Most fireworks are banned in Ireland, who'd have guessed

• 31-10-2025 06:34PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭

It sounds like there's a war going on outside but a visitor from anywhere, not to mind outer space, would think it's all normal.

But of course it is and not just on the 31st or even at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,935 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Nothing beats homemade bangers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Allinall

Back in the early nineties I got caught in rosslare with a boot full of fireworks.
    Got arrested and spent the night in a cell.

Apparently back then they were classed as explosives.

Got let go next morning with a telling off.

Heard later they had a wonderful fireworks display on the cliff top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭standardg60

There is no hard and fast rule when it comes to banned stuff in Ireland, there is only;

That's grand.

You'd better get that sorted.

And, ah you're taking the piss now you're on your last warning.

Knowledge is learning something, wisdom is learning from it, intelligence thought of it first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,970 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

More than ever this year, specially high powered rockets going up high with an enormous Bang !

17619403499065988622220250950288.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,762 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

They are not banned. But as explosives, their import, sale and use is regulated by law.

had something like that as a kid- great fun - loads of neighbours came out to watch - all treated safely- traffic lights screamers rockets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,765 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I know noting about shop bought fireworks. Tell me, is the bang an added feature or it a unavoidable effect from them igniting? I was out on the street last night looking at them from afar and saw a couple of cats I hadn't seen in the neighborhood before looking agitated because of the noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven
    MEGA - Make Éire Great Again

We used to buy them from the auld wans selling fruit and vegetables on Moore Street and Henry Street. Then the Gardai clamped down on them, so we would buy fireworks from the Sunday market at the White House near the Ward Cross, between Ashbourne and Finglas. Then the Gardai clamped down on that, so we would go up to the Jonesbrough market when visiting relatives in Monaghan.

Post edited by OneEightSeven on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,567 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Can you buy them in the north all year round?

In Germany for example they are a new years eve thing, not a halloween thing. And in the week leading to new years eve you can buy them legally. But not at any other time of the year. Whats the story in the UK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Maybe time we harmonised and stopped the charade?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,762 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The law is mostly the same both sides of the border. It is legal to sell indoor fireworks here. It's time the authorities in the North enforced their own legislation.

At least as things stand, some lawbreakers have to make a bit of an effort to travel to the North to get them. No need to make it easier for them here. The lawbreakers in the North can flout their own regulations with nobody seeming to care.

https://www.nidirect.gov.uk/articles/fireworks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

What's the point of having laws if they're not enforced? I can hear the law breaking as I type this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Cushtie

There was a display to a rival London on New Years eve in my village last night. Talk of the place this morning at underage matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 808bassqueen

There is less fireworks being set off than ever before. People seem to have short memories of Halloweens or previous decades. The amount of fireworks was mental and every single housing estate had a bonfire.

Post edited by 808bassqueen on

bar a few displays on the night, I heard very few fireworks, especially bangers , going off in the run up to Halloween - sounds like people just aren’t buying them in the numbers that used to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,155 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Ye this year it was extremely noticeable how few fireworks were set off around my area throughout all of October.

A big organised display was put on by the council, place was packed for it but barely any going off in the estate or surrounding estates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

This is how me do things in Ireland. If people are breaking the law just bring in more laws.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,170 ✭✭✭facehugger99

There are certain things in ireland that we're not to be trusted with.

Skyscrapers, fireworks, buying more than one packet of paracetamol at a time or trying to buy a bottle of wine before 10.30am.

This is just the way things are. Without these rules you'd have lads out of their faces on paracetamol and wine letting off fireworks on the roofs of tall buildings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭burgerKev

we all plaid with bangers when we were young

let the kids have their fun

few bangers, few rockets

job done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blackbox

In our area there were definitely less than last year. Maybe people have less money to waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,541 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

We'd them going off from early September. I'm not an entire curmudgeon but it makes it a nightmare with my dogs.

I don't mind the fireworks on Halloween and New Years because its expected and I can sedate the dogs but the panic every time they go off for no reason on a not even dark September afternoon is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭randd1

Locally, there was a good few raids in recent weeks by the Guards that got a fair amount of them.

Last year in a few local villages, they were aiming them at kids doing trick-or-treating, parents were hopping mad and more than a few threats were made.

The guards got out in the last week and raided known d!ckhead youths and seized a rake of them.

The quietest Halloween in years we've had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,505 ✭✭✭bladespin

Think it's time we grew up and legalised them, have some proper controls and let people have their fun, crazy the 'ban everything' attitude that's going around.

Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,717 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Well….. in fairness…. We have form when it comes to explosives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭standardg60

Bonfires yes, fireworks not so much bar squealers and bangers. I miss the bonfires tbh.

Knowledge is learning something, wisdom is learning from it, intelligence thought of it first.