Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 820 ✭✭✭ngunners

Awful take. Outside of Casemiro and maybe De Ligt our best player of the season is ”not what we need”. God forbid a player in a struggling team should have a poor run of form.

Mbeumo has proven himself as a quality premier league player and goalscorer. Do people not remember the years of us having a nonexistent threat from the right wing?

Of the two number 10 signings I am most disappointed in Cunha. He has shown some fantastic flashes but at Wolves he ran the show. Everything went through him and despite teams knowing this he was still unstoppable. Part of it is maybe that Wolves spent most of their time sitting back which meant Cunha could stay up and receive the ball with space to dribble into past two or three players. We need him to find some goalscoring form and fast.

Much as it pains me to admit it, I think Bruno has been one of our biggest issues this season, and not only because he is being played out of position. His lack of composure in front of goal has cost us on several occasions. Two missed penalties and a lot of chances snatched at or skewed wide. He has been a bit unlucky too, hitting the post a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Truly astonished that Amorim still manages this team. Can't think of one positive thing he has brought (no press conferences don't count). Completely out of his depth, tactically inflexible, full of excuses, hopeless.

Sack him today. Take Wilcox with him, and anyone else responsible for signings and for appointing Amorim in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,207 ✭✭✭ronjo

Any chance he has one eye on AFCON already?

A bit early maybe but possibly sees club season going nowhere anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,233 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Well still unbeaten in Old Trafford visits, but that was feckin grim.

Zero creativity, zero intensity, zero chance of finishing top 10.

1 point from 6 against 2 weak teams (1 with 10 men) at home. I'd favour Wolves to get at least a point next time around.

We can make all the excuses we want, and they're certainly valid, about it being the club's fault that we haven't got a single fit striker, we haven't got a competent LWB, we have a burned out midfield etc.

But the fact remains that Amorim's job is to pick a team and a formation to cope with those issues and he doesn't seem to have a clue how to do that.

So negative, so defensive and so utterly one dimensional. It was piss poor.

I don't think they'll replace him in January, although they might depending on how badly we collapse when we face stronger opposition and lose 3 to the AFCON.

But I think summer rolls around, we're 12th to 15th, Amorim has a year left in his contract and we surely wouldn't give him a new one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭NITRO95

So disappointed last night. I think thats the last of my faith that he's the guy to lead us back to the top gone. Thats a piss poor WHU team and we were so complacent all night. I don't know when he'll be gone whether it's during the season or the summer but I'm certain we won't be starting next season with RA in charge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭FrankN1

Only reason the manager is still here is that the management who hired him don't want to look bad. That's it. He's clearly not getting another contract. Get another manager in and if he doesn't work, do it again. And again. Until actual results improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭DataDude

The most frustrating part is the league is so poor that the season is still salvageable if we acted now.

But we will 100% wait until the whole things turn completely toxic and the season is dead and buried. Probably give him a £100m to throw a wing backs too before flogging them for a few quid 18 months later and talk about financial constraints on new manager.

We’ve seen this movie before.

To be honest my last glimmer of hope that he might turn it around, died after the Everton shambles.

This just reinforced my belief that he won't be here at the start of next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,378 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Agree with the sentiments of the many, its pretty clear that RA simply isn't the man to kick us on. The team and him have consistently scuffed their lines when presented with an opportunity to kick on, weak mentality throughout the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Klopp

At home, against a team at the bottom of the table, we should’ve wrapped up the game in the first half. I just don’t get how Amorim keeps starting Fernandes every week while Mainoo sits on the bench?. It’s so frustrating to watch. The club should have taken the money for him in the summer.

I know Amorin was forced to bring on Yoro at halftime, but the other substitutions just screamed a shift in their mindset to sit back and defend. All of his substitutions basically signaled to the players and the opposition that we’re happy with a 1-0 lead and just want to defend.

I really hoped Amorin would turn things around, especially with one game a week to focus on, but he hasn’t shown enough. I have no idea who they’ll bring in next, but right now, it’s a big mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭kyleman

Despite what he says in his interviews he has absolutely no faith whatsoever in Mainoo so don’t know how anyone can be surprised he starts Fernandez.

