Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

She was very involved with the Green's Climate Change Plan which stopped recently

"The Minister raised the question of what the two managers in Galway said when the decision was made to quash the order. Galway County Council, Galway City Council and Transport Infrastructure Ireland, three main bodies to which we look to do transformative change, said they were disappointed to learn from An Bord Pleanála that it would not be opposing on a "very limited ground" the judicial review proceedings taken by the Friends of the Irish Environment challenging the board’s decision. I wish to pay tribute to the Friends of the Irish Environment, which, along with its legal team of solicitors and barristers, succeeded in getting the order quashed. On what ground was it quashed? It was quashed because An Bord Pleanála failed to consider climate action and the urgency - the géarchéim - attached to it. The local authority management in Galway and the NTA, to which we now look to bring in transformative action, tell us it was a "very limited ground". The purpose of my motion is not to highlight the narrowness of the vision of the management, but to highlight the need for the Government to take a hands-on approach in leading out transformative action. We cannot blame motorists or people on the ground when the policies are embedded in the Government’s policy of car dependency." - Cathrine Connolly

Friends of the Irish Environment are financed by the Dept of Commerce…

She has campaigned and campaigned against a bypass that here city desperately needs…She looks on their views as intellectually and morally inferior… She doesn't engage in knowing the other side…

The vast majority of people that want the bypass want it so the city can breath and we can put in the infrastructure for an expanding city increasing bike lanes, public transport and pedestrian areas… But Cathrine (and the Greens) can't stomach a road bridge, even though it will give them what they want…

The moral of the storey is that Cathrine Connolly doesn't have a history of governing for all the people, only the people that agree with her… Look at her comments on the bypass, there is no empathy…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Who was the ninny who gave her the job when she hadn't a word of Irish? Was it Leo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

HH is now as high as 6/1 with bookies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭ForestFire

On the whole Irish language debate, I still think as a whole it needs to be persevered and promoted in the correct way.

Does the mister for gaelteacht need Irish, I would say yes, or at the very least a passion to engage with it.

Does the President of Ireland need Irish, I would say no, not at all, it's not mandatory, but they also should be open to learning Irish and have even a few basic welcome phrases and other common words.

I mean they have all day up in the Phoenix park for a few lessons before their private chef has their breakfast ready

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,461 ✭✭✭✭road_high

everything Connolly says and does is driven by her far left, indeed dangerous ideology- there’s no middle ground or pragmatic approach or taking on board others views with her. I can only imagine the drivel with her blocking the Galway bypass- leftist ideology comes above the needs and concerns of many above all with her.
    Her campaign and slogan is a total fraud as she must certainly does not represent the majority of us who have no interest in this far left dogma and all its hypocrisy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,580 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

HH got her junior minister to do it. Joe McHugh.
    He put in great effort improving his Irish and subsequently wrote a book on it.Beidh Tú Alright: An Irish Language Journey

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,596 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Kenny initially, she had it for the 1916 centenary. Then Leo gave it to her again in 2017 (think the portfolio was slightly different)

If she'd taken that job without Irish but with the intention of learning it I'd say fair play brave move. But a decade later she seems unable to hold a basic conversation so I'm skeptical as to how much she actually learned - did she try? In the debate she mentioned leaving cert which was long before being a TD I haven't heard her talk about her steps to learn it on the job.

I do agree it's not mandatory for the role of President though highly desirable - but in the debate she's pledged again to learn it which I just don't get

Why will you learn it now but not back then? Will you actually do it this time? How will your learning be different? Who will pay for the lessons?

It's not outrageous not to speak Irish and run for President, but it's pretty outrageous to take the Gaeltacht portfolio, say you'll learn it, perform the job for years, and now say you can't speak it and will go off and learn it again

You're contradicting yourself now. You've said that the bypass was blocked by legal developments, not by political developments. You've also said it was blocked by Connolly.

Can you point to a single specific legal action blocking the bypass that Connolly was part of?

Because if not, your claim doesn't stand up.

I don't suppose you see the huge irony in building facilities for more cars and more driving so the 'city can breath'. If you want people to be able to breath, you need to stop thinking about cars;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭rdwight

The media have raised several issues (not smears by the way) with Connolly, some of which she has addressed poorly.

Given the media's supposed pro-FFG bias it's curious that the only candidate they succeeded in damaging was FF's.

Most of us rubes would have taken Connolly's statement in July that she funded the trip herself at face value. It would only have been political sophisticates (like Francie?) who might have known that it was actually we ourselves who were paying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,468 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Do you think Michael Martin uses all his own money when he goes to Israel to point at ceilings?

Politician uses expenses they are entitled to use isn’t really a story. Another attempt to smear went down in flames.

