Northern Ireland 2125?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭csirl

Question Ive always wondered about.

2125 is a long way in the future. If the Union were to break down during this time i.e. Scottish independence; would the Scots-Ulster population want to be part of independent Scotland or independent England/Wales?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,686 ✭✭✭Francis McM

I did not say Leo "is making" threats. I pointed out to you what he did do, after you got upset that some loyalists were making threats over matters in their locality:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,159 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Leo is NOT a STILL active paramilitary group endorsed as stakeholders in NI almost 30 years after the GFA

I never said or insinuated Leo was in the group that the bearded one once proudly boasted "they have'nt gone away y'know".

So why when a STILL active paramilitary group endorsed as stakeholders in NI almost 30 years after the GFA issue threats are you talking about Leo.

Hold on a second: did they use any code words used by a group from the troubles, or were there just three young lads in the photo masquerading as UVF? Perhaps the 3 fellows in the photo had nothing to do with the UVF from the troubles, just as the New IRA or Continuity IRA have or had nothing to do with the pIRA?

Whn Leo was reminding people of the bomb threat to the border posts after Brexit, he did not specify it it could be by people who call themselves real, new, continuity, unreal,discontinuity, old, provisional or whoever. Does not really matter.

Appalling morally and an appalling attempt at excusing this.
    The UDA and the UFV are represented on the LCC, whom Unionists want to be stakeholders in NI.
    They are STILL active as paramilitary groups and issued these threats as recognised by everyone except you, who is looking to handwave it away.

Why?

What did I excuse? Unlike you, I condemn all paramilitaries. The UVF is a proscribed organisation and is on the terrorist organisation list of the U.K.

Do you think the 3 in the photo were real UVF, continuity UVF, dissident UVF or what?

Hold on a second: did they use any code words used by a group from the troubles, or were there just three young lads in the photo masquerading as UVF? 

That is an attempt to excuse. By trying to suggest that these are not the people who Unionists want as stakeholders. STILL active paramilitaries issuing threats 30 years after the GFA.

Go do some serious thinking about this behaviour. Done with your nonsense again.

How could the 3 people in the photo in balaclavas be "STILL active paramilitaries issuing threats 30 years after the GFA" if they were / are acting on their own and only fellows say in their twenties?

Did they say the phrase Gerry Adams himself once proclaimed: "They haven't gone away, you know", or what?

Do enlighten us, because I have not a clue what nonsense you are on about? I asked you already do you think the 3 in the photo were real UVF, continuity UVF, dissident UVF or what? I asked you did they use a code word, you did not reply.

Post edited by Francis McM on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭ittakestwo

You have claimed here alot of times that the only reason there is a border in the irish sea is because LV threatened violance if there was a hard border in Ireland.

Now you're saying he just warned of the real threat from para-militaries should there be a hard border? Then what problem do you have of LV educating EU ministers of a real threat to descion they would make?

Its hypocrisy to say some people can warn of real threats and that all it is while if others warn of real threats then they're inciting violence.

You are wrong in your first sentence. I never said "the only reason" etc.

No need to read the rest of your post after that.

So all LV did was warn of a threat of para-militaries should there have been a hard border and all you're doing is warning of paramilitaries should irish signs be implemented and neither of you can be infered of inciting violence.

I better take note of this post no. so i can reference it when in a few weeks you're back to the narrative LV implemented the hard border when in reality as you now are accepting it was just london.

You seem to be quite confused. LV was not in the British government. What LeoV did was warn of a hard border and warn that the customs posts would be attacked, in the event of The UK having customs posts on the border following Brexit.

"Taoiseach Leo Varadkar presented EU leaders with a copy of an Irish newspaper featuring the story of an IRA bombing of a border customs post during a dinner in Brussels on Wednesday. The Irish Prime Minister brought a copy of an Irish newspaper edition to the summit dinner to emphasise how far Northern Ireland and Ireland had come since the Troubles." The newspaper showing photo to a destroyed customs post, which killed a British soldier and injured others etc.

It is worth remembering that when attacks were made on customs posts before, they were usually made from the southern side of the border. LV also made no comment on the fact that during the troubles the UK requested hundreds of extraditions, but very few were extradited.

Where did i say LV was in British government? I said the British government wrote the protocol that delivered the irish sea border and not LV.

You have claimed it was LV threat of inciting violence should there be a hard border that caused the protocol but today you have rolled back on that and claim and say just because someone warns of a real threat of violence doesn't mean theyre inciting violence.

