelan's, October.

Anarchic, frenzied, funky ,funny songs from a band i saw first at In the Meadows but fit in twice more over the next dew months. Absolutely love them

Other stuff...

1. Yard Act, Green Man main stage, August. Mental. Had the whole place going ballistic.
    2. Gilla band, In the Meadows, June. First time seeing them. Some experience.
    3. MJ Lenderman, Green Man, August. A man on the up and up. Full set main stage and he looked so at home. Really looking forward to seeing what he does next.

Brilliant year of music, loads I could have added there, Jeffrey Lewis, Joshua Idehen, Beth Gibbons, BC Camplight, Getdown Services, Delines in Kilkenny....hope I get half as good a run of it in 2026. All the best to the Boardsie community, thanks for all the tips and recommendations, ye're a sound bunch. A happy and peaceful new year to you and yours,

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,853 ✭✭✭COH

1. Back to The Beginning

Didn't realise the true significance of it until Ozzy passed away a few weeks later. Had never had an opportunity to see him or Sabbath before... the crowd was incredible, and the entire city was just a huge buzz

2. Oasis ... night #2 in Croke Park

My third time seeing them on the tour... was a shell of myself after going to see them the night before in Croker as well but ended up at Noel Gallaghers afterparty in Donoghues. Just an absolutely wild night.

3. Oasis ... Tour opener Cardiff

Closed roof, first performance together in ~17 years and my first time seeing them, the anticipation was just insane. Felt like my feet didn't touch the floor all night. Got the bus from this to Back to The Beginning above... what a weekend.

4... Limp Bizkit Three Arena

I've never been a huge fan of LB but my god this was fun. They knew exactly what the crowd wanted (Break Stuff) so they played it twice. My poor calves took about a week to recovet from the pit. Unbelieveable.

5... The Scratch (Soundhouse)

Unashamedly love these guys... go to see them as often as possible and love the energy they bring, especially to the smaller venues. You'd be hard pressed to find a sounder bunch, artists and fans alike.

2025 will take some beating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

When i saw the thread title my arrogance made me immediately log in in search of my award. Ego shattered.

…^……<…./?::;;:::@"! ((((((*))))))#=)))))~

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,864 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

You get my award for Gigmeister ‘25 DW (and, come to think about it, 24 too). 😎’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Ha! With 119 gigs under your belt there's clearly one winner here!

I'll have to look through my gigs to come up with a list but my gut tells me it will be dominated by old bastards yet again. This is simultaneously positive and depressing.

…^……<…./?::;;:::@"! ((((((*))))))#=)))))~

Get a room you two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭Penfailed

My gig of the year was last Friday night in the Ulster Hall in Belfast. It's gone straight into my top ten gigs ever! And So I Watch You From Afar with the Ulster Orchestra. Just unreal!

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar, The Scratch

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Stereolab, KNEECAP, Sugar, Clutch, Big Thief, Jon Spencer, The Cure, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, IDLES, Electric Picnic, Public Service Broadcasting, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Korn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,982 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

20251217_123907.jpg

Another great year. Very difficult to put things in order. Nevertheless...

1. Oasis, Croke Park

Kickstarted by the best concert intro of all time, this was like no show I've ever attended. Incredible atmosphere, great crowd, a tangible sense of camaraderie and a collective experience. It felt special, because everyone knew it was. Most stadium shows inevitability have occasional lulls: this had none. And who else could do a stadium level tour with a setlist including five b-sides? Magnificent.

2. Gillian Welch & David Rawlings, Vicar Street

Two phenomenal shows. Gillian and David are obviously great on record, but on a totally different level when you see them live, not least since their personalities play such a part, but also because you have more of an appreciation for their playing. Personally, I like the fact that we get more Rawlings songs these days, not least night two's epic Method Acting/Cortez the Killer. As I remarked at the time, you'd go to see them every day of the week if you could. 

