Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

IMG_7063.jpeg

Some boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

1000016336.jpg

"Fester" will be a glorious comms video tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,211 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Interesting game to try and parse.

In this thread I literally predicted a United win today, so I'm certainly not overly shocked or surprised.

And it is a brilliant win to get, pushing Liverpool further into their funk is always a nice little treat.

But it has to be said, I disagree with basically every decision the manager made today. The line up, the subs, I thought they were the wrong calls at the time and Harry Maguire being left free in the box doesn't change that one little bit. If I play 7 2 in poker and win the hand, it still doesn't mean I was right to play 7 2.

No matter, he got the win. He got the two in a row and he beat Liverpool away.

So no more excuses, now they absolutely have to beat Brighton. Do that and we might be getting somewhere.

Lose to Brighton and this result is utterly wasted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭Cork29

No idea what you are on about. Sky sports graphics etc

lost the run of yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,874 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Having an actual goalkeeper for the first time since DDG left made a huge difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭MurDawg

Outside of the coty match weve looked good againt the top sides.

Thought we should have won the arsenal game, the fear of playing other top 6 is slowly going away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

Only decision I surprised with was the Sesko one but if you listen to what Amorim said and the way it panned out, he was proven right. Cunha set off nearly every attack in some shape or form.

Thought we were really good in the first half. Liverpool really struggled with us and bar the Gapko effort off the post I thought we were really comfortable and was if anything disappointed to be only 1 goal up.

Tired a bit in the second half and lost a bit of shape. I think we struggled to adjust to the amount of attackers Liverpool had on the pitch and probably should have been a bit braver. I'd have left Amad on personally.

I'll say this for the manager, he's sticking to his guns. He knew he would have been hammered on his team if it was a bad result but he backed himself and that's a hugely positive sign. It was one of ETH's biggest mistake in bucking to the pressure form the outside.

Think all 3 of our attacking signings this Summer have real quality. I really like the look of Sesko. I think we have a gem on our hands if we develop him.

Lammens thus far is making me feel very silly in my previous defence of Onana.

Nothing like beating them at Anfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,371 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Such a fan of Lammens already. Incredibly difficult fixture for only his second appearance but was faultless. He’s reminded me how much I took for granted DDG saving with his feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭FrankN1

Completely disagree. For once the subs were very good and his selection was proven right. Probably the best in game management he's done since he came in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,301 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

What a day!

So good to have a keeper who isn't a complete disaster. I'm not his biggest fan, but give that man an extra year on his contract, thanks Harry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

This is me and Amorim got it spot on today having us just launch it into their half.

FB_IMG_1760903866451.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,371 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

So 13 points after 8 games and in those 8 we've played all 4 of last seasons top 4 finishers.

Being realistic, when fixtures were announced, would anyone have fancied us to have many more points than we have, maybe around 15? So where we are at is about on par with preseason expectations.

With the exception of the Brentford and City matches where we were abysmal, we have played pretty well in most games and have deserved the wins we've gotten.

Lammens pulled out some decent stops today so that will give him alot of confidence. Was definitely a game of 2 halves for Cunha and he was immense in H2. Central midfield remains an issue but hopefully there is work ongoing to address that in January. Mount is a lovely footballer and critical to us playing at our best but there are still huge question marks over his ability to stay fit, time will tell I suppose.

Anyway, cracking win today and any time we can pile a bit more misery onto that lot is a good day. That the opening goal has (for them) a bit of controversy about it, coupled with a microwave barry winner, well it just makes things that little bit sweeter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

2 games in a row where our keeper did not make mistakes leading to a goal. It helps.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭scottser

Bruno's volleyed pass for Maguire's header was as sweet as you'll ever see. We will truly miss that when he's gone.

