If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Downtown123

The old phrase - “a broken clock tells the right time twice a day “ comes to mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,063 ✭✭✭visatorro

Big cash investment or capital investment?

As someone said before only thing you need a partner for is dancing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭green daries

Liquidity.... to be fair the lads who set it up had built a serious yard and paddock infrastructure etc much better place than my own and even some of there's. I'd say they underestimated the setup and running costs for first few years... and staffing issues ..... couple of the original lads would not be easy deal with yewdairy would know all about them couple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,412 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Pretty horrific stuff, his co-op are still obviously collecting his milk/he's bord bia approved https://www.farmersjournal.ie/amp/news/news/up-to-500-calves-died-on-roscommon-farm-since-2023-court-hears-889874

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭green daries

I think there was no collection of milk there for quite a while. It has taken a really long time for that place to come to a head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,026 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Bord Bia have been stretching credability on many fronts for so many years now, their branding is pretty worthless at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭older by the day

In fairness we don't have a clue, I don't think any auditor would ever pass this type of going on. I would doubt he was approved the last few years.

Imagine all the blue knackery dockets stuck into his board bia book OMG. Not a hope.

Sounds like a case of someone that bit off more than he could chew. His address is mayo, so was he even living there.

It's sad, to see anything like this. To think of the effort we put in to try and keep the life in our animals.

We have too wonder, is farming going down the New Zealand route and would farmers be able to cope with the big numbers. Or will there be still a place for the 50 to 70 cow, one man band type

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,277 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

That's mad. Yet still allowed to farm ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 captain hadley

Is that the same guy who used to be paraded in the journal and was a Nuffield scholar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭tractorporn

The one and the same, he would be a neighbor of the 10 member co-op over there as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 mike3215

Shouldn't be let have stock people like that. It's an awful long way from zero or even 20 to 500 calves dead. Surely something should have been flagged in the interim before such a level of losses was let continue. Damning on both the department of agriculture and bord bia that it was let escalate to that stage

Is he still milking away, you'd imagen he would want to be getting his affairs in order and selling out if hes still allowed to move his animals off-farm, he'll do well to avoid a prison sentance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭yewdairy

What happened on that farm is a disgrace and should have been sorted a lot sooner than it was.

The department will torture genuine farmers over small issues and on the other hand take years to sort on these types of farms.

Bord bia are the same no spine to root out the really bad apples, I don't know what milk supply situation is on farm at the moment but if it got passed sdas during those periods when a lot of stock were dieing serious questions would have to be asked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭straight

What A phucking hero. And he representing himself and he can't see any issue. A disgrace and an embarrassment to our industry.

He's not representative of the vast majority of farmers in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,277 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I was pulled up a few years ago for calf deaths, by bord bia, now it was minimal, about 6 calves between born dead and crypto etc. I write down why each calf dies, so there's a record. Thought it was very harsh tbh. Then you read the above

When you dig into it, he has other milking units, a cute hoor thinking out loud probably made sure one of the farms was above board all the time, and if the other one was suspend milk collection simply cart over the milk from that farm to the compliant farm

His legal team pulled the pin on representing him our vice versa, was a delaying tactic probably as it delayed court proceedings by a few months, the mental health card is the only avenue he has to explain any of this but he actually seems to think he is not guilty

When you tease out this case on chat gpt, the department of agriculture should of shut down his operations, their in theroy should be a case taken against the department after this case is concluded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

just googled the farmer in question…. oh dear oh dear.. a one time poster boy it appears… does anyone the full full story… everyone can have a bad year with calves. i would say it happens to everyone once in there life.. but there must be more to this story..

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

300 calves dead in 2023 but the inspector gave him a chance to see if 2024 would be better!

How many died in 2022 and previous years?

I wonder if the inspector was getting much support from his boss in the Dept? In my experience, middle management in the public sector want these problems to go away and not land on their desk.

Reflects very badly on the Dept anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,858 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Doesnt he have another farm down in Clare?

You'd think with such large numbers of deaths there'd be at least monthly inspections to make sure things were improving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,694 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

he was booted off that farm I think. But is milking on 2 others. From what I remember of his Ifj days and when he was suckler farming he did a great job at them. I don’t know how someone change change so dramatically

Unless you have plenty of good quality labour available in cases like the above for the spring , thats usually what happens, milk out the gate is all that concerns operations like that calves are a by-product...

Isnt the 500 cow block rented too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 mike3215

Labour or no Labour you'd feed a lot of calves in an hour. There's no excuse for that. Even if it meant staying on himself from 7 to 9 in the evenings to lash milk into them and a clean bed its not abhorrent. Especially compared to what was let happen

Have you ever had to face in to the above numberswise, got caught before in a job 700 cows middle of calving by myself and two other staff that where just making up the numbers farm manager/assitant manager and calf rearer all mamaged to break arms/sprain ankles in a two week period, you burn out physically and mentally very quickly

If a ngo want, they will have a very strong case to destroy the crediability of Irish dairying, probably already in the pipeline, department f**ded up royally here if this case gets to a european court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭yewdairy

The farm is owned by a large quarry company, originally was 700 acres, but has lost land to strokestown bypass. The quarry is right beside the farm. It was widely advertised when it was up for rent.

There was wintering facilities for a lot of dry stock around 500. But those sheds are at the corner of the farm. The farm is very hilly so cows would be doing a lot of walking. I think a rotary has been built but not certain of that.

once things go wrong at that scale, the problems will exponentially increase.

Most likely just full of sh1t. All talk an nothing to back it up like the rest of his cohort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,063 ✭✭✭visatorro

Happened a neighbour of mine during covid. Left on his own during calving and had tb at the time aswell. Got through it barely but he had a health problems after and he'd tell you he didn't feel right for a couple of years after it.

Feeding cows and calves can work around off farm stuff here. I dont mind tipping around later in the evening when things are busy. Wouldn't have near the numbers in case mentioned. I haven't read article and only know what's being said here, but would it be fair to say that its the worst case scenario for someone depending on multiple labour units?. Not defending it at all and if dept came in here they'd throw the book at me. Just shows some people are more equal than others.

Plenty good "simple" advice for lads from him here. These lads are just charlatans. I've been saying it for years. I'd say the media and others should share some of the guilt for encouraging the bollix.

https://share.google/iQo2PNauK4kJgRSwz