3. Iron Maiden, Malahide Castle

Sadly, there was no Nicko, but a Maiden tour celebrating their purple patch was irresistible. As with Oasis, there was a great sense of a shared experience and a brilliant crowd. I was lucky enough to win a place on the First to the Barrier lottery, which was fantastic. Worth the admission price for Phantom of the Opera and Rime of the Ancient Mariner alone. Fifteen year old me may have spontaneously combusted.

4. Wolf Alice, Set Theatre and 3Arena

Getting to see Wolf Alice in Kilkenny in May (their first show of their current album campaign, hence two live song debuts) and then seeing their superb 3Arena show this month was a great way to experience two very different - but equally impressive - performances. To see a band of their level in a venue so small was obviously special, but to see them deliver a bona fide arena show seven months later was equally joyful. 

5. Neil Young and the Chrome Hearts, Malahide Castle

Right from the outset, with a blistering Be the Rain, this was magnificent. A quite extraordinary four in a row of When You Dance I Can Really Love, Cinnamon Girl, F***in' Up and Hey Hey, My My (Into the Black) was giddily relentless, and Rockin' in the Free World ended the night on a buoyant note. While I've always regarded the 1996 Point show with Crazy Horse as a high water mark for live Neil, this was genuinely as good as I've ever seen him. 

6. Billie Eilish, 3Arena

A pop production masterclass. The 3Arena's amphitheatre arrangement meant the stage (normally in the round) had to be moved "sideways." While this meant the vast majority of the audience were on one side, it also probably allowed those in the normally inferior side sections upstairs to have a fantastic view. The recently released trailer for the concert film reminded me how great the show was. She's in a league of her own. 

2026 Gigs and Events: An Evening with The Fast Show, Prima Facie, Stereolab (NCH), Foo Fighters, David Byrne (3Arena), Belle and Sebastian (x2), Kraftwerk, Paul Simon, David Byrne (St. Anne's Park), Keb' Mo', Metallica (x2), Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, Embrace, Sigur Rós with the Ulster Orchestra, Crash Test Dummies, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Ben Folds, Jeff Tweedy, Nicko McBrain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,225 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Multiple mentions for oasis, Neil Young, Wolf Alice, Gillian Welch & David Rawlings, The Scratch

Nice selection, keep them coming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,264 ✭✭✭rednik

1. Joe Bonamassa, Rory Gallagher celebration in the Marquee. No way to top this incredible performance by Joe.
    2. Iron Maiden, Malahide Castle
    3. Hans Zimmer, 3 Arena
    4. Tremonti, Academy
    5. Holly Johnson, Vicar Street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭Count Hairyfoot

1. Turnstile - 3Arena
    2. Obituary - Olympia
    3. Ghost - Zurich - they didn't play here this time around unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,046 ✭✭✭RayCon

I'll keep it short.

1. Ozric Tentacles at Lost Lane Dublin 8/3/25. First time seeing them live and was absolutely transfixed.
    2. Opeth - AFAS Live, Amsterdam. Have seen them live multiple times and they are always fantastic, but that night was another level (Full Disclosure - might have been the few drags of a joint I had before hand that enhanced the night)
    3. Steven Wilson - Friedrichstadtpalast Grosse Revue, Berlin. Amazing show, beautiful venue. Perfect sound and visuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,946 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

1: Spanish Love Songs - Manchester

You know when you wait ages to see a band and there's no way it can live up to the hype? This was the opposite of that, 1000 people screaming along to a perfect set list while I was 15 feet away from the band.

2: The Scratch - button factory

I loved the soundhouse gig, but I give the button factory the slight edge, these boys deserve the absolute world. You know it's a good one when you sweat through 2 t-shirts.

3: The Hold Steady - New Jersey

I'd seen Craig Finn a half dozen times, only got to see the hold steady once when I didn't know who they were, that changed on a September night in New Jersey I was part of a welcoming congregation joyfully paying tribute to the god of rock and roll.

Honourable mentions:

Bruce Springsteen - Anfield.

Stood on my team's pitch while Springsteen sang thunder road, just ridiculous.

CMAT - 3MAT

If I was more familiar with her catalogue this probably would have made the list, and absolute **** star.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,982 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Few gigs for me this year (around 12 or so).

