Gigs for 2025 - post your reviews here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Stillill42

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,650 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Queens in the RAH last night. Havent felt as dazed walking out of a gig in about 15 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,231 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Just Mustard album launch at Grand Social

Well… I'm already in a bus home, which I'm not sure it's a great sign

On at 8:30, 45mins, off.

Musically they're fecking brilliant, but they have no stage presence and there was no crowd interaction. Katie looked bored and, as a result, I was a bit. Maybe they'll benefit from more of a stage show. I'll probably still go to the Olympia next year to see, but tonight was a bit of an anticlimax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Granite Head

Agreed, to be honest I was a bit bored too, more people watching. Was thinking about leaving early (unheard of) but with early finish decision taken out of my hands.

2026 Gigs and Events: Bren Berry, Grant Lee Philips, Jarlath Regan, Craig Finn, Westside Cowboy, Magdalena Bay, Neil Delamare, The Streets,The Paper Kites, TJ Baham, Borderline Festival (Fri + Sat), Whitney, Stereolab (Whelans), Antlers, David Byrne, Buck Meek, Bar Italia, Gene, Gorillaz, Thundercat, Belle & Sebastion x2, Jason Byrne, President, Jacob Alon, Robert Finley, Big Thief, The Big Star Quintet, Superfurry Animals, These Charming Men, Kraftwerk, Ray LaMontagne, Sugar, Mack Fleetwood, Pixies, Stewart Lee, Aldous Harding, Royel Otis, The Cure, Florence & the Machine, Beta Band, Forest Fest, ATN, Moby, GOAT, Jack White, Sigar Ros, Michael Shannon & Jason Narducy, Bonny Prince Billy, Death Cab for Cutie, Olafur Arnalds, Reytones, Arab Strap, Arlo Parks, Strokes, Cat Power, Widows Peak, Jeff Tweedy, Ocean Colour Scene, Fat Dog, Interpol & Bloc Party, Madra Salach

Ye should have come to Warmduscher lads. Fecking brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,875 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

It’s all about the music. I thought they were incredible. Disappeared off the stage like rabbits, couldn’t tell them how good it was.

I could take the weekend off from gigs now but I’ve had Mono booked a long time.

Irish bands are amazing live!!!!!

Warmduscher majestic in Whelans tonight. Short and sweet, an hour and 10 including encore i think but incredible intensity start to finish. What a setlist they can put together now, all killer no filler as they say. Some of the finest middle aged moshing I've seen. I beamed the whole way through. I got friends live tune of the year so far? Maybe. Ten out of ten from me.

Edit: Oh, and Really Good Time fantastic on support perfect openers for Warmduscher, so upbeat, funky, catchy. I'd defo go to see them solo. Don't know why I thought they were from Cork. Brilliant anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,231 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Like I said, musically they were brilliant. Dunno, just fell a bit flat for me. Genuinely happy to hear you liked it though, and the vibe filing out seemed good, so maybe it was just me (well, and Granite Head!)

Songs of Joni Mitchell @ The Olympia .

As review above by @crazyhorse but found the additional singers Lisa Hannigan , Loah and Adrian Crowley added so much to the performance of this beautiful music .

Favourites were " Urge for going " by Loah with Sam J Killeen on guitar . His playing and her singing !

"Woodstock" with all the singers together .

"Skate Away" , Lisa Hannigan and Loah , piano Richard Sears , sublime .

Very slow throughout but note perfect and you could have heard a pin drop everybody was so quiet .

Lovely .

Post edited by Goldengirl on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

As much as i would have liked to be at Warmduscher or Just Mustard i had a longstanding date with Gilla Band in the Spirit Store. Near 80 minutes of sonic pounding with no encore. At least three new songs, all of which hit the spot, with one in particular providing me with goosebumps and spine shivers. Certainly whetted my appetite for a new release. I had expected it to be louder in such a small space but it was loud enough. Big grin and vigorous head nodding from me throughout.

Support was Aoife Nessa Francis, just herself, guitar and beats. Pretty good in a dreamy, drifting kinda way. My mate had seen her with a band before and reckoned she was better on her own.

…^……<…./?::;;:::@"! ((((((*))))))#=)))))~

Lot's going on tonight. You do feel we could all been at all of those. Give or take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,801 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

The 4 of Us in The Dunamaise Theatre Laois last evening.

Firstly, it's a great venue for a gig, I much prefer smaller intimate places if possible. Haven't seen The 4 of Us in more than 30 years. They were really good, lots of new material, loads of old songs stirring my nostalgic happiness.

