Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭Downlinz

What relevance do hypothetical questions like that have? Should Heather Humphreys be asked if Eric was a member of the UVF if she'd have married him? It's a complete waste of time because if the reality was different the response might have been different and you also can't presume a candidate would respond the same way in an imagined scenario compared to reality.

Jim Gavin was amateur hour and the guy he screwed over was on the payroll at the countries biggest print media outlet. No digging required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,712 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

And the Bould Pee earned himself immortality as Scrap Saturday's Padraig Flynnstone, with his sidekick Bertie Rubble and his catchphrase "Wilma, where's my sangwidges?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,837 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Yes, the 'rapist' question in particular was ludicrous. The chances of her being asked to employ a convicted rapist are probably a million to one and yet they were going after her as if she had actually hired one and brought him into the Dáil.

It would be like asking a priest what he would do if a serial killer confessed his crimes to him - these crazy hypotheticals have little relation to anything (and zero connection to the functions of being President).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭almostover

I'm not sure why people are so horrified over FF and FG becoming more aligned. As such their policies are broadly similar and their voters come from similar demographics. The point of difference between them involves their position on a treaty that was voted on over 100 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭harryharry25

Fianna Fails leader has just said he is voting for a Fine Gael president

The same man 5 years ago said he would never enter into a Govt with Fine Gael

The backbenchers and others had a chance to say no when Gavin walked away, but seems they are all happy enough to back Fine Gael. It's going to be some entertainment when Connolly wins and we will get a few FF giving out but they won't do anything about it

The merger is closer than ever, I thought FF actually had people who were FF and not just the same as FG but seems they don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,894 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Seriously. Any negative story on CC, no matter how factual, is positioned as a smear campaign or some conspiracy between the media and the government. Not very far removed from the "fake news media" narrative that works so well across the pond.

The Ditch do great work and and are great at investigative journalism, such a shame they are so blatantly biased, very anti journalism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,712 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I can tell there are older FF members horrified at this

Presumably most of those would've been opposed to FF going into government with FG in the first place? Seems a natural move to me to support your coalition partner's presidential candidate when you don't have one of your own, especially when the other candidate is so far out to the left. Half-expected Martin to make it the official party position actually…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,253 ✭✭✭corkie

How Jim Gavin’s presidential dream turned into Micheál Martin’s political nightmare
    • On Wednesday, one senior Fianna Fáil source suggested that a “deal had been done” and that Mr Martin would be gone from January 2027, shortly after Ireland’s EU presidency.
    • On Thursday, as the dust settled, Mr Martin's leadership was not in danger, but the week's events had caused its end to have a possible date attached for the first time and his air of invincibility in the party was all but gone.
    • ~ https://archive.ph/FBGrl

In print in the examiner on Saturday, an opinion article on the weeks events.

Even living in Cork, not a fan myself of Micheál Martin. So looks like we maybe stuck with him for a whole year.

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." ~ George Santayana
    "But that's balanced out by the fact that it's a mandate not to do very much." ~ Prof. Eoin O'Malley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,010 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

“The victim mentality from Connolly’s supporters is quite something.”

It’s just a simple election tactic to curry favour with voters or “thanks” on a social media site; I don’t believe it for a second that they actially believe CC is a “victim”

CC’s election and social media image as a simple football kicking nun-like pensioner who needs defending is the one they want to promote - instead of the actual reality which is one that speaks up for Hamas and terrorism and has no problem associating herself with convicted and suspected terrorists.

The wave of faux outrage when you say one word criticising her on this thread is just getting boring at this stage. CC rightly got called out for her atrocious lack of judgement and they’ve been crying about it ever since - she’s certainly not a fit candidate for presidential office. I can see the tide turning on her before this election is over- her victory is not as iron clad as it might have been last weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,297 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

The good ship integrity sailed a long time ago. If we are so principled how come we’re America’s willing little helper in Europe, fiercely defending its reckless high tech companies? Let’s at least be honest about ourselves. We’ve made our choices and we’re on a good earner. Once this pantomime of an election is over the last thing most of us would really want would be for a President Connolly to think she can actually speak her mind about things.

Post edited by Ardillaun on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,895 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

CC’s election and social media image as a simple football kicking nun-like pensioner who needs defending is the one they want to promote - instead of the actual reality which is one that speaks up for Hamas and terrorism and has no problem associating herself with convicted and suspected terrorists.

Sometime in the future it would be a good subject for a student of politics to write an essay on.

How does someone whose entire career has been about human rights and peace (however misguided you think she is) come to get a sentence like the above written about them?

I suspect a large part of that essay would be about how fearful we have come (or have been made) to be of those who do not take a consensus approach. We constantly get bombarded, even here, with the 'if you are not one of us, you must be one of those' and the sad if not worrying result is a sentence like the above.
    Even the lower level sexist stuff, - she should look like a certain model of what most other woman her age looks like - feeds into this.

