Northern Ireland 2125?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭csirl

The cost of translation in the EU is irrelevent to a UI. Its the same whether or not there is a UI.

The cost of translation in NI and the UK would go down in a UI. Oireachtas legislation etc is already translated, hoeever there'll be no need to translate UK or stormont legislation as it will no longer apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,113 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The 'it's a waste of money coz I don't like it and it makes me cry', is not really an argument because anyone can make it about anything they fancy…or don't fancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,218 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

I never even once drove between Ballymoney and Ballymena.....cut all funding to the roads in the area. Won't someone think of healthcare?!

😁😁 I have been involved in the Arts all my life and I have heard this mealy mouthed unthought out argument many times.

100% of the time it is made by somebody who doesn't like what money is being spent on.

I laugh when I see them toddle off on their holidays to enjoy things invariably paid for the same way.

Aye, I've been involved in the music scene most of my life, I'm well used to hearing it. Funding for anything I don't like or use should be stopped because it would be better spent on healthcare......but don't apply the same logic to the things I do like and use, they're clearly important because reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,607 ✭✭✭Francis McM

The celtic tiger must definitely be roaring among the nationalist community when new funding of 2 billion over 20 years for the Irish language in N.Ireland is not queried. One of the previous 2 posters have been involved in the arts scene all their life and the other one involved in the music scene most of his life, and they are implying they getting similar funding and they are telling the rest of us to toddle off.

It reminds me when a famous Taoiseach here told people around 2007 that if they queried extravagent government spending then they should go off and commit suicide, or words to that effect. And see how that turned out.

You are too late with your objections (which are of course only on financial grounds 🙄) this has all been agreed and signed off on.

Signage is rolling out across the jurisdiction. Irish Language Commissioner and Ulster-Scots Commissioner and staff have been appointed as democratically agreed and are beginning work.

*That irate Unionist, also only objecting on financial grounds, raised his scare in 2017…all forgotten about for the nonsense it was, until dug out of the archives to support somebody else's objection on financial grounds here on boards.ie.

It was actually Ahern in 2007. You are a decade out although I am not surprised you are calling Ahern a bit of a unionist because he condemned the pIRA and has no time for SF which you support either.

The point was "The celtic tiger must definitely be roaring among the nationalist community when new funding of 2 billion over 20 years for the Irish language in N.Ireland is not queried. One of the previous 2 posters have been involved in the arts scene all their life and the other one involved in the music scene most of his life, and they are implying they getting similar funding and they are telling the rest of us to toddle off."

Bertie Ahern got in to trouble in 2007 for telling people critical of extravagent spending to toddle off and commit suicide, or words to that effect, but at least Bertie apologised for it. History proved extravagent spending is wrong.

🙄

2 billion over 20 years for the Irish language in N.Ireland

*That irate Unionist, also only objecting on financial grounds, raised his scare in 2017…all forgotten about for the nonsense it was, until dug out of the archives to support somebody else's objection on financial grounds here on boards.ie.

So tarring an objector as a "unionist" and calling him "irate" only denigrates him further, and the point he made is still valid, it does not matter if it was in 2007, 2017 or 2025. Yet again you miss the point.

The point was "The celtic tiger must definitely be roaring among the nationalist community when new funding of 2 billion over 20 years for the Irish language in N.Ireland is not queried. One of the previous 2 posters have been involved in the arts scene all their life and the other one involved in the music scene most of his life, and they are implying they getting similar funding and they are telling the rest of us to toddle off."

Bertie Ahern got in to trouble in 2007 for telling people critical of extravagent spending to toddle off and commit suicide, or words to that effect, but at least Bertie apologised for it. History proved extravagent spending is wrong.

So tarring an objector as a "unionist" and calling him "irate" only denigrates him further,

He was a DUP politician. See the 'U' in DUP. He made himself cross fantasising about the 'billions' of money being spent. (not)

The irate Unionist was telling porkies about the costs. Nobody ever repeated them because they were false…a figment of his angry bigoted wee head.

