Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 12.02.26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭scottser

Anyone who thinks it's ok to put a full stop on a T-shirt slogan should be shot with balls of their own shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭crusd

What I am actually suggesting is the manager is blinded by his adherance to his system. He shifted his tactics and it was working but he is so wedded to his tactic that instead of drive on with what was working, shifted back, not becasue he didnt want to win but becasue he didnt want it said he won due to new tactic, and probably expected to go on and win when they reverted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

This is the oppoiste of what happened last night, no?

Went for the usual formation at the start of the match, then switched for 4ATB for the last half hour or so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭kyleman

Would have given anything for the 3 points last night but it was a brilliant match and the most entertaining game in a long time.

Some of the movement and transitional play was as good as can be seen and we should have been up by at least 2 at half time.

Compared to the Everton and West Ham matches we were at it from the start and brought huge intensity which is often missing.

Obviously we badly missed DeLigt or Maguire to help the younger lads but I still won’t criticise their efforts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭MercuryBoy

According to this the first half was 4-4-2 ?

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,079 ✭✭✭Robson99

Lammens looked poor enough last night for a couple of the goals. I get the feeling he will be a 6 or 7 out of 10 keeper, but no better. Hopefully Vitek has a good season with Bristol City and can com back into the squad next season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,306 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

IMO it is because we did well in the attacking phase (in terms of possession) and were right sided.

I felt we looked like the usual 343 in when setting out from deeper, but we were more aggressive in the attacking areas which results in Amad looking like this. Cunha/Mbeumo swapping central duty results in this positioning as well. imo.

I do think we properly switched it up to a back 4 later in the game, with Dalot moving to right back, as opposed to RWB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,577 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Do we know if he's actually close to his brother!? I'm all for getting players with bad attitudes out of the club but if this clown is going on a solo run, and isn't really part of Kobbies close network, then he should be just taken for what he is… a clown looking for attention.

It didn't take much to pile on Mainoo. I wasn't aware of his brother before this, that would give me some hope he isn't part of a stupid entourage or the likes. Bar his agent creating a bit of a fuss just before deadline day, there's not a whole pile to suggest we should be lumping Mainoo in with the likes of Garnacho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭NITRO95

If Mainoo isn't on board with his brothers stunt then he needs to get a statement out in his own words or his agents that his brother doesn't speak for him, he's committed to Manchester United etc. Otherwise his silence speaks volumes and we'd have to assume he was either aware of what his brother was going to do or he's ok with that message being made public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,146 ✭✭✭✭JRant

In isolation this would be such a big deal but when you have this carry-on plus the constant agent talk of a loan move, first in the summer and now in January, it just becomes something that the club don't need in the middle of a rebuild.

Amorim is going to be hounded now by journalists to comment on it, yet again. This is where the club need to be ruthless and just get rid of any noise that is causing issues, to protect the manager and the team.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭Caustic

This is pretty much it for me also, people who were seeing the manager constantly switching around the formation during the first half seemed confused maybe about us in and out of possession

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭NITRO95

On the game last night, I thought we deserved to win but Bournemouth would likely feel the same. The only goal I think Lammens should have done better on was the free kick. His side down low and looking at his instant reaction you could tell he felt the same way. One thing we absolutely lacked last night was pace in defence. Bournemouth attackers were almost taking the piss the amount of times they breezed past Yoro, Shaw, Dalot & Heaven. Good to see Sesko back, thought he did well considering he's just back from injury. Mainoo had some bright moments but its clear he lacks the physical attributes to play as a traditional CM.

Overall a good game of football and I'm not too upset about the result. There 2 very good teams (Arsenal & City), 1 absolutely shite team (Wolves) and 17 teams of varying levels of inconsistency in the league this year. I'd love us to be picking up wins every game but we just aren't there yet. The losses have been turned to draws so thats some positive I guess. I think we'll sign two players in January and still finish somewhere between 4th-8th.

If he has very little to do with his brother then in isolation or not, it shouldn't be any deal. A complete overreaction by yourself and others if Mainoo isn't close to this clown. If he is (I genuinely don't know), then that changes things but all I know is that this is the first I've heard of his brother and his brother seems to be making a name off Kobbie's name.

Is there really "constent agent talk"? I don't follow things online too much. My impression is that there's a lot of talk in general about Mainoo, and that's understandable given his contract situation and lack of game time... It seems to be more media talk or fans talking about it, I don't get the impression that him or his camp are being bad eggs about the whole situation.

His agent should be doing the best for his player. I wouldn't hold the last minute loan move against them, they obviously seen the writing on the wall and wanted to get game time. The club should probably have sent him out on loan given the way things have gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

He's his half brother, didn't even include Mainoo in his name until Kobbie made it into the senior squad. Used to be on love island as a contestant. Wasn't in pictures of Mainoo signing his contract. Says enough I think.

I think that the 2nd time Lemmens has made the mistake of being in the air when the shot is being hit that has led to a goal, did the same in the second half too where he made a weird save with his foot in the middle of the goal. I'm not sure it's a massive problem hopefully just needs to improve his footwork or timing.

