New thread as the last thread seems to be broken.
Or even worse he goes to Celtic and only scores 2/3 goals. Confidence would be shot then
This surely has to be a wind up account but sure look I'll bite. A point, they're a point ahead of Roma and they're both -1 GD. Celtic would be a bad move same as Roma is turning out to be. Yes I absolutely believe scoring 10 goals for Celtic scored in places like Paisley and Livingston from January would not matter one jot to Fergusons career or prospects of a better move. I've already covered why with 2 clear examples.
Big night for women's team. To get back to League A would be serious achievement.
Roma are below Celtic in the league phase of that second tier European competition. Why you think that matters or why he shouldn’t be there because of Celtic struggling but in the qualifying positions I haven’t a clue.
You thinking scoring 10 goals for Celtic from January on wouldn’t matter….i think that would be fantastic personally and how people try to think it wouldn’t I don’t know.
and struggling Championship players at that… 1 goal between the pair of em in 19 combined Champ appearances.
Ya but he shouldn't go to a fluffer team which is what Celtic are at the minute. Struggling in the second tier European competition and struggling in the SPL. Even if he goes there, scores 20 goals, so what? Idah did it. Kyogo did it. Both are Championship players now.
Gods honest truth I never considered the league position as a reason he wouldn’t go there…I don’t get why he’d be hung up on that. They’re second in the table, not bottom.
He needs a league where there are fluffer teams he can bag goals against.
Surely a wind up? They're 8 points behind in what has been a 1 horse league to a club with 25% of their wage bill with a 73 year old caretaker boss who hasn't worked in 6 years. Even the most hardcore of Celtic fans must know it would be a crap move for Evan Ferguson.
Players who exceed expectations in Scotland move south. It’s a diddy league but it’s star players still come out of there.
I don’t mind if he goes to the Dutch or Belgian league but Celtic probably is the likeliest destination and I don’t have a major problem with that anymore. He needs to change the mood music.
Connolly never scored once for Ireland, Ferguson has 7 competitive goals before his 21st birthday. It’s not that similar
Presumably because that league is muck about wouldn’t convince any big club he has rediscovered any form. I know he’s 20, but he’s slowly running out of time to get back on track. I said on here before I hoped he wasn’t another Connolly, but that’s the way things are starting to play out unfortunately, 3 managers in a year not fancying you is a you problem and not the managers’ problem.
Is it too much to ask to just find one super player every 20 years? I suppose it is for us now.
When Ferguson was banging in goals for fun at 18 I have to say the potential was there and was hard not to get excited.
He has the talent. Just wonder is this injury going to stop him.
Still only just turned 21 though but he really needs get games.
So does half the Irish squad though also
why would a move to Celtic kill his career?
I don't think this "World star" and "generational talent" talk that Tony O'Donoghue was going on about recently is any help. He's a striker and he hasn't scored a club goal in 12 months. He was frozen out at Brighton and West Ham in that time and it looks like it's going the same way at Roma. Any club in a top 5 league where he could get 10 goals in a season would be an improvement from where he is now. Not Celtic, that would just kill off his career completely.
I do wonder what Gasperini's are referring to regarding fitness and training. Is it the reoccurring injury, or lack of effort? I find it hard to think it could be the latter.
It Doesn't matter if Ferguson is scoring for Ireland, if he isn't playing every week for his club then the Ireland goals will dry up as well.
Training With your club or 10 minutes game time once a week isn't enough.
Petty man but he did give us sum good days
Wow Martin O Neill back in with Celtic on interim basis
Yup as long as he keeps scoring for us then I'm happy with that. Unfortunately I don't think that's going to be enough to ever get us to a tournament given the rest of the mediocrity that makes up our squad.
wingers who can cross and not just run aswell.
God some weird posts in here.
3 goals in 4 qualifiers is good going.
Ferguson should try and move to a club who play a front 2 or front 3 next though.
We desperately need find few lads with bit of steel and few CMs though
Few decent FBs would not go astray either
Overall though, our options upfront aren't bad - Ferguson, Parrott and Idah.
Idah is the oldest one at only 24. Add in Jonny Kenny now getting some game time with Celtic, and indeed Mason Melia, Noonan and others hopefully waiting in the wings.
The U17s WC is in a few weeks. The lads qualified as one of the four best placed runners up in the UEFA Euros qualifiers. With UEFA cutting the number of teams from 16 back to 8 for the Euros it's good that the numbers for the WC were extended so there's a back up option if they don't finish top of their group in qualification for the Euros.
I’m not sure anyone was touting Troy parrot to be a world star or if they were the lack of appearances for spurs and failed loan at millwall put an immediate stop to that.
Same was touted for Troy Parrott years back
Mason Melia could be the next one
merchandise, sponsorship and endorsement, tickets sales.
how does he qualify to be a world star? At the risk of stating the obvious, how any player in the world becomes a world star is by becoming one of the best players in the world. Ferguson is way off that obviously. It looked a possibility when he was scoring a premier league hat trick at 18. Looks a long way off now but Hes the only player we’ve got who ever looked like they could.
How is Ferguson being a world star going to be worth 'five million or so' a year? On what basis does he qualify as a 'world star'?
you’re right that there’s too much hype or expectation on him. You’re wrong that it’s irrelevant what he does for his club. The senior men’s team is the primary income stream in Irish football. A world star would be an enormous asset
And he's struggled to live up to it so far. He doesn't need more pressure on his shoulders with all the hype heaped on him already. Is he even 21 yet?
Its not club football. We need someone who's scoring goals, not someone selling shirts for some arbitrary figure plucked out of thin air. If he's scoring goals that get us points, he's worth more to us in real terms. What he does or doesn't do for clubs is irrelevant.
What world cup is this in a few weeks?