Citywest protests, Garda van on fire **Mod Warning in OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,260 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

If the local residents want to peacefully protest about this why don't they use what has always been the traditional time and place to hold a protest march in Dublin ?

Saturday afternoon from the Garden of Remembrance down O'Connell St with speeches at the GPO or outside Govt Buildings etc.

You will get a bigger audience and more coverage and it would be a far better opportunity to make their case

Why do it outside a asylum centre at night ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,348 ✭✭✭creedp

The common denominator as to why these issues arise and repeat themselves is people, mainly the great and the good, the salt of the earth folk who unquestionably cheerlead Govt, religion, institutional policy irrespective of the damage it causes.
    Anyone who opposes is labelled and ridiculed and quickly shut down. There is only one game in town, hear no evil see no evil blah, blah. Rinse and repeat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭phonypony

Any decent person with an ounce of common sense wouldn't be caught dead around the Citywest Hotel, knowing full well that it is an act of intimidation towards its residents to gather outside IPAS accommodation. If you want to protest over government actions, do it at government buildings, not at this site along with all the other scumbags intent on causing chaos and intimidation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭dmakc

Where were the newspaper concerns when allahu akbar literally stabbed our gardai in the back?

There were indeed thugs present last night with an axe to grind with gardai / no care for victim, or at least the same care our government has, but the majority of people had no interest in violence. A bait garda van left for torching and the government got their "look over there" story for the week.

MM's political career was on life support 2 weeks ago and his statement literally said "we must focus on Gaza", they've been operating like this for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Timesheet

Nothing to write home about?

The numbers have been enormous, add to that the government is about to take an absolute shellacking in the presidential election.

For all the big talk of immigration online if the government collapsed in the morning a more stricter one is unlikely to be elected. Asylum numbers are going down and Jim OCallaghan is pushing hard with deportations. (Even deporting kids for God sake) The plan to end direct provision also seems to be going nowhere under this government.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod: A reminder, please read the OP for the mod warnings. Pointed warnings and bans will be applied for everyone from here on out who ignores the site rules on discussion of matters before the courts. Up to now we have been deleting or zero pointing most posts in breach but evidently posters don't seem to be getting the message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭pah

Scumbags outraged and involved in this are the same ones that wanted McGregor for president.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,007 ✭✭✭Feisar

Ah it's a fairly common tactic these days at protests, women and elderly to the front and then they can start shouting "shame".

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭ledwithhedwith

A bait garda van left for torching hahahahahahah get off the Internet, you are deep deep in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

How can people protest to the government about violence between partners.

Unless the ask is to make sure they don't live together to prevent it from happening then what would you be protesting?

You can certainly protest about someone who was issued a deportation order months ago allowed roam free to commit such an act, how many more are walking our streets that the government deem not genuine enough to be in the country.

That is something that you can protest against, not your silly scenario.

I would say there were a few scumbags in attendance last night, but I doubt everyone was.

People are fed up and these are only going to get worse.

I don't condone violence and unfortunately like with George Floyd there are far left and far right thugs who use these as an excuse to cause violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,365 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Every single person I have spoken to condemns this kind of needless and pointless violence .It brings nothing to change what is the huge issue for most thinking people . The same people are well aware of the problem non control of immigration brings. There are genuine immigrants who want to work and are working in health etc , there are genuine asylum seekers who are fleeing war and need our help .And then there are the free loaders and we all know that they are coming for our benefits . Now the huge problem is that the genuine people are getting less help , less comforts , less support because the Government choose to all the free loaders in which dilutes the help offered to genuine cases . The more come the less resources and help is available so our money is being spread far to thinly and the genuine asylum seekers are getting less and less supports .

Immigration has to be controlled , organised and facilities available .None of this is happening and its making people very angry ,. Yes I am angry at Government policy and would protest peacefully to make the Govenment aware .But I would not dare go to a public protest because of my fear that scum take over and loose complete sight of the real issue .

Our Gardai did not cause this glaring problem , the Government did and flinging bottles at Gardai is simply scum rioting to show off to their peers and for the sake of it .But the rest of us are silenced because of them and we cannot speak up without being called racist . We quite simply need control and we need a task force now to regulate the arrival and deal with it quickly and affectively . This problem is not going away and something needs to be done very quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,795 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,723 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

This all sounds like a failure of government . While I don't agree with vigilante justice it seems the government is weak and insipid .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,369 ✭✭✭threeball

TUSLA are a disgrace. They're more interested in doing the handy work like hassling school teachers and kids summer camps than actually doing real work protecting the most vulnerable people in their care. A shower of wasters pretending to be actively protecting children.

But you can't ignore the issue that immigration has become. Most people have no issue with anyone moving here to work and genuine refugees but in the last decade its turned into a free for all. Ironically the most anti immigration country, the US, started this ball rolling with their meddling in the middle east. Its now morphed into something entirely different.

Whilst its not an easy problem to solve there are a number of ways to limit the flow and certainly anyone involved in even minor crime who's not a citizen should be deported. Most people posting here will have spent their entire lives without coming to the attention of the guards. If you can come up on their radar after a few short weeks or months of arriving in a country then you're bad news and you're not going to contribute anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,976 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Worth pointing out that these are also the very same people who were delighted to have the support of Conor McGregor...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,795 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

A lot of them big into the Catholic Church aswell…….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Yep violent thugs given a cause by government policy and misinformation and left wing lunatics gaslighting normal citizens pushing government propoganda.

The best way to shut these up is to listen to the middle and implement policies that the majority of the country want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,723 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,730 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

It shows what the real agenda is. Words can mislead but actions are always truthful.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,862 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

That gave me a laugh actually in these dark times😀 imagining the tricolour brigade taking on the cause of a rare snail near a new road development or similar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,769 ✭✭✭crusd

Assistance is available for those with mental delusions. Please reach out to your local healthcare provider

Mod Edit: Warned for personal abuse

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭soverybored1878

I am willing to be my house that a lot of these lads throwing bricks and setting fire to Garda vans because of an alleged rape idolise Conor McGregor and will happily call Nikita Hand a liar and a slut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Packrat

Because as you well know, that type of protest achieves absolutely nothing.

State managed "protest" isn't actual protest.

Keep on the path you're on, gaslighting and labeling anyone who differs with your open borders utopia dream, and all that will happen is that last night's riotiong and thuggery will become more common. It'll just get worse.

Its in the gift of government to stop all this.. if they actually wanted to. But they don't. So it'll get worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,664 ✭✭✭Allinall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,586 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

A bait Garda van? Jaysus! That is some serious coping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭scottser

I put this whole mess down to a failure by the Gardai to call a baton charge early on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Plenty of middle class leftists and pro establishment bourgeois who currently benefit from the status quo labelling working class people as “dole scum” and “the dregs of society”. These are the same people who also labelled the water charge protestors as scum, happy to bend over and take the charges. Many of these same people would have denigrated the Easter Rising rebels in the exact same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,007 ✭✭✭Feisar

A baton charge is an indiscriminate blunt instrument and should never be used lightly. It is and should remain a last resort.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

These protests do nothing except give the scumbags something to do . I would bet that the majority of the troublemakers didnt even know what the protest was actually about, but just saw an opportunity to cause mayhem

What has destroying a gardai van got to do with protesting, what has trowing bottles got to do with protesting

Nights like last night does nothing except give the government a diversion

Lets talk about the damage that was caused and not the fact that the government yet again failed the people by not following up on a deportation order since earlier in the year, and that Tusla yet again failed to protect our children