Cunha and Mbeumo have regressed massively and instead of Bruno rotating with them we play him out of position.

I said it before but any system that depends on Bruno to work backwards and defend while Dalot and Dorgu expected to put crosses into the box is doomed to failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,771 ✭✭✭✭JRant

I get the frustration at Amorim, I really do, but we had 1 fit attacker on the bench this past 3 matches. That going to take more than 1 summer to fix, regardless of who the manager is.

My main problem with him is that he knows what the problem is, ie no legs in midfield, yet continues to stick with the same 2 regardless of how poor they play.

I was pulling my hair our last night with how they both tried to play the game. Casemiro trying hopeless first time balls to nobody. Bruno trying those stupid crosses from a central position that are so easy to defend. It killed so many attacks last night and it's infuriating.

Regarding the subs he made last night, it wasn't so much replacing the players it was the complete rejig we had to do for it to happen.

INEOS have some big decisions to make in January regarding the players they bring in because not making any signings would be criminal. They also need to sit down with the manager and ask him why he keeps picking the worst midfield duo in the league, week in, week out, because that's a serious problem.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,764 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Mbeumo is doing well in his own right.

The problem is he doesn't get much ball to feet to run at the defence with some space for him to work into.

United spend way too much time passing the ball about between defenders (no midfield) and then by the time he gets it there is no space. His role is then to get infield and lay it off to Amad, run further in field and hopefully drag a player away from Amad.

It works a few times a game but often the defence is too well set and the Amad ball, when it eventually arrives, is dealt with.

Got a goal from it last night when it was passed back again to midfield and a bad shot then became a lucky pass to Dalot. United for once had bodies in the box but this repetition of a routine of play, all down the right, with little happening on the left, is relatively easy for teams to prep for.

Compare the that to Cunha, he has even less options as he has almost zero help on that side. Nobody with the bit of talent like Amad to make a set routine anyway useful so he ends up running into dead ends.

It is all another symptom of the manager's system not working with the squad/team he puts out.

These things get worse again when he randomly plays a lad like Heaven from nowhere or has to play Zirkzee after giving him not game time for weeks.

It doesn't feel much different to Ten Hag setting up to have McT crash the box, except we don't have McT so there is nobody able to get onto the balls (eventually) played in.

The current set of results have come in a period where playing long and looking for second balls is not going to work when those teams are happy to soak that play up. It was grand to do v Liverpool or Chelsea or Brighton. But Everton or West Ham would be delighted with a team playing like that and then when United have to put it on the ground, with no midfield, it quickly becomes a poor attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Charlie69

I’m honestly torn about Amorim’s tenure at United so far. On the one hand the results just haven’t been good enough and there’s no way to sugar coat that, he definitely should be getting more out of this team.

But on the other hand the squad depth is an absolute mess everywhere you look but especially up front. It’s hard to judge a manager properly when he’s working with so many gaps.

I think that’s why I’m not ready to throw in the towel on him just yet and want to believe he can turn things around.

But what absolutely drains the f…ing life out of me is the lack of urgency, passion and intensity from the players he’s putting out on the pitch, that’s the part I can’t ignore. No matter how thin the squad is the bare minimum is work rate and show a bit of fight and desire to improve things and that comes from the manager, he sets the tone and the buck stops with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,691 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Strong words (since deleted) from Scholes on the Mainoo situation

IMG_5234.jpeg

Wolves is a must win game, and it needs to be a convincing one imo. Amorim really has to start dropping players now. Fernandes being one of them,who was really poor last night, his crossing for one was awful final. Mainoo deserves his chance, though he’ll need a run of games. Why not throw Lacey in as well? He’s been in the last 4 to 5 squads but hasn’t played a single minute. Is Amorim protecting him, or is he just trying to continue a youth player in the matchday squad?

He has to change things up for Wolves. If we lose or even draw, it might be the end of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭randd1

Anyone thinking United are going to improve under Amorim is either an eternal optimist or seriously deluded.

He’s there a year. It should not be this bad after a year and 250m or so spent on the squad for his vision. It simply shouldn’t, and there’s no excuse for that being the case. The fact that it is should be grounds for dismissal outright.