3 of the most enjoyable in chronological order:

Selofan at Whelan's: the Greek dark wave duo started my gig year in style!

Scissor Sisters at 3Arena: even without Ana Matronic, it was a great show, Jake Shears is such an amazing performer. Plus the excellent Alison Goldfrapp in support.

Rhiannon Giddens at National Concert Hall. In musical "conversation" with Francesco Turrisi and Seckou Keita, in a completely different set than she usually plays.

Post edited by Irish Aris on

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,979 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Unleash the Archers at Academy 2 in Manchester is my favourite gig this year, was a religious experience for me, one of the best gigs I was ever at.

Also The Saw Doctors in Letterkenny

Steel Panther in Vicar Street

Unto Others/Green Lung in Academy

Steve N Seagulls in Hawks Well, Sligo

Iron Maiden in Malahide Castle

Lord of the Lost in the Academy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭davywalsh7

Oasis @ Croke park x 2 / Manchester

CMAT @ 3 Arena

Fontaines DC @ ATN

Kneecap @ 3 Arena

Limp Bizkit @ 3 Arena

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭RangerToby

Slightly bending the rules as I'm going to include a couple festival sets given that's what I mostly go to.. so in the 'ish' realm for sure.

1. And So I Watch You From Afar x Ulster Orchestra - Ulster Hall

Not much more can be said about this that those of us who went haven't said already - bloody brilliant. TBH their set in the tent at BTP was also awesome but they always are live.

2. Henge - Beautiful Days Festival

Mad zany funk/rock/indie/synth electronica - a must see live over anything else if you're at a festival. Mad Fun. :)

3. PREYRS - Stendhal Festival

Headed up by vocal belter Amy Montgomery, one of their first live shows as 'PREYRS" now signed to pelagic records (if you know that label, it bangs out amazing acts of the prog rock / metal ilk) was superb even in the mid afternoon. Looking forward to catching them on a full night set next year.

two honourable mentions to Ezra Collective @ BTP, one of those bands that's hard not to get moving to live.

and R.S.A.G @ Vantastival. Probably the last time we may see him play live in this guise.

(edit: the usual typos and bad spelling you expect from me by now.)

Post edited by RangerToby on

Screenshot 2025-09-26 175316.jpg Support Independent Festivals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Granite Head

2025 Top Gigs and Events:

1. Flaming Lips - Olympia
    2. CMAT - Guinness Storehouse
    3. Gillian Welch & David Rawlings - Vicar St.
    4. For those I love - Olympia
    5. OXN - NCH

Interesting 3 out of the 5 are Irish, a fair reflection of the current rude health of Irish music.

Honourable mentions; Los Campesinos, Gang of Four, Sparks, Richard Hawley, Luvcat, John Bishop, Anthony Szmierek

There were three live songs this year that elevated my being;

Phil Hartnoll - "Belfast" - Vantastival

Elaine Mai (Featuring Maykay & Faye O'Rourke) - "We are" - Button Factory

Joy Crookes - "Black Boys on Mopeds" - Olympia 

2026 Gigs and Events: Bren Berry, Grant Lee Philips, Jarlath Regan, Craig Finn, Westside Cowboy, Magdalena Bay, Neil Delamare, The Streets,The Paper Kites, TJ Baham, Borderline Festival (Fri + Sat), Whitney, Stereolab (Whelans), Antlers, David Byrne, Buck Meek, Bar Italia, Gene, Gorillaz, Thundercat, Belle & Sebastion x2, Jason Byrne, President, Jacob Alon, Robert Finley, Big Thief, The Big Star Quintet, Superfurry Animals, These Charming Men, Kraftwerk, Ray LaMontagne, Sugar, Mack Fleetwood, Pixies, Stewart Lee, Aldous Harding, The Cure, Florence & the Machine, Beta Band, Forest Fest, ATN, Moby, GOAT, Jack White, Sigar Ros, Michael Shannon & Jason Narducy, Bonny Prince Billy, Death Cab for Cutie, Olafur Arnalds, Reytones, Arab Strap, Arlo Parks, Strokes, Cat Power, Widows Peak, Jeff Tweedy, Ocean Colour Scene, Fat Dog, Interpol & Bloc Party, Madra Salach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭dasdog

My Bloody Valentine - 3Arena
    The secret gig on the Wednesday was a bit frustrating but the Saturday show of MBV week was anything but. People were in tears around me, gig man was losing his marbles like a televangelist preacher and I was lost in the wall of noise and visual saturation offering strangers sips from my vodka hip flask. Took my ears days to recover and my mind a couple of weeks.

