Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Jim O'Callaghan, who is looking to the (his) future, has managed to get the idea out of change bing needed in Ireland because of bad Brits.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2025/1117/1544411-ireland-immigration/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭chooey

We will have to change, otherwise we’ll be completely overrun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Ive always felt that we threw away a chance to control illegal immigration over the NI border in the Brexit talks. A FF councillor who suggested controls was shut down. A middle way could be found. Too much absolutism over freedom of movement. Sure its fine for Irish citizens but we should have the right to check whether people moving here are legally entitled to be here or not.

Meanwhile in a sign immigration is becoming a bigger issue in FF and FG, FG is to table a private members motion in the Seanad calling for speedier action on immigration. Justice Minister Jim O'Callaghan is to respond in person to it.

FF seems to feel a bit upstaged by this. I personally think Jim O'Callaghan is doing beter on this issue than his predecessor. If FG now appreciate the level of public concern on the issue than good. But actions will speak louder than words. I still remember when we were told the chances of the National Childrens Hospital not being ready years ago were smaller than the chances of "an asteroid" hitting Ireland.

The Fine Gael Private Members motion also raises the issue of the scale of the numbers, warning: ‘There are genuine concerns by local communities around the provision of international protection. Ireland, like every other democratic state, is not immune from the threat of violent extremism.’

Coalition partners at war over immigration as Fine Gael throws down gauntlet

Post edited by Ozymandius2011 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭riddles

The government's in power have spent a decade or.more spinning all migrations good and all concerns are racist. We have a complete sh1tshow of a situation now and they are scrambling to find a new narrative. They have also managed to slip in a report highlighting how unfunded our social commitments are into the future. Something known since at least 2008. But then we have known our politicial system is bankrupt for over two decades now. They only panic now is to create a new level of spin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Paddy_Mag

Discussing this with a few friends lately and one made a point which I thought was pertinent.Issue them with a temporary work visa whilst they apply for asylum. Charge them rent etc if staying in state provided accommodation.

We constantly hear from our politicians that these people cane here to make a better life for themselves so let them at it. The ones who make an effort are welcome, the spongers will vanish.

The problem is social protection is way too exposed to abuse. The system is far too stacked in their favour. Level the playing field and let's see if Ireland is still such a desired destination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,815 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

"Coming for a better life" is not grounds for asylum.

Your attitude means opening the gates to the whole world.

If that was the law, I could claim asylum in NYC or SF, looking for a $200k wage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,569 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Yes but they are not paying for accommodation.

While Irish people if they are lucky to find a place are paying a fortune for accommodation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,777 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It will be interesting to see what the government's response will be if the Brits pass these tougher immigration laws in the House of Commons.

We will definitely be seen as an attractive English speaking country for AS with immigration laws that are easy to exploit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,296 ✭✭✭Floppybits

This should really be a no brainer and the government should be moving inline with the UK with both countries introducing measures at the same time. As we know we are at the end of the line so it is harder for us to get rid of illegal migrants than it is for those on the mainland. We cannot be seen as an easy target and I'm sure the UK don't want use to become a back door into the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

One of the main reasons our government need to speed up the system to process IP applications.

Why would a person go through the onerous work permit/visa system when they can just land here, claim IP, receive full bed and board, healthcare, medical card, travel card, education supports including third level, daily financial support, additional needs payments, free legal aid, and then get permission to work after 6 months? It’s a joke at this stage.

Also costing us billions every year, yet a significant number of do-gooders think anyone who questions this huge financial burden on the state and ordinary taxpayers are far-right, racist, nazis, patriots etc - whatever the label de-jour happens to be.

Maybe our elected representatives - of all hues - will belatedly cop on to the mood of the electorate and follow the UK’s lead to pass laws and bring the abuse to an end. Even Starmer, the most woke advocate for the 1950s era asylum system, has conceded it is time.

https://uk.news.yahoo.com/starmer-warns-severe-strain-immigration-162700373.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,624 ✭✭✭enricoh

Surely a majority of these do-gooders labelling everyone are directly involved in the refugee/ homeless industry? I certainly hope for their sakes they are!

