Near Misses Volume 2 (So close you can feel it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Just your average Dublin city centre knacker. Doesn't see himself as that though, because he has an apprenticeship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Not a close pass but easily the worst encounter I've ever had in 30 years of cycling today. Out with 2 clubmates. Last 5km of a 5 hour spin so we were pretty tired going up the last drag.

Another cyclist came by us and chirped "WELL DONE GUYS!! KEEP IT GOING!!!" as he soft-pedalled off into the distance.

What a f**kin pr*ck. 🤬🤬🤬

😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,828 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

I like to tell myself that they’re actually on an ebike in those situations, only logical explanation

You're not selling the Ridley to us at all!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Well, there's nothing like the disillusionment and disappointment of new-bike-old-legs.

But I also don't appreciate peppy condescension from some gobsheen like I'm on the ring of Kerry 🙄

Were you attired in Fred gear?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,277 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

cyclist down on the main stretch through ballymun. we passed in the opposite direction, paramedics were there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Was all over the city today in the poxy weather D15-D6-D2-D7-D15 for about 35km. This brain dead close pass on the quays in the bus lane. Normally I take priority early there but had merged from a side street and since traffic was relatively quiet coming up to the red light I didn't think there would be a need.

Had another close pass by a taxi on a 60km/h rural road near the end of my trip but that clip never saved, think battery was getting low but the light was still running strong.

What was that clown in the Audi doing???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,717 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

The quay is basically empty. Even the taxi's and the bus aren't bothered with the lane… and the weather, reduced visibility, reduced stopping distance, pedestrians wearing hoods, let alone empathy for the exposed vulnerable road users.

Some people are simply vindictive or have a low IQ.

Or both.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Was cycling along the N4 yesterday (~08:50) at Lucan to the meet up for a club spin. Travelling along in the bus lane, the three traffic lanes had a little traffic. Some lad in a silver Corsa decided to close pass me with about a foot of space - I reckon he was doing about 100km/h. Didn't have my camera (battery is kaput) and didn't have time to get a reg number.
    Pure punishment pass by the prick.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,584 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

I'm sure there are plenty of lovely Audi drivers, but no other marque seems to attract asshats in such huge numbers.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,277 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

a guy driving a skip truck passed me here earlier - he was almost exactly where the google car is, and facing the camera direction as he passed. i checked this on street view to see might he have had a clearer view of the road ahead than the blind bend would suggest, but no. there are trees making the bend blind even for a driver in an elevated position.

i'd say he was doing 60ish as he passed. a car passed coming the other way a few seconds later; if that car had been a few seconds earlier, it'd have been squeaky bum time.

https://www.google.com/maps/@53.4759582,-6.3189974,3a,75y,8.41h,87.47t/data=!3m7!1e1!3m5!1sIQ0HHwzhFuE_5_XR0m-WyQ!2e0!6shttps:%2F%2Fstreetviewpixels-pa.googleapis.com%2Fv1%2Fthumbnail%3Fcb_client%3Dmaps_sv.tactile%26w%3D900%26h%3D600%26pitch%3D2.5251145333959215%26panoid%3DIQ0HHwzhFuE_5_XR0m-WyQ%26yaw%3D8.40638526018519!7i16384!8i8192?entry=ttu&g_ep=EgoyMDI1MTExMi4wIKXMDSoASAFQAw%3D%3D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭monkeyactive

Someone drove right up behind me and overtook to take a left hand turn, Came right out in front of me , had to swerve and brake and still missed the rear wheel with my front by an inch. Could have been killed. It must have looked like a homicide attempt. I'm actually done cycling in town. Honestly its too dangerous. Ones of these days the F*$%£%^s are going to get me . I've been incredibly lucky so far not to have been killed or gravely injured by reckless drivers who will willingly risk grave injury or death for me so that they can make their turn. So long folks its been emotional , hanging up the bike. Bus Eireann, warmth , shelter, safety , Podcasts and feral youths lets be having ya!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Left hooked in a cycle path by a garda driving a minibus yesterday on Tallaght's Belgard Rd as he was presumably heading for Centra. No indicator used. Only for experience telling me to brake a second before he turned, I'd have gone down.

Pulled in alongside him and I asked him why he did that. "Oh I didnt see you" was the reply (he wasnt sure what I was initially referring to). "You clearly didnt look properly" was my retort." He took a step closer (presumably to remind me that he was bigger than me) and said "look, I said I was sorry - what more do you expect me to do?"

I replied that he was meant to be helping to keep our roads safe, not making them more dangerous before realising that talking to him was a waste of my time.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭Paddigol

"I want you to take your scolding like the child that you are and show an actual semblance of genuine remorse instead of fobbing me off with an insincere apology", is the reply that would not have made the exchange any more productive.

I don't bother engaging with drivers like that, because 90% (note to forum - I just made up that statistic) of the time the interaction will go exactly the way of your experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,376 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Thank god for recently serviced disc brakes moment as a bus driver decided to open the middle doors in heavy traffic and let someone step out into the cycle lane just as I was passing (and despite me having two strong front lights):

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

Has anyone else noticed that the driving standards of Dublin Bus drivers have diminished a fair bit recently, probably due to many being fairly new recruits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭khamilton

I haven't, and I still find them a lot better than they used to be 10+ years ago but YMMV!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭Paddigol

Haven't been on the bike in the city for a few months, but I always found Dublin Bus some of the best motorists on the roads. Way ahead of Aircoach or Wexford Bus for example. Wexford Bus drivers seem particularly aggressive, even when I'm driving.

Yeah tbf, my experiences with them have generally gotten a lot better over the past few years. (I think there might have been some policy shift when the Greens were in power around driver education). Especially when compared to the private operators.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I find Wexford Bus and Kavanaghs a peculiar breed. Outside of Dublin they seem incredibly patient and relaxed, once they get inside the borders of the pale they lose the run of themselves and their hatred of cyclists becomes almost compulsive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭ARX

Was this at a bus stop or just randomly? I believe that drivers aren't permitted to let passengers alight other than at a bus stop, so it might be worth mentioning it to the bus company.

I'm thinking most drivers will just opt for the easy life when a passenger is asking/demanding.

Definitely shouldn't happen.

randomly, was just after crossing the Luas/canal bridge (did double check Street view after the fact to make sure there wasn't a bus stop, not that he should have leaving people off without pulling in anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Close pass by a taxi with (to quote Tom Waits) "the IQ of a fence post" on the south Dublin quays this evening.

Not the most exciting video, left in the start to show overtaking a bus and then stopping at a pedestrian when taxi first pulls up behind me. I take priority there to avoid this stupidity and force taxi/buses into the overtaking lane if they so wish.

Left the video run afterwards also as there was a left turning bus which I go around and in front of same taxi again. Kept the lane here which I don't normally do as the cycle lane is decent just to see if he's do something stupid again.

I really look forward to the day when taxis are not entitled to use bus lanes (there is absolutely no reason nowadays why they should be able to use them).

BTW, the vid has the title as 242-D whereas the taxi had the reg 241-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

I've seen loads of recent examples of Dublin Busses sailing through yellow and red lights at junctions, which is something you'd seldom see years ago. I'm referring to their general bad driving rather than their aggression, or lack of care, towards cyclists.

And blocking key junctions, like on Portobello bridge, as if their drivers were surprised to find that the green light went amber then red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,717 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I'm on the Howth Road run and they're pretty good.