Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,327 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Come to think of it, they could give 1 million pounds to 76,000 people and still have plenty of change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,215 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Another day another despicable video of ICE agents being absolute cùnts.

Hopefully one day we'll see every one of them jailed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭CONSI

Trump is desperate to be a "war time" president and to say everything else can wait, epstein files etc all on the back burner…if this was nearer the end of his term he'd say the US is at war and cant run an election…he's always commented on ZELENSKY not having run another election because they are "at war"…thats his plan for a 3rd term…sorry guys we are at war we cant run an election

Two things you said are absolutely correct. One, he wants to be a Churchill / Roosevelt type figure. He wants to give a "day that will live in infamy" type speech so he's remembered for decades. Second, I think he honestly believes he can defer the election because of war. Let's just skip over the little detail that Congress declares war not the President. Lets also skip over the fact that in 3 years time his support in his own party will have dwindled down to JD Vance and a few rednecks in Virginia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭somenergy

Americans are as compliant with their traitorous criminal syco as Russians are with putin.

Putin is less of a traitor he wants to make Russia great again, regain its empire, felon wants to enrich family & co.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,386 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

He doesn't though. Those men made sacrifices and worked damn hard to get things done. I've been to the Churchill War Rooms here in London and you can see the tiny bedroom he had and the wee phone he'd use to have his conversations with President Roosevelt.

Trump has no sense of duty, honor, sacrifice, democracy or patriotism. Everything's about lining his pockets, particularly his trumped up little lawsuit against the BBC. He would only use a war to make sure that Trump Armaments, Trump Ships and Trump Aircraft got all the contracts and to suspend elections. I don't even think the last one is possible as the constitution mandates elections.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,207 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

I'll never forget being in Florida at a Tampa Bay Devil Rays game for the opening day of the baseball season.

A US General - Petraeus - threw the 'first pitch' before the game, and then GW Bush appeared on the big screen to give some hokey address.

There were two older lads in front of me and one turned to the other and said 'I may not like the guy, but he sure is mah president'.

The last one definitely is not possible because as you say the constitution mandates it. Short of Venezuela fighting back and invading the USA, the election will be going ahead.

Sorry, I think you have taken me up wrong. I wasn't comparing Trump to Churchill, I was saying in his own head he wants to be viewed as a Churchill type.

Trump has no sense of duty, honor, sacrifice, democracy or patriotism.

Agreed.

Everything's about lining his pockets, particularly his trumped up little lawsuit against the BBC.

Also agreed, but I will add, he also wants to be remembered. I'm hoping the next president be they democrat or republican, puts the Whitehouse back to how it was. Take a wrecking truck to the new ballroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

Venezuela, it's all a distraction. Don't forget what's set to be released on Friday.

Release the files.

Fcuk Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,386 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

No, I knew what you meant. I was pointing out that people like FDR and Churchill, whatever their flaws, demonstrated significant virtues when it counted for their nations. Trump called neo-Nazis "very fine people".

He can desire all he wants to be remembered as FDR but he's done everything possible to be remembered as a demented despot instead.

The next GOP President will be continuity Trump. The Democrats will win in 2028 and then lose to the GOP as is tradition. Other countries give clues. Keir Starmer is getting things done here in the UK but his personal popularity along with that of Labour are in the doldrums while Reform UK surge in polls.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,350 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

I woke slightly amused to find that, on the day Trump is going to address the U.S public nationwide at 9PM, the Susie Wiles published interview may have stolen his thunder and no one saw it coming. I'm imaging the scene inside the White House today, people stopping mid-track when they saw Susie coming, them not knowing whether to u-turn and hurry away or to walk past her silently to their offices. Meanwhile outside HIS office….

471153296_597326989499263_5124529218409760004_n - Copy.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,489 ✭✭✭trashcan

I had the same thought earlier. The BBC should counter sue after he claimed "they literally put words in my mouth" which they didn't. They need to come out swinging. Threaten to put Trump on the stand and cross examine him. No way he wants that. I firmly believe he has no intention of bringing this to Court and it's just another shakedown attempt. BBC need to stand up to him and he'll crawl away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,561 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

As someone else said, nothing will come of this. All Trump is hoping for is that the Beeb give in early and do a settlement to shut him up. This…"case" is built on nothing and, in fact, Trump's bullshit supposedly saying that the BBC "put words" in his mouth or that the whole thing was AI (WTF?) is worse than anything the BBC did with respect to the documentary.

