Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

Let’s wait until they actually qualify before we start organising standing ovations. At this rate we’ll be giving out medals for turning up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

Erm 5 goals for Parrott and 2 against a top 5 team is more than turning up. Its an honour that no Irish man has achieved

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lost Ormond

It is a good achievement but not worth celebrating at another sports event. If it had sealed us a world cup spot won ireland something then yes but its a playoff spot thats all theyve got. it doesnt need to be recognised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

have they qualified for something?

did they win something?

I know some guy called Troy Parrot scored a load of goals, but I don't follow soccer and I rarely watch tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭ersatz

People around here would literally wet themselves if we made past a WC 1/4 final when we are top 5 in the world. Hungary are 30 spots above us in rankings, Portugal almost 60. We have zero pro soccer teams. Beating Portugal and Hungary in the space of a few days is arguably a bigger achievement than the rugby team has ever achieved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,980 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Comparing the achievements of both teams against one another is ridiculous, futile, and rarely done in good faith. Just enjoy both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭darkened_scrum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,131 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

The two teams aren't equivalent. We have an all-Ireland rugby team, but not an all-Ireland soccer team. So no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,714 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Ah stop.

And we all know Irish rugby's greatest ever achievement was when Munster beat the All Blacks

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

I would subscribe to your newsletter…. ☝️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭bingobango12

Great few days for Irish Football alright. What's it got to do with the rugby team?

The Cricket team have a game today, should they all do some kind of celebration for the football team aswell? Think there is an athletics meeting this weekend too actually. They should all clap before each race for Ireland getting to the playoffs in the football.

I like football, support a club and Ireland, but there is a strange need for many Irish football fans to talk down every other sport and constantly say how great football is and how terrible rugby, GAA, golf etc is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

To be very technical about it we are not exactly "all one" as there is a division in Irish soccer that doesn't exist in Irish rugby. Should the NI and ROI soccer team get through their respective qualifying then yes it's a good point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,014 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

The GAA are by far the worst. They look down on everybody.

I've never experienced soccer teams in this country looking down at any other sport.

I really don't like GAA. I played it and experienced loads of crap that went on and it hasn't changed.

I coach kids at rugby and soccer and both sports just do their own thing trying to be the best they can. Kids are taught to be respectful to their teammates, coaches and referees.

Go to a GAA game and listen to the language coming out of the parents and coaches mouths. The kids are at it as well. There's loads of bullying going on there too.

As regards celebrating a different sport I think it's a ridiculous suggestion.

I don't think I've ever heard any other sports celebrate an Irish Six Nations grand slam.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,769 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

MOD: Let's stick to rugby please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Tommybojangles

You defintiely experienced GAA in an outlier place in that case as that's not even close to the norm.

On the rugby front, team selection is interesting again this week. I would love to see Mccarthy get another start with Porter held in reserve but I could see how that might be too much of a risk. As someone said above the Australia game has quitened some of the doom merchants for a while and taking a step back and looking at it broadly there's been a decent amount of change int he squad over the last year and a half. I do think though if you're not in now it's going to be very difficult to get a sniff of the squad before the world cup (rightly so but tough on a few lads who've been mentioned on here as possible additions like Doak, the Connacht centers, Gleeson etc.) could still see Edogbo / aherne once fit as they are the kind of physical freak athlete who might be dropped in joe Mccarthy style

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭thamus doku

I know I have been critical of prendergast but I do hope he starts Saturday.
    if he is Farrells preferred 10 then he needs to start against South Africa and come 6 nations against England and France.
    he need the experience of playing against the very physical teams.

and if it does not go his way Saturday then Farrell must not drop him come the 6 nations.

If prendergast is the future then Farrell Must back him. Not good for the team to see prendergast benched for perceived poor defence and then Crowley benched for perceived poor attacking play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,036 ✭✭✭OldRio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,294 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

I do think though if you're not in now it's going to be very difficult to get a sniff of the squad before the world cup 

More difficult but not impossible. I think we'll continue to see a gradual evolution of the squad, all the way up to the RWC. We will probably need another option at TH, as Furlong and Bealham are both shoving on, another lock, a third SH and probably another centre. There are four possible/probable gaps without any real standout candidates right now.

in what way was it a poor effort, what reading between the lines am I missing?

He needs to back Crowley or Prendergast. And SA is the ultimate test at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭hold my beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,294 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

He needs to back Crowley or Prendergast.

WHYYYYYYYYY?

The RWC is two years away and both these lads are first choice for their province, they are both going to get loads of game time between now and then. There's no need to back one or other, let them have it out with each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,918 ✭✭✭Packrat

In short - Prendergast must start every game because hes the bestest?

Couldn't you have just said that.

i think people are over-reacting to some comments.

whoever is chosen to start at 10 on the weekend will be perceived as being in the driving position.

this thread is fast becoming my least favourite thread on this website. I thinkI will excuse myself from further discussion for a few months.

enjoy the weekend folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,036 ✭✭✭OldRio

The poster is doing what he always does. It's transparent to most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭ersatz

We have decent candidates for those positions and real depth elsewhere, for once. Seeing how good the A team could be gives me some confidence that it’s not as grim as it looked 6 months ago. Mad to think VDF may become a bench option rather than a dead cert starter. And would be nice to see one of the possibles join the party on the wing, there’s still room for another solid pick on the left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,168 ✭✭✭✭bilston

I'm totally conflicted on the 10 situation, as an Ulster fan I have zero skin in the game in terms of provincial rivalry so I'd like to think I'm looking atmit as neutrally as possible.

After Saturday I thought as good as Prendergast was with the ball he was still a liability defensively amd as such Crowley definitely had to start against SA. That's not exactly an original thought...however as the week has gone on I've been thinking about it from a SA POV. Who would they rather face? Sure they might fancy running at Prendergast but it does seem to me that Ireland are much harder to defend against when they are playing on the gainline with Prendergast calling the shots. Do we focus more on what we want to do tha what SA might do? It's a hard one. SA will be a lot more intense in defence so maybe Prendergast wouldn't have the time and space he had last week?

Maybe it's been pre-ordained that Prendergast would start against Australia and Crowley against SA anyway, but as the week has gone on I've gone from definitely Crowley to 50/50 on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭kig

I would definitely go with Crowley, and I'm a Leinster supporter. I can see our scrum and line-out coming under a lot of pressure on Saturday, so if we can win, it'll be built on a good defence, and we all know that's not going to happen when the rest of the team can't rely on the out-half to do his bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,238 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Prendergast's particular skills suit our gameplan more than Crowley's currently. He kicks better, and he manages the attacking shape more effectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭darkened_scrum

https://www.the42.ie/ireland-springboks-possible-6879349-Nov2025/

Prendergast, VdF, Ringrose, Aki all may or may not be starting according to Kinsella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Paddy_Mag