3rd gig in a week, and a few more to come next month 🤞 🎶

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,875 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Mono - a religious experience. The Button Factory pinned to the floor with only a single roar of Thank You Mono halfway through. Not a word spoken by anyone. That last song just kept getting better - unreal!

I got the setlist! 😉

IMG_8200.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭gandalfio

Turnstile tonight. Not possible to describe how good it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭pedrozeno

Turnstile were indeed absolutely brilliant. What a gig!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭Count Hairyfoot

Turnstile were fantastic. Was nice to see a decent amount in to see Gurriers who were great. High Viz - good performance but a real nasty vibe in the crowd when they were on. Gobshites throwing elbows and punches in the pit on the left. Saw a couple of fights start. Then Turnstile came in and the mood changed completely as they were outnumbered.

If there was a better gig this year I wasn't at it anyway - great night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭HikingBeatsSport

NewDad at Cyprus Avenue last night was absolutely unreal...

The tracks from new album Altar sound brilliant live...

Julie Dawson's vocals were mesmerising...

(Cardinals were excellent in support)

Still buzzing after this great show....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭FledNanders

Thought the sound at Turnstile was a bit tame. Kept thinking they needed to turn up the guitars.
    Perhaps their set up wasn’t designed for such a big venue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭RayCon

Jazz Sabbath , Sugar Club last night. Absolutely brilliant. Super musicians doing great variations of Sabbath songs with lots of humour chucked in too. Will definitely catch them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭fillup

Yeah second that.

First time to see them and won't be the last

Sublime sonic assault

The early start seemed to have caught a few people out too

Yeah Some Scottish lad on electric guitar, Kevin Daniel Cahill.

Effects driven, layered, experimental kinda buzz.

He was finishing up as I got in, feck all people in at that stage either

Could've been decent, seemed to go down well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,004 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I was a kid in the 70s when going to gigs in Dublin had a terrible reputation for "trouble" (somebody got stabbed to death in UCD if I recall correctly) and a teen in the 80s when it seemed nearly as bad, but no mun no fun so I wasn't going anywhere. Been going to all sorts of gigs since the start of the 90s and never saw an ounce of trouble anywhere. Well, I was at a Witnness where people were throwing sods of earth at the big screen!

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭mrk75

The two Murphys always put on a great show. They've got the acoustic duo format down to a fine art and their albums are consistently excellent. One of the finest Irish bands just quietly putting out great music for some time now. Plus they've embraced the social media side of things with their live Thursday night slot on YouTube/Facebook over the last few years since Covid…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭TheDocMan

Maruja - Whelans Fri 31st

Bloody fantastic gig. Sold out. Great buzz. Liked their recent first full album - not as much as their variuos EPs but its totally on another level experiencing them delivering the songs live. Brilliant connection with the crowd...out on the floor and band crowd surfing. The saxophone just adds a brilliant element to make it feel a bit unique. Finished with an instrumental track that summed up the night - subtlety, power, passion and energy. Already looking forward to see them return in future

Support by Bucket on the night. First time I heard them and very impressed. 3 piece noise rock . Loud with plenty of bursts of energy and direction changes in songs. Looking forward to catching them in Waterford with Heavy Lung

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,823 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

Definitely agree with Turnstile, it was class. I thought High Vis were decent enough, didn't get in early enough to see Gurriers unfortunately.

Crowd near the back and the sides was unfortunately pretty dead with some exceptions, but whenever you saw the images of the crowd near the front and the middle it look absolute mayhem. Unfortunately too old to partake in that :D but definitely jealous of them.

Still hate the 3Arena though, such a soulless venue. Also the merch was a rip off I felt, I did pick up a t-shirt but 50 Euro is a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Big Brave very good in Whelans last night. Just under an hour's worth of droning amplifier worship. I'd have liked more but them's the breaks. Nice volume and magnificent tone from the lead guitarist. Zero interaction with the audience until the last note had faded away then they revealed themselves to be very happy and grateful to be here.

Support came from Géis, a trio featuring Eleanor Myler (Percolator/OXN) on drums, Elaine Malone (pot-pot/solo) guitar/vocals and Méabh McKenna harp/vocals. Three improvised tracks over 30 minutes, plenty of drone and finishing up with a motorik workout. Not bad.

…^……<…./?::;;:::@"! ((((((*))))))#=)))))~

Didn't know E Malone had a new thing going

Fantastic drummer, her laconic style reminds me a lot of Dirty Threes Jim White