Was on the m50 last week n crawling through drogheda today n just had to laugh at some eejit from a refugee quango on lmfm saying we just need to build more houses. The country is full, rammed , jammed. Roads, Doctors, hospitals, creches, schools - the lot.

Also they should consider, in appointing judges, what way they are likely to rule on asylum and immigration cases. The courts have played a huge role in dragging out these appeals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭Will0483

We should be way more restrictive than the UK. Labour are in power there so lack the freedom to really start re-migration which is what most people really want. Reform will still win the next election on this issue whatever Labour do.

Ireland should aim for a negative immigration rate from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

The courts saw another prized cow to be milked.

No longer solely dependent on the home growm scum to keep the money rolling in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Juran

The state is spending billions on illegal migrants with no right to be here ... meanwhile fundraising efforts have started to build a 14 million euro childrens hospice in Castlebar. 'Fund raising' ? Why cant the state 100% pay for this vital health facitity ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,296 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I wouldn't agree with the negative immigration rate. We do need people coming in to work but we don't need lax approach to coming here, it seems once you are here that's it. Yes we should make it more restrictive and only have visas for jobs where we need people. Also any immigrants here commiting a crime should be deported, ridiculous what some are getting away with. We are bad enough with our own criminals without importing them from everywhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭Will0483

We need skilled people from countries compatible with our way of life who will integrate into Irish society seamlessly. I have no issue with EU immigration and from other English speaking countries. The issue is mainly related to people from 3rd world countries who offer very little to this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,356 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

It’s amazing to see individuals doing charity runs and cycles to raise money for their local hospitals while meanwhile we’re spending billions on looking after the world’s poor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,777 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

A good start would be to make sure failed AS actually leave the country instead of the present system where they don't seem to have a clue who has left and who hasn't.

O Callaghan is definitely an improvement on clueless Helen but more needs to be done on the deportation process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,776 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

no they shouldn't.
    the job of the judges is to rule on the law, nothing more, that's what they do.
    the fact you may not agree with their rulings or like the law is neither here nor there, and expecting politicians to appoint judges on the basis of what way they are likely to rule on something is not only a threat to the rule of law but a threat to democracy and to justice.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

can you provide evidence that most people want re-migration?
    i'm sure the violent angry men who vote for the likes of reform do but dispite them being loud they are still a vocal minority.
    i'm not as sure about a reform win now as i was, their destruction of the councils they are running will probably focus some minds.
    a negative immigration rate is unviable.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

no they are spending money on refugees who have yet to be determined to have a claim to remain here or not.
    it is not illegal to claim assylum and it is not illegal to be a refugee.
    even if there were no migrants, and refugees/assylum seekers in ireland there would still be fundraising for certain things.
    the state could pay for things like the hospus but it chooses not to do so, nothing to do with refugees.

the problem for you is that there is no "our way" of life for them to be compatible with given everyone's way of life is different from one person to the next.

therefore it is not possible for people to be compatible with your version of our supposed "way of life" as it doesn't really exist.

no, the government should not be moving in line with the UK, we should be moving away from the UK as much as we can so as to protect ourselves from any fallout down the line once it's slide to fascism is complete.
    the government should be implementing it's own policy independantly of what the UK does, on everything quite frankly.
    following the Uk is one of the many reasons for many of our problems whether it be housing, transport ETC.
    if the UK don't want us to be a back door to them then they will have to sort that out at their end.
    it's ultimately not our problem and nor should we care about it, because they certainly didn't care about ireland when they decided to try and implement their failed, state bankrupting rwanda plan.
    anyway, the only way we could do anything on that particular score is in the event of a united ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Watched Newsnight on the BBC last night. The leader of the GP in the UK is some knobjockey - Angrily banging on about all the migrants fleeing wars etc (while a minority are actually fleeing war, the majority are chancers…a bit like here as it turns out) - Only a few intellectually challenged people believe that crap these days - Stick to the tree hugging Zack, oh and the cycle lanes

I note the UK have no problem calling it 'illegal immigration', whereas RTE's Tommy Mescal prefers to call it "irregular immigration" when commenting from London

My reading of what Jim O'Callaghan said in relation to the UK now being like a Munich beer hall in 1938, is that they [Ire Govt] will monitor the situation before doing anything - This likely means when it gets to 1500 IPAS arriving per week, the Govt will start the long process of changing laws/rules…y'know, the Irish way

