Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,471 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

It's poor defending like this that won't show up in missed tackle stats. -not criticising the blocked kick that led to it. I don't blame him for trying the kick.

I think he has no interest in attempting to make contact with the player running towards him.

I think he takes a change in direction as an excuse to avoid contact. This is an example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,539 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

That's not an example at all. He gets side stepped by a player then readjusts to track back and actually make a tackle. You can even see in that video that he was swerved around.

Lads at the very least you can try and make a cogent argument without the need to invent things or confirm your biases.

Really? Do you see a man who really wants to make a tackle?

If you do, then it's genuinely fascinating how we can see such different things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,682 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

The video you posted disproves whatever argument you were making. He tracked across to make the tackle, planted his feet and was ran around. The biggest error he makes in that sequence, besides the kick, was not anticipating where the contact area would be. It's absolutely bad decision making all round.

But saying he's actively avoiding contact is ludicrous. And it certainly is not evident on the face of this video.

Swerved, side-stepped, ill adjusted. It's all the same. He failed to make a tackle and deserves to be criticised for it.

But I find it incredible that anyone can look at it and say he actively avoided contact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,299 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

I’m struggling to see what’s so bad there. He could have done better but it’s hardly damning and there are plenty of worse examples of Prendergast missing tackles.

But also, that’s the only video that “John McGrath” has ever posted. Clearly he’s very exercised by a pretty nondescript passage of play.

I’m just not sure why the Prendergast debate has to be so vindictive and nasty.

Fair enough. I've no intention of getting into pages of trench warfare about it.

BTW you acknowledged one of the points I was making about putting himself out of a position to make any kind of tackle.

I think it's really interesting that we can see the same clip and come away with such different interpretations.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,292 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Sure even when he made a last ditch tap tackle against Australia some people claimed it was illegal because he was on the ground.

He's a poor tackler, especially for such a tall player. But i don't think videos of him making a tackle is evidence that he doesn't want contact.

Of course he's not in a position to make a tackle. It's because he over runs it. That's bad defence. What it isn't is some great machination in the mind of Prendergast to avoid contact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,342 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Fwiw, I actually pulled the Scottish data together that was being requested (Townsend is indeed one of Farrell's peers). To try add some context, and not just straight totals for every game, due to very different fixture lists, I've filtered out the following games:

• For Ireland: Georgia & Portugal
    • For Scotland: Canada, Chile, Maori All Blacks, Portugal, USA and Uruguay

So new caps since the RWC, excluding the above games, have gotten the following:

Team

New Caps

Total Caps

Minutes

Games

% of Mins available

Ireland

6%

Scotland

9%

So Scotland have given more minutes in fewer games. Everything so far has just reinforced what my initial perception was.

It's a fair bit of work, but if there's any interest, I'll try pull the full data set together for everyone and exclude all those lower ranked teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,682 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

you're gonna love all the new November data

You're accepting half of my point. I'll take that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

You're point is SP intentionally avoids making a tackle, which unless you are a clairvoyant is ludicrous.

What is certain is he missed the tackle, we can all agree on that.

Yeah, i also said poor defending like that won't show up in missed tackle stats. I'm not doing pages and pages arguing about it.

We just have different opinions on the clip

There's differing opinions on things and there's alleging a player purposefully missed a tackle because he didn't want to take contact. You can't say same and expect to not generate a debate on that.

Sure I can. I'm not going to do the pages and pages of absolute guff that's come before this.

There's no need to be cross that someone thinks something different from you. You could, just accept it. Or argue about it on your own, I don't mind.

Feel free to have the last word and we'll end it there.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,284 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

You can look at the Glasgow game from last year's CC and see him do the same thing 3-4 times. He's well experienced enough to know how to position himself in defence yet he repeatedly runs out past the ball carrier making no attempt to put his body in the way.

Sorry, but no. You posted about being able to read a players mind and are now running away from what you've started.

