Plans for The Inbetweeners to return

• 13-10-2025 02:54PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭

Damon Beesley and Iain Morris have signed the distribution deal with Banijay International which seems like the first step being taken for another Inbetweeners film or maybe even a new TV show. I would say a film is the most likely outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,461 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Where are they now ? Who are they with ?

What jobs do they do ?

That sort of thing, maybe a knock off "Cold Feet" vibe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭its_steve116

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Apple Dumpling

They are all bus wank3rs now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,558 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I'm roughly the same age as them.

Simon is married to somebody like his mother but he's happy.

Jay's still bragging about his conquests and is on his 2nd marriage.

Neils had managed to wiggle into a good enough job such as a PE teacher.

Will is either married to a model and is succeful or lives with his mother and Mr Gilbert.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 26,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

The lifeboat has set sail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,878 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Im in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

I’m not against the idea but possibly sceptical. A stag trip makes sense to get them back together. Also bring in a couple of other characters that they’ve picked up along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

The TV show was basically perfect, they should have just left it there.

I only saw the first film and didn't think it was great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,780 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I enjoyed the first film. Sure, was a bit stupid that the four guys just coincidentally meet four women who are all pretty much perfect for them, but overall it was fine and had some great laughs in it.

Second film just really didn't work at all.

I'm not opposed to some sort of revival because I think enough time has passed that you can do something new with how different the characters may be now and get something relatively new out of it. You'll never recapture the magic of what the original show was, but I think they could probably make something decent enough.

I loved the waterslide scene in the second movie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,878 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Yeah I brought my teen nephews and we did laugh a lot there 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,451 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

Weren't the movies shít? Sounds like just an attempt at a cash grab by a few actors with nothing else on the horizon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,305 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

I'd trust the original writers to only do what's right for their creations. I'd usually be against a nostalgia-fest comeback BUT I think the writing was so sharp that you'd just have to trust them to still have the magic.

Hopefully they avoid the wall-to-wall cheap laughs and actually mix the cheap laughs with some creative directions for those well loved characters.

The 💩 was the highlight of the second movie for a couple of posters 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Hasbaralies

I will watch that

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 26,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Yer man who played Jay made him self a millionaire from doing cameos on the app. He gets paid to call his fans bus ****. What a job.

The lifeboat has set sail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,780 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Also does a pretty successful podcast with his wife, and he's actually started a new podcast with Joe Thomas (Simon) now too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 RossNolan

The first movie was pretty good and really captured the 'lads on holiday' vibe and that weird rootlessness you have been school and college. I think it served as a good grand finale.

The second movie was pretty shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Acosta

With a good enough idea, a new series would be better. Wouldn't be too bothered about another movie. I got about 15 minutes into the second movie, before turning it off.

James Buckley:

"I know as much as everyone else. I know that the production company have got back the rights to do something with the Inbetweeners, and that's all I know. I'm waiting to find out along with everyone else. I mean it's exciting that people are talking about it. I love that people are still excited that there could be more Inbetweeners, but nothing's happened officially at all whatsoever. It would definitely be something that I'd think about."

"I'd also read that I'd signed a big money deal, but I checked the bank account, nothing there."