Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,458 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

It might perhaps be an idea for you to stop throwing around your little childish barbs and calling others views nonsensical when you yourself believe that 10 members of a parliamentary party of 70 not liking Martin as leader will topple him based on Gavin when they have no realistic candidate with a chance of doing so as any that may have are themselves compromised by publicly backing Gavin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,617 ✭✭✭jmcc

It neatly encapsulates FG's mistake. It ran a popular constituency level politician in a national election. Humphreys won her constituency vote and lost every other constituency.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,561 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Who from FG who was interested (not counting MMcG obviously) do you think might have won under the circumstances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,990 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

You referenced the fact of the ethnicity of the population also, the fact that it would be as well suited to Northern Ireland as the Republic, an ethnic cut also about the OO. Many have spoken of smears in the campaign, mostly on the Connolly side iirc. Jesus yiz are all over the shop on that matter?

Anyway its over now, still, Matt Carthy and Co must be wondering how she done so well there, that was my original point. Jmcc is saying that more FG voters turned out there perhaps. Maybe Border voters in Cavan/Monaghan were sending a message to SF too perhaps?

Probably right in fairness, but still, the wonder will be there for SF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭pureza

They ran a person incapable of stringing 2 sentences together without a script

Someone personalable on a one to one basis with her constituents and colleagues in Leinster house but a disaster on screen

They’d have walked it if Maireád had of stayed in

A confluence of circumstances brought CC over the line and dragged the other two parties well under

I’m sure Fine Gael and certainly FF will learn from that,opposition T.D’s thinking otherwise for a GE is them thinking at their peril

Long way away though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭Radio5

Sean Kelly MEP may have had a chance. He made the mistake of saying he wouldn't run when it looked like MMcG was a certainty for FG. It wasn't a great look when he tried to get back in the race when she was gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,561 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

I've asked this question a few times and you're the first to reply suggesting Kelly might have won, but credit to you for sticking your neck out.

Personally don't see him making much of an impression outside of his bailiwick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,711 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

This happens every election for some reasons it was made an issue of been asked

Sean Kelly would have had a better chance of getting a countrywide vote then Jim Gavin. Popular in his Europeam constituency and I thanked liked by a lot of people inside and out of the GAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Some of the spoiled votes are very funny. Somebody voted for Maria Steen's handbag. 🤣

Doing better than Gavin who was FF's candidate isn't much of a recommendation. GAA didn't cut it with women voters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,857 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I would say it was priceless reading some of the spoilt votes. I was tempted to go into the count centre to have a look but it was over so quickly.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

Well I was making a GAA comparison if the stuff about him didn't come up. I say Kelly would not be a multiple time elected to the european parliament without some women voting for him

Must have something else going for him locally, wouldn't win him many votes in Dublin.

Women are naturals for the Presidency these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,632 ✭✭✭RoTelly

14 years of a Man in the role and they are still the natural option, indeed they should also be to the left.

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

'These days'

With CC that's three out of the last four.

The problem you have with "these days" is the 7 year term, there are people who voted on Friday who don't remember Mary number 2.

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Yesterday

It's not my problem. Anyone who doesn't remember Mary Robinson is unlikely to remember Paddy Hillery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,617 ✭✭✭jmcc

I don't think that SF would be wondering much. The electoral reality is that it is a Big Three electoral model still and and that means that FF, FG and SF still are close in terms of support. A presidential candidate would have had to appeal to voters beyond the party support silos. Apart from FF and FG making a complete mess of things, I don't think that SF had the level of support necessary to get a candidate elected in this election. In backing Connolly, it took the best option open to it and in the process combined the Left. That has demonstated to FFG that the Left is not, for the moment, fragmented and that, more importantly, it has a larger combined support than FFG in the opinion polls.

FF looks to be abot to give Martin a fair trial before hanging him. FG is probably considering dumping the useless Harris. In both strategic and tactial terms, SF won this battle. In terms of allies, the SocDems is increasingly perceived as a major party and that is at Labour's expense. It needs to remain between 8% and 11% for the next year or so in the polls if it is to take Labour's old slot in the political landscape. The SocDems are getting the benefit of nominating Connolly. It was, however, SF's support that was the gamechanger that the legacy media missed.

Post edited by jmcc on

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭itsacoolday

I think this is just one of the posters that upset her very much, but there were others, and numerous comments to her family and herself as well, about her family and herself.

nfDJYu302w7QKoHk.jpg

I'd say she also felt bad for those attacked with racist / sectarian slurs whose only crime was to say they supported her.

Yes, i think FF and FG would and maybe will need new leadership to try to increase their votes. SF too probably in fairness. ML is getting a bit stale at this stage too, no one believes shes running the party anyway.

The battle with the left is intense, there is very little in common among them as they span a very wide range of how far left they are. Very few of the left outside SF would choose to be in govt with SF. SF are seen as tepid left at best. Interesting times ahead for the next four years as the jostle for position evolves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭pureza

There you see,as I outlined to you earlier and as demonstrated in your post,SF are claiming this as a victory when in fact it was a self defeating government strategy what won it for CC

Problem for the left is the people that voted for a complex nice old lady aren’t all left and the country hasn’t gone 62% left,the issue remains for SF having to detoxify themselves in the eyes of either FF or Fine Gael if they’re ever to reach government (if they actually want to govern,I’m not convinced) oh and pigs needing to sprout wings perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭Caquas

I never said MM will be toppled. Quite the opposite. No wonder you receive my barbed comments!

Not my problem either, I was talking about Mary McAllease. I am just pointing out that 14 years is a long time and that the 2 Mary's are as fresh in some people's minds as Paddy and Erskine while there are other in the middle who only see it as a role for women!

______

Yesterday

" while there are other in the middle who only see it as a role for women!"

IMO it is increasingly seen as an office that naturally suits women with their more holistic view of society. Not to say men are excluded just that they are less likely to be nominated or elected.

Really a bit sexist of you and also highly dismissive of each of the men that have been in the role. The media followed Robinson around like puppy dogs, Hillary was ignored, until he was shown he had strength, which was only something that end up being reported on due to Mr Lehinhan's phone calls to the President some 9 years previously.

Imagine saying the role of Taoiseach is really only a role for men because of X, Y and Z.

______

Yesterday

"Really a bit sexist of you and also highly dismissive of each of the men that have been in the role."

How's it 'sexist' to make an honest assessment of present public perceptions?

If I made the same assessment about say primary school teaching would that be 'sexist' too?

Is it 'sexist' to say that in general females have certain attributes that in general males lack?

Look I don't make the sexism rules up, and yes in relation to primary school teaching you'd be in deep water.

It's not sexist to say "in general females have certain attributes that in general males lack" but its possibly something else. 😁

______

Yesterday

Rules, what rules?

Who makes them, do we all have to obey?