Gigs for 2025 - post your reviews here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 408 ✭✭Beagslife

Caught Mick Flannery and Susan O'Neil at Sligo Live last night. What a beautiful gig 😎

Have been to see Mick a couple of times, never experienced SON live.

Anyone at Vicar Street tonight, or getting to their gigs over the next few weeks are really in for a special night.

For me only minor dissapointment was gig not running for another song or two (came in at just under 90 mins), but I'm (very) old school on that!

Also bonus of having 3 members of the Fynches do a short support set. Very impressed and with their full band touring in the coming weeks, well worth a nosey.

1000013148.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 574 ✭✭✭TenPicnics

Thank you for that great news, am seeing them tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,712 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Yes it was very enjoyable, late start though 9.30, missed my bus as a result.

Hopefully Cork gets a few more big acts, I was at Wolf Alice, Tom Smith, and Feeder this year, 3 acts that normally wouldnt make it south of Dublin. All were thoroughly enjoyable gigs. Stereophonics, Duran Duran and Snow Patrol were also very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,325 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Seen Leen, an amazing Palestinian singer who was supporting the Donegal act, The Henry Girls, who were also amazing, a lovely blend of traditional songs and old time stuff with fiddle, accordion and whistle and harp at St Peters Church in Bandon, County Cork.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭TheDocMan

Lucky man. One of a few bands im hoping to see land here in next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,800 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Vicar Street last night, Mick Flannery (1st time seeing him) & Susan O'Neill (3rd time).

There's a chemistry between them that's incredible, a subtle flirting, or maybe not so subtle.
    In The Game is one of my favourite albums for that reason.
    A great gig, would go again.

The last song- their first time performing it in public-was a cover of Silver Springs- just amazing.
    I'd imagine it'd be a huge hit if recorded & released.

(Pity about the rude, noisy women behind me, but that's for another thread. )

It was a really special night in Vicar St. High quality support act in Valerie June, kind of psychedelic blues/folk/funk, would go out of my way to see her again. Mick and Susan and band were wonderful. Anyone going tonight will have a great time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,874 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

North Dublin band Fangclub played an excellent show in Whelan’s last night. Big crowd there too. Well done them!
    Also a great night on Friday in The Grand Social for The Deadlians - love this band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,148 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Was a pretty good night in the 3Arena last Wednesday for Megadeth and the controversial Disturbed

Megadeth played a banger of a set and didn't need any major stage gimmick to win anyone over. Will definitely love to see them again. 'Holy Wars' was the performance of the night

Disturbed we're very good but some of the props/stage effects got a bit tedious at times along with the weaker songs from 'The Sickness' album. The intermission a bit unusual for the type of gig but was what it was. Wished they played 'Prayer' instead of 'Bad Man'. The speech by David Draiman went on a bit

Wasn't as tense a gig as was predicted

Next gig (and final 'gig' of 2025) is Offspring supported by Simple Plan in the 3Arena on the 12th Nov

20251022_192022.jpg 20251022_194237.jpg 20251022_195920.jpg 20251022_204145.jpg 20251022_204418.jpg 20251022_204519.jpg 20251022_221141.jpg 20251022_221657.jpg 20251022_222834.jpg 20251022_224222.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,139 ✭✭✭dasdog

Gilla Band in the Workman's last night. Seeing them in such a small venue after the couple of thousand in the tent at In The Meadows during the Summer was great. I love every single explosive sound wave that band makes. I lapped it up and the crowd were great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,100 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Saw them in Connollys of Leap a few weekends back, they are always incredible but this run of intimate shows are special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,995 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Good to hear, I'm going tonight.

What was the support like? What were the stage times?

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

Enjoy Hotblack. Don't think there was support.

1000011171.jpg 1000011169.jpg

I could be wrong beacuse it was a night out that got messy and I was stopped by the gardai. Four pints after the gig in Cassidys wasn't such a great decision on top of a bunch of Big Bunny 6% IPA and bongs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,995 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Mind blown. Been a long time since I was stuck in a small room at deafening volume with 300 like minded nutcases 😀 hope it worked out ok for ya dasdog. Shure if I'm on the jury I won't convict 😉

Back home and sinking a cold Budvar at 23:20, I don't know I'm born 😀 I really really love city centre venues. Would have stuck around for a pint in town after but the Luas was off early tonight for engineering works.

20251026_222313.JPG 20251026_222045.JPG

Amazing how small the stage is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Were you driving after all that and got stopped? If you were, the other fkkheads giving you thanks/approval here need to cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,733 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,874 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Alcohol and cannabis - not good bedfellows. 😬

Hope you’re ok @dasdog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Couldn't really get into Ghostwoman in the Grand Social last night. Maybe it was overtiredness on my part or the considerable chatting going on but i thought the gig in the Cellar was far better.

…^……<…./?::;;:::@"! ((((((*))))))#=)))))~

Whiteouts. Wouldn’t wish them on my worst enemy. (FYI - They’re called greenouts in the US/Canada).

It was the rapid intake of IPA more than anything. Gig itself was really great but I wish I could take back the two hours after it. I can hoof bongs like Ricky from Trailer Park Boys but the strong IPA sometimes doesn't mix well. Woke up covered in blood to my shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭ergo

So this is my belated tuppence worth on seeing Counting Crows last Tuesday in The Point.

My background is as a 90's teenager "August and Everything After" soundtracked a lot - that and "Recovering the Satellites" - somehow had only seen them once before - at their (in my recollection) ill-fated Oxegen 2008 appearance - my memory of this is patchy as was middle of a 3 day session - but a quick google reveals at least one fairly awful video from that gig on a page titled "5 worst Oxegen performances"

anyway, back to Tuesday - I had never been to The Point in that format - small standing area, tiered seats around it and the upstairs balconies closed - standing ticket price was 80 all-in but I heard the seats were expensive, that and a Tuesday night gig meant I would say it was fairly poorly sold

the gig itself I thought was good - Adam's voice really good I thought - now maybe can't hit some of the high notes but not really noticable tbh - I thought the band were fairly tight - and while the setlist didn't 100% suit me (5 new songs but I was prepared as it has been essentially the same all tour - but also 5 off "August.." so that's ok) - this gig will encourage me to check out more of their stuff - Adam did have a sit down at times during some songs but at 60 I think that is fair enough

I'm not sure I would go again if they came back in a year or two (unless they were doing an "August and Everything After" tour) but I'm glad I saw them and wiped out that Oxegen 2008 memory!

I'd be curious to hear what others thought, especially those who've seen them many times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,229 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

How do the songs off August sound now?

I ask as I'm of the same era as you, still love that album. I remember a live album after Satellites where he says something like "we've finally learnt how to play these songs live" but then played versions that weren't for me. It's kind of put me off ever seeing them 🙈

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭Wooderson

If you puke the moniker changes from whitey to greener.

Hope you're ok dasdog.

Not into the gange myself but have to admit things have occasionally got out of hand on the falling down water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭fluke

I can't say I saw them this go 'round, but did indeed see them at Oxegen '08 and thought they were pretty bleh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 121 ✭✭crazyhorse

I went to see The Songs of Joni Mitchell in Galway last night. It was performed by Kate Stables of This is the Kit, Jesca Hoop and Lail Arad with piano accompaniment. It took a little while to warm up but was really enjoyable, especially after the interval. Kate Stables and Jessica Hoop were mesmerising. Great interpretations and they made the songs their own-a good few of which were new to me. A few of the songs featured all three artists on stage and the harmonies were magical. I'd recommend catching the show in Limerick tonight or Dublin tomorrow.

Post edited by crazyhorse on