Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,623 ✭✭✭jmcc

It increasingly looks like Martin's fault. (A sort of King Lear situation.) He wanted to impose his candidate on the party. His candidate would serve a single term and then Martin himself would run in the next presidential election with Chambers having taken over from Martin as leader of FF. It was incredibly poor due diligence by FF.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,375 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Only because Sinn Fein couldn't even muster up a candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,468 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Aye, so you say, but haven't a notion whether it is the case.

FF will have to own their own calamity for all time I'm afraid.

The case is Sinn Fein couldn't find a candidate. No one in their ranks was popular enough.

It wasn't a good look for a party that says its ready for government.

Don't vote for them so.

I am delighted they got behind Connolly and win or lose, changed the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭liamtech

TBH, looking at Sinn Fein i see numerous candidates of real calibre. The question for me was whether or not to waste MLmcD or O Broin, or any of the others on a race to the Aras. Thats my view anyway. Id rather see MLmcD as Taoiseach, and O Broin as Minister for housing. Id rather have that left alligned coalition in government, with Lab and the Soc Dems

I think in retrospect it was a mistake to back Connolly, and perhaps for some of the other Lefty parties too. I would like to have seen more candidates, and perhaps another more moderate left winger as a nomination.

But we are where we are. Iv seen someone saying that we are doing a postmortem ahead of time; I think we more or less are doing so, because barring a total disaster within the CC camp, with 6 days to go i believe the result is clear.

I saw the general polls and it is more or less as expected. Sinn Fein are up, FF and FG are down. Labour is up by 2 points, which is good. But the fact that the Social Democrats are down is annoying, to me at least. I could theorize that individual Connolly gene-pool independents are up, within their specific constituencies, which for me is a bit worrying. Dont get me wrong, i would rather see the support go to such candidates, as opposed to FFG. But i feel the left need vote management, and we have seen this demonstrated numerous times in Ireland and elsewhere. UK Labour lost some seats to Gaza Protest candidates in their last general election. In some cases the protest candidates took the seat, but in other cases they simply split the left wing vote, handing easy wins to the Torys. Yes, its true that the FPTP system across the water is different to our transfer system. But we need effective vote-management on the left in ireland, if we want an alternative to FFG domination. Having too much choice between Lab, SocDem, SF, PbP, and independents on the left, will invariably lead to early eliminations. Just have to see where the Connolly alligned groups move as we approach more important election cycles down the road.

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,887 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

FF couldn't find a candidate.

FG just about found a candidate (and blocked others)

SF chose wisely not to field a candidate and yet will be on the winners podium more than likely.

Whatever way you spin it amongst the 3 main parties, SF come out on top by a big margin. Yates (FG) even said that SF are canvassing hard for Connolly on the ground. Fair play.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

The presidential election fiasco is damaging FF in todays poll. They are on 17%, while SF is up 5% to 27%. FG are around 18%. Aontú are on 3%. I didnt hear this part of the radio programme clearly, but they said either FF or Michael Martin's rating was down 11%.

Those who believe this means a left led government though should note that Independents (excluding Independent Ireland which is a political party on 2% in the polls) are on 17%. Independents tend not to align with the Left, especially being more rural.

FF have not run a candidate in a presidential campaign since 1997 (Mary McAleese was re elected by no other candidates getting on the ballot in 2004) and I think part of it is being out of practice.

Do we get another poll tonight?

Those who believe this means a left led government

I don't want my point misconstrued.

I don't say it 'means a Left led government', I mean a left alliance can offer a real challenge to the status quo. If it stays together it can further change the dynamic that SF's surge began.

Not unless the Sindo or SBP has decided to run a special poll.

Regards…jmcc

Personally I don't know anyone who makes the link between SF and Connolly.

Martin's approval rating is down 11%. FF is down 5%. This should have been an easy win for FF with Humphreys as the FG candidate. Instead, Martin tried to impose his mini-me candidate on the party instead of a proven FF candidate. A complete fiasco! FF should have won this election.

Regards…jmcc

Yea id like another poll. Interesting to see is there any changes in Gavin, and undecideds - unlikely to make a serious difference but still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,887 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

That's not an argument and does not challenge my point in a single way.

Have you a margin of error on your personal poll? 🤔😉

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

It's a bit complicated though, because 51% disagree that Martin should resign. That suggests to me that eventually some of the 11% will return before the next election. He has been there for 14 years though. The 2011 meltdown removed many potential rivals so the field was clear for him.

I said personally because I wanted to be clear that I am not claiming this to be some sort of national view or official polling.