But if you claim you can warn of a threat of violence without inciting violence but others cant then you're a hypocrite. You just can't accept that london threw unionists under the bus regarding the protocol so have to come up with this hypocritical view that LV was inciting violence when he warned like many on both sides of the real threat of violence should there be a hard border.

So what exactly is the difference between

(a) three men in balaclavas in east Belfast saying there will be damage to property done (eg burning bin lorries) if Belfast City Councils forces Irish language signage in PUL areas, on bin lorries, forcing council employees to wear uniforms with Irish language signage etc

and (b) Leo V. saying there will be damage to property done if Britain builds customers posts near the border after Brexit. And shows photos of past devastion done ( which included killing people along the border ) to the EU27 at dinner, to show he was not joking.

Do you think the difference is because Leo V. was p.m. of a country from which such attacks were usually launched before , or because he was p.m. of a country which refused hundreds of extradition requests during the troubles of pIRA to N. Ireland?

Who do you think was worse, the three men obecting to Irish language in their areas or Leo V objecting to a hard Brexit?

This is painful and absurd now.

The PSNI are treating the threats as coming from the UDA and UVF, STILL active paramilitary groups who Unionists want to be stakeholders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Eirigi are still active, are they as much of a problem?

Éirigí are a registered political party. They are attached to a paramilitary group which are a problem.

I don't see anyone calling for them to be stakeholders.

The 3 people photographed in their locality in East Belfast are stakeholders in N.Ireland because they live there.

Are you saying Leo V. is not a stakeholder in N.I., or what is your point?

n.b. I still genuinely want to know if those 3 are claiming to be original uvf, or real uvf, continuity uvf or if they had any of the old code words the old paramilitaries used to use?

The PSNI are treating the threats as coming from the UDA and UVF, STILL active paramilitary groups who Unionists want to be stakeholders not 3 men in what is probably a photo from their library.

Painful!

Whats a stakeholder? Is every citizen of N.I. not a stakeholder if it came to a B.P.?

N.B. did they say they are still active, or just you say that?

Do you think the pIRA is still active to the same extent? If not, when did they go away? Last time I remember the beared one talking about them he said "they have'nt gone away y'know".

I'll let you figure out their 'active' level from the information we have:

Loyalist paramilitaries are planning an arson campaign to prevent Irish language signage from being displayed on Belfast City Council buildings and vehicles.

In a briefing to Sunday Life yesterday, representatives of both the UVF and UDA warned of future violence, saying: “Loyalists will embark on a campaign of burning any council vans or centres displaying Irish language signage in order to make the Belfast City Council policy unworkable.

”The sinister threats come after a majority of councillors in City Hall endorsed a new draft Irish language policy that contains pledges to adopt dual signage at its facilities and bilingual logos.

Unionist councillors have objected to the plan, as have loyalist paramilitaries, with the latter threatening a campaign of violence to make it “unworkable”.

Sunday Life understands that several council depots in unionist areas of Belfast where vehicles are stored will be targeted if Irish signage appears on the premises.

“They will be burned to the ground,” said a UVF source.

“This isn’t something anyone in the loyalist community wants to see happen, but it will happen if the Irish language is forced upon us.

“Many of the staff in these facilities are from a unionist background and they are also opposed to wearing uniforms or working in buildings with Irish language signs.

”UVF and UDA leaders say at the moment there is no plan to target leisure centres as they are seen as key community facilities, however, they have warned that could change.

“The council and the PSNI should not underestimate how real this threat is,” said a UDA source. ​“It’ll be down to councillors now to work out how best to deal with this and reach a compromise.”

The PSNI is also understood to be aware of the UVF and UDA threats and has been briefed about possible violence.

I bet no unionist politician lobbied or went around the EU27 ministers at dinner with photos of burnt out buses / bus depots exploded with people killed?

Link please to a statement from the PSNI.

Or is it just your opinion on what the PSNI are doing?

The PSNI don't seem to be doing much about still active groups if they are issuing threats.

You said first that "The PSNI are treating the threats as coming from the UDA and UVF, STILL active paramilitary groups"

Now you say: "The PSNI don't seem to be doing much about still active groups."

The first one is presented as a fact, so please present a link to that.

The second one is presented as an opinion, so nothing to do with it.

I am referring to several articles that say it, one included above.

So it is newspaper stuff, is everything in a newspaper true? Do you have a link to a PSNI statement?