If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Clampdown on TV 'Dodgy Boxes'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭animalinside

I edited my post after writing it mentioning that I never claimed they would go after end users. I actually agree it seems unlikely they would start fining people for it unless they become really desperate. Likely it'd be too much work for them and too much potential for embarrassment and bad publicity, especially if they were to start doing it retroactively now. Still going forward you never know, if you start now with an Irish provider and buy a lot, there's a chance you could find yourself fined as an example and they will say you got all the warnings and didn't listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭NATLOR

Collapsing my hole, a few idiot sellers being caught and actually shutting down illegal IPTV are 2 very different things so your claims of ' I told you so' are idiotic and laughable. IPTV services are available worldwide and will continue to flourish as cable providers become increasingly expensive. There are hundreds of options freely available you just need to know where to look, it's not difficult. And IMO anyone buying an overpriced loaded crappy android box from some Facebook seller/ lad in the pub deserves to be caught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,610 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Weckler mentioned the fines being imposed in Italy. I think this is what Sky want, to get their hands on client lists from the likes of the Louth criminals. Then pursue those individuals legally.

https://torrentfreak.com/dazn-sky-serie-a-set-to-target-iptv-pirates-already-fined-by-the-state-250917/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,927 ✭✭✭✭shmeee

I'd be fairly sure it's a similar reseller, and price has gone up, was £45 up until middle of year.

Ps. Don't DM for referrals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭jj880

Sky obtaining the identities with the intention to pursue civil action sure makes for a scary headline. Lets see if they follow through. I predict they wont.

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,728 ✭✭✭dubrov

What is it exactly you said that you are claiming that you predicted? IPTV usage is cheaper, better quality and easier to access than it has ever been

Also, what do you think a VPN provider in Morocco is going to say to an Irish court order?

Even if they were to provide access, all the reputable VPN providers are externally audited to prove they don't keep logs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,136 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Get a VPN you'll be fine and you should be using one anyway. If these sort of penalties on users does come to pass, it'll be the non VPN users, the low hanging fruit. They'll will hit a few and try scare the rest.

They just aren't going to the trouble of getting a VPN provider to comply to a court order and hand over user data.

Its "whack a mole" though, they can only do so much, same as the music industry learned. There will always be will and a way to provide this content over the internet and its just gotten better and better too. They have tried everything, block the servers, target the panel providers, target the resellers. It doesn't work as the user can move to a 1000 other IPTV providers and keep moving.

IPTV stream providers aren't just some guy in his parents basement, they are highly sophisticated crime groups with massive resources.

Throughout the history of pirated media, the holders haven't won, this will be no different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Exactly this. The music labels never defeated file sharing or torrenting. They were forced to adapt to evolving customer habits with the popularity of mp3 players and embrace the iTunes model and then streaming. This was after they went after members of the public through the courts for heavy fines and then faced a backlash as this was seen as disproportionate.

I remember at the time there wasn't much sympathy for the music industry. The labels had an oligopoly for decades with 1500% profit margins on physical media, huge royalty cuts, brutal artist contracts etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Any recommendations on a good VPN. NordVPN seems to advertise a lot. Also, any recommendation on whether to use vpn at the device level or just go ahead and do it at the router? Running a Virgin box here, with Unifi wireless access points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭BestWestern

Nord VPN have an option with revolut, so it could easily become free.

This all about the premier league and the end of this will be the premier league going their own way without sky, making the content more available and at a far more reasonable price. Sky are pissing in the wind thinking they can stop pirated IPTV.

The model has changed, Sky are desperately trying to hold onto the golden goose. They no longer control the medium this is distributed through so they either move with the times or get left behind.

Disney, netflix, prime all these platforms aren't particularly good value when you break it down but the headline price is low so they get alot of subscribers.

The premier League also have an issue too with this antiquated FA rule of not allowing the broadcast of 3pm games. It's not helping in the fight to keep people away from IPTV, not everyone is a united or Liverpool supporter who's games are televised nearly every weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭JM2300

I really don't understand understand why people use illegal dodgy boxes when you can legitimately get all the channels for 60 euro per year using a firestick. My provider is a lovely guy too, helps out on WhatsApp when issues with the service arise on the rare occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭hold my beer

Info 👉️ Important News!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,610 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Some Gardai, teachers and maybe a few lawyers. And Weckler will be able run stories about the scandal of well off people supporting organised crime. He seems to have a hotline to Sky. There are a lot of Gardai using dodgy boxes according to posts on the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,605 ✭✭✭Allinall

That’s illegal and “Dodgy box” is just a generic name for what you’re doing.

