The Late Late Toy Show 2025 thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭NRH

Different resources in different schools maybe because my kids teachers definitely know what they can handle.

We arranged to meet a teacher a few years back. Teacher visibly relaxed when, at the meeting, when we told them why we wanted to talk and they produced a file they had compiled to help them have a "difficult " conversation with us. They were expecting push back and were glad we were approaching them on the same topic.

Had all application forms already filled out for us from the school perspective, added in our own observations, and we had the AoN.

2nd kid. Different teacher, same school, same assistance with navigating official Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,521 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

An excellent LLTS. Well done again to rte and PK.

PK is a natural at this, unlike Tubs who always appeared forced and in the latter years made it all about himself.

Post edited by NIMAN on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭AJB39

I thought it was great. It all felt so natural. Patrick seemed to be loving it, the kids seemed genuinely delighted to be there. There was the right balance between toys and performances. There was some commercialism in it but it wasn’t overly commercial. There were regular mentions of the very worthy charity appeal but it didn’t take over the show. The performances felt more genuine as well this year. Very good but not overly rehearsed. All in all top marks to all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭SteM

I remember a LLTS under Tubs a few years ago, it must have been on over 30 minutes before any toys were shown. This year it was a song, the intro and straight on to the kids and toys. Great toy show, well done rte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭TruthorBust

Tubridy turned it into a one variety variety show because he fancied himself as a song and dance man. In reality he was a pong and nance man. He ruined the toy show and thankfully it’s now being recovered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,842 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

AAwe OK. Thank you. That is very clever actually. Yes I am happy. Just never heard of her. I rarely listen to the radio these days.

Awe ok. I did not know it stood for her name. That's clever.

Awe very good. I honestly dont follow modern music or musical celebrity's so really would not have a clue. Never listen to thecradio much. Very rare I listen to it.

Fair play to her. That was good of her.

I never said I did not like her did I 🤔 . I dont know her so I am indifferent to her.

LLAP 🖖

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Kauto0709

Has to be a confused boy trying to be a girl and using a girl's name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,456 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

If ya haven't seen CMAT perform her song "Have Fun" Jools Holland 2024 then ya should. It's a great performance! She's just brilliant

I thought it was on tonight but as I'm four hours ahead I've not been able to see it in years and the RTE player play back is hopeless. However, I love this thread every year for the lols and so happy to see how it was such a positive experience this year for so many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,508 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

There's lots of clips on the RTE Youtube site, hopefully you can access that ok if you want to see e.g. just the CMAT section, or opening etc

https://www.youtube.com/%40rtelatelateshow

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Thought it was great, time flew by which isn't always the case

Were the audience gifts much less than other years? I always found it was a talking point but don't remember much from last night bar some airline voucher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,508 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

There was an Arnotts goodie bag or somesuch also iirc

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭SteM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,521 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Only thing that spoils the show for me are the stretched out adverts in-show for companies who are donating prizes, such as Arnotts or IKEA.

Its not really charity if you part of the requirement is that you have to be spoken about for 30sec to 1min. The IKEA one was particularly cringey to listen to, you could tell the guys from Kingfishr were awkward having to stand in shot while IKEA were bummed up.

I know companies only donate things if they get a mention, but maybe a quick "this prize was donated by Ikea" and leave it at that. If they want advertising time, buy it in the official advertising slots during the breaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,696 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I laughed at how, after about a solid two and a half hours of plugging sponsor's etc, Kielty says, in his final thoughts: Maybe Christmas can't be bought in a store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭NRH

Who gives a fu(k. Let the child be themself without adults disecting it on boards.

Yes, am aware of the irony on my posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,722 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Or perhaps they are transgender and not confused at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Escapees

To be fair, while it's not really PC nowadays to be discussing this, the alternative is to bury our heads in the sand and not learn anything in the process. And I'm sure that it was well anticipated by RTE that some discussion would likely arise on the topic. I think last year or the year before the same thing happened.

I'm a bit confused about it to be honest. If the person in question had a gender-neutral name, then it might make more sense. Or if they had an interest in 'girlie' things. But instead viewers saw what appeared to be a male with associated male mannerisms and male interests, but with a female name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,897 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

I think we can all agree that Keelan was the star of last night’s show.

🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Escapees

Well, interestingly enough, a lot of media is giving the attention to Layla and her performance last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 292 ✭✭Mo Ghile Mear

I’m just looking back over some of the highlights on RTE Player and honestly it’s even better when you rewatch it. Great show, well done to Patrick and all the kids and the crew.
    And another big thing in its favour under Patrick’s stewardship is that we’re not hearing about it for weeks in advance, to the point of overkill. It feels much more spontaneous and fresh and exciting now. Tubs used it to boost his own ego but Patrick is more like a genial bystander and the kids are the stars.

So what? Do you feel that you're owed some explanation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,430 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Thought way less commercial than other years and concentrated on favourite toys for kids instead of one Christmas wonders .

He has to announce who donated gifts to the audience but maybe it could be put in the credits at the end ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,499 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

That poster used have a dedicated thread for their nonsense because they would start so many bulldht treads and talk such crap.

Was a totally unnecessary old man shouting at clouds comment from them regarding CMAT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,430 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Poor kid .

Hopefully we won't add to that here .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,935 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Seriously - get help - you’re discussing an innocent child on a public internet forum - fcking cop on

https://evoke.ie/2025/12/05/entertainment/layla-toy-show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

Tubridy was a master at plugging brands to be fair, just like all of his fellow superstars at NKM too. Be they paid product placement or freebies donated to the uber talented broadcaster he was in a league of his own at corporate shilling - the Freebie list on the old Tubridy Radio Thread makes for fascinating reading. He got so good at it he started to request brands and ordinary members of the public to send him stuff - the highlight for me personally was his requesting the backroom team of his former Radio 1 show to get him tickets and a flight to Orlando to see his hero Macca play around the time of his 50th birthday. I miss Ryan - his salary was enormous but it never affected his soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,248 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

He's having his freebie wedding this weekend. He's requesting privacy (probably until it's splashed all over Evoke etc so he can make a profit out of it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

There’s a couple of features in Evoke alright including one long form ad which details prices per room (so tacky) and such detail went into the press release that Clifden is misspelt as Clifton more than once. No doubt the same articles will be repeated verbatim on similar sites like VIP and RSVP etc.

Edit: links below

And it’s just a coincidence that his wedding took place on the same weekend as the Toy Show…….I mean who doesn’t get married in December?

Post edited by Peter Dragon on

Evoke/Irish Mail being tacky? Surely shome mistake?