Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,129 ✭✭✭visatorro

Super herd of cows in fairness. If I wasn't hungover today I would have went up for a look. Top price was 13200, that i seen anyway. Big crowd there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭ginger22

Wonder how many of those heifers will be around this time next year. To my mind while they are very stylish and milky they lacked the body capacity to support it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,497 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Once their on tmr year round and 3 ton plus of meal going into them they'll last, their not a cow that would survive on a run of the mill feeding regieme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭older by the day

https://m.independent.ie/farming/comment/why-now-is-the-best-time-in-decades-for-new-entrants-to-get-into-dairy-farming/a1816481523.html

Ain't it easy to be a writer. Just type in anything that comes in to your head.

Not one figure on start up costs, just physical fitness and ability to roll with the punches.

I must be getting old but it seems every day their are bills coming in the door, and hardly ever less than a thousand. Before it was this time of year to fatten the current account to be ready for a hungry spring.

Esb 1200. Bi monthly

Mechanic was 1100 for doing up the old jeep for the test

Vets tubes, sealers, vaccinations 1500

Farm insurance 1400

Tractor diesel I got in Oct, 1040

I'm going in to hibernation,

Myself and my check book won't be seen till March

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,761 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

The bills will be waiting for you in March and they'll all have a "service charge" added by then.

Mike Brady and the other pom-pom shakers would sicken your sh*t. If milking cows, or any other type of farming, is so great, why don't they pack in their day job and go at it full-time???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

They are what they are top quality holstein so if you dont run the 3 tonne diet feeder system dont buy simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

read it …Mike needs to keep the hype going …man either has blinkers on or away with the fairies ….so much bullshit and uncertainty in farming these days why would any young person want to do it,especially when better hours and better money elsewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭yewdairy

The people in other jobs are no happier and just have a different set of problems.Average full time wage in Ireland is about 44k, less than 5% earn 100k. Whatever about hours worked their definitely isn't better money. Dairy farming at reasonable scale and done well provides a great living comparable to any profession.

There is a gang of us friends since secondary school. I am the only full time farmer. The other lads have different careers Gardas, teachers, accountants, engineers. They are no better off than me in terms of wealth or anything else

One of the lads has got on well in one of the medical companies in Galway. He is on 120k/ year. Taxed to the eyeballs. He has over 20 people reporting to him. Leaves the house every morning at 6 to get into work before the chaos of Galway traffic. He told me the company expects more or less 24 hour access to him. There isn't handy money anywhere

To go share farming on a big unit like captain mike suggests you need 400k plus of a loan our savings, 150 cows 300k, quad/tractor etc plus working capital, its a bulls**t article

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭older by the day

The amazing thing was the article was looking at young outsiders to start dairy farming.

The point we were making that even for established farmer, the costs are savage at the moment. Inputs, labor, machinery ect.

Not to mind not owning animals or land.

Most farmers using share farming, use it as a stepping stone, so typically buy into herd at 20-30%. So buying into a 300 cow herd approx 200k. No need for working capital. Machinery in place usually. Will end up with maybe 100 cows owned outright in a few years and then in position to lease a place.

These things can go wrong and share farming arrangements can go to pot. Put for people starting with no land or very little it's a route to a full-time farming career. Personal preference whether people want to do it or not

A lad in our discussion group started with no land, over 10 years has ended up milking 160 of his own cows on a lease farm. Actually bought a small bit of land a couple of years ago.

All this is down to personal preference, he really wanted to farm and has made a career out of it. Running any small business is an awful lot of graft.

A relation of mine told me years ago everything in life is a struggle, the happiest people pick their struggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,313 ✭✭✭straight

Farm bills aren't too bad here. The Santa bill is really hitting though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,726 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

share milking typically is a set buy in /sell out price. You don’t follow the market value of the cows. The share milker doesn’t supply working capital

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,448 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

@GrasstoMilk did you have any luck getting reactors valued etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Mike is trying to generate some business for himself.. he couldn't give a toss about young farmers..

valuer is coming tomorrow. There’s no rush on any of these lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,448 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭alps

AnyAnyone got firm views on teat sealers. We've been using them, and Im wondering about their effectiveness particularly in cows that naturally dry off anyway. They are expensive, but its a dream job drying off without them. Using antibiotic on 90% of the herd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,129 ✭✭✭visatorro

Im fairly sure boviseal is the one with the green lid, its the best of them I think. Was at a meeting the other day and someone commented that the cow dries up better with antibiotic tubes compared to just sealers.

we used fatro seal last year and this year. Was very happy with it in comparison to boviseal

Thats from kiwiland, along with gypisey day etc, its a minefield the above craic in Ireland, contary ole lad and young lads usually dont work out, good family friend got into a lovely farm locally that was a share-milking arrangement that went sideways of a cliff, cows were meant to be 50/50, "share-milker" was owner on agfood, he factoried the land owners share of cows after, defied high court orders, it simply dosent work here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,549 ✭✭✭tanko

For the same reasons you won’t pack in your day job and and go milking cows full time I’d say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

none. Haven’t been contacted by any department vet. Just portlaoise to notify us that we’re restricted

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,761 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Fair point.

But I don’t preach to others. And I jumped off the ditch to try it.

If things work out, I will pack in the day job too.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

I have been of the opinion lately that Sun is setting on the "grass"based dairying as promoted by many advisers. The basic flaw is in nz or where ever you can winter the cows without sheds or associated infrastructure whereas in Ireland there's no escaping it,you have to have the sheds and slurry handling .while grass must still be utilised to the max of its efficiency but the squeezing on fertiliser means the grazing season is much shorter and it really makes no sense not to utilise the facilities for milking inside once you have invested in them.as alluded to earlier the bills are increasing fast on farms and it's coming to the stage that you can't afford longer dry periods,a cow would nearly want to be milking every day to pay for herself.whatever about owned farms investing in infrastructure there is very little of a business case for a share milker arrangement investing in winter accommodation nowadays nevermind the fact that you probably won't be able to stock the farm heavey enough from now on to generate return for 2 people

not sure I agree …I love what I do ,but I’m well established and I’ve the heavy spend on my farm to be compliant etc done,….i started in 2010 and could do it financially ,just about))…and didn’t have all the regs and uncertainty we have now to contend with ,there is far better opportunities outside the farm gate now ….if it was now I’d most likely either be a beef farmer who conteact rearers fr replacements aa well with part time job on side

I’m still good friends with people I would of worked with before I went farming ,they are def better off,some got redundancy and moved to other jobs ,some got promotions ,they all have great perks ,great holidays ,time off etc ….bar a young lad had parents with good sized established farm why would they want the drudgery of milking cows in an over regulated industry where no matter what you do to stay compliant it’s never enough

Fully agree on that once derogation is gone any advantage we had with grass based dairying is gone with it ,kiwis get away with a lot ,at moment you see lads making silage pits out in fields ….very little slurry storage ,sheds ditto and yet here we are expected to follow every bit of crap threw at us (mercusor,nitrates,derogation etc etc)and compete with them

Christ ….that’s slow .wouldn’t think your a candidate for blooding herd yet anyway ….dont know what’s going on in depth recently ,reactors slow to move ,valuations slow to do plus get approved and notification of restricted herds to farmers bounds to breakdown don’t seem to be happening