Signage is rolling out across the jurisdiction. Irish Language Commissioner and Ulster-Scots Commissioner and staff have been appointed as democratically agreed and are beginning work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭itsacoolday

Bertie Ahern is a nationalist, not a unionist. Bertie found out the hard way, as did the country, that extravagant spending is wrong. The columnist Nelson McCausland who wrote the article attempted to examine the costs involved in the Irish language. SF did not. I know which is the more prudent approach. As would be expected.

Nearly spat out my tea laughing at the comment "The celtic tiger must definitely be roaring among the nationalist community when new funding of 2 billion over 20 years for the Irish language in N.Ireland is not queried. One of the previous 2 posters have been involved in the arts scene all their life and the other one involved in the music scene most of his life, and they are implying they getting similar funding and they are telling the rest of us to toddle off."

Jaysus Francie, that explains a lot as to why you can post morning noon and night 24/7, as you say you have been involved in arts most of your life and it is well funded by the taxpayer and you do not like people who query that funding, same you do not like it if they query funding for the Irish language.🤣

If we're just making up boll*cks numbers, why not just call it an even trillion? You ran away from addressing the breakdown of the numbers you're proposing, yet here you are parroting them again.

We can try again. You've projected the cost of training translators as a recurring costs over twenty years and you've quoted the EU year one costs of training Irish translators. Can you tell us the year one costs versus the current costs for specifically training Irish translators for the EU?

The money has been democratically agreed.
    Won’t come anywhere near what an irate Unionist claimed in 2017 and nobody paid any attention to.

Just because you resurrected it doesn’t make it accurate.

You are just using an irate Unionist’s rant to whinge.

The article says that whenever Sinn Fein are asked what are the costs of implimenting the Language Act, and all the other costs associated with making the Irish language they advocate becoming much more widespread, they do not know. Have not the foggiest notion. The taxpayer is on the hook of course.

Reminds me of Bertie, the boom got boomier. Sure lets spend more. And people who question it are not really embracing the Irish spirit and can toddle off or commit suicide.

They were estimated by CnG and discussed in the Westminster Briefing document I posted earlier.

It’s not up to SF to cost it no more than it’s up to the SDLP or Alliance or PBP. They all reviewed the proposal and voted on it.

It got a democratic seal of approval. Whinge away. Pointless at this stage

Without the deflection into something else, let's just address one point at a time. You presented the EU training costs of translators in year one at €10m and have suggested that would be a recurring cost. What is the specific cost each year thereafter for training Irish translators?

You can keep talking all the sh*te you want, but have the spuds to at least address this one point that has been the core of your argument about potential annual costs.

The cost of Irish language translators used to cost the EEC, and then the EU, nothing. Because for the first number of decades they did not have any. And nobody noticed they had not any, and nobody complained. I read that nowadays the over 200 EU Irish language translators currently cost over €30 million per year.

Winner of the "ceann caol na dinge" prize, "the thin edge of the wedge". It is great really, look at all the well paid and pensioned jobs Irish language graduates are getting.

Post edited by itsacoolday on

Deflect, deflect, deflect.

I've said already I'll pursue the rest of the variables after we deal with one point. What were the year one costs versus the current costs specifically of training translators.

To get from year one costs from practically nobody speaking Irish on a day to day basis in N.I., to a bi-lingual state, means that year one start up costs bear no relation to expenditure down the road. Once all courts, public services etc have to use Irish even SF cannot estimate how much that will cost, nor is it in their interests to. Might as well ask a builder to build a National Children's hospital and pay for it as we go along week by week. Sin sceal eile. Even if it costs £10,000 per taxpayer per year it will be worth it, says you.

I've made absolutely no comment on what price per capita is worth it, I'm asking a very specific question about your supposed costings. You and Paul Givan are suggesting that the cost of training translators on year one will remain constant for twenty years, so I'm asking for a direct comparison on that one aspect of the annual cost.

We'll try again; without deflecting off to some other point; if we both accept that the cost of training translators in the Irish language for the EU was €10m for the first year they had to do it, what was the cost specifically for training translators this year?