Actually one of the curious things about her trip to Yarmouk refugee camp is that she "thought  it would be a tented encampment". Life in refugee city-camps has been central to Palestinian experience since 1948. How could someone who claims to be engaged in the Palestinian issue have been so ignorant about the nature of these camps? Did she know so little about Palestinian history. Had she never heard of Jabalia, Ain al-Hilweh, Shatila etc. Did she not even google Yarmouk before she went there?

This kind of naivete seems to characterize at least some of Connolly's ideas. If she was that ignorant of what she would encounter in Syria it is no wonder she ended up in the company of Assad's political and military friends.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/presidential-election/catherine-connolly-responds-to-pictures-of-her-with-militia-leader-linked-to-war-crimes-in-syria-darragh-obrien-endorses-humphreys/a10757922.html

Post edited by rdwight on

No, but if I also wouldn't expect him to say he "funded it himself" if asked who paid.

I consider her July answer that "I funded it myself" to be less than forthright. Following up until clarified and subsequently questioning the evasiveness of the original answer is not smearing ; it's journalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Don't forget her previous statement that she didn't know who funded it. She has been telling porkies about the Syria trip for quite a while and it is getting into a significant amount of lies now.

What we know to date includes the following:

(1) She didn't know who funded it ……… she funded it herself (common meaning is out of her net income) ………. the taxpayer paid for it out of an allowance for research, not an allowance for travel.

(2) She was going there to meet Palestinians ……… she met a man who is charged with war crimes for torturing Palestinians

(3) She didn't meet anyone from the regime ………. she met people from the regime.

When she came back from this "fact-finding" mission, she called for sanctions to be lifted on Syria.

It is a bit like going to Gaza, meeting an IDF general, and coming back and saying that the Israelis are the good guys.

Great the way you folk can ignore context at will.

It went down in flames RD.

He doesn't claim to have paid for it himself. It is her lies that are the problem, as you have pointed out with reference to other politicians in the past.

The question was first asked in seeking to see if it was paid for by Assad regime supporters.

Context is everything.

I won't be voting for CC but I wouldn't be too worried about her getting elected.

I don't think she'll be any more obstreperous in the role than Higgins. She managed to stick to her job as Leas Ceann Comhairle (a strange role for a social justice worker and ideologue to seek). And if the stories of working on repossession cases as a barrister are true (has she denied them ?) it shows a willingness to toe the line in the interest of doing a job and perhaps ahead of principles (in a way, say the Dunnes Stores workers didn't).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,567 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

“Do you think Michael Martin uses all his own money when he goes to Israel to point at ceilings?”

Where has MM stated that he funded such trips himself?

Apparently CC “funds it herself” - or was she lying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,413 ✭✭✭corkie

Who funds your weekly grocery bill and electricity bills etc.? Do you do so yourself? Or just by the nature of getting a wage (or other methods) your employer! It is annoying question?

Edit: It would be a gotcha if it turned out a third party (someone connected to 'assad'?

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." ~ George Santayana
    "But that's balanced out by the fact that it's a mandate not to do very much." ~ Prof. Eoin O'Malley

Yes using the expenses she is entitled to.

As gotchas go, that one was painful to watch as it nosedived

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,316 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

She could have easily said that it was paid using expenses rather than disingenuously claiming she paid for it herself.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

We both know that isn’t how 99% of normal people would interpret “I funded it myself”- the lengths you go to defend the indefensible are simply laughable at this point

It had no real relevance to the original answer. Which was a question probing if it had been paid for by pro Assad elements.

The gotcha was weak and died a death.

It hasn’t died as a story. Connolly is still being asked questions on her Syria trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,086 ✭✭✭Homelander

I think her "fact finding" mission was based on an automatic assumption that the colonialist imperialist west were lying about what was happening in Syria and that Assad was a murderous dictator.

She can't even look at the Russia-Ukraine war without talking about European "military industrial complexes" as if it wasn't a completely sane, logical and correct action for a completely demilitarised Europe to take in light of Russian warmongering.

It's all well and good saying she's repeatedly condemned Russia's invasion of Ukraine but she cannot do that without talking about European rearmament as if it's happening in a total vaccum, or "NATO warmongering" even though countries want to be in NATO as a direct deterrence to Russian warmongering and aggression.

Waxing about how the money would be better spent on social endeavors is insanely illogical. One of the worlds biggest militaries is engaged in a genocidal war on the borders of Europe at the behest of a brutal dicator, but there's no need at all for Europe to invest in defense after decades of total demilitarisation to an almost point of non-fuctionality?

She's a fine speaker on most if not all topics save for that, but I do not want someone of that illogical mindset representing this country on the international stage and I'm amazed many of her supporters gloss over it like it's no big deal.

Yes, still flogging that one.

The funding aspect is dead, not even Humphreys, is interested in it.