In The Meadows - Kilmainham
    Second year going and this and floated between Muireann Bradley, Sprints, Lambrini Girls, Gilla Band, Slowdive and I was up front for Iggy Pop in the space of a few hours. Please let it be on again next year it's absolute perfection and do not change anything.

Kamasi Washington - Olympia Theatre
    Second time seeing this maestro - he is going to go down in the pantheon of one of the all time great musicians. Hip hop, funk and soul all stitched together with free and smooth jazz. I would go and see his band every weekend.

Honourable mentions to The Messthetics, Viagra Boys (Olympia), Bob Vylan (Vicar St), Eric Bell and all the Thin Lizzy cover bands playing obscure songs from their catalog in The Bloody Stream to celebrate Phil Lynott's birthday in August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭LLamachara

In no particular order,

Viagra Boys Olympia

Baxter Drury Vicar Street

Pulp 3Arena

High Vis Grand Social

Sparks National Stadium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 lalan45

Great picks 👌
    Mine would be IDLES (pure chaos and release), Fontaines D.C. (felt massive but still intimate), and Queens of the Stone Age for sheer tightness and sound. Hard to beat a year when gigs felt that alive again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭HikingBeatsSport

2025 was a cracking year of music. Thankful for being at a few memorable gigs.

Fontaines DC - Curraghmore, Waterford.

NewDad - Cypress Avenue, Cork.

Wolf Alice - 3Arena, Dublin.

Leif Vollebekk & Angie McMahon - St. Lukes, Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭Penfailed

I'm gonna have a proper go at my list after my last gig of the year on the 27th. The Scratch in the Nerve Centre in Derry.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar, The Scratch

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Stereolab, KNEECAP, Sugar, Clutch, Big Thief, Jon Spencer, The Cure, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, IDLES, Electric Picnic, Public Service Broadcasting, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Korn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭BAABAA96

Could definitely make a list but I’ve a clear number 1 here that I agree with others on

For Those I Love - Olympia

Felt like a real moment to be at, it was more than a gig. The intimacy and power of his words and performance brought emotions to the room that people didn’t even know they could feel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Brickinthewall

Great year for gigs. 2026 shaping up to be just as good. Some hard decisions here but my 2025 top 5 is

5. Halina Rice - Button Factory

4 Ash - Academy

3. The Maccabees - Academy

2. Oasis - Croke Park (night 1)

1. Viagra Boys - Olympia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭TheDocMan

1. Maruja - Whelans. Album slightly underwhelming but prob too much hype. Live is where its at. Brilliant
    2. Flaming Lips - Olympia. Wayne's voice for the high notes is shot but wow is he a showman and brilliant crowd vibe.
    3. Getdown Services - Button Factory. Missed their early intimate gigs but if they were better then this well then that was truly special

Special mentions to Fat Dog - Opium (short set and they seemed f...ked) but it still fizzed

And Paul Heaton - 3 Arena. Went along with herself expecting it to be OK. Jez it was bloody superb. Housemartins, Beautiful South, solo stuff and some new songs. Brilliant voice. And the songs- a masterclass - a veneer of witty pop wrapping cynical social commentary. Ill go again.

Regrets : I was away for Pulp, NIN & Jimmy Eat World + another band ive forgotten all in the one week!!

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,424 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Keeping it in Ireland, my top five

Flaming lips, Olympia

Idles, Olympia

Ludvico einaudi, 3 arena

Bob vylan, vicar Street

Pattie smith, 3 arena