President Connolly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,231 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,120 ✭✭✭✭zell12

she and her family were spending Christmas in Galway due to renovation work being carried out at Áras an Uachtaráin. “I would like to go back and maybe have a swim in the sea and put my feet on the ground and reflect" https://www.thejournal.ie/uachtaran-na-heireann-catherine-connolly-ar-a-cead-cuairt-oifigiuil-go-conamara-2-6901613-Dec2025/

Current water temp in Salthill is 6.5c 😍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,278 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Excellent synopsis there G….. saying it as it is.

You see, when you drill into the issues there is a certain coterie about the place who place idealism above pragmatism

If you investigate you will probably find that they are usually retired on state pensions, well heeled, and no matter what happens will be somewhat impervious to the fluctuations of fiscal weather in the State.

Whether or not their choice of Govt. wrecks the State doesn't matter to them, by and large.

They just like stirring things up from the fastnesses and bulwarks of State coffers and a lack of risk for no matter what idealogical pathway they scuttle along.

Always dig below the surface to expose the raw innards of the outlook and motivation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,282 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,282 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Yeah like the biggest Connolly booster who posted morning noon and night and then closed their account immediately the polls closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,515 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,749 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It wasn’t meant to be patronising just the reality of the complex NI / border county dichotomy. Full of contradictions. For example letting on you were concerned that “Drum” wasn’t written as “An droim”. On numerous occasions during the presidential election - not just once.

Yet you yourself previously expressed no previous interest in the Irish language until the presidential elections. It is just the usual opportunistic stuff you get from that environment it is the culture. A pretence of caring about Irishness. But it in reality tied up in pettiness and sniping. No real heart in it.

As least Connolly (in fairness to her) has embraced the Irish language. Unlike you whose only mention of it on boards was political opportunistic points scoring.

There is no real heart in it. You don’t practice what you preach. The Irish language to you (my impression) is just another tool that you use to manipulate points, political point score and sneer at those who you want to take down.

You can see Connolly believes in it making Gaeilge the spoken operating language up in the park.
    But I have no time for that opportunistic, insincere, symbolism that is a product of NI the border counties and brought down here. It is petty beyond belief.
    Grand learn the language, am all for that. But don’t use the language as a political tool. When you have no real care for it. It is insulting to the language. And the country by extension.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pureza

yeah the SF led coalition was really strong yesterday when a T.D from your party and others were heckling the Labour housing spokesperson …

Yeah really strong

Like nothing we have ever seen before…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,110 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Same here, we were replacing one left president with another, I certainly won't be voting for a left or far right government. i did vote for CC.

HH was not even FG's first choice. Mairead Mcguinness was their first choice

in fairness to FG they weer the only party to run a candidate, SF had no one and claimed Connolly

There is no 'SF led coalition'.

There is a FF FG IND coalition. And you seem to be immune to them disagreeing with one another and their recent history pre-coalition. Least you aren't on here trumpeting the 'sky is falling in' when they do have a spat or disagreement - the way you are lamenting the death of a coalition/alliance that doesn't even formally exist yet. 😁

For example letting on you were concerned that “Drum” wasn’t written as “An droim”. On numerous occasions during the presidential election - not just once.

That was just an excuse to take sectarian potshots at Humphreys. She's a protestant, something something, road sign with no Irish on it must be her fault.

Nothing but vile sectarianism, disgraceful to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭kippy

HH wasn't very committed to the role, and wasn't very presidential in demeanor..those were her main issues. She also could not disconnect herself from her governmental action/inaction.

Nothing to do with religion or anything else for the vast majority of the voters. To suggest it was is a blatant tarring of all that didn't vote for her with the same sh1t laden brush.

It's a pity that those claiming this couldn't be a bit less sectarian themselves and see the wood from the trees.

letting on you were concerned

More of the patrronising.

It was a question asked at the height of a candidate ONCE AGAIN pronouncing her love of Irish and the importance of it.

I didn't 'bring it up numerous times', I did address it when it was used to accuse me of sectarianism by a few here, 'numerous times'.

If you cannot handle that, that's your issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,231 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pureza

When was the last time a government T.D shouted across from the benches at another government T.D that they smelled like they came from killmallock mart,which is what was roared by your crowd towards a Labour t.d yesterday in the Dáil ?

The SF behaviour,shouting down of other t.d’s is one of the many reasons there is no anti government coalition as you describe it and it’s your party’s fault,no one else’s

It’s uncouth

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,539 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Mod: this thread is not a rehashing of the Presidential election thread, so back on topic.

(edit: typo)

Post edited by Seth Brundle on

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

Disgraceful, should be suspended from the Dail for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,836 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

they smelled like they came from killmallock mart,which is what was roared by your crowd towards a Labour t.d yesterday in the Dáil ?

Nope, you've that all mixed up

Labour’s Conor Sheehan described earlier exchanges as like being “at Kilmallock cattle market”.

Mr Sheehan criticised exchanges between Minister for Culture Patrick O’Donovan and Sinn Féin’s Matt Carthy over a question about potential blister pack medication charges.

You did. That is just fact. You cynically used the Irish language as a political tool. You never expressed interest in the Irish language before or since. Not for you ciorcal comhra’s and pop up Gaeltacht’s etc. Even Irish language classes?

But you just used the Irish language as another method of attack zero sincerity to it. Now you conveniently do more pretence. Pretending you are being “patronised” more faux offence.

I called out HH as well for her insincerity on the Irish language. And those posters who assume anyone with any with an interest in the Irish language is automatically a Republican in the “provo” sense of the word. All angles of those attitudes annoy me, In relation to the Irish language.

But your “interest” in the Irish language seems to have came and went - like the wind. Only during the last Presidential election it seems. And even at that it was only based on a road sign in Drum. No real sincerity in your “concern” typical of that NI border county attitude. That I despise. No sincerity to it.

