DCC wants to rename Herzog Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,881 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Pure MAGA type distraction from the fact they’re incapable dimwits- it’s a complete load of b0ll0x-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

And the right/far right are famously pro Jewish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Solving real world problems within their remit (let alone making a dent in a massive conflict) requires hard work, alternatively you can engage in some sappy back clapping and fart huffing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,510 ✭✭✭Patser

I don't get it.

Herzog was irish born, freinds with Irish politicians of the time, who supported the setting up of an Irsraeli state; and had nothing to do with the current atrocities that Netanyahu has been carrying out.

Renaming it makes us look petty, and has been gleefully jumed on by pro-Israeli commentators as evidence that Ireland is indeed anti-semitic; or at least venomously anti-Israeli.

This would be like Belfast council renaming the Albert Memorial Clock, because he was German and look what they did in 2 world wars; pointless 'virtue signalling'. No-one in Ireland or Dublin is clamouring for this, probably not even aware that square was ven there or named. But now suddenly we're global news for something that's such a stretch anyway.

By all means condemn Israel's current Government, back protests but at least the council should apply a bit of common sense to these grandstanding gestures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,536 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

Renaming it makes us look petty, and has been gleefully jumped on by pro-Israeli commentators as evidence that Ireland is indeed anti-semitic; or at least venomously anti-Israeli.

I don't think it makes us "look" anti-semitic. It is anti-semitic. Does make us look petty alright, and hypocritical, given that the Sean Russell statue is still up in Fairview Park. A genuine Nazi collaborator.

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭DayInTheBog

Might as well call it after Arafat or perhaps Sinwar Green. It's absolute nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Herzog's father was known as the Sinn Féin Rabbi because of his support for Irish independence. Chaim Herzog was the only Israeli President who was fluent in Irish. He is not to blame for Netanyahu's genocide in Gaza.

However I do support renaming somewhere after the Palestinian girl who was killed by Israel which is what the councillors want to do. I dont think we should give the impression to the Jewish minority here that we are erasing their contribution to the founding of this state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

I see that Helen McEntee has criticised this proposal. Fair play to her, I’m pleasantly surprised. I don’t know if her predecessor in the ministry would have done the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,510 ✭✭✭Patser

It could be argued, a bit like criticising Israel's actions in Gaxa, that it's anti-Israel, based on him being a former Israeli President as opposed to based on his religion. Saying Israel was wrong in Gaza was also about Israeli actions, not the jewish religion.

But the pettiness of this does make that argument harder to make and define, especially when there's online commentators shouting this is evidence of Anti-Semitism.

It's an own goal, that you can be damn sure will make more headlines in Israel annd America than in Ireland, and people here will be surprised when its thrown back at us for years to come

We don’t have a significant far-right bloc in Irish politics. We do have a significant, or at least loud, far-left bloc, that increasingly dominates the political and media narrative on foreign affairs and particularly everything related to the Middle East

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭mikethecop

you know not every one is a attention seeking hate filled bigot like you .

the eraser of history that you dont like is a key tactic of a fascist. but you already knew that right ?

Mod - warned for personal abuse

Post edited by Leg End Reject on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭spillit67

Nobody cares buddy, in 12 months you’ll have some new cause to care about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,871 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Being anti Israel is not being an anti semite, much like how most Irish people actually like English people but dislike the British establishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,536 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

It could be argued, but it's a p1ss-poor argument. Because why didn't they remove the Sean Russell statue?

Or Dan Breen, who has the Tipperary hurling championship named after him, was interviewed in his home in about 1948, where the reporter was shocked to see a portrait of Hitler on the wall. But nobody renamed the championship. I'm sure there are other dodgy people who are still honoured around the country - but they're part of our history. As is Chaim Herzog.

By focusing on one man, who has nothing to do with Gaza anyway - certainly not the events since Oct 2023, it can only be taken as yet another example of Ireland's obsession with the Palestinian "cause". Apparently they want to rename it Free Palestine. Or Hind Rajab - a child whose parents had no doubt never heard of Ireland, much less the child herself. Unlike Chaim Herzog.

Shades of Bobby Sands Street in Tehran. Same level of spitting in the big boys' faces and running away. It's embarrassing.

(ETA: I forgot Roger Casement - not a Nazi, obviously, but a paedophile, and yet we have several places named after him, not just Casement Park in Belfast. Ireland doesn't care much about children when there are no political brownie points in it though. We've seen enough evidence of that.)

Post edited by volchitsa on

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,862 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Sure look at the regular posters on the Israel/Palestine thread. The very creation of Israel is a stain on humanity nowadays.

That won’t achieve what the attention seekers want

I know, because it’s the fact that a Dublin park is named after a Jew is what really angers them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

No, but when it comes to Israel and the Middle East the crazy is just around the corner.

Bear in mind that DCC councillors barely voted through moderate rent increases for social housing tenants this week- despite it being desperately needed to both maintain and increase the social housing stock. Lots of terminally unserious butterfly brains with plenty of people on the sidelines willing to support them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

We are an institutionally anti semitic country no doubt about it. It's getting beyond criticising Israel and it's military actions, this is full on endemic and institutional hatred of Israelis and Jewish people now, but Dublin City Council and any other city council for that matter, can rename as many parks buildings and streets etc as they like, the country of Israel and the Jewish people are going nowhere!

Anyway here is what the Israeli foreign minister has to say about this on X and i agree with him.

There is no decision more accurate and just than my decision to close our embassy in Dublin, shortly after I took office as Foreign Minister.Dublin has become the capital of antisemitism in the world.The Irish antisemitic and anti-Israeli obsession is sickening.The Dublin Municipality has decided to remove the name of Chaim Herzog - the sixth president of the State of Israel, who grew up in Dublin and whose father was the Chief Rabbi of Ireland - from a park in the city.What cannot be removed is the disgrace of the Irish antisemitic and anti-Israeli obsession.

Post edited by Straight Talker on

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

The crazy is still 90 minutes up the road just a little less violent.

I'm anti Israel not Anti Semite, I'm anti Hamas not Anti-Islam.

You don't have to pick a side you just condemn both sides horrific acts.

I'd bet OP is an Islamaphobe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Well they were handed control of Gaza in 2005. The reward for that the local populance putting Hamas into power and October 7th. Some people do a pretty good job at dehumanizing themselves without needing others to do it for them.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Would you indeed, because I oppose anti-semitism? And the student-union style politics of DCC?

I think that reveals a lot about your own beliefs tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,871 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

My beliefs are right there if you care to read it again.

I like Jewish people, I like Muslims, I hate war and terror.

The rise in the last 2 years of "you're an anti semite if you hate Israel coincides with the rise in anti muslim beliefs.

I despise the current Israeli government who are war criminals. But this moronic and racist decision by DCC plays directly into their hands. They can now easily dismiss any Irish criticism of Israel as motivated by Jew hatred - which clearly a lot actually is

Who said anything about disliking Muslims other than yourself? Freudian slip there mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,862 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

If you dont devoutly criticise Israel and call them genocidal child killers from a failed terrorist state then you are obviously an Islamophobe!

I bet you dont even own that fashionable Palestinian scarf that name escapes me.

The rise in the last 2 years of "you're an anti semite if you hate Israel coincides with the rise in anti muslim beliefs.