His formation does not suit the squad, does not suit the players, and his insistence upon it is costing us points and games. His substitutions are usually ineffective. His mid-game tactical changes amount to a substitution in defence and hope it works. Any forward at the club is effectively played as a spare man. Midfield has been a black hole since he came in.

He is tactically clueless. Utterly, utterly clueless.

And for some odd reason, we seem to be, once again, the least fit squad out there. Why do we fade so often? Is it lack of fitness? Or is it because we don’t control games, we don’t get on the ball and make the opposition work because his game-plan doesn’t give us that?

A recent run of good form has been welcome, 1 loss in 8, is most welcome after a year of absolute crap. But even in some of those games, the opposition could easily have won or drawn the game, Brighton, Liverpool, West Ham, Palace, Forest, all of them could easily have beaten us as they absolutely swamped us at times. Credit to us that they didn’t in the end and we got the results, but there was times when we were being battered by them. And that’s been our very best form under him.

I don’t think INEOS should be shelling out money for Amorim’s vision. United are going nowhere under him, he’s not up to this level, there’s no point in investing in his vision any further.

And it says a lot about the state of United right now that we’re willing to accept this absolute farce of a manager simply because they don’t want to admit he’s been another failure.

Amorim has said from the start there will be pain. That’s acceptable, if it means the club is moving forward because of it. As of now, we’re not. He’s improved very little, and made a lot of things worse. And after 250m for his vision, a year of coaching, his much vaunted pre-season and time on the training ground, to make the same mistakes tactically and play the same poor football and lack the same basics, it’s time to admit the simple truth; Amorim is a poor manager, and United need to get rid of him if they want to improve.

Whether that means leaving him there for the season with no investment in January, and have a replacement ready for the end of the season, and let the new man make the changes or just fire Amorim outright, I don’t know, but I I’d be fairly sure that if Amorim is there next season, United won’t be doing much. As a manager and a coach, he's been remarkably poor, and after a year of pretty much the same every game, it's not going to improve.

There comes a time when it’s clear the manager is not up to the job, and that time has long come for Amorim. Give him the season, plan for someone else for next year, and in the mean-time let the club decide what style of football it wants to play and target players accordingly.

After a year of this crap, anyone still thinking he’s not a problem hasn’t been watching United under him.

I wonder if they have eyes on Glasner. Similar formation although he's been over achieving. Clearly unhappy at the lack of support at Palace.

"I get the frustration at Amorim, I really do, but we had 1 fit attacker on the bench this past 3 matches. That going to take more than 1 summer to fix, regardless of who the manager is."

Not sure that matters. The way his system is set up, the striker is effectively isolated anyway. I thought it was a Hojlund problem last year (albeit Hojlund was very poor), but even when he's played this season, Sesko has just been isolated, Zirkzee too. When you're going into games and you're effectively starting with 10 men due to the way you set up your CF, it's not going matter too much if there's no CF on the bench.

Once again, another blatant flaw in the system that hasn't been addressed after a year of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭DataDude

How many truly convincing wins have we had under him? A game where we dominated start to finish and never looked like we might not win.
    Sunderland at home is the only one this year. Brighton was decent but the wheels very nearly came off. I don’t recall many last year outside of Europe.

Arsenal opening day is probably the most coherent/complete performance we’ve ever had under him (albeit we lost with 0 ‘big chances created’).

Even wins like the one against Palave which is a good result on paper was a car crash of a performance that would have been a loss if not for 2 1 in 20 goals from set pieces. Liverpool could have easily beaten us on another day.

We lead the league in set piece goals…that won’t sustain…imagine where we’ll be when they dry up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,179 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

we let 5 senior attackers leave in the summer - yes, there were good individual reasons for each of them to leave but you can't complain "I have no options" when you've just done such a comprehensive clearout of forwards.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Glasner is giving off all the signs of someone who won’t be at Crystal Palace next season, no matter what happens. He’s clearly not happy and is clearly sending out clear signals for a move. I like Iraola at Bournemouth. I have no idea who the right man is, but I’m after last nights result and performance, i am more Amorim out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Charlie69

I don’t know how you could say having only one fit attacking player on the bench “doesn’t matter “ in a squad that’s struggling to score goals. As the poster said, everyone can understand the fans frustrations this morning but let’s not ignore the glaring squad issues he’s having to deal with .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mobydopy

Whoever the next manager is, I hope the club abandon this 3 at the back system that clearly isn't working.