It used to be cliché that Commies and the left were the 'brainwashed', I think that cliché has been turned completely on it's head tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,890 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Claiming someone who has spoken out supported the dictatorships in Cuba and Venezuela - purely because they are anti-American - as being exclusively about “human rights and peace” is one hell of a gross misrepresentation

I did say you were free to think she was misguided, which is your right, but in a true democracy that right is also hers.

That sentence I quoted shows, some are well beyond thinking that. To quote herself, she has 'put her head above the parapet' (consensual thinking) and she is going to be got, one way or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭Field east

you have not understood the context within which the question was asked. The point of the Q was to establish is there any situation where CC would not employ someone who had served their time and had been rehabilitated?

“How does someone whose entire career has been about human rights and peace (however misguided you think she is) come to get a sentence like the above written about them?”

Not just one sentence- many of them - by national newspapers and broadcasters no less- this line of a “peacemaker” when on the other hand you hear her preach about Hamas being an integral part of Palestinian society and that they must be part of the new Palestine is just an insult to our collective intelligence -it also shows that she’s not willing to be brave and to insist that Hamas disbands and follows the path of peace- so it’s not us that needs to reflect on why these articles and posts are written - it’s she that needs to do the reflecting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Not my job to educate you.

You have to be interested enough in finding the truth to do your own research.

Likely what you heard was an edited version of the exchange.

Indeed-.here we go again with the “victim” and “martyr” imagery - sorry but I’m sick of it at this stage - CC is quite simply a very dangerous person to have as our president and she’ll do untold damage not only to NI relations but to world relations - she’s shown she has absolutely no interest in toning down her rhetoric and is likely to be removed from office, that’s if she even gets there

Oscar, she didn't say this.

and that they must be part of the new Palestine

Here is what she said:

"I come from Ireland which has a history of colonisation. I would be very wary of telling a sovereign people how to run their country.

"The Palestinians must decide, in a democratic way, who they want to lead their country."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,594 ✭✭✭✭kippy

FYI, the media didn't 'destroy' Jim Gavin......

She also said this:

“Speaking to BBC Radio Ulster, she said Hamas was part of the fabric of Palestinian society.”

Palestine is (hopefully) getting a chance to rebuild itself after the atrocities carried out against it and hopefully it will - and yes other than acts of “normal” warfare, many atrocities were carried out by Israel in retaliation for Hamas atrocities of the October attack-and Israel too must be held to account

- but if you think for one second that world leaders, finding themselves on the doorstep or at least driveway of peace, in the Middle East, will allow Hamas, a group who clearly sent 10.000s of their own innocent people to slaughter, for their own twisted ends and the need to cling to power- if you think this band of murderers with the predatory instinct of a pedophile will be allowed back in power, then you’re living in cloud cuckoo land - Hamas deserve nothing but death if they don’t surrender their power and lay down their arms - it’s over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,975 ✭✭✭MFPM

This is absurd hyperbole. You are entitled to your opinion but you are not entitled to decide who is fit or unfit to be 'our' president- you get to cast your 1 vote Friday week and that's it..

Post edited by MFPM on

Not going to get into a back and forth on Hamas/Palestine but just suggest you think about how this:

"I come from Ireland which has a history of colonisation. I would be very wary of telling a sovereign people how to run their country.

"The Palestinians must decide, in a democratic way, who they want to lead their country."

became this

that they must be part of the new Palestine

in your head. You might then understand the point I made originally because tbh you just proved it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,538 ✭✭✭jmcc

The smear thing is one of the best advantages that the Connolly campaign now has and it is all down to the incompetence of FG. The Connolly campaign was lucky with the comment by Ivan Yates. That on its own would not have copper fastened FG as the nasty party in the minds of the electorate. It was the rapist question and Jennifer Carroll MacNeill's comments. Without her comments, the advice from Yates would have faded into the background noise of the election. The consequences for FG and Humphreys are that almost any negative story about Connolly can be framed as a smear. And if that isn't bad enough, Micheal Martin is voting for Humphreys.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

"you get to cast your 1 vote Thursday week and that's it.."

Not it, election is Friday week

That’s a question you need to ask Catherine Connolly - communication is in the interpretation - if she didn’t want her message to land that way she should have phrased it differently - but no, it’s always everybody else’s fault / back to the “victim” imagery Catherine loves so much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,132 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I fired off an email to Carroll McNeill on her little outburst. She was very very foolish to do that. A stupid move for a potential leader of FG. I pointed out that attacking Connolly, who has defended women's rights for decades, would not play well in Galway West and would definitely cost Hildegarde Naughton votes.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,538 ✭✭✭jmcc

Her comments were very ill-advised as they gave the leaders of the main parties backing Connolly, all female, an opportunity to criticise Carroll MacNeill and FG. She is much smarter than Simon Harris but made a bad mistake on this.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,132 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Yes and those opposition leaders made strong statements very quickly. The timing of that with the overall talk around the FG smear campaign was perfect for the Connolly campaign.

You should be advising those idiots in FFG jmcc, they are utterly incompetent. It's priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,910 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

Thank you. TDs always listen to emails because they know they are essentially votes. Going to the bother of writing a well worded email has a lot more weight than some comment on Twitter or whatever. You should try it sometime.