Republic of Ireland General Discussion Thread 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,494 ✭✭✭Guffy

Shite at football, overrated in rugby. O to be Irish.

At least we can cheer for Liverpool next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭csirl

We didnt have any meaningful attacks. Our only forward didnt even stay upfield to keep the defence honest or chase a long clearance when we were defending.

Its hard to keep any good team from scoring even when youve 11 behind the ball.....and most likely to leak a goal late in the game when players are tired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

You absolutely do know why I posted it.

Lots of people complaining about the state of Irish football and acting like if we just had a functioning football association, things would be grand. It’s more then that , people need to support local clubs (not just LOI ones) and insist on more grants etc. there’s nothing that gets a politicians attention like something that’s popular, the popularity and attention around Liverpool and man united does nothing to help our children get a decent infrastructure to actually compete.

Pretend all you want but it is part of the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,783 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I said that about Obafemi years ago, calling him a headless chicken who didn’t know how to use his attributes. No football brains. When he was much younger. Predicted he would go down levels at clubs. I was jumped on here as some viewed Obafemi as the Messiah of Irish football.

As far as I see there is only one player with real drive and energy that Ireland has in attack. That is Ogbene. Ferguson just seems like a “nice lad” has no drive or fire in him.
    In my mind the Irish team are like son in laws any father would be proud his daughter brought home. But there is no fire or determination there, just meek quiet individuals. Unless you include Coleman an auld defender but he would be out to grass in any other era. I don’t know how you make a team out of lads that look like they are going to cry in post match interviews.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,164 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

No, you're generalising about the World Cups.

1987 QF: Australia far superior team.

1991: As above.

1995: France far superior.

1999: Poor Irish team didn't make quarters.

2003: France much superior.

2007, 2011 we should have done better. 2015 lost 6 key players to injury and suspension. 2019 we were poor all year. Ranking had slipped down lost to NZ. 2023 a 50/50 game.

The World Cups are not the gotcha you think. Mostly we weren't good enough. All teams go out to win the 6N. Like England in 2003 when they won the World Cup. The Grand Slam and Championship is a huge deal.

I think, and it wasn't you to start, that any poster bringing rugby into the Irish soccer team thread is petty, insecure and irrelevant posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Deleted

All work no play

But thanks for confirming your sport was Gaelic football.

A fine fine game when it's good.

I'd say it was hard to play County and top level soccer too...

In fact I'd say it didn't happen

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,580 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

We had 4 extra players on the pitch? Should have done better so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,785 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Some amount of excuses there.

In simple terms they were simply 2nd best.

EVENFLOW

European Champions 3 times in 8 years. Series winners in SA and New Zealand.

Our football team were beaten by a team not in the top 100 ranked teams.

You brought up the comparison and you're being schooled left, right and centre. Maybe leave it so. We're shite at football, very good at rugby in 2025.

Screenshot_20251011_220304_Chrome.jpg

Facts. Facts.

There's second best and not having the ability to raise a gallop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

It was only luck that got us to USA ‘94, Denmark must have been still on the Carlsberg as they started their qualifying campaign with three 0-0 draws, Latvia, Lithuania and us. That cost them a place at the USA World Cup in the end. The goal that Spain got v Denmark that allowed us to get in the back door should never have been allowed, we couldn’t even beat a mediocre N Ireland on the same night.
    Spain humiliated us at home also. We only picked up 3 points out of a possible 8 in the four matches v Spain and Denmark. We weren’t that good really. As I said Denmark blew it.

The team peaked around Euro 92, unlucky not to make that. I referred to Autumn 92 away which was good.

We declined on the back end of WC 94 qualification. But we were still light years ahead of now.

That fact seems to really upset people. I, like all genuine Irish people, want us to be better. But we're as low as we ever were now.

Something has to change. Some trying to bring rugby into it, crazy stuff.

Over and out on this, same arguments ad nauseum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,785 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

"I am being schooled"

Im not making pathetic excuses for failure of a 8 team sport to beyond that even if "European champions"

EVENFLOW

You must missed post where I said we deserved lose by 3 or 4 and were were brutal.