They should simply let it go to court and see if the judge won't just throw it out instead of wasting the court's time. This nonsensical 33 page indictment and Trump's claims about the effects that this BBC program is supposed to have had on his reputation are absolute bunkum. Supposedly it hurt Trump's "brand" to the tune of 5 billion and breached the Florida deceptive trading practices act also to the tune of 5 billion and caused a number of Floridians to change their vote away from Trump, despite the fact that the lawsuit can't even name a single person that did so.

The whole thing is laughable.

Part of me actually wants this to go to court and see the fat orange cunt humiliated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Iderown

I hope that the BBC is keeping careful account of every penny they are spending on this case. Lawyers are not cheap. In the event of a lawsuit cancellation by Trump a full compensation should be immediately demanded by the BBC.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,428 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Probably , but highly unlikely they have any people on staff that have passed the Florida bar which will be a requirement to deal with this case , so they will have to retain local outside counsel.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,133 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

In-house Counsel basically never do external legal work, they will direct law firms in what to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Doc07

I would make a reasonable assumption that in the history of the modern world, no one (private entity or public body) has ever relied on in house council in a $10 billion dollar case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,578 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭aidanodr

So 9pm Eastern time TONIGHT is when Trumpty DumPtee is giving an address to the nation. That would be 2am thursday morning for us this side of the pond. Message below is from his Truth Social a/c yesterday.

So what ye think this is all about? Announcing full on war against all states in his "Sphere of influence" - the Americas?

image-1fecbe297fe918-8777.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

He still wants four more years
    https://twitter.com/thecharlesdowns/status/2001118769125499095?s=46

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,428 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

It'll be the usual greatest hits as he tries to convince his supporters that everything is awesome and that anything bad that they might think is happening is definitely not his fault and they just need to wait just a little bit longer to see the real "best ever" economy that he has created.

Oh , and they should really just play this press conference on repeat and definitely not listen to or read about the Epstein files when they come out on Friday because Trump isn't in them but if he is it's only because he's amazing and everyone is afraid of him and he did nothing wrong , but if he did do something wrong it was because he was playing the long con to bring down the deep state.

Also……SQUIRREL!!!!!!!!!!

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Doc07

ok my mistake so, anyway hope Trump loses his boll&x on this case and BBC are vindicated but that’s wishful thinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,350 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Republicans are breaking with Mike Johnson to force a vote on the extension of subsidies for the Affordable Care Act.

Hakeem Jefferies has a discharge petition to extend the subsidies for 3 years and at least 4 Republicans have already signed on.

This is a massive kick in the nether regions for Johnson and Trump also even though he will pivot to say this should have been done already.

Be interesting to see if Trump mentions this in his speech tonight. This has the potential to be a pretty big deal, Trump has struggled to get things through even though Republicans control the House and here are the minority Democrats potentially getting something through to the senate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,631 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

As far as I can see no extension would have had the greater effect on MAGA/Republican states.

With the midterms around the corner, even if it did affect some not to blame for putting this administration in power, I would have been happy with all House Republicans voting it through without extension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,973 ✭✭✭Patser

BBC could learn a lot from the Pulitzer Prize Board.

Trump is suing them for billions too after they gave their prize to a piece critical of him.

Their response was to request in disclosure all of his medical and tax records; and I mean all of them, unredacted; so they could show he suffered no medical issues, or financial losses as a result ; ergo no damage, no damages.

But the chance of embarrasing details being revealed in court, including finally seeing Trump's full tax returns, and his medical charts including bloods and medication is immense.

He wants to say the BBC caused him $10 billion worth of damage, cool show us the impact

https://www.newsweek.com/donald-trumps-medical-records-lawsuit-pulitzer-prize-11220818

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

I’d like to see a list of companies and individuals still owed money by the same boy. In a file, of course. Listing them would ruin the thread. How such a person had the gall to run for anything and got anybody to vote for him still remains a mystery to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭dePeatrick

You are projecting your own good self onto him, he is a sociopathic grifter that made it to the top. He cares about no one but himself and what he gets his name on, regardless of what it is. Could be worse, he could have had brains then he would be very very dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,279 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

For focks sake, the supposed most powerful politician in the world is a cantankerous infant

That's absolutely pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭midlander12

Two more polls with Trump on 39-40% approval, plus the GOP pollster Rasmussen's 46% which is about as low as they go.

Latest Polls 2025, 2026, 2028 | RealClearPolling

He appears to be down to the MAGA hardcore at this stage.