Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,190 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

Great win! First time in a while we will have a midweek game so Amorim is going to have to mix it up a bit. Great to have Licha back and definitely need Cunha in there. Zirkzee did well today in fairness to him, his ball control is first class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Caustic

Absolute huge win in fairness and the players turned up second half, think maz will be starting rcb for the foreseeable, defended well and passed the ball as you'd want even getting on the odd overall lap, made a huge difference when he came on so fair play to the manager on his cb sub too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭kyleman

If that was Whartons trial for us it wouldn’t have you too excited.

Nice touch for the first goal but just like Baleba earlier in the season very poor showing overall and hooked in the second half.

Having said that Casemiro and Bruno really upped the intensity in the second half and delighted Bruno was awarded MOTM because we love to slate him when things are not going well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 819 ✭✭✭ngunners

First day on the internet? Negativity drives engagement, be it Facebook, Twitter or boards.

Great win, thought Mbeumo should’ve sealed it with that chance ten or 15 mins from the end. Luckily we held on. Let’s go on a run now. Win the next couple of matches and build some momentum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,868 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I mean even they seem to realise its harder to claim Bruno needs selling when he gets us the win so they have to sulk off and wait for the next loss to resume that script.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭NITRO95

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,223 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Yes.

Chronic outbreak of miserablebastarditis. No known cure but you can get remission if treated regularly with silverware.

Come off the treatment though and it flares up something serious.

In the summer Amorim will have a year left. Unless things pick up dramatically I can't see them extending his contract, it would be an ETH scenario all over again. 

By dramatic pick up I mean we'd need to not just qualify for Europe, but to realistically push for top 4. 

65 points and a decent cup run and I think he stands a chance. I know that's statistically not that much more of a points per game rate than we have currently, but we have the AFCON coming up with will decimate the best thing we have, the Amad/Mbeumo partnership.

A lot will depend on January. How long the African lads are missing, and who, if anyone, we sign in the window. 

The midfield woes are well known but Amorim seems to be very keen for a LWB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭kerplun k

think it was the manner of the Everton default. It knocked the wind out of everyone’s sails. It was a really bad loss.

For me it was the worst game of Amorim's tenure. Second worst being the Europa final.

To be so clueless, stubborn and lacking in ideas was terrible. If they'd sacked him Tuesday morning I wouldn't have complained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

It's going to be up and down like this for the rest of the season folks until we manage to get the midfield sorted.

Happy with the result but the Monday game is still lingering in my head. Cannot get over how casual we were that game.

Cunha is a big loss as he can beat the press consistently similarly to Mbuemo but as soon as one is missing the balance in the team goes and we find it hard to get out. Mount was very good today though when he got on the ball and he presses so well.

Zirkzee is a strange footballer. Some of his touches and hold up play are as good as anything you will see in a striker and then he goes through periods where you question how he got to this level.

Hopefully we can put a run of a few wins in a row now and really cement ourselves as contenders for European spots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,265 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Yep, Grimsby this season and Bournemouth and Palace games last year make up the worst 5 imp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,209 ✭✭✭KH25

Missed the second half but delighted with the result and to read that the performance was much better. Hope Zirkzee can kick on from here. Still think Bruno at CM needs to be done away with, but hopefully that gets addressed with new signings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭kerplun k

yeah, I’m very much in favour of keeping Amorim, but he should have been able to tactically overcome a 10 man Everton side, especially with so much time left on the clock against 10, and it being a home game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,773 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Just back from walking the Dog after the game.

I said after the Everton game the players took the foot off the pedal and got cocky expecting an easy win, delighted to see some effort today and a good bounce back, hopefully a kick up the hole that they need to give 100% every game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭kyleman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Caustic

I'm the same that Monday night performance was just so bad left a bad taste in my mouth all week and was the first time I'd felt myself losing all faith in the manager.

I really wanted to see a big performance in the first half today and when we didn't get it, I was very worried/annoyed

Still they turned it around second half deserve credit and pulled out a great win against a tough opponent so hopefully we can push on again and get a few wins on the board before the afcon.

I agree there will be ups and downs but hopefully we don't go as low as Monday again.

I have to give it to Dalot today. He wasn't poor.

Casemiro decent also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,298 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Bruno gets us the win... That's a little bit of a stretch. Two free kick assists, first goal was all Zirkzee's doing (as terrible as he is) and the second goal was thanks to Mounts quick thinking and strike.

Bruno was terrible in the first half but was good in the second, the whole team upped their performance.

Two assists won't be changing my mind on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 819 ✭✭✭ngunners

The French commentators on Canal + said Dalot had a 'sacré match' (i.e. a bloody good game). He's been poor recently so hopefully he can keep up that level of performance. Casemiro has been excellent this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Agree with you here. Both Mount and Zirkzee had a lot of work to do for their goals. Bruno was probably our worst player in the first half with Warton giving him the run around in the middle. The entire team upped it in the second half but for me Shaw was our MOTM for his performance today. He was everywhere when others were strolling about the place.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,669 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

No Paqueta for West Ham next week. We will take that.

Paqueta will be banned for West Ham Against us. Just talked himself into a second booking vs Lpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,190 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

Paqueta should be fined by the Hammers for that, it was inevitable! Good player though, great he will miss Thursday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,266 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Another positive is that Cunha should be back Thursday. Attack looks so much better with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Plus 1 GD, been a while 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Quags

blob:https://www.boards.ie/350c43b9-06e8-4044-a726-4d12ef4661a4 There was an error displaying this embed.

Everton still killing everyone but as someone mentioned United thought it be an easy one