If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Kilkenny GAA Thread

1648649650651652654»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭JohnCougar

In even more depressing news and fair play to Tipperary GAA, John Magnier and family have gifted 14 acres to Tipperary GAA just outside the boundary at Dr. Morris Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭neverbet

I neither expressed nor sought sympathy for DJ Carey. Merely pointed out he admitted his despicable crimes and has by any standards received an appropriate punishment court penalty wise, greatly added to by the non stop intense malign media coverage. I was also acknowledging the one piece of Christian kindness I saw expressed in all of this towards Carey by the KERRY poster. Never out of place in the world we live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Town legend

Yeah shes been around the journalistic rounds from what I hear.Used to work for the Indo as well.Big drop down from that to working in local media,it must be said.

An interesting and not too common career trajectory in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Shocs24

Probably a bigger shame for all the people he robbed.

Fast forward a few years for a pub quiz question....name a family where 2 members were the subject of Prime Time investigations for preying on people for money (total scum)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Based on prime time last night, and on anecdotal evidence previously, DJ himself was ironically the victim of a large fraud himself by his own accountant who was, ahem, well known to him.

Just an awful story in every way, basically an icon turned conman in order to maintain a certain lifestyle he had become accustomed to. A superstar who sunk to a horrible low with the type of con he perpetrated. DJ was an absolutely unique hurling talent, the greatest I've ever seen or likely will see, and he threw it all away for greed.

I feel sorry for all of his victims of course, and I believe there are plenty we haven't heard about and likely will never know about, but ultimately the people who will suffer most from this are DJ himself, and unfortunately, his innocent close relations.

I have no issue with a journalist telling a story that's in the public interest, but there is certainly an element of tabloid sensationalism to her method. Some stuff is personalised, unrelated to the crimes and I believe unnecessary, and much of it is based on hearsay from unnamed sources. I understand people being interested in the con and how he duped people, but headlines from anonymous sources saying he's 'thick' etc, just seems opportunistic and gratuitous.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,501 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

It'll be discussed if people want to… 🤷‍♂️

you arent an admin....

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭kentu

I'd expect Huw Lawlor and Mossy to both get All stars, both very well deserving. Cian Kenny will be unlucky to miss out again I feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Village87

As you predicted, Well done to both, Huw probably deserved it but had tough day out v Tipp in our only real challenge last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭KK36

Are you sure? When there is a vacancy for treasurer I don't think there will be nominations taken in the same way as for other roles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,994 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

what would be an element of tabloid sensationalism? Can you give an example? I see her promoting the book on Social Media, which is fair enough.

My take would be that we all know DJ, and the starting point (before all of this came out) for many people was - my god that goal or point he got was quite incredible. A very favourable starting point, a level of warmth towards him. On the other hand, we dont know the people he conned. We dont know how they felt, how it affected their lives. The book will tell us that. But even if we havent read the book, we should be well able to work out how extensive and damaging this is to so many people.

And with that in mind, anyone whose first or second or third instinct is to in any way defend him…or moreso just to focus on how this affects him…I just think its wrong.

Put it to you this way - if you were sitting down in front of someone who'd been conned out of 30 grand, would you be saying to them… actually DJ is suffering the most here, not you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Nedflanders02

Yeah I'm nearly sure it is, every year at convention it's down as a nomination like every other position. That possibly could have chaged in the last coupe of years but I don't think it has but am open to correction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

Correct Ned.

From the GAA Official Guide.

Convention

3.8 Convention

An Annual County Convention shall be held before 18th December. It shall consist of the Officers and Members of the outgoing Committee (voting rights as on the Committee) and two delegates from each Club which competed in a Junior or higher grade Championship of the current year. A newly elected Officer, unless a member of the outgoing County Committee or a delegate, shall not have the right to vote at any stage of the Convention. In special circumstances, a County Committee may summon a Special Convention. Representation and Notice shall be determined by the County Committee.

3.9Elections

Subject to the Exceptions hereunder:

(a) The Annual County Convention shall elect the following Officers of the County Committee: Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Secretary, Assistant Secretary, if desired; Treasurer, Assistant Treasurer, if desired; Coaching Officer, Officer for Irish Language and Culture, Public Relations Officer, and Hurling Officer, if desired; and shall appoint a Planning and Training Officer, Demographics Officer and a Children’s Officer recommended by the outgoing County Committee.

