Gigs for 2025 - post your reviews here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,312 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

Saxon tonight at the Olympia. Wouldn't think Biff isn't long after finishing treatment for bowl cancer, the man was stellar!

Dirkschneider as support was amazing aswell. Brilliant show all round, nothing beats a good night full of heavy metal.

20251105_220727.jpg 20251105_215226.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭garyskeepers

I went to see McFly Versus Busted a couple of weeks ago and it was one of the best gigs I've ever been to. Hard guitars and super tight. Lots of fun.

IMG_1331.JPG

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Lord Of The Lost in the Academy last night.

Support was from Julien K and Skarlett Riot.

Julien K was a singer and a lad messing with a theremin for the first few songs, then they switched to playing guitars, they were fairly lively and the crowd loved them, although listening to the singer speak, if I closed my eyes I'd swear it was Michael Starr from Steel Panther.

Listened to a few Skarlett Riot tunes beforehand was really looking forward to them, unfortunately their drummer got sick and was taken to hospital before the show, it was just the singer and guitar player doing a few songs acoustic style finishing with a cover of Zombie.

Lord Of The Lost probably best known for coming last at Eurovision 2023, industrial/goth metal, the keyboard player looks like David McSavage if he was a gay goth, Rammstein is main influence, but I wouldn't call them a rip off, I hear other things in their sound as well.

They have daft cheesy songs like Blood for Blood and La Bomba, but the second half was mostly the new album which is darker and more menacing, Bazaar Bizarre was particularly heavy, was a great gig really enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,177 ✭✭✭Stillill42

I can totally see David Mc Savage as a gay goth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,649 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

The Skids at Whelan's tonight . So good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭mollser

Yes, I was going to post something similar. I prefer heavier rock music, and the music snobs will laugh at both of these bands, but they are absolutely terrific entertainment for almost 2.5 hours live, the Monday night gig was absolutely hopping! Charlie Simpson is always worth going to see, a tremendous musician, resplendent in his Nine Inch Nails t-shirt - he has rocked up Busted's sound somewhat but not quite to Fightstar status lol! His acoustic duet with the mcfly fella was outstanding - great night, would see again in a heartbeat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,951 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

How did they actually structure the VS element? were you getting full songs or awkward mash ups or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Went to watch Pebbledash in The Button Factory and ended up in a jammed Oasis/Stone Roses tribute night. Gutted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭ergo

This is a very belated reply to a query that I had drafted in a note - been a busy few weeks and got distracted but might as well post it...!

I thought the stuff off August sounded good, Adam's singing style means he doesn't tend to stick note for note to the recorded version of songs - that might put some people off and that might be what you're getting at.

Round Here and Rain King were the highlights for me , thought Mr. Jones was the weakest - maybe it was just me but I half thought he was getting a bit out of breath at times during it and letting the crowd sing.

But overall, for me anyway,it was a good experience.  I recorded some audio of A Long December on my Samsung but couldn't find a way to attach to this post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,733 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard in Den Bosch with the Sinfonia Rotterdam Orchestra.

Great, as always.

Phantom Island album in full followed by an intermission (which they played through lol) and then a load of Gizzard goodness/madness.

Not a massive fan of full album shows or "static" setlists but had to be that way with the orchestra. Seen them a few times now and they're wildly different each time.

17625920386251221767389248315707.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

Saw Nation Of Language in Opium last night. They were brilliant - most fun I’ve had at a gig in a long time. I only discovered them this year after hearing On Division Street in a playlist. They are heavily influenced by 80s synth bands and it showed in the age profile of the crowd. It was sold out and the crowd were really up for it and the band were clearly loving it. Great night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭mollser

Mcfly started with 1 hour gig, then a cage lowered around them for all of about 3 minutes, then raised to reveal busted on stage. Very slick transition. Busted did a 1 hour set. Then the 2 guitarists positiioned themselves in the crowd on opposite sides of the arena and hurled insults at each other, then a couple of combined efforts with everyone on stage. Not so much a 'vs' thing going on, just good tunes and singalongs. Really well structured.

Mcfly probably the more crowd pleasing band, but Busted a better rock band all round. Great fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

They were upstairs in Curveball. It was sold out anyway so you probably wouldn't have got in. I wasn't there myself.

You really need to start asking on the door what gig it is you're going into!

…^……<…./?::;;:::@"! ((((((*))))))#=)))))~

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Now I know, thanks. 🙄

Really weird atmosphere in the tribute gig, not sure why it was so packed, the bands were meh.

Really enjoyed English Teacher tonight. Sounded fantastic, new stuff sounded good, old stuff majestic, Paving slab and Daffodils to finish, deadly. Appreciative crowd, and it needs to be because they have some downbeat stuff in there but yeah, great reaction. She's a deadly front woman, love her. I'm not crying my highlight. Thought Theatre were very impressive as support. Only other time I saw them was in the Workman's (Borderline maybe?) and I was underwhelmed, all a bit shouty and disorganised. They were an entirely different band tonight, big stage suits them and her particularly. She was fantastic, note perfect, really enjoyed them.

