Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,397 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Legacy media is unanimously open borders, it should have totally boycotted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,118 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Has Jim O'Callaghan turned utterly far right?

Only a few years ago, anyone suggesting this would be branded a far right something or other.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,055 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

€49 million spent paying for Ukrainians and asylum seekers University education between 2022 and now according to Ken O Flynn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Far-right 🤣 Maybe the penny has finally dropped that the huge cost of welcoming all and sundry from around the world is not sustainable. It’s time our elected politicians realise that Irish families and workers are sorely fed up with foreign nationals cashing in on benefits paid for by Irish taxpayers while they are paying through the nose for their own living costs, home, kids education and healthcare.

It’s good that someone has finally dared to close off the racket. JO’C says they will look at student visas but every part of the immigration system needs stricter controls because everyone knows we’re a soft touch, eg. a Ukrainian woman interviewed for the New to the Parish column in the IT today said she came here from Poland because “she knew English and she thought it was easier to claim asylum in Ireland than it was in the UK”. She has received accommodation, education support and further mentorship while her entire family are still living in Ukraine. Is Poland not a safe country? There’s so many stories of scamming the good nature of the Irish - it’s beyond infuriating.

Post edited by mrslancaster on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Scar001

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2025/1211/1548329-ireland-immigration-figures/

Surprised that 48% of first permits issued in 2024 was for education.

A scheme, I suspect that benefits a very small cohort of the population.

Well surprise surprise, that loser Henderson is giving out about what O Callaghan said.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,964 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

He did a very interesting interview on this on the Irish Times Inside Politics podcast from which the quotes in that article are taken from if anyone would like to have a listen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

I distinguish between war refugees and people fleeing safe countries.

Ukrainians fleeing the war aren't owed a university education with us footing the bill for it.

We got played big time when the word got out the benefits were a lot better here compared with the countries they originally settled in and we got landed with over 100,000 of them.

And I don't know how you feel about it but it sticks in my craw that the guards are turning a blind eye to them driving around with no insurance and Ukrainian plates even though they are here longer than 6 months.

The ones with expensive things may have come from a better off background in Ukraine but lost everything during the war but the car.

We havent fought a war in 105 years, but some of us think they are experts on it. I agree we were too generous at first, but I think what we are dealing with now is a legacy of the previous policy, rather than of the present one.

Its human nature to follow the money and we did so too and still do in the job market when doctors emigrate.

If you don't want them to get welfare, then you have to let them work. If they are elderly, that may not be an option.

Its not like someone from a peaceful country who comes here, destroys their travel documents to hide where they came from or possible criminal records, and then lives off the taxpayer for years or works in those restricted range of jobs that the law allows. Ukrainians don't need to destroy their ID, quite the contrary, because everyone knows theres a war going on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,397 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

This is insane. Dublin City Council alone are spending hundreds of millions (37% of their entire budget) accommodating foreigners and enriching private landlords like Banty Mcnaney. Nick Delehanty seems to be one of the few calling shenanigans on the whole rotten operation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

are they going on holiday to the war zone this Christmas like last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Thorny Queen

I have been working in this country since I was 13 and I would regard myself as a very hardworker and sensible with money but as it stands, I have not been able to save one cent to send any of my children to college. I am dreading 6 years time when my eldest is heading that way.

I am done with this kind of shoite thousands of times over. Done!

Giving my hard worked tax away to people who have contributed nothing but a sob story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭Packrat

Very common story, myself included. Teach them to work, and more importantly teach them about money (which few of us were taught, - outsource this of you dont feel confident) and they'll be fine.

Yes its maddening but try to rise above it. You and they are already ahead by you having a work ethic and them seeing that. In the very long run, the handouts crew and their children will be able for nothing more than more handouts. College/trades/careers will sort themselves out if yours have a work ethic and understand money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭khamilton

I'm confused, what financial supports are Ukrainian refugees receiving for attending college that your children won't receive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Not sure what the current supports are for Ukrainian 3rd level students are, but it was 800 towards accommodation, no fees to pay and a monthly stipend of 1100 none of which was means tested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

And when they get their free first rate education here and the supports eventually stop, with housing and costs here, they'll head home or off to another affordable part of the world and their new destination or home country reaps the benefits of their college degrees.

This has already been phased out. They currently receive the max adjacent/non-adjacent rates, free fees and student contribution in the same manner that Irish students satisfying a means test would.

It's a while ago, but when I was in uni over 50% of students received some sort of state support toward the contribution fee. The likes of back to education allowance still exists, which is even more generous and you can also receive rental supports when on it. This isn't an option for Ukrainians, just for Irish people.

Weird to see people talking about war refugees as 'the handouts crew' and not Irish people, given that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

Weird to see people talking about war refugees as 'the handouts crew' and not Irish people, given that.

Charity starts at home. Irish people should benefit first and foremost from State Supports, if there's a few quid left after the bills are paid and necessary infrastructure being built, then we can always use the foreign aid mechanism to benefit people not from these shores.

They are benefitting first and foremost. Can you not read?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

This has already been phased out. They currently receive the max adjacent/non-adjacent rates, free fees and student contribution in the same manner that Irish students satisfying a means test would.

The ARP hasn't been phased out. So that's something Ukrainians students get that Irish ones don't.

The Dept of Justice estimates it will need around 15 million next year to fight cases taken against the state by failed AS as deportation orders increase.

What makes it even more ridiculous is we are footing the bill for the whole thing.

One third of the 16000 people in emergency accommodation are foreigners from outside the EU.

What's going on there I wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Love how the Ukrainians get all the blame when there is no wars going on in all the other sob stories countries these leeches come from.

At least Ukraine are actually fighting and dying for their countries survival.

Morocca, Somalia, Afgaistan, Albania, Georgia, Nigeria.

Sure let’s blame the Ukrainians😀

IHREC's power to take cases against the state against deportations needs to be restricted. Its ridiculous the state is funding both the AS lawsuits, and the cases opposing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭rgossip30

How many are dragged in to fight or have left for Ireland to dodge fighting .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Latest (week 50) figs in - 252 weekly total

ipas week 50.jpg

The Somalis are a fierce resourceful bunch - Here's how I think the journey goes

They build a large raft on the beach from stuff that washes up on the shore. When it's seaworthy, they launch on their journey to treasure Ireland. The cape of good hope looks a bit dodgy so they push out into the gulf of Aden before heading north. It gets a bit tricky in the Suez canal as they avoid getting mangled by massive tankers. I think they're usually intercepted by the Guardia Civil as they approach the straits of Gibraltar and are offered an escort to Spain, but they wave their phones and say 'No please, look, Ireland give own door four month', as they carry on their way - as the Guardia Civil lads head back to Algeciras muttering 'Los Irlandeses son muy estúpidos' - 2746 Somalis in state accommodation awaiting "own door…"

map.jpg

Or perhaps they just come from the UK

"Ireland, the Land of Saints and Suckers"

Somalia, other than the breakaway Somaliland region, has been unstable and ungovernable since the fall of the Siad Barre regime in 1991. but I don't think that's a good enough reason to grant them asylum.

There are serious concerns about the Al Shabab terrorist group. We mustn't allow it to get into Europe using asylum as a Trojan Horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,628 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Mod - There's a Russia - Ukraine thread, please don't start discussing that here and using inflammatory terms like 'draft dodgers'. Two posts deleted.