If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

SCEP Scheme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Alibaba

If you have enough animals to meet the female replacement strategy on the 31st of October, you can sell away.

Just make sure you do have enough because if you miss the 65% target the penalty will be severe ! One fifth of your total payment + 30% penalty as far as I can tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,435 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

it’s based on the cows you have on that date so if you selling them dips you below the threshold then hold on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Teddy 1234

Just looking at it, I'll have to keep them until after the 31st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,251 ✭✭✭✭893bet

take no risks anyway. Looks like beef might tick up a little bit again now anyway so they are growing into money .

I got a phone call today that I have a SCEP inspection on weights. A lovely call to get on Holidays!

It’ll be fine, it’s a pain in the arse but we’ll run them through and do it but shame to lose a morning when weather is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Sami23

Isn't that terrible rubbish.

What difference does it make what weight they are 😤

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Some amount of people getting inspected around here for it. A neighbour who genuinely did weigh them with a hired scales from Co op got penalised for it because they were outside the thresholds. Stupid box ticking scheme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Jim Simmental

2nd of. Sept

to be fair if you are getting paid for a job you should bloody well do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 507 ✭✭✭WoozieWu

is it just weanlings or the cows as well

looks like they are paying attention to weights now as promised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Sami23

Oh I 100% agree but what's the point in doing it a second time for them

did they weight heavy or light?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

I had the same last year, they seem to be doing it a lot more now. He went and checked NGP calves that were supposed to have 3 tags at the time too when he was there.

bit heavier than last year with the good year but nothing silly. I actually was very honest with the weights because I don’t see the benefit to myself of fudging them.

I had a successful appeal last year (board Bia membership got held up due to an email address being inputted wrong) so I was probably just on their radar and they have a certain number they have to do to keep lads honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭Aravo

A lot getting paid in this country to do nothing, every day, every week, every month, every year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭Aravo

I have previously used comment below on threads about other agri related matters and agri schemes. It fits in nicely here aswell. "I think farming these days is creating a lot of full time jobs for others in auditing, overseeing various schemes, even though the farmer is likely to be part time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Amateur Farmer

There’s a lot of money to be made in farming as long as you’re not a farmer!!

you aren’t wrong but that’s not how I operate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 BeGrand2025

I was just counting up the amount of times I need to handle a calf now with all these extra schemes added:

Calving if assistance needed during labour, standing and feeding.

NGP - Tagging

Dehorning

BWS - Vaccination - Two injections given 4-6 weeks apart

SCEP - Weighing Cow and Calf

Dosing for Parasites - Varies a lot depending on the year but always once housed 2 weeks

Castrating if not keeping them as bulls

Shaving at housing

SCEP - Genotype tagging calves if not in NGP

Then along with that you’ve the meal feeding before weaning(BWS), dung samples(BWS) weaning and housing while also ensuring the cow herself is put back in calf(AI or bull). There’s a lot of handling involved when rearing sucklers and I was thinking last week how some of my older neighbours are managing.

edit - I forgot about the TB test. That’s two more days of handling and stresses the herd out worse than anything. And an extra 3 tests over the next year if you go down and pass the 3. That’s not counting the cows scanning, housing, shaving, hoof pairing, dosing, bolus etc that goes with reading suckler calves. And the unfortunate vet visit for sick or lame animals.

Post edited by BeGrand2025 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

I just noticed icbf have made myostain results available on herplus. I don't really understand them though. Seem to have a lot of cows with 1 or 2 copies of the f94l gene, a few with 1 copy of the q204x and I have a few with the nt gene aswell. I know some of ye on here understand them a lot better than I do. What's the best way to cross them after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,107 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I have a neighbour who has 4 cows not incalf out of 18. Dose he need to replace them. And can he replace with cows that are not 5 star and recieve no scep.on thrm

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

He needs to download a copy of his latest eligibility report on icbf, which covers all eligible females over 16 months in the herd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭tellmeabit

They dont have to be in calf. What's his reference number, only need a % of 4/5 star and again only a % of them have to calf

Maybe. Needs to look at the over all herd to figure out.

Needs to have 65 percent of his reference number being 4 star plus on the 31st Oct (today) If he already has this then he can buy what he wants.

85 percent calves need to be sired by a 4 star plus bill so if they are arriving in calf needs to be sure they are sired right (and if not be selective so with the genotyping afterwards to deselect the calves)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,107 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

• Registered Users Posts: 507 ✭✭✭WoozieWu

cross any of the cows with q or nt genes to double f bulls use what you want on the double f gene cows

that is the safest way to go unless you are breeding for carrick

he’s ok for the moment. He only needs to calve down 50% of his reference number. So he should be fine for the spring.
    He can buy 1-3 star cows if he wants, that’s no problem but there is no option of leaving them out of the scheme. It’s all or nothing. So he could buy the cows if he wants but he is no better off as regards hitting his targets for years 4 and 5. He’s still on target but is walking a fine line.

If it was me and he was going to replace the cows anyways I would be trying to make at least 1 of them a 5 star just to give a bit of breathing room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭manjou

If he does not want to buy in any cows he could reduce his reference number by up to 20% for next year which reduces all the other requirements as well so would need 20% less 4 5 star cattle needed and less cows calved.

Could he buy in Friesians culls to fatten and ahem....if they were in calf he did not expect them to be

Slava Ukrainii