I cant tell if you mean Bruno or Harry but think it works for both tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

He played one lovely quick shortish pass through the press and then another medium one over the first line to a free player, watched the first half on my phone so can't remember the exact players involved but they stood out in my mind as quality passes for a keeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,901 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

If they just signed a keeper in the summer we’d be further up the table , and probably still in the EFL cup.

Great performance today , delighted with Lammens.

Delighted for Amorim and hopefully it is a true turning point, but time will only tell on that score. There's a chance now to go a run and be firmly in the top 4 by the end of November.

Cunha was exceptional today I thought, pure quality on the ball. Hadn't seen enough of him at Wolves to know what he was capable of. If today was anything to go by, he's going to be immense for us.

I'll never argue the Harry one with you, although he did get me off the couch, so fair play to him.

The front 3 call I think you have to defer to the manager on, it was the right call and worked well. Sesko was also good when he came on, but I think Amorim got it right on that score. Mount has been really good this season and this match was ideal for him to play at 10.

It's one reason to give Amorim more time tbh.

I don't think any manager could've gotten anything out of this team with Onana or Bayindir between the sticks. It's death to a defense and team as a while to have no confidence in your last line of defense. If he had've been sacked the higher ups had really hung him out to dry with the GK situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭scottser

I was actually referring to Bruno's pass but you're absolutely correct about Maguire - his redemption is now complete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,935 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

yep, i think he has the ability. iirc there were some nice mid range pings vs sunderland too.

I do think it is related to the specific aspects of the fixtures. Just hope we mix thiings up a bit more going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,211 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I just find it difficult to look at the likes of Dalot and Bruno and think that those were the right decisions. They were problems all game, and yes Bruno popped up with a great assist, but does that really negate everything that came before?

Gakpo brings his shooting boots today and everyone would be criticising those exact same decisions, so while the result is great, if the game was on again tomorrow I still wouldn't want Bruno in midfield or Yorro on the bench.

It isn't criticism for criticism's sake. The real benefit of a win like this is supposed to be momentum. You put the crap form in the rear view mirror and go out and start winning games regularly, you build on this.

But my concern pre-game was that they win this game and then screw up against Brighton, because the fundamentals still aren't right. And thats still my concern now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,887 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Managed to get a corporate invite today. Sitting on a very depressed Ryanair flight back to Dublin now - grinning away to myself 😂.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,935 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

would be on the same line as this.

I think the back 3 as a group is a poorly suited back 3, and gakpo should have taken advantage. I thought Ddalot was poor both directions all game, as he has been all season. His poor defensive players should ahve gifted Isak a goal tbh, and his lack of intention to get forward makes it easier for the opposition to attack AND makes it so difficult for us to attack.

Bruno can prodduce magic, but putting him in a dangerous spot in the hope he does it is, well, dangerous.

i think there are limited aspects of the actual style we can build on, the attitude and dedication sure. But it is a result that can get more buy in to the proejct from players andd fans, which can help us properly build.

At least he started Amad rwb, i do feel that is almost the most important selection he can make for our general style and intent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

The most childish comment I'll ever make....

It was great fun beating LLLLiverpool 😬

Night lads enjoy the bragging in work tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

Amorim out..worst start to a season ever..club in crisis all the headlines but had United beaten Brentford they'd be 3rd had they beat Fulham instead of drawing they'd be 2nd and had they got a draw as the performance deserved vs Arsenal they'd be joint top

All ifs and buts and maybes but a different perspective to the doom that is fed in the main sttream..fine margins

The faxt the Mbeumo goal is being made out to be some sort of refereeing controversy is hysterical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,225 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

So do we have any money for January?

Can't see us having the budget for a major midfield purchase. Plus if we do it'll be a Cas replacement rather than Bruno. I think he'll move on at the end of the season, hopefully for enough money to properly replace him.

But surely a solid LWB could be found? Dalot & Dorgu are both useful in that they can play either side but neither are good enough to be the answer. No need to keep 2 bilateral utility players so I'd shift one (probably Dalot) and bring in a left sided upgrade.