The Irish Times Ipsos-B&A poll uses face to face polling. That's generally considered more accurate. Ireland Sindo/Ireland Thinks and SBP/RedC polls use panel based polling methodology. The last RedC poll was essentially two polls in one because its sampling period covered Gavin dropping out. A Sindo poll would resemble an SBP poll. You can check the Next Irish General Election page on Wikipedia to see how the panel based polls resemble each other. During the Covid lockdowns, B&A reverted to a panel based methodology and all three polls (B&A was polling for the Sunday Times) went into synch. When B&A switched back to f2f after the lockdowns, its results differed.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭thenuisance

It does occur to me that Gavin was the least bad on the landlord greed etc. front. FF and FG are so embedded in the property business that FF maybe viewed Gavin as being on the lesser end of the spectrum of their available candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

The alternative was Billy Kelleher. While he wouldn't have ended up dropping out, he wouldn't beat Connolly either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,483 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I'm not so sure. But we'll never know now.

Connolly was clever to get out first, that allowed the rest of the left to fall in behind her, even though on paper at least she's a weak candidate.

It gets back to the things going wrong simultaneously for FFG. McGuinness dropped out. Gavin dropped out. SF backed Connolly. The implications of SF backing Connolly seemed to have been ignored in the media coverage. The reason it is significant is because it created a combined Left and amplified Connolly's momentum. Without SF, Connolly would probably have plateaued around 17% (combined SocDem/PBP/Lab support).

Kelleher is a career politician and would have been much better than Gavin. He would also probably have been much better than Humphreys as he is a good media performer. SF probably did the right thing in waiting to make its decision in September. FFG wanted SF to run MLMcD as its candidate and that would have been a mistake as she is one of its best Dail performers and a very good campaigner. FFG would have had an easier time in the Dail without her. Given that FF is the larger party in the Dail, FF voters backing Kelleher would probably have put him ahead of Humphreys and he might have won on transfers from Humphreys. It could have been a very different election only for Martin's ego.

Regards…jmcc

A bit complicated is an understatement. There are party political and personal animosities at play. There is a kind of rally around the leader effect with party supporters and Martin's support is strongest among FF supporters (think it was 79%). From the noises over the past week, his departure date has been set and his successor has been chosen. It looks like O'Callaghan will be the next leader of FF. What is astounding is how badly FF screwed up in choosing (or being forced to choose) its candidate.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭rock22

Facilitating a left alliance might benefit SF, and the left in general, and that is a bigger prize for SF.

As you say, given the choice between Mary Lou as Taoiseach or as President, I think SF, and probably ML herself rightly choose the Taoiseach position. And a real left alliance, working together in the election might result in a real left government, the first in out history.

Sean Gallagher has endorsed Humphreys according to the Indo. He apparently wants his friends in FF to vote for her too.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,413 ✭✭✭corkie

Just mentioned on VM1 news, no more POLLS due out and their won't be an exit poll on the day either!

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." ~ George Santayana
    "But that's balanced out by the fact that it's a mandate not to do very much." ~ Prof. Eoin O'Malley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I don't agree with your assertion of SF and Connolly. Connolly hasn't so much gained from SF support but more by the absence of a SF candidate. SF backers would naturally have gravitated towards Connolly when the alternative is Humphreys. SF clearly had someone in mind (I think it was Jarlath Burns) and their candidate backed out last minute. Backing Connolly was not a gamechanger in any sense really

While Kelliher would have done better than Gavin, i don't think the polling at this stage would have him in the mix as the winner. Of course it would have been a different campaign so we are talking hypotheticals of course but the Connolly campaign would likely have been similar. Connolly is ahead because she is softly spoken and speaks with ease and fluency, gives an air of approachability and overall general niceness and likeability. She also doesn't really have a record to defend either. She just appears more presidential or statesmanlike. Kelliher, while being extremely self assured, would have struggled to land a blow on her or stand out in a way that would propel him above her

This contrasts with Humphreys campaign which is more rushed and lacks clear communication and because its found itself on the back foot since Gavins departure it has clearly been reaching to pull Connolly down. This has been done in such an obvious fashion that is actually damaged her instead.

A Steen, Connolly, McGuinness, Kelliher and Burns election would have been far more engaging than this though.

Is this confirmed!

Has to be a first really - i find it a bit shocking actually, especially there being no more polls between now and election day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,483 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Polls are expensive and unlikely to show anything new that would drive newspaper sales.

I can see logic of no exit poll, there's no complexity here so it should be obvious pretty quickly how the vote goes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,700 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Enoch burke was in Limerick today to interrupt Catherine Connolly at a Palestine rally. All he needs to do now is endorse Heather and connolly can pick the keys up