Now Connolly to her credit has really put the Irish language front and centre thus. Thus far from listening and seeing other posters comments. She is true to her word. Leading by

example. Which is the way it should be. Other Irish language speakers (many who have a renewed interest in the Irish language) have taken solace from Connolly’s natural relationship with the language. There was a programme on it on RnaG soon after she was elected.

But the likes of you any others who merely use the language as a mere political tool more than annoy me on that issue. It is a major part of the problem of where the Irish language is where it is now. Which I feel should be called out.

More broadly if Connolly can avoid making overly outlandish political statements during the 7 years such as Higgins did on NATO etc. Obviously not apolitical.I will happily admit that Connolly did a decent job by the end of her tenure.

Humphreys was being questioned on the sincerity of her commitment/love of the language.

I think the President's commitment to our language is an incredibly important thing and make no apology to you or anyone else for thinking that.
    I also make no apology for raising something pertinent in MY constituency.

Seems if people cannot deal with me having an opinion they throw the 'sectarian' tantrum.
    My partner and children are Protestants and genuinely love the language, one of them is a fluent speaker.

Many Protestants share a genuine love of Irish.

It is not a Protestant thing to refuse to use the Irish language on your village sign as the law requires. The 'sectarian' charge because you ask a question about that is a bogus and lazy one.

But you are missing the point if Connolly leading by example on the Irish language if incredibly “important” as you claim. Has it moved you to find critical comhra’s, pop up Gaeltacht’s. Irish classes etc ? Irish coffee mornings etc? You seem to have plenty of time on your hands to do so. If desired.

Or is your. “Interest” in the Irish language limited to “concern” on one sign in your constituency? That is not the sort of interest Connolly was getting at she wants people to learn the language and speak it. Otherwise it just pettiness/insincerity. If your “interest” is so transparently trivial. Basically leaving it up to others to speak the language. While you stick with the petty stuff on the language- when it suits.

You (correct me if I am wrong) have only ever used the Irish language as a cynical political tool. Have no intention of improving your level of Irish (speaking the thing) , diving a bit deeper as Connolly has asked the people of Ireland to do.

But you are missing the point if Connolly leading by example on the Irish language if incredibly “important” as you claim. Has it moved you to find critical comhra’s, pop up Gaeltacht’s. Irish classes etc. Irish coffee mornings etc. You seem to have plenty of time on your hands to do so. If desired.

What business is that of yours? And how do you know how I engage with the language?

I am not apologising for asking a question about a decision clearly of relevance to a former Co Councillor and TD living in a tiny village in this state and presumably governed by the same laws as everyone else.

You think it is sectarian to ask that question. All I can do is say it isn't.

I asked the question when it was relevant to what Humphreys was being questioned on, never mentioned it otherwise, only when it was used by folk like you as a stick to beat me with.

Again you have not answered the question. Which you have a habit of doing, and are well practiced at.

This time gave a Republican type politicians answer “I will not apologise for” when cornered. So then can obfuscate, and avoid answering a simple question.

I know you won’t apologise for superficial interest. For a start you will be forced to look at yourself. And ask is YOUR interest in the Irish language SINCERE? That is the question. You have yet to answer.And by extension as demonstration of that interest- are you willing to improve your standard of Irish and embrace the language as Connolly asked?

Even since Connolly was elected, have you been inspired to improve your level of Irish ?
    Connolly described Irish as a gift. What are you doing with the “gift” ? Connolly wants the Irish people to embrace Irish. Improve their levels, be unafraid of it.

Besides your pretence of “concern” about a sign in Drum.
    What have YOU have done in line with what President Connolly wanted the Irish people to do with the language

In general that is my main point to do with the Irish language many people have only a pretence or superficial interest. Nevermind those who have antipathy towards the Irish language. Those are a different story.

And as you travel more north (in my opinion) this “interest” gets even more superficial and petty. Which is why you have the attitude you have.

Many pretend to care about the Irish language in the border counties / NI but don’t improve their levels of Irish. Instead being much more focused on superficiality with regards to the Irish language. This was not Connolly’s intent.

You focus on the petty issues to do with the Irish language- the symbolism and so on. And within that only on an occasion where it can be used politically for cheap “point scoring”.

Yet you do nothing to improve your level of Irish yourself. Which is what Connolly wants the Irish people to do.

But that takes some effort and REAL interest. Interest you don’t really have, it appears. To you the Irish language is just another political tool. You don’t treat it with the intent President Connolly wishes . As a “gift” a living and breathing language. And she wants Irish people to improve their Irish language levels and embrace it. Not just pretend to care when it suits, on the most minor of issues.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

I don't require an interest in Irish (which I do have) to question someone's sincerity/honesty.

This politician was IMO playing fast and loose with the electorate and had a questionable interest/love of the language. I.E. she had made promises before.

I was not the only person to ask questions of her on the issue of 'honesty'. And the questioning certainly didn't just come from 'republicans'.

Humphreys got caught out on this and you'll just have to get over it.

My level of proficiency at Irish has nothing to do with it. I wouldn't need proficiency in Welsh or French to call out someone declaring a love of those languages if there was evidence that they had promised before to learn them, but didn't.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,539 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Mod: quit the sniping, now!

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭creedp

He should have just used the 2 fingered gesture, a very much accepted derogatory response of FFG supporters😀

As always some uncouth behaviour is more acceptable than others

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,575 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

image.png

Greta Thunber stopped by to say hello…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,120 ✭✭✭✭zell12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭thenuisance

This will drive the creepy old white guy petrolheads mad if they find out - I don't think many of them voted for Connolly anyway.

Fair play to Thunberg for turning out for the Bohs event and to Connolly for hosting her.