But hey your :schooling me" dude.

EVENFLOW

We had perfect good goal ruled out against Spain. Aldridge was 3 yards onside.

In that case we would Denmark would topped group and we have still got second so no we were not "lucky"

EVENFLOW

True, that’s why Spain play in Seville. Denmark robbed there too when Schmeichal was clearly fouled for the goal. Two draws in Seville and Belfast on that infamous night and we were out. Ironically biased refereeing in Seville saved us in the end.
    My main point was how Denmark weren’t prepared mentally for the start of WC ‘94 qualifying with two 0-0 draws in Latvia and Lithuania, it’s not what you’d expect from the Euro Champions. It cost them dearly not preparing for those two matches.
    I can’t remember us beating many of the big nations in Dublin under Jack, they all ended in draws from what I can remember. I do remember two 1-0 wins v Spain and Portugal, both matches decided with own goals.
    They say you make your own luck and Big Jack certainly had the Midas touch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,411 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Anyway. Do yous think we'll win on Tuesday? At least if we do and Hungary lose we're still in it somewhat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

If we win and Portugal beat them by two goals, we still have a chance.

Portugal will have guaranteed top of the group when they come to Dublin so we might get a result.

If Hungary draw in Armenia, then a draw in Hungary might do us.

You never know what we will do.

The reason I was annoyed with a poster last night was that we did everything that was right last in the terms of effort. We were never taking Portugal on. We needed a game plan and to work not as hard as our opposition but harder. I was bitterly disappointed that they came so close but folks on here just wanted to tell us all how sh*t we are.

I was highly critical of the team away to Armenia due to the lack of intensity, work rate and resilience. Its was an awful performance.

I hope we don't suffer after putting in that shift last night to another flat performance.

Let's be honest we would all love to have a competitive national team to get behind.

I'm going with a positive result on Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

Last night was a decent performance, particularly the first half.

Second half not as good.

If Portugal beat Hungary by two goals and we beat Armenia, then we're still in it.

It's the hope that kills you.

I don't think we will win on Tuesday myself.

I actually think Arnenia will fancy getting a win never mind a draw. Brave man to back Ireland odds on in it.

Can see 0-0 or 1-1

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,744 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

That Euros win was a bit mad. They were not even good enough to qualify for Euro 92 so in a way not qualifying for 94 wouldn't have been a shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Ozvaldo

We are definitely the worst team in the group sad to say but we are.

Back to that ref he was a 12th player for Portugal he reffed Spurs Europa league game and got things wrong there aswell .

That's fair enough and in fairness they are valid points.

I suppose all im saying is that if your going on about goals that should not have stood and should than our perfect goal (and it wasn't even close offside he was miles on. He was still on when ball was halfway through to him) then we would have come second in group still as Denmark would have topped the Group but Ireland would have still got second with Spain third.

The lucky team was Spain and not Ireland if we are going on your basis.

That was a very good Denmark team but one who got a massive break in that they should not have been in Euros in first place. But to their credit they could not have taken any better advantage of it.

EVENFLOW

We should win, I don’t they’ll cope with our aerial threat …. not with that keeper anyway. They’ll pack their defence so long balls over the top is our best option. I just want us to get an early goal so they don’t grow in confidence as we become increasingly frustrated.

Yes Kew it was a good Denmark side but they thought they just had to turn up v Latvia and Lithuania in their two openers, their arrogance was their downfall and they got what they deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,156 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I think so too. The team's gonna need a refresh to keep the energy up, so I think a lot will come down to how lads like Azaz, Smallbone, and Parrott perform if they (as i hope) come into the lineup.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

I think Aziz has started next night. He only play who had any bit of creative football in him. No he is not Kevin de Bruyne levels all im saying is he is only player who can possibly create a chance.

We more likely have score twice to win on Tuesday and thats a concern.

If we do win and Portugal win we are still in it. Although I think its very unlikely. Huge damage was done in Yevan.

EVENFLOW