A very interesting piece here on how car sizes have grown over the last 60 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭kaahooters

tldr, its fashion.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 18,197 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

23187.jpg

An example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,988 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Airbags, crumple zones, doors that take an impact, etc etc it's got to go somewhere.

first car i drove was a hc viva 1300 pushrod engines retrofitted inertia reel seat belts in the front, and a mk1 fiesta, never felt small at the time

Post edited by ednwireland on

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,261 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I saw someone driving an XYZ 123 reg Fiesta (from some time in the 80s I'm guessing) the other night, and it was TINY!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Avatar in the Post

DR/AT

Didn’t read at all.

TL/DR

Health and Safety

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭kaahooters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭timmyntc

From an 80s car to 2000s yes, safety crumple zones etc.

But take a 2000s fiesta to the puma today? massive difference even though safety is similar (for occupant, not pedestrians) and inside space is similar also.

The increased ride height of these crossovers is just a marketing/status symbol really. Thats the reason cars are growing so much. You can charge more money for a bigger looking car

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,566 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

that's widely acknowledged. it costs a car company a couple of grand more to build a crossover on a chassis that previously was used for a smaller car, and they charge much more for the crossover. a huge amount of it is driven by car manufacturers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,762 ✭✭✭whippet

I have a 2023 BMW 3 Series and an 1988 3 Series - it's like two totally different classes of cars. Right down to the thickness of the doors. Finding a parking space in the E30 is so easy. I think the current generation of 1 Series is bigger than the E30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,264 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,978 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Fiesta has 2 air bags in base trim puma has 6. Probably has automatic breaking system and such better ABS stability systems.

The height is better for loading the car people and cargo.

So I'm a bit 50:50 on it there are improvements. But does everyone need two SUVs for running around a city. I've always liked a small city car but where is the happy compromise.

I do laugh when I am behind some modern cars.

The trick manufacturers pull is to give the car big wheels, sit it a couple of mm or more higher, ig over sized rear quarter panels to cover the over sized wheels and voila, you got a hatchback disguised as SUV, it's a joke.

Modern cars are a lot more powerful and bigger than cars 20-30 years ago and this is bad on country roads as SUV owners want to plough everyone off the road.

We should introduce a super tax on these cars and also on cars with more power because people are absolutely hammering out the L roads these days and even the N roads. We need to limit the acceleration of these big cars, say 11/12 seconds, they are not safe on narrower roads and in towns.

No one is adhering to the new 60 Km/hr L road limit…….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,761 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

The 60 limit is nonsense and is being rightly rebuked en masse.

What do you mean 11 seconds? That is nonsense too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Mr321

This is aa perfect example.

Just look at any shopping centre car park that was built in the 80/90s most have original paint markings.

The hips on cars, SUVs within the last 10 years has become crazy.

The 60 limit is not nonsense , what is nonsense is that there are never speed checks on the L roads. Most of my local roads are L roads and drivers of all ages, Male, Female are driving far too fast, there are blind bends everywhere on these narrow roads, entrances to houses where the driver had to be out on the road a bit to see what's coming, people walking, families walking but too many drivers are driving as if they own the road and don't care about the people including Children that walk or cycle these dangerous roads and now we have faster and more powerful cars that can accelerate to lethal speeds in the blink of an eye for such roads. people have demonstrated they are not capable of slowing down or driving appropriately to the road conditions and now often distracted by phones or car infotainment.

Where do we see the speed vans mostly ? on motorways and 100 Km/hr roads not in towns, villages or near schools where they'd probably catch many times more speeders.

Just the other day a BMW driver over took me coming down one of the M9 motorway bridges on a local L road, he must have reached 90 Km/hr, the speed of him/her was ridiculously dangerous. Not too long before that a car over took me same bridge but on the brow of the hill, it was absolutely impossible for the driver to see what was coming, a child on a bicycle or anyone walking would have been killed as the roads are so narrow.

Around a year before that coming the opposite direction , a Man driving a van came down the motorway bridge speeding, looking at his phone, didn't see me until the last minute and panicked almost hitting me and I had the Boys in the car.

It's the same on the motorbike, cars up my arse if doing the limits or expect me to fly around blind bends on 2 wheels at stupid speeds to please them then nearly wiping me out of it when they over take me out of frustration not caring I have family at home who expect me to come home safe.

Why are so many people now so inconsiderate to others, doing what they want ? I don't get it. On back roads now drivers hardly slow down any more to allow the 2 vehicles pass, they speed thinking the faster I go will intimidate this driver to slow down and climb into the ditch, they might often have SUV and are more capable now of driving faster on the grass verge.

