Who Watches the Watchmen (Our Chit Chat Thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭Soarer

Here's one for the learned.

Say there was someone that was going to celebrate a milestone birthday. And say that same person wanted to be all cliché about things and wanted to mark the occasion with the purchase of a posh Rolex, or similar. Is there any value in Ireland? Or would a fella be better off heading to the UK, buying VAT free (if possible), and returning home happy out*?

*- Obviously declaring the watch when going through customs (cough).

Post edited by Soarer on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭C0N0R

No vat free in the uk, I’ve claimed back vat on Irish purchases leaving the country, but I do live overseas. Also claimed vat back on French purchases but again you need to be leaving eu. Uk would count for that purpose. Also depends what Rolex you wanted too, hard to get you probably won’t be sold it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,904 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

better served hopping on a flight to New York or Tokyo, where the currency conversion is in your favour and there can be deals to be found (you pay 10% off the sticker price in Japan also upon presentation of your passport).

I don’t often see compelling prices from the U.K. when looking through Chrono and the likes, the best deals always seem to come from US or Japan listings.

Thanks lads.
    Japan would be class. Always wanted to go there.
    New York would obviously be handier. Last time I went there though, I ended up getting engaged! Bad memories! 😉 Might also end up in one of those “quick flip” videos on YouTube shorts!

No value here?

There are “grey market” type dealers here (Watch Provider, ichrono.ie are two examples) who will source the watch you want for you. Worth getting in touch for sure, but I don’t believe it will be the best possible price compared to international sourcing options.

Thanks @LuckyLloyd

Also wondering if I should, maybe, go for something made in 1976. Kinda symbolic or something.
    Bit I’m detracting from the general chit-chat nature of this thread at this stage, so I’ll leave it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,281 ✭✭✭✭OmegaGene

birth year watches are over rated in my opinion and chances are it was made a few years before sitting idle anyway

If I wanted to mark an occasion I would get a nice pre owned piece and make some memories with my family with the money saved and take a holiday

The internet isn’t for everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭Fitz II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,643 ✭✭✭✭893bet

The only way birth year makes sense is if you buy it, the year your child is born with intent to create a history down stream with it and gift it on their 21st/wedding day or what ever.

Otherwise it’s a spurious link the the year you were born:

Decided I’m not gonna keep this lads.
    A bit too small for my wrist (not massively though). My gammy eyes have me not being able to read the day/date either.
    Anybody want it before I send it back? Cost me €315 delivered from Amazon Italy. This dark green colour scheme isn’t available in Ireland. This, and the dark blue, seem to be a European thing. Ireland have the Salmon and the Tiffany blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭H_Lime

Interesting thread on the reddit. Chap buys 100k of watches in '25 with seemingly zero f's for ever reselling. It poses an unusual scenario...

Screenshot_20251223_235125_Reddit.jpg Screenshot_20251223_235121_Reddit.jpg

Freed from the concept of resale worries would you make similar outlier/niche purchases? The 12k titanium yema tourbillon is quite a stretch...

I was looking at that post and I thought it was genuinely cool. It’s the rich man equivalent of a watch nerd spending €10k over a period on affordable and microbrand watches, which we wouldn’t really bat an eye at.

Like he’s put together an incredible collection - what HE really likes.

I’d like to think I’d do similar if that winning lotto ticket I buy every week ever actually wins… :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,981 ✭✭✭scwazrh

Nice way to blow 100k but he’d be lucky to get half that back if he needs its again.Doxa would be my favourite of that bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,184 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Good folk of Boards.ie's soundest sub forum!

Wishing ye all the very best of everything this Christmas but most especially, the happiest, healthiest and über prosperous of New Years to ye all!!!

Ye are all good people and deserve nothing but good things!

Have a great one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭Lorddrakul

Whatever and wherever you celebrate, and whomever with, all the best to you and yours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭Fitz II

Mostly a load of **** to be honest, but look buy what you like, dont conform to the usual standards, be different, we are all special flowers,…having said that if I had 100k to spend on watches I would go for the 2 or 3 really nice ones rather than a box of, at best, mostly meah.

Indeed happy christmas to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

I'm presently hankering after a Rolex Explorer One MkII 214270 39mm.

No hurry to buy, just wondering what's the best option for someone based in the RoI. Not looking for the cheapest offer as I would put more value on the integrity of the seller.

Any advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,140 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Enjoy the holidays and family time folks ! I'm with Fitz on the 100k watch box quality for me not quantity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭dinorebel

img-CnCZG4G7-large.jpg

Hope you all have a great Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭Lorddrakul

Have a cool Yule, y'all!

Am I the only one that doesn't like/get/understand Nato straps?

Maybe I'm getting it completely wrong, but the extra bulk on one side, plus running under the case to increase thickness, just doesn't sit right with me…pardon the pun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,794 ✭✭✭micks_address

They are super comfortable. I enjoy wearing this especially in the summer

1000030965.png

I heard Rolex prices going up 5-6% on steel and 8-9 % on gold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Lads, not been around these parts in a while. Myself and the missus are heading to London in the near future. Are we as well to leave the watches at home? His and hers Omegas. Hers would be flasher than my seamaster, a constellation with a diamond bezel.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭mik_da_man

Definitely expect a jump on gold ones given the surge in prices this year

you will be fine unless you plan to flash them around wearing t shirts nobody will give you a second look

Travelling along the central line you could see anything from a tag to a Daytona or an ap, Cartier now are ten a penny with men and women and seem to be the entry level watches for the young folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,075 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Id guess there would be a percentage of these being fakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,794 ✭✭✭micks_address

Read an article earlier saying 6/7 percent increase on Rolex from Jan

small percentage maybe but they will get spotted very quickly, social media is a cruel world for wannabe posers

What makes you say that anyway ? London is full of money and people with debt pretending to have money living a fake life just for the gram.

You can pick up a carrier for a couple of grand on the used market and there’s a dealer in Liverpool st making a fortune selling the iced ones and they even sort out finance for customers