I really hope I'm wrong on that

Week 45 - Total 244

wk 45 figs.jpg

I see Cathal Malone (immigration lawyer super-grifter) was all over the radio this morning - he's not a happy puppy at all

Relax Cathal - 'defence' is the way forward lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭minimary

Interesting article in the Irish Examiner yesterday about the deportation flights. Seems fairly easy to dodge deportation if you're of a mind to, go missing, have a bad attitude, file an appeal etc.
    The amount of man power as well that the Gardai have to put into it.
    But godforbid an Irish politican ever actually take a firm hand in enforcing the laws, they might have someone on twitter call them a name

These 2 quotes stood out to me in the article what other country would take having a bad attitude as a reason not to deport someone

"Family unit three is living in Kerry. It comprises of a mother and two children, a six-year-old boy and a five-month-old boy. Her attitude is “not great”, the meeting is told. The father has gone missing."

"A decision had also been made not to take the family in Kerry on this flight."

https://archive.ph/90kMP

there is no actual evidence that the majority of those coming to the UK are chancers, that is what a grown up process is there for, to determine whether an individual is such or has a legitimate claim.
    so the leader of the green party is correct, while labour continue to pander to the angry vocal minority and lose votes across the board.
    irregular migration is actually more factual then illegal migration as while someone may enter a country in a manner considdered to be illegal, it does not mean they do not have a legitimate claim to flee their country of origine, and again that is what a grown up processs is there to determine.
    a person for example overstaying their visa and who it can be determined easily has no legitimate claim to remain can be considered to be an illegal however again that is what the process is there to determine.

the gardai are ultimately enforcing deportations, in this case it's likely cheaper to wait and deport the family together then having to deport him on a separate flight down the line.

people will unfortunately go missing when they are not in direct provision.

The system is increasingly viewed as an industry to enrich already wealthy Irish landlords, lawyers and bosses. It is dressed up as humanitarian, but some of those who say so are lauighing all the way to the bank. Yes it is generosity by the State but the generosity is also to the fatcats.

Also, I do think there are some who genuinely feel they are helping the least fortunate. Some on the Left see migration as a form of income redistribution.

I think the first group has used the second group as a shield against criticism.

If we were starting off in the 1990s we could have argued that we had a responsibility to let them in. But we already have done so. Its not like this is year zero and we are only beginning to allow people into Ireland from other countries.

There is a world of difference between fleeing a warzone, and coming here for economic reasons. If people want to come for economic reasons, there is a work permit system. The government has handed out an extraordinary 40,000 a year for years, and has granted about 200,000 people Irish citizenship through naturalisation.

I support allowing people in who are fleeing warzones like Ukraine, but I want to see fair distribution across the EU. France has only allowed 94000 in. Its absurd that Ireland, with a population 5% of that of France, has allowed in more people than France.

The vast majority of asylum seekers are not fleeing warzones. Its economic, and in my opinion only legal channels should be used for that. Otherwise, we end up with queue-jumping, and people who have for example paid expensive student fees to come to Ireland will wonder why they bothered if people can just break the rules and be rewarded for it.

There was a discussion on The Tonight Show or Prime Time (I'll verify which one. I think I have recorded it) including a FF politician in recent days on housing. And she was making the point that yes they increased house building, but then there was a big increase in those seeking housing. Yes and why is that? We are running just to stand still. Until supply and demand are in sync, the housing crisis will continue.

Im also concerned that we have neglected upskilling among the underclass and longterm unemployed, some of the groups that have been involved in unrest in other countries like the UK. I think the Irish people are entitled to fairness just as migrants are. But we cannot have a free for all, and it has always been the case since the Romans that a citizen has more legal rights than a non citizen. Otherwise capacity would run out in terms of services, societal cohesion would break down etc.

I will conclude this post by referring to India, China and Japan's zero immigration policies. When did you last hear the Labour Party criticising that? Japan and China have a colonial history too. To be fair Biden did criticise India's migration rules. They have effectively made it very hard for Muslims to migrate to India.

Post edited by Ozymandius2011 on