It's not being "cross" or whatever you want to think. You're being asked to show how you know he's purposefully avoiding contact.

You can also look at the rubbish you posted last week about Prendergast running away from Willie Le Roux when he tried to make a try saving tackle. You were called out on it and had no response.

There's accepting that Prendergast needs to improve his tackling/defence and there's whatever the jaysus is happening in multiple threads now. The level of fantasy posting about Prendergast's defensive frailties really needs to stop. He's a bad tackler. You don't need to invent scenarios to further your agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭clsmooth

I think everyone knows he’s a poor tackler and it’s something that he needs to hugely improve. Luckily he has time. He’s got to get on with it himself. It won’t change overnight so anyone who was expecting a sudden change in the last 3 months is deluded or using it as a stick to beat him with.

It’s a crucial part of the game and a reason why someone like ROG will never be seen as an elite fly half by people outside of this country and why he never got selected as a starting 10 for the Lions. Luckily he had no competition for Ireland in that time. Prendergast doesn’t have that luxury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

While O'Gara might have been a poor tackler he always made an attempt to make the hit and stood his ground. I can remember Heaslip running over the top of him in an interpro for that very reason. He wasn't strong or physical but he was brave.

The ‘ROG wasn’t a great defender but he was brave’ is one of the great myths of Irish rugby. A player picking out a weak defender and going straight at him doesn’t make that defender brave.

ROG had many talents on the pitch but physical bravery wasn’t one. Going in for a poach when you’re going to get cleared out of it is a better example of bravery than being a speed bump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,672 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

not shirking the tackle attempt shows a bit of bravery though to be fair

i agree that SP gets a fairly unfair amount of flak regarding his defensive abilities (or lack thereof) and it generally verges into hyperbole, but its definitely not an outrageous opinion to think he didnt want to tackle senatla in that video - maybe he thought he had better cover on his inside and pushing hard to the outside would force the attacker back into them, but it also doesnt look out of the question that didnt want the contact.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,284 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

'called out'… the state of you. You disagree, move on.

Again this ROG was brave narrative is fabricated nonsense. If someone is ran over repeatedly throughout their career because they’re being targeted, they’re not brave.

Does anyone call Mike Catt brave for getting run over by Lomu in 1995? Has anyone ever heard anyone from any other country call ROG brave? He’s hardly up there with the likes of Wayne Shelford, Martin Johnson, BOD and Richie McCaw for putting his body on the line for the team.

SP needs to sort his tackling out and not be getting praised with this ‘he couldn’t tackle but sure wasn’t he brave’ rubbish in 20 years time. If he keeps going like he is, he will which would be a shame as he’s got huge talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭daithi7

Didn't Rog start for the Lions in a test in 2009!?

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,292 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

No, Stephen Jones started all 3.

ROG 13 minutes from the bench over the 3 games

This isn't a disagreement. There's actual video evidence that disproved your claims.

The whole situation is incredibly tiring. Just yesterday we had someone on here claiming to be a psychic and knowing Prendergast didn't want to make a tackle. That's utterly crazy.

There are enough legitimate criticisms to make about his game. Nobody needs to lie and invent fictional scenarios in their own heads to make him seem worse.

On to actual Ireland discussion. Jamie Osborne had a great game yesterday evening. He's a big enough talent that you could put him at 12, 13 or 15 and he'll give you a good performance.

He was at fullback tonight. Covered the backfield well, was solid under the high ball, scored a try and showed great hands to set up Deegans try. He'll be Ireland's starting fullback this November.

His best position is at 12 though. He's a big fella and has the speed and power over 5m to get beyond the gain line, and the handling ability to offload in the tackle to keep attacks going. That's exactly what you want from your inside centre.

My only concern surrounding Osborne is that he doesn't have a fixed position yet. Now is when he should be playing one position to further his development. Out of Ireland's new generation of backs I think he's the most talented and has the most potential. Moreso than Prendergast, Crowley, Gavin etc. Can't afford to mess up with him.