Electrical cert on attic conversions

• 16-12-2025 08:12PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭

Hi folks,

After months of chasing our builder finally finished the snags on our hip to gable dormer attic conversion.

He has supplied an engineers cert for the steel and my architect is happy with that but wants an electrical cert to sign off on the job.

the builder says this is ridiculous - says he does dozens of attics a year (which is true) and has never been asked for an electrical cert for an attic conversion without an electrical shower. If I want one it’ll cost an extra €350.

I suppose I’ll have to pay but is the builder totally taking the piss here?

quad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,137 ✭✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Yes, you need a cert, according to Google AI

Yes, you need an electrical certificate for an attic conversion in Ireland. This is a legal requirement for several reasons:

Mandatory Certification: Under Irish law, all "Controlled Electrical Works" (which includes new circuits, additions, or extensions to an existing installation) must be certified by a Registered Electrical Contractor (REC) through Safe Electric.

Safety Compliance: The certificate confirms the work meets the National Rules for Electrical Installations (I.S. 10101:2020). This is critical for fire safety, particularly regarding interconnected mains-operated smoke alarms, which are mandatory for converted attics.

Certificate Type: For an attic conversion, you typically require a Completion Certificate No. 3, which is used for alterations, additions, and extensions to existing installations.

Legal & Financial Reasons:

Selling or Re-mortgaging: You will need a Certificate of Compliance from an architect or engineer to sell or re-mortgage your home. This professional will often require the electrical certificate from your contractor as proof that the wiring meets building regulations.

Insurance: Most insurance companies require that works are carried out by qualified professionals. Failing to have valid certification could invalidate your home insurance.

Key Requirements:

Hire a REC: Only a Safe Electric Registered Contractor can legally issue the required completion certificates.

Smoke Alarms: The conversion must include mains-powered, interconnected smoke alarms on every floor, including the new attic space.

Testing: The electrician must complete a Test Record Sheet as part of the certification process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭JL spark

Here we go again 🤦‍♀️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭quad_red

sorry if this has been asked already. The search is absolutely busted on here.

Or are ye saying Google AI is wrong?

I feel like a bit of a spanner here. Seventy grand down and the builder is making me feel like a complete neurotic for asking for the cert. I dismissed when I said certs were mandatory, said he’d done dozens of jobs etc and never an issue for any of them getting sign off without one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭tnegun

Did they add new electrical circuits or extend existing ones? Any work done at your consumer unit/fuse board needs to be certified. The builder is likely just talking about the architect/engineer signing off, but that doesn't cover electrical work.

He said the electrician didn’t go near the fuse board. So I presume it was looped into the light and socket circuits upstairs.

He said if we’d been putting an electric shower in the attic that would have required fuse board work and hence the quote would have included a cert.

This work was ‘just’ a few sockets, a few lights and mains fire alarms. If I want a cert the electrician has to come back and the cost is €350.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭meercat

no. What jlspark is probably referring is to a recent discussion (about bathrooms)

You’re entitled to a certificate and it shouldn’t be an additional cost

It’s compulsory that the rec(if he was a registered electrical contractor) provide you with one

this is the thread that I was referring to

It might help

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058425810/rec-query/p1

I suspect the builder is pushing the limits of what's considered minor electrical works. https://safeelectric.ie/contractors/faq/minor-electrical-works/

even if it’s considered minor works (which it’s not) a rec must provide a certificate if requested

I know, but I guess that's his thinking/excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭JohnySwan

There's extra work involved if a cert is requested, why do you think the Rec shouldn't get compensated for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭NewClareman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Pat734

It will help others going to do similar work going forward in that a Cert needs to be included in the price. So, a thank you is in order for the OP.

Testing. What do think is on a certificate?