He made a super save for a deflected shot that may have been sneaking, where he covered a big amount of space and reacted well.

I think he has been great in terms of being a new, young player to the league and has handled the pressure well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭mobydopy

Bruno confirms the club wanted him out last summer. Sounds like he's fed up and is setting up for an exit next summer

“The club WANTED ME TO GO [in the summer], I have that in my head. I told the directors this, but I think they didn’t have the COURAGE to make that decision.

“I decided to stay, also because of family reasons, but because I genuinely like the club. The conversation with the manager also made me stay. But, from the club’s side, I felt a bit like, ‘if you leave, it’s not so bad for us.’

“It hurts me a lot. More than hurting, it makes me sad because I’m a player they have nothing to criticise about. I’m always available, I always play, good or bad. I give my all. Then you see things around you, players who don’t VALUE the club as much and don’t DEFEND the club as much… that makes you sad.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭WishUWereHere

I thought Shaw had a poor game. Also I think last night made me realise just how much we are missing MdL & Harry in the defence.

WTF is he doing coming out with all this trash talk now. Some captain he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,631 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

I don't know it seems we see him very differently, I would rate his technique as good, especially relative to his size.

He's coming from Germany to the PL, it's a difficult adjustment for the vast majority of players. He's had a couple of injuries/absences that have hampered his ability to get up to speed fully.

I'm just not that worried about him, especially with as you said the qulait we now do have in the attackig third with him.

I would prefer if we had a seasoned striker he was rotating with and learning from but we don't believe in that kind of thing anymore

I suspect they may have asked him again... Or he knows the club have an be an offer on the table again for Jan.

Agree with him in the sense that the club showed no balls during the summer... Leaving it to the player to decide if he wanted to stay is pathetic really.

Lads are giving out about Mainoo's brother wearing an inappropiate T Shirt, this is a whole lot worse. It looks like he's having a pop at Ineos. Can't see this going down too well with them

I don't even understand what is happening here with Bruno is this something that was said last night? Or is it an interview done another time surfacing now? Timing seem odd for last night tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,199 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,306 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

seems a podcast interview from a couple of weeks ago, coming out now.

I've no issue with what he has said, and I don't think anything is revalatory. We knew in the summer the club were leaving the decision to him - the implication of that being they were ok to sell him. No shock hearing that now. We know Amorim wanted him to stay, no shock hearing that now.

But I still find it odd him saying this, now, during the season. and not, seemingly, as a heat of the moment reaction to something.

Makes me think there is some push to sell him in the summer that he is feeling now, and that is what he is reacting to - while talking about the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭GolfPar

Interview was done on international duty apparently. Another wacky 48 hours in the life of United.

Manager slates some of the academy players in his press conference.

Mainoo's half brother (attention seeker obviously) is pictured wearing said tee shirt

Quote's come out from Bruno's interview

and also the small matter of a 4-4 draw with Bournemouth with a defence with more leaks in it than the Irish Water network.

It's rarely dull being a United supporter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,918 ✭✭✭DataDude

Fair enough, I hope you are right. First and foremost I’d just like to see him getting more attacking actions. We know he has a bullet strike but I can’t think of many shots he’s had for us.

I think that could come with time. I think he makes football look difficult though and I’d be surprised if that changes.

It’s a cut throat sport. Hojlund (similar age, similar price) got 2 seasons. His career was essentially over at United by Christmas last year, writing was on the wall by then. That’s 1.5 seasons to prove himself. Sesko is approaching half way through season 1. You don’t get years to do something as a 9 for United.

Similar age, similar profile, similar price.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,900 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Last night summer up th season. Lots to like, lots to be confused by, lots to be annoyed about. Little snippets of hope and glaring issues bursting through at the same time.

I think the recent run of fixtures has been an opportunity wasted and will hurt at the end of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,627 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Relax man. Just clarifying if you were attributing the draw to such a non event as a little celebration.

I'll now know how much time to give your posts in this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,407 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

One of the very few things we were supposed to give the new regime credit for was a change in culture behind the scenes. "The results might be bad but we got rid of the "bomb squad" etc etc etc.

Yet here we are. Another infuriating interview where the manager calls out players for no reason. The captain creating unnecessary drama with quotes from interviews, and yet more drama linked to yet another sidelined young player.

This was supposed to be progress, but its not exactly iron control behind the scenes is it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

I'm a little bit on the fence with Lammens. He's definitely much less of a calamity in waiting than Onana or Bayinder but I've noticed he's been well beaten at times by balls you'd expect him to get a hand on. The Liverpool game was a bit of a warning, he was the thickness of the coat of paint on the woodwork away from letting in 4 and was rooted to the spot for most of them.

On the flip side he has made multiple good saves, has shown great reflexes, doesn't palm the ball to oncoming strikers and an ability to drop low and get a leg or a lip or something in the way. He's fairly calm and most importantly he's young and can definitely improve. At the moment he's a 7/10, hopefully he pushes on