Last night we had 2 fullbacks as CBs. We have one of the best no10s being played in a midfield pivot. We have a RB being played at LWB. We bought one of the best RWs in the league last season and we play him as a No10. We have another winger being played at RWB. We have a no10 being played as a striker.

God the whole team is just a complete and utter mess. If and when Amorim goes, Wilcox and Berrada need to follow him out the door as they've enabled this sh*tshow we're seeing.

It doesn't matter in so much that tactically, the striker is out of the game for the most part due to the way we play. Obviously having a fit front man helps if they can get into the box, but we lack balls into the box, so the CF is effectively a spare man tactically. And if that's how you're going to set up the CF, it doesn't really matter who he is or how many you have on the bench.

It also ignores the fact that there is options. Mbuemo can most definitely play up front (as he often did with Brentford). You could stick in Amad or Mount playing in the 10. Or push Bruno to 10 where he plays best and Mainoo in midfield.

But for some odd reason, he hasn't tried that either.

As for the different options, and cover, we could have in a 4-3-3 formation, well he hasn't tried that either.

That's the problem. His formation, and his team selection, leaves us tactically restricted in so many areas, and none more so than CF, where the CF is routinely isolated. Sesko has made the most of it so far (without setting the world alight either) because he's able to compete in the air for a knock-on, but that shouldn't be the limit of your CF plans.

Tactically speaking, his system is a disaster for the CF position. I reckon prime Brazilian Ronaldo would struggle to score in that set-up. And it's been a problem since he came into the club.

I would also say if he's going to be that inflexible tactically, or not willing to push up Mbuemo or someone else, or give a youth player a shot as other clubs do, then he doesn't have much grounds for complaint. After all, he's the one making the decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭NITRO95

This idea that Wilcox and Berrada need to go if/when Amorim goes is absolutely ridiculous. Their jobs encapsulate so much more than just first team results. The club was in an utterly state under the Glazers and their Woodward led management team. INEOS and their team are bringing the whole club into the 21st century after two decades of neglect. So because Amorim hasn't worked out should we also tear down the new training complex? Should we also bring back Woodward? Just a stupidly simplistic view that because a manager hasn't worked out, and its debatable whether he has or hasn't based on how torn the fanbase is, that the people that hired him should also be sacked. I'm sure if you were in a position to hire someone and it turned out they weren't fit for the job you'd advocate to your boss that you be fired with them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,791 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Please no more 3 atb it's not suited to the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

its only a little thing but it drove me mad last night. at 1-0 at maybe the 75min mark mount or bruno tackled AWB high on the left.

they then went up to awb and had a laugh with each other. i was screaming at the tv that the match aint over and stop being so friendly. the battle is on-going, no room for this friendly nonsense until the game is won and over.

Well the hope would be that Glasner isn't so feckin stubborn and work with what he has.

Google tells me that when at Wolfsberg he played in a 4231 at times so he's presumably not so inflexible.

Anyway it's just a thought. I'm pretty sure Amorim will be here til the summer at least. But given that we apparently offered the job to Tuchel who primarily used 3 at the back with Chelsea before we went for Amorim, the powers that be do seem to favour the formation.

But at least Tuchel showed some flexibility in his formations at Chelsea even if some variety of 3 at the back was most common:

1000156474.jpg

Amorim has managed nearly as many games at United and hasn't changed his formation once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,220 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

The squad is this eternal excuse for some people, but at the same time they are ok with the manager persisting with a system that suits absolutely nobody.

To repeat myself from a year ago, this is not how you do a **** rebuild.

The squad excuse is faulty anyway. We played West Ham in one of Ten Hags last games, only four of that starting side started last night. There are new players, better players, there is no injury crisis, there absolutely is a squad there that would beat the likes of West Ham.

Or there would be, if we played to their strengths.