The answer to your specific question - was the cost specifically for training Irish language translators to translate EU documentation in to - wait for it, Irish ffs 🤣THIS YEAR - is not known. We do know the EU - our taxes - pays for over 200 people in Luxemburg and Brussels to do so. And not just for translating silly laws like the bendy banana one.

https://www.protectingtaxpayers.org/european-union/the-european-unions-eleven-greatest-blunders/

No wonder anti-EU Catherine Connolly was for Brexit. Hope she does not drag us out of the EU too to keep her backers SF happy, who over 50 years were traditionally EU too.

There are many thousands of people already employed in the Irish language "industry" in Ireland, yet extremely few people speaking Irish. Far more people spoke Irish when thousands were not employed in the "industry". And you want to spend even more taxpayers money on same? I am calling you out same as when a few people called out Bertie Ahern in 2006 / 2007.

"The celtic tiger must definitely be roaring among the nationalist community when new funding of 2 billion over 20 years for the Irish language in N.Ireland is not queried. One of the previous 2 posters have been involved in the arts scene all their life and the other one involved in the music scene most of his life, and they are implying they getting similar funding and they are telling the rest of us to toddle off."

So you don't have a notion what you're talking about when you try and calculate costs by assuming the year one costs will recur for twenty years?

Cheers

When they went digging around in the archives of the internet to find a forgotten 2017 guesstimate from an irate Unionist anti Irish bigot, with the scariest figures they could muster, it was fairly evident they hadn't 'a notion'. It's not about cost, it's about denigration and bigotry.

Their eyes are still turned away from the fact that multiple billions are budgeted and spent every year on cultural and heritage projects that enhance lives across the 'civilised world', all societies allocate funding for these things.

I have no idea what interpretive dance is about, for instance, but I understand it is valuable to those who engage in it and who engage with it. It should therefore be funded and supported.

The thing is, SF does not have a clue what the costs are for the next 20 years either. Going by what the Welsh language costs, we can assume the figure of 2 billion sterling over 20 years as an average guesstimate. Could be a lot more if and when Irish is rolled out in all schools in N. Ireland for example. Just because you get large government handouts in your music industry and FrancisBrady gets large handouts in the arts which he has been involved in most of his life, does not mean everyone can or should get large government handouts.

The problem with socialism is that you eventually run out of other people's money.

Again you make assumptions.

I never said I was an arts practitioner/creative.

I have been involved in the arts as a consumer and as volunteer/facilitator.

What other areas of waste do you see in cultural/heritage budgeting?

Should it all go into hospitals etc?

Again you did not read what I wrote. You wrote in post 3755, and I quote "I have been involved in the Arts all my life and I have heard this mealy mouthed unthought out argument many times." That is what you said.

I never said you were an " arts practitioner/creative." but I said

"The thing is, SF does not have a clue what the costs are for the next 20 years either. Going by what the Welsh language costs, we can assume the figure of 2 billion sterling over 20 years as an average guesstimate. Could be a lot more if and when Irish is rolled out in all schools in N. Ireland for example. Just because you get large government handouts in your music industry and FrancisBrady gets large handouts in the arts which he has been involved in most of his life, does not mean everyone can or should get large government handouts."

The problem with socialism is that you eventually run out of other people's money.

It isn't up to SF to provide you with that.

How much is going to be spent on interpretive dance in the next 20 years?
    How much will be spent on public art? etc etc

Gwan and show me a government or political party who have laid that down?

Maybe come down of the selective 'I don't like that, therefore it shouldn't be funded' belligerent high ground you have trapped yourself on.

Why not just be honest and say you hate to see Irish people attaining equal treatment and like the 'irate Unionists you long for the return of a one party bigoted sectarian state?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭csirl

Someone reading recent pages would get the impression that attempts are being made to covert NI into a bilingual or Irish speaking society.

Even if via some very unlikely circumstances N.I. becomes bilingual in advance of unification, this will not persist in a UI. Public services in the North will be delivered in the same language as everywhere else in the country i.e. in English. Zero chance the Irish civil service becomes bilingual - especially with the emphesis on recruiting more diversity.

Irish language has not been necessary for a job in the Irish civil service since the 1990s, but the government aims to have 20% of new public sector recruits proficient in Irish by 2030. We all know throwing money at the language will not increase its popularity: how many billions have been spent on it in this state and still practically nobody speaks it, there is f.all Irish language pages on boards.ie or Irish language newspapers or magazines either.