Republic of Ireland General Discussion Thread 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,584 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Wow Martin O Neill back in with Celtic on interim basis

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,581 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,471 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

It Doesn't matter if Ferguson is scoring for Ireland, if he isn't playing every week for his club then the Ireland goals will dry up as well.

Training With your club or 10 minutes game time once a week isn't enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭tigger123

I do wonder what Gasperini's are referring to regarding fitness and training. Is it the reoccurring injury, or lack of effort? I find it hard to think it could be the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,637 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

I don't think this "World star" and "generational talent" talk that Tony O'Donoghue was going on about recently is any help. He's a striker and he hasn't scored a club goal in 12 months. He was frozen out at Brighton and West Ham in that time and it looks like it's going the same way at Roma. Any club in a top 5 league where he could get 10 goals in a season would be an improvement from where he is now. Not Celtic, that would just kill off his career completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,119 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,779 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Is it too much to ask to just find one super player every 20 years? I suppose it is for us now.

When Ferguson was banging in goals for fun at 18 I have to say the potential was there and was hard not to get excited.

He has the talent. Just wonder is this injury going to stop him.

Still only just turned 21 though but he really needs get games.

So does half the Irish squad though also

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,563 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Presumably because that league is muck about wouldn’t convince any big club he has rediscovered any form.
    I know he’s 20, but he’s slowly running out of time to get back on track. I said on here before I hoped he wasn’t another Connolly, but that’s the way things are starting to play out unfortunately, 3 managers in a year not fancying you is a you problem and not the managers’ problem.

Players who exceed expectations in Scotland move south. It’s a diddy league but it’s star players still come out of there.

I don’t mind if he goes to the Dutch or Belgian league but Celtic probably is the likeliest destination and I don’t have a major problem with that anymore. He needs to change the mood music.

Connolly never scored once for Ireland, Ferguson has 7 competitive goals before his 21st birthday. It’s not that similar

Surely a wind up? They're 8 points behind in what has been a 1 horse league to a club with 25% of their wage bill with a 73 year old caretaker boss who hasn't worked in 6 years. Even the most hardcore of Celtic fans must know it would be a crap move for Evan Ferguson.

Gods honest truth I never considered the league position as a reason he wouldn’t go there…I don’t get why he’d be hung up on that. They’re second in the table, not bottom.

He needs a league where there are fluffer teams he can bag goals against.

Ya but he shouldn't go to a fluffer team which is what Celtic are at the minute. Struggling in the second tier European competition and struggling in the SPL. Even if he goes there, scores 20 goals, so what? Idah did it. Kyogo did it. Both are Championship players now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,145 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

and struggling Championship players at that… 1 goal between the pair of em in 19 combined Champ appearances.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Roma are below Celtic in the league phase of that second tier European competition. Why you think that matters or why he shouldn’t be there because of Celtic struggling but in the qualifying positions I haven’t a clue.

You thinking scoring 10 goals for Celtic from January on wouldn’t matter….i think that would be fantastic personally and how people try to think it wouldn’t I don’t know.

Post edited by Did you smash it on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,779 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Big night for women's team. To get back to League A would be serious achievement.

EVENFLOW

This surely has to be a wind up account but sure look I'll bite. A point, they're a point ahead of Roma and they're both -1 GD. Celtic would be a bad move same as Roma is turning out to be. Yes I absolutely believe scoring 10 goals for Celtic scored in places like Paisley and Livingston from January would not matter one jot to Fergusons career or prospects of a better move. I've already covered why with 2 clear examples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,931 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Or even worse he goes to Celtic and only scores 2/3 goals. Confidence would be shot then

if his next move is to the championship and he only scores 2/3 goals then his confidence would be shot, ditto the eredivisen.

your point is applicable no matter which second rate league he goes to so your point is kind of pointless with respect

I’m totally lost why you think I’m on a wind up.

Do you think there’s absolutely no chance he goes there?

I'd be ok with him going to somewhere like Celtic on a short term basis, like Jan until the summer. I'm not sure scoring goals there would particularly help his standing in the game - but it might be no harm for him to get into a rhythm of playing every game and scoring goals, just for himself.

He looks like he's playing with very little enthusiasm or excitement these days compared to when he burst on the scene. That might be the cumulative effect of injuries, in which case there's not much to be done, but it might be something mental too, in which case you want him to try to recapture that joy of playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,686 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Being in League A also gives you the chance to be seeded for the playoffs for the WC qualifiers. Given the ridiculous nature of how UEFA have now decided to run qualifiers for major tournaments you've basically got a NLs tournament every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,867 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

A move to Celtic would be a no brainer. He SHOULD be able to score in Scotland and wont have fierce competition to have a starting role at Celtic.

If he could string 15 - 20 appearances together and score maybe 8 - 10 goals it'd be a major boost to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭RoryMac

As a Celtic fan and with the toxicity around the club at the moment, I'm not sure a striker who hasn't scored a club goal in a year would get a heros welcome.

The pressure on him would be incredible and in a side that's failing to create chances, personally I think he should avoid like the plague

What would that prove? He's a championship level player like Kyogo and Idah? Or worse he doesn't score enough and the Paradise brigade turn on him. They've currently got the knives out for Johnny Kenny. His career would be in tatters. I see what the Portuguese league in particular does for young players and surely it's somewhere Ferguson should be looking to. Gyokores would have found it much harder had he stayed in England playing 46 league game a year with Coventry and Samu was shown the door at Atleti and he's currently lighting up for Porto, capped for Spain and interest from big clubs like Chelsea.

The right move is so important to a players career and after West Ham and now Roma, Celtic would be the final nail in the coffin. Tierney is probably the last young player they nurtured and that must be a decade ago.

Matt oriley, probably others aswell but I’m not a Celtic fan.

Portuguese league, yeah sure if any club has the slightest interest or if the deal makes financial sense to Brighton then maybe. Two big IFs.

Have people not payed attention to how bad going Celtic has been for Irish players over past few years. Yet see any Celtic fans happy with Celtic lads also lately.

If he wants win trophies but get lambasted week after week he be going right place.

EVENFLOW

Which club should Ferguson insist on going to that’s been good landing spot for Irish players?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,337 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

many irish players seem to have found their level at Preston North End over the years

Maybe that’s it. I’d like to hear this club where Irish players can achieve grace.

Sheffield United still looking for a McGoldrick replacement 😅

He probably needs a successful loan before getting any sort of half decent permanent transfer - but it's tricky, as anywhere that he's going to have competition he'll automatically be behind lads there permanently, as all things being equal everyone wants to favour their own asset. Needs a loan where he'll basically be head and shoulders the best guy, with no real risk to his playing time.