Post edited by Stillill42 on

I was also at this. Despite not being overly impressed with English Teacher in Whelans i wanted to give them another go. Thought it would happen at ATN but they clashed with someone and i had a tent run to make so i missed them. Said if i got a cheap ticket i'd go to the Olympia. Managed to snag one for less than half price! As for the band? They were grand but i won't be going to see them again. That brand of indie just isn't my cuppa. They've 3 or 4 songs where they could really build it up and let rip but they don't. So yeah, i'm out.

Theatre were enjoyable enough. Only saw them once before, last Halloween supporting Just Mustard in the Spirit Store. That night they had a very distinct image; the lads all done up like the Bad Seeds or something and herself in a big, floaty, white dress. Very Kate Bush on the moors. None of that malarkey this evening. Musically they were on point back then but it was ever so slightly different to what they're doing now. I'd rather go see Theatre than say, New Dad.

You do surprise me sometimes @Dreamweapon with the gigs you turn up to. I wouldn't have thought English Teacher would be your cuppa at all.

Tried my best to hang in there at the Grand Social tonight for English Teacher but I'm old and tired and they hadn't appeared by midnight so.got the 12.10 bus. Theatre there in flying form so I told them how good they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

Shocking gig earlier from them in Olympia, they played an hour of very low energy music and left it at that, no encore. I was quite taken with them at ATN but I honestly fear for their future after tonight, something obviously wasn't right. If this is how the first night goes I can't see them finishing the tour.

Eh?? That's a bit of a bizarre review. They went down extremely well with the crowd I thought. Each to.their own but that's a bit OTT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,100 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Yeah don't agree with that review at all. They only have an album and a handful of songs. Didn't feel like I'd been short-changed or anything like it. There was a definite lull in the middle but that's the nature of the band. The last 3 or 4 songs were absolutely class and I'm excited to see what comes next. Crowd were great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,100 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Funny you should say that, when I saw Theatre on the bill I also thought I'd seen them at Borderline. But having seen them I have absolutely no recollection of seeing them before. I did enjoy them though.

I've always liked to catch a band early on, even moreso if there's a bit of buzz/hype about them. I find it's the best moment to to check them out, whilst they're still hungry and excited rather than 3 or 4 albums down the line, tired, jaded and on the treadmill in the larger venues. I realise the Olympia is a large venue but you know what i mean. Plus, i often like to give an act two goes before making a decision on them. There have been exceptions though (Kaiser Chiefs w/Hard-Fi immediately springs to mind. Appalling).

Can't agree with Phibsboro's review either. I actually found the pacing of the set slightly better than Whelans which seemed to have a massive mid-set lull to my ears. Last night tested my patience a little but not so much as previously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭colmufc

While I disagree with this review I did find one thing shockingly poor and that was massive patches of the crowd chatting full volume in the quiter songs, like just shut the **** up and go to the bar if your not there for the show, ots a real bug bear that people go to these gigs just to hear the two or three songs they know.

The band were amazing and the support was very very good, with the fact the top section was closed and if you take away the posers I think this gig would have been better off in the academy.

I have high hopes for English teacher, the new song was quite good and with there summer shows filling up I'm expecting a new album by late spring, long may they make wonderful music together.

Also there bass player looks like Charlie Cooper, uncanny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭LLamachara

Really enjoyed English Teacher. That earlier review is bizarre.

They played 17 songs. The bass player is savage

Odd crowd in the sense there was a fair bit of chatting. Like who is buying a ticket for English Teacher, of all bands, only to spend the gig chatting?

Posers, had a bunch behind me that would not shut up, it was like a convention of hipsters that were just there to say they saw them

They played Borderline alright, had a few words with the singer and bass player at the Grand Social thing after. Bass player new since that gig, he was good alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

I take the earlier point re them only having one album and your point that they did play 17 songs - but they must have rattled through them because I was back out on the street within an hour of them starting! In the cold light of day perhaps I am being a bit harsh on them. I felt something was off from the start when they played R&B second song and basically threw away one of their best tracks. I agree they did have a strong ending, I was about to call it a day at around The Best Tears and then of course they do a great Crying and we off into Paving Slab and Daffs. Thinking about it today, they remind me of the time I saw The XX in Tripod in 2009. I loved the band but live they were super low energy and really didn't connect with what was a very excited audience. Before Lily finally got going for Crying I was standing there thinking - someone in this band needs to decide they are enjoying this! I am looking forward to a new album, I think they played a different new one night to the new from ATN? My memory is both were a little more 4 to the floor and a little less art school prog, which is a good thing. The current remix album is poor, not that it directly reflects on them but they did OK it presumably.

As for the audience, I didn't find it too bad chatty wise. Lots of pints back and forth though, I was actually wishing they'd close the bar! I took up my usual spot at the back beside the sound desk and I do accept that watching a gig from that vantage point means you miss out of the vibe up the front - but I loved Self Esteem recently from that exact same position.

You definitely lost alot of the vibe back there, it was far from packed so to get a vibe in a show like that you need to move forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭sbs2010

DJ Alligator in a tiny venue in Copenhagen on Friday.

Super cheesy but brilliant night

1000018741.jpg