Existing rcbo's/rcd's have to be tested, fault loop tests, inspection of bonding etc. Any faults found then require further action or paperwork. It's probably an hours work, add travel too. 350 is steep, but it shouldn't be free either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Kildaremagnet

Even though it appears to be little known to most of the public, it is a criminal offence for any person who is not a Registered Electrical Contractor to carry out any substantial electrical works in a domestic premises. Furthermore, it is a legal requirement that the REC provides certification for the work. There should be no extra cost to get this certification. This certification is your documentation that the elecrtrical work is complaint with the required standard and is Safe. You will be asked for the certificate by your insurance company if there is a incident leading to a claim.The builder may be happy to use an unregistered, uninsured nixer electrician because its cheaper but you should not and do not have to accept it.

Tell the builder he has two options

1 Give you a certificate from the electrician who by law should be a REC or you will lodge a complaint with safe Electric https://safeelectric.ie/help/complaints-form/

2 You will report the electrician as illegal with Safe Electric

https://safeelectric.ie/help/report/

See also recent convictions

https://www.cru.ie/about-us/news/cru-secures-prosecution-for-carrying-out-illegal-electrical-works-on-domestic-properties/

https://www.facebook.com/SafeElectricIreland/posts/%EF%B8%8F-cru-prosecutes-individuals-for-undertaking-illegal-electrical-work-across-irel/812917761250464/

https://www.facebook.com/NewRossStandard/posts/a-wexford-man-who-carried-out-illegal-electrical-works-on-two-separate-domestic-/1390812156383344/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭NewClareman

With respect, none of this is "additional work". I would expect any registered electrician to carry out these tests as a matter of routine.

With respect, then expect to pay for it. Where minor works are concerned, this is extra work.

That's for restricted electrical works. If minor works are carried out then a cert is not a requirement, if the customer requests a cert for minor works then it must be provided. This however will require more time for the REC to carry out testing of the existing installation, which carries a cost.

this work should be tested and certified. It should have been priced to include all the paperwork involved.

should have included it in the price as it requires certification

Minor works don't require a cert. Of course it depends on what was done, if it's just a couple of sockets and lights added to an existing circuit, then that's minor works.

For the avoidance of doubt. 👇

12757.jpg

"To summarise, the regulatory framework for electrical safety up to now before the
    introduction of Restricted Works involves the certification of Controlled Electrical Works
    (compulsory if completed by REC) and Minor Electrical Works (non-compulsory)

Under the regulatory regime, Controlled Electrical Works
    can be certified by either a REC or through a Third Party Inspection, while Minor
    Electrical Works can be completed by either a REC or by a suitably trained person or
    competent person, and do not legally require the issuance of Certificate."

Do you think this job is minor works

it’s highly unlikely that this is minor works

They’ve added to existing light circuits,is there rcd protection as per regs

They’ve added to existing socket circuits,how many rooms are on this circuit now as per regs

They’ve added an additional floor to the socket circuits

Have they included surge protection on new cables as per regs

Whilst the builder states it’s his first time being asked for certificate doesn’t abdicate him from employing a rec to carry out this work and providing an electrical certificate He also should be doing this for every job

o.p

Any chance of a photo of your distribution board

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭JL spark

if there is a new bathroom,A REC is only permitted to work in these areas , 100% this needs a cert and test which is standard in a electrical works ,

The whole house should have a IR test @ 250v (live and neutral to cpc) all rcd circuits test for trip times , earth rod and HP bonding if needed , and surge protection installed, all above is standard practice,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,103 ✭✭✭✭ted1

it’s a mandatory requirement and should have been included in the original price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭petejmk

We got our attic done last year. Lights and sockets installed. Electrician was a nightmare but he gave us a cert. Included in the price. He was well aware it was a requirement of the job.

Actually, unless it's a relatively new house, the item on your list most likely to make this restricted works is the rcd on the lights. Surge protection isn't always a requirement.

It was definitely a separate electrician (2 fellas) who did all the electrical work.

I told builder again my understanding was a cert was mandatory and he was adamant it wasn’t. But he has now come back and having spoken to the electrician, he’ll issue a cert. I had to send on my MPRN number for it.

Hopefully that is the requirement sorted. But I’m kinda worried now if the testing you lads are referring to and the surge protection etc has been done properly. It is a few sockets, lights, a fire alarm and an electric/oil rad up there.