(b) A member shall not hold more than one of the above Officerships at any given time. The Officers elected/appointed shall hold office until the conclusion of the next Annual Convention. A member who has served five years either consecutively or cumulatively, in a specific Officership, shall be ineligible to hold that Officership for the five year period following immediately after serving the fifth year in that Office. If a member is elected as an Officer of the County Committee ‘in term’, twenty-six weeks or less before Convention, that time served shall not be considered as part of the five years’ period.

Exceptions to (a) and (b) above: (1) Where a County Committee, with permission of the Central Council, has appointed a Secretary for a period in excess of one year, that Officership shall not be subject to Election or to the provision of Section (b). (2) Where a County Bye-Law provides that the positions of Treasurer and/or Children’s Officer are/is not subject to a maximum number of years in office, the provision of Section (b) does not apply.

(c) Subject to the limitations set out at (b), a County Bye-Law may make provision regulating and controlling eligibility/ tenure for election to the Officer positions outlined in Section (a).

(d) It shall further elect: Two representatives on Provincial Council and one representative on Central Council, who shall hold office respectively for the term of the ensuing Provincial and Central Councils.

(e) Should a vacancy arise in the Officerships of the County Committee or in a County’s representation on Central or Provincial Council, it shall be filled on the basis of (a) Nomination by Clubs, (b) ballot vote of Officers and Members of the current County Committee. (f) 3.10 Voting to fill the Elective positions specified above shall be by secret ballot and on the basis of the Proportional Representation system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Sir Chaz

I fully realise that cases like this invariably prompt pearl clutching and people rushing to shame others for holding any objective opinion that deviates from their narrative, but I'm sure you didn't mean to suggest that I in any way defended DJ for his crimes or that I 'just' focused on how this affects him? If that's what you took from my post I'd politely suggest you read it again.

Two things can be true at once.
    You can (a) be fully supportive and sympathetic to every single victim who was outrageously conned by Carey.

And (b) You can state unequivocally that DJ Carey has absolutely ruined his own life and his reputation for ever more.

The latter, by the way, is by a distance the biggest reason this story is such big news. A superstars fall from grace.

DJ's crimes are reprehensible and indefensible, by anyones standards. That they took advantage of people's genuine generosity and goodwill only makes them more risible. We'll never know the mental and financial impact of the con on those people, and as I said previously, many others who haven't come forward.

I would still argue, and it's only my opinion obviously, that the person damaged most in all of this, is DJ Carey himself. Bear in mind I'm not offering him any sympathy before the sanctimony police get on my case here. And that doesn't in any way minimise the impact it's had on his victims either. DJ himself is no victim here.

I'll put it to you this way. Would you rather do 5.5 years in prison. Be a public pariah for the rest of your days. Lose the majority of your friends and family and be unemployable and a source of ridicule and shame to your family, community, and the wider public until the day you die. Forever associated with a disgraceful con of ordinary decent people.

Or would you rather be conned out of a lump of money due to nothing only your own generosity and good nature?

I know which I'd choose.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,994 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

@Sir Chaz

For some reason my quote function not working.

Anyway, well written reply, fair play.

Firstly, I dont know what pearl clutching means, have heard it said many times - I must look it up :-)

I hear what you are saying - in that I absolutely 100% agree with you that I would rather be the person conned, than the person who did the conning.

Talking about how he is the biggest victim - to me that expresses sympathy. If not, then what is the point of saying it….a propos of what?

To your specific point - can you be sympathetic to the victims and stand by this point simultaneously? Maybe a more relevant word is empathetic. Do you think the victims would feel better or worse when they hear that view expressed? I dont think thats something they would want to hear, or be told. So I wouldnt say it.

Post edited by Tombo2001 at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

I hope he will be ok. It's a sad thought someone who brought so much joy to so many alone in a prison cell. It's all self inflicted of course but the pressures of life can make people do strange things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

how did he get away with it?

Suprised he even made it to prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭Charlie69

The poster never once said DJ was the biggest victim, in fact he literally acknowledged that Carey was not a victim in all of this.

He did say that two things can be true at the same time, which I also agree with, that you can be sympathetic for all of Carey’s victims while still acknowledging that Carey himself has come out of this worse than anyone here. Off course he’s the architect of his own downfall … but that doesn’t change that fact.