I could be on the motorbike and some fool think I'll climb into the ditch to allow them to pass in their bigger vehicle trying to intimidate me when the realities are if the motorbike wheels hit the grass verge it's going down but car drivers don't realise or care but I'm entitled to half the road but they think the motorcyclist will move into the grass verge for their big car.

It's gone to f1ck out there on the roads and no, I don't think such fast, heavy powerful cars should be allowed and more needs to be done to tackle poor driving, dangerous driving and speeders. There needs to be a big recruitment of undercover traffic guards. Limiting car power "and" acceleration is an obvious sensible option, people have proven they can't drive with consideration for others.

I remember back when we had the Sergeant and the guard in the village I grew up, The barracks was the Sergeants home and almost every day the Guard would be out with the speed gun catching loads of people speeding through the village, I haven't seen a single speed check in the village when they retired and the village was left with no permanent guards.

We need to focus on better driver training instead of making cars with more tech to combat poor driving, this doesn't make sense and we need far more detection and accountability, for example, caught browsing the phone or looking at video in cars an automatic 2 year ban and 5000 fine. I wonder how many accidents are caused by driver distraction due to tech ? I'd say a lot all while believing their adaptive cruise and lane assist will allow them be careless.

They have but often these cars are fitted with over sized rear quarter panels to accommodate the big SUV style wheels which gives the car a SUV type profile while offering similar room to a hatchback. They are wider of course due to the body panels but it's a cheap way for the manufacturers to offer SUV style and charging a massive premium for a Hatchback on stilts fooling people into thinking they're driving SUV, no they're not.

Lack enforcement.

Hardly ever see a Garda enforcement in the city.

Bad habits and bad behaviour grows as there is no enforcement inhibiting it.

Size of some cars is ridiculous they can't fit in car parking space. The spaces need to be made bigger. It's not rocket science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,331 ✭✭✭✭elperello

No they're not SUVs they're just family saloons with notions.

People just buy whats in the showrooms.

The family saloons segment is gone.

No more Mondeo, Avensis, Passat, Primera, i40 etc.

No point in a small market like Ireland trying to turn the tide back by using tax to influence the manufacturers.

The newer Lidl stores have done this and it seems to work for them.

The passat Estate is in full production, VW Ireland chose not to import it a few years ago, sadly the Saloon was discontinued. I drove the estate in Sweden in the Summer, great practical car but the interior leaves a lot to be desired with all the screen and software shite, the saloon and estate has fallen out of fashion at the school drop off and pickup locations.

No, just tax these hatchbacks on stilts a lot higher.

The E.U need to step in and make manufacturers make available normal size and shape cars again, bigger and heavier cars less aerodynamic and heavier will have more emissions, one easy way to reduce it is to make sensible size cars again.

An SUV super tax is what we need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Cars are bigger to be safer.

More crumple zones, more areas for safer pedestrian impact zones.

There's a lot of anti car sentiment here, which I'm no longer surprised to read on here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,480 ✭✭✭✭road_high

tbh the 3 series is prob not far off what a 7 series would have been in the 80s

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,566 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

It's pretty much an established fact that at this stage, cars are getting bigger primarily to suit the bottom lines of the car companies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Only partly AFAIK.

You are aware that car companies push taller cars on existing chassis types because their profit margins are higher on them? This is not conspiracy theory territory. A large factor in why cars are bigger is not to drive safety or respond to natural customer demand. It's for the car companies.

Ah here ffs, who's anti car ?

You can't deny that the current state of cars is ridiculous, hatchbacks on stilts with big wheels and body kits and extortionate price tags and they're usually crap to drive too, this is to do with marketing not safety, modern hatchbacks are more than safe enough.

The age of easy access to credit means the manufacturers will continue to make more and more expensive cars because all people care about now is the deposit and monthly payments, they don't care about debt.

Exactly, manufacturers know people want the SUV, although, I think this is more of a British, Irish, U.S thing, in Ireland new "SUV" means you have money and God forbid you show up at the school in a 5+ year old Hatchback ? they'll all think you're poor.

Back 2 or 3 years ago in one of the Irish papers said that 83% of all new Volkswagens are bought on PCP, the true never never.

The manufacturers put big wheels, wide body kits, raised the car xx mm and voila , they created an "SUV" With not much more room than a hatch for a lot more money, Genius and so many people fell for it.

The saloons aren't in the showroom anymore, that's why they aren't on the school run.

I agree with you about those stupid screens.