Fine incoming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,329 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Got news for you, you are using a "dodgy box" too.

But the provider is a lovely guy, so no harm done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭NATLOR

What are you on about

There is nothing legitimate/legal about a loaded fire stick 🙄

So twas a jape. Not a very obvious one but fair enough.

Info 👉️ Important News!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

I remember years ago a friend of mines mother had one of those original dodgyboxes that you had to update the codes periodically. She used to get me to do it. She used to give out about it, "isn't it awful that they keep scrambling the signal like this"…I had to remind her that she was stealing it and make sure she didn't ring NTL to complain.

These IPTV loaded firesticks are so ubiquitous now that there's no doubt a similar attitude out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,553 ✭✭✭✭kippy

There is indeed. Every second person I know has one with various different sources.

The threats from sky or whomever to get names addresses and payment info from the guys who sell the services are just that. Empty threats. Even if they could hire enough people to process and arrange charging of the individuals involved I'd expect it would be a relatively difficult thing to actually prove. They may not be enough evidence in that alone for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

So if I have a legit sky sub and a IPTV sub I doubt sky can actually do me on anything. Not that I give a shite but technically I'm probably safe from getting fined 😀

Time is contagious, everybody's getting old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

Express VPN, I was disappointed when I read this article,

https://www.presstv.ir/Detail/2024/09/29/734182/VPNs-have-been-taken-over-by-former-Israeli-spies

My contract runs up around next September but I will be looking for alternatives.

The only way to combat piracy is to go back to physical media and even though it can be copied, the spread of copyrighted material would be massively reduced.

SKY had a good system of copyright protection of the digitally recorded material on their decoders but their IP streams are incredibly easy to find online and add to any firestick or android box.

Sky have not renewed their contract with SES who own Astra 28.2 which is due for decommission in 2029 and will be a catastrophic loss for SES on 28.2, it's said that if enough TV networks request extension then they might be able to keep it going another year or 2 but Astra 28.2 is fast reaching end of life so it's unlikely it's use will be extended and SES have no plans to launch another satellite to replace 28.2 so all sky subscribers will have to go IP only.

Some TV channels have gone off 28.2 already and switched to IP only.

I do wonder is it all good to have everything dependent on the internet ?

The music industry tried to come after the small guy in the U.S back in the late 90s and early 00s but lawyers told them to file for bankruptcy, the courts were awarding the music industry big sums of money normal people wouldn't be able to pay off in several decades so the music industry got feck all. So then they decided to go after the ISPs, that didn't work either. The music industry ended up with large legal bills for nothing.

Napster was one of the first illegal downloading platforms that was simple for ordinary people to use, but prior to that there was what was called "Warez" mostly found on IRC platforms, wow, that's taking me back a long time. But IRC was riddled with virus's and trojans too.

I remember you went into a chat room and, if I remember correctly, in the chat people would announce what software or music they had, forget videos at the time, the bandwidth wasn't there on dial up modems, you would look through the list that you received and then you typed out some command to receive that music or software. I forget exactly.

Then more and more HTTP sites appeared making it even easier to download music and software making IRC less useful.

After that and before torrent there was the usenet servers which had anything and everything you could want in music and movies at fast speeds but they were raided by the Germans some years back and I have no idea what usenet is like today.

Torrent use is exploding the last year or two because the content providers got greedy and wanted their own streaming platforms, people were happy to pay Netflix xx per month for everything but that has changed now and there are a lot of streaming services meaning people have to spend a lot of money to get everything.

I had Amazon prime and now that has changed , they will give you so many TV series episodes for example and then make you pay for the rest so I cancelled my subscription.

As long as the internet exists and as long as it's gets more complicated and expensive for people to access content they will get it through unofficial sources and the movie and music industry, the TV networks can't change that, the internet let the genie out of the bottle and it can't be put back without dramatic change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

The latest FACT and Sky meetings on what to do about dodgy boxes…..

7e50f07c-9b68-4a0